Volkswagen to assemble Touran in Indonesia

Volkswagen Touran

The Wall Street Journal reports that Volkswagen is set to open its first South East Asian plant in Indonesia, with the first model to roll out of the new US$47 million (RM166 million) factory to be the Volkswagen Touran, hardly a surprise in a country where MPVs are just so popular.

The WSJ quoted Volkswagen spokesperson Christoph Adomat saying this Indonesian vehicle assembly plant is to be set up as Volkswagen’s first step toward the long-term development of the ASEAN markets. The plant will first only have assembly lines for CKD packs and paint shops, but later full fledged manufacturing could be considered. As Indonesia has trade agreements with Japan, it can also use the Indonesian base to export to that country.

This first ASEAN assembly plant location could have been Malaysia but the leaders involved chose a different path to go down, so let’s see where our own path leads.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• scanzew on May 08, 2009 at 8:03 am

maybe volkswagon give up with proton and make it at indonesia…what a waste!!!!!

• scanzew on May 08, 2009 at 8:05 am

give up with proton and malaysia, volkwagon go to indonesia huhuhuh

• Our path would lead nowhere. It was an opportunity wasted for Malaysia. Give it all away to neighbouring countries, and we will be left only with Protons and Perodua's forever.

• LAmborghini666 on May 08, 2009 at 8:13 am

oh well, that means no cheap golf gti's for us

• sudha on May 08, 2009 at 8:22 am

if it wasn't for the misguided decision of the people who were clueless abt the the automotive industry…we would have had locally assembled attractive volkswagen models with attractive pricing to boot…

the powers that be should have understood by now that the decision that they made turned away a golden opportunity to have one of the biggest names in the global auto industry to participate in our very own economy..

imagine the lost foreign investment opportunity …

• nabill on May 08, 2009 at 9:14 am

it could have been here , money wd have been invested , thousands of jobs wd have been created .. . we have too many 'smart' ppl making decisions nowadays …

• turbeKEV on May 08, 2009 at 9:29 am

at first i got plenty to comments..

thinking of which…i bet all of you know wat's its like…

in fact, should proton exist in the first place?

do the country gain from making car? u know the answer..

may i know each year, those imported car taxes, where do the money goes to? any report of roughly how much a year?

e.g. a BMW3. taxes ~100k per car.

even CKD. got tax rite?

• it sucks to know that WE could have been the very country they chose to assemble their cars here but no….. our fantastic government decides to kick them in the face and keep their so called pride.

i bet Indonesia's gonna be laughing at us now with VW smirking happily behind.

thanks alot…..

• rodimus on May 08, 2009 at 10:39 am

I'm very sad to know that VW group choose Ind 2 b their standing ground 4 Asean markets. Talk about pride vs economy, our G choose pride!!! So now lets c how the pride gonna take our economy goes.

• 4sight on May 08, 2009 at 10:51 am

This first ASEAN assembly plant location could have been Malaysia but the leaders involved chose a different path to go down.

MITI guys what transpired ??

• Perotiga on May 08, 2009 at 12:09 pm

those foreign automobile manufacturer are trying to leaving us right now, but no worries at least we still have p1 & p2. haha… maybe later VW will become taxi in indonesia. please keep laughing… ha… ha… ha…

• peYno on May 08, 2009 at 12:10 pm

don't misleading ppl la..

the decision made is nothing to do with our gorv policy (protect perodua and proton etc).

Pls admit.. indonesia and middle east is future market for FDI after Vietnam and India

• azrai on May 08, 2009 at 3:42 pm

As we know, we have lost a lot of FDI in this 5 years. Like paul said, This first ASEAN assembly plant location could have been Malaysia but the leaders involved chose a different path to go down, so let’s see where our own path leads. I know. it leads to the drain.

• Kevin Lee on May 08, 2009 at 3:44 pm

well, we'd probably look forward to reasonably priced tourans in malaysia since the toyota avanza is crap

• B16a VTEC& 4G92 on May 08, 2009 at 3:46 pm

[quote comment="236599"]those foreign automobile manufacturer are trying to leaving us right now, but no worries at least we still have p1 & p2. haha… maybe later VW will become taxi in indonesia. please keep laughing… ha… ha… ha…[/quote]

become taxi also better qc than our car. Have you been to Germany? they even use Merc as taxi. now lough on that…

• peYno on May 08, 2009 at 4:04 pm

[quote comment="236632"][quote comment="236599"]those foreign automobile manufacturer are trying to leaving us right now, but no worries at least we still have p1 & p2. haha… maybe later VW will become taxi in indonesia. please keep laughing… ha… ha… ha…[/quote]

become taxi also better qc than our car. Have you been to Germany? they even use Merc as taxi. now lough on that…[/quote]

ya.. in indonesia, they also use VIOS as taxi…

but in malaysia, ah beng praise VIOS like it is a super car from Toyota

pity malaysian.. prrrfthhh

• peYno on May 08, 2009 at 4:09 pm

[quote comment="236631"]well, we'd probably look forward to reasonably priced tourans in malaysia since the toyota avanza is crap[/quote]

we also can get New toyota sette ASEAN version assembled in Indonesia if Perodua does not exist…

wat to say.. our gorv want to protect perodua..

• Thank you Federal Government in power for 51 years. Led by a bunch of fools, protected by a bunch of no-brainers.

Bye bye FDI. The fact that Indonesia got the VW investment is a huge slap in the face for us.

But then again, who wants a dated Touran with lousy TSI super-charged and turbo-charged engines when we can have a brand new Exora with a FABULOUS Campro CPS? I tell you, those weedy 1.4s used in the Touran will never be able to move it.

How many cup holders does the Touran have? The Exora has 10 (though most of them too shallow/narrow for any decent cups)!!!

The Touran looks like a bread van. The Exora is the most beautiful car in Malaysia (of course when compared to our earlier "MPV" – the Juara).

A big thank you to the nuts in federal goverment. This is another project by the xxx government for the people it loves the most………..YOU!

• [quote comment="236633"][quote comment="236632"][quote comment="236599"]those foreign automobile manufacturer are trying to leaving us right now, but no worries at least we still have p1 & p2. haha… maybe later VW will become taxi in indonesia. please keep laughing… ha… ha… ha…[/quote]

become taxi also better qc than our car. Have you been to Germany? they even use Merc as taxi. now lough on that…[/quote]

pity malaysian.. prrrfthhh[/quote]

What a crap writing!! Volkswagon is going to be the next GM in line look at VM's liabilities.. it is so bad and horrible!! Whatever different path writngs…or assumptions.. it is better to have a local company that can stay for a long time and have a strong moral reponsibility to its home country than a foreign company that will close shop soonest (in the event of recessions) without any regards for any ethical or moral responsibilities but for a pure profit motive via manipulations and tax evation in the host country…luckily proton does not own by GM or else it will have a same fate as Australian's Holden (being dumped by GM) and has successfully retrenched a couple of thousands of workers.. so what so great to have a debt ridden VW in the country?

• dream on May 08, 2009 at 4:35 pm

hope VW will assemble the 1.4TSI Touran…and will find its way here…

• Nothing is lost… just that like Paul says…. we are going a different path.

• kington on May 08, 2009 at 4:51 pm

I guess there's no harm in protecting your country's car makers, but not excessively for which i think it was obvious that Proton, despite the 6 to 7 year's headstart, is still enjoying indirect protection compared to Perodua. I once read that Proton's profit margin per car is still higher than Perodua's.

With regards to this issue of VW's new assembly plant in Indonesia, it still remains to be seen whether they would venture elsewhere shoule the conditions in Indonesia be less favourable for them; which is why they've only announced the Touran first to be assembled there. Who knows, they might return to Malaysia for other VW models?

To me it's time to move on and see how our market reacts.

• mayor81 on May 08, 2009 at 4:54 pm

You all think VW is charitable organization is it? They are a profit driven company just like any other. When they choose Indon over us (despite the business climate here), they think of labour costs and for sure Indon is cheaper. What's the point of having a plant in Malaysia but all the operators are sourced from Indon, Myanmar and Nepal? Won't it be better to just open up a plant there? Don't just write for a reason, write with reasoning.

• Perotiga on May 08, 2009 at 4:57 pm

news… Porsche agrees to merge with Volkswagen in a new car group.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8036748.stm

• farghmee on May 08, 2009 at 5:01 pm

assemble, assembler

make, maker

• peYno on May 08, 2009 at 5:19 pm

[quote comment="236649"]You all think VW is charitable organization is it? They are a profit driven company just like any other. When they choose Indon over us (despite the business climate here), they think of labour costs and for sure Indon is cheaper. What's the point of having a plant in Malaysia but all the operators are sourced from Indon, Myanmar and Nepal? Won't it be better to just open up a plant there? Don't just write for a reason, write with reasoning.[/quote]

that's my point man..

as i said.. if p1 and p2 don't exist.. they still go to Indonesia or Siam for assembly plant…

Malaysia is not good place for investor.. even malaysian company (automotive related comp) also invest in Indon or India..so wat do we expect from foreign investors?

• henryee on May 08, 2009 at 5:23 pm

[quote comment="236646"]Nothing is lost… just that like Paul says…. we are going a different path.[/quote]

What different path is going to?

An economy downturn?

• peYno on May 08, 2009 at 5:25 pm

[quote comment="236647"]I guess there's no harm in protecting your country's car makers, but not excessively for which i think it was obvious that Proton, despite the 6 to 7 year's headstart, is still enjoying indirect protection compared to Perodua. I once read that Proton's profit margin per car is still higher than Perodua's.

.[/quote]

perodua profits is higher.. but all go to Japan.. hv to pay royalty etc.. JaPanese is not stupid

• farghmee on May 08, 2009 at 5:28 pm

i guess sooner or later, other car makers will choose malaysia as it production hub.

malaysia has plenty of educated workforce at fairly low cost.

• peYno on May 08, 2009 at 5:33 pm

[quote comment="236664"]i guess sooner or later, other car makers will choose malaysia as it production hub.

malaysia has plenty of educated workforce at fairly low cost.[/quote]

to assemble the car does not require educated workforce…

• tikus on May 08, 2009 at 5:35 pm

Malaysia lost US47mil investment. Padam muka BN!!

• Littlefire on May 08, 2009 at 5:38 pm

[quote comment="236664"]i guess sooner or later, other car makers will choose malaysia as it production hub.

Are u sure?!?

Even those educated professional fled the country if they got the chance…

For Thai & Indon, their wages are even lower then us! Even their political is not stable, they choose them compare to us! Think again!

• initial R on May 08, 2009 at 5:40 pm

[quote comment="236657"][quote comment="236649"]You all think VW is charitable organization is it? They are a profit driven company just like any other. When they choose Indon over us (despite the business climate here), they think of labour costs and for sure Indon is cheaper. What's the point of having a plant in Malaysia but all the operators are sourced from Indon, Myanmar and Nepal? Won't it be better to just open up a plant there? Don't just write for a reason, write with reasoning.[/quote]

that's my point man..

as i said.. if p1 and p2 don't exist.. they still go to Indonesia or Siam for assembly plant…

Malaysia is not good place for investor.. even malaysian company (automotive related comp) also invest in Indon or India..so wat do we expect from foreign investors?[/quote]

Hairan le bila tengok ada yang tak paham kenapa banyak pelabur melabur kat indon & Thai. Sebab kos tenaga kat sana murah, kurang demanding, tak banyak songeh, tak mintak gaji lebih & pelbagai lagi. Kat malaysia diaorang kena fikir kos yang tinggi, gaji tinggi, nak demand tinggi, banyak songeh, cukup tahun nak bonus lebih (kalau boleh nak setahun) & banyak lagi (tu tak kira MC melebih lagi). Cuba bezakan profit yang VW car dapat antara dua negara nie. Contoh paling baik tengok dlm Blog PT nie. Songeh banyak dari menbina… nielah rakyat Malaysia :( . Kalau tak pasal kos yang rendah negara diaorang X pasal banyak pekerja dari negara tersebut berebut nak keje kat Malaysia sampai sanggup jadi PATI & mati tengah laut sebab nak kaya. Kita ada berebut nak pergi kerja kat sana ?. Sah mati pun tak nak pergi sana (shopping nak, murah..!). Pasti G jugak nak protec pekerja kat malaysia supaya tak jadi pekerja hamba hanya sebab nak kaut keuntungan. Hanya yang makan gaji aje yang banyak fikir Negetif, cuba berniaga sendiri baru tau sikit apa yang berlaku dalam ekonomi dunia (kedai runcit kecil tak kira arr…).

• potong on May 08, 2009 at 5:47 pm

vm @ indon? gone case… vm s.e.a vehicle = inferior.

• muryadi on May 08, 2009 at 5:51 pm

It's only producing VW Touran and the looks also not that nice. Why people here so sad/angry and jealous with Indonesia.

Let them progress also, let their rakyat can make decant income also.

I'm not really surprise, what we want is more hi-tech technology factories/investment here.

Be patient guys and gals. Win some, lose some.

p.s. I'm not a BN supporter (no WAY!!!)

• vw beetle on Feb 02, 2011 at 7:51 pm

DIAM LAH!!! Golfs are also assembled in Indonesia, even the Audi R8 sports car.

• muryadi on May 08, 2009 at 6:06 pm

Please also realize that as mentioned in Motortrader:-

At this time, other than Stuttgart in Germany, the only other country where the S500L is assembled is Egypt and Malaysia is the first in Asia to assemble the version.Thailand and Indonesia will also be assembling the S500L in due course. Mr Mueller said that Mercedes-Benz could not make use of the benefits of AFTA and assemble the car in one country for distribution around the region as its ASEAN-sourced parts do not meet the minimum requirement of 40% to qualify for preferential import duties. Most of the parts are imported since a local supplier would be unable to make parts at competitive prices for such a small volume but there are some locally-sourced parts such as paint.

In other word we are more capable to produce/manufacture/assemble high quality products. And from my past working experiences in other countries, when you mentioned about Malaysian products/people they will always pay some high regards on us.

• farghmee on May 08, 2009 at 6:08 pm

[quote comment="236669"][quote comment="236664"]i guess sooner or later, other car makers will choose malaysia as it production hub.

Are u sure?!?

Even those educated professional fled the country if they got the chance…

For Thai & Indon, their wages are even lower then us! Even their political is not stable, they choose them compare to us! Think again![/quote]

i'm not sure, anyway, i'm guessing.

i myself if got the chance, i'll go outside to gain more benefit; that's normal.

yes true, political instability doesn't seem to have direct impact on foreign investor, whose nature is production.

they may have this break-even justification or profit/loss criteria for optimum production environment.

since leaving a host countary is not easy as pulling a plug from a socket wall, therefore i guess they rather stick to it until the situation is not encouraging for healthy output.

as for other kind of field (petroleum, design, business), political stability is crucial in long term.

[quote comment="236667"]

to assemble the car does not require educated workforce…[/quote]

i agree with ur statement :to assemble a car is easily done by less-educated workforce.

but for communication wise, leader/boss will need those educated workforce as the middleman to easily pass the information to the less-educated worker.

since "preservation" of idea or continuity/accuracy in message is important, therefore having educated workforce is one way to make sure that the message is easily understood & message misinterpreted is unlikely.

i don't really dig into this management stuff.

may be my writing here contradicts with someone's opinion.

i'm happy to discuss for the sake of knowledge :)

• TL Square on May 08, 2009 at 6:12 pm

Why must we use an automotive blog site to vent our political frustrations? I reckon the decision makers would have their reasons for declining VW's proposal. Unless, one has privy to the conditions set at the negotiation table, one will never know. Perhaps, the conditions set by VW were too one-sided that even if the FDI were to be received in Malaysia, it might not be beneficial to the country. Remember, everything has a price and being excellent businessmen, I am sure the VW people would have suggested a number of conditions that might not be "mutually beneficial" to Malaysia for their investment here. And VW being tough negotiators (and they usually are), it might not have been easy for our representatives to find the middle ground for a "win-win" decision. FDIs are good in boosting a nation's economy but NOT all FDIs are beneficial. Maybe, mistakes might have been made in the past but we must continue to encourage our administrators to strive to protect our interests and drive towards getting quality FDIs.

• Even till now… Despite the offer being turn down. VW would prefer Tanjung Malim as their first choice. For its sophisticated plant and integrated parts supply chain; also, A-Grade vendors are still plentiful here in the country, just not all are involve with Proton and Perodua.

Setting up in Indonesia is merely a continuation, to their existing plan of setting up a manufacturing hub in SEA.

• Nacho Libre on May 08, 2009 at 6:24 pm

i agree with peyno, even theres no potong n perodua, there're still going to indonesia n thailand. look at yours and your indon friends salary, which one is more attractive to investor?

VW doesn't want to build the factory here last time, they want to buy proton (majority), and use the factory. they just trying their luck actually, government wont give one…

PEyno, they dont need the educated one to assemble the car, but once they be in the industry, for sure they will be educated.. in term of technical know how :) .. that is the goal i guess.. and after that, they can work anywhere else for a better salary..

• bmpower on May 08, 2009 at 6:40 pm

That's a really good move what?

and benefited Malaysian more.

you know what?

1 – So then.. Indonesian got jobs.

2 – So less of illegal Indon entering malaysia.

3 – So less problem to our country that's already flooding by Indons.

See?

• Nacho Libre on May 08, 2009 at 6:42 pm

[quote comment="236693"]That's a really good move what?

you know what?

See?[/quote]

yes i agree.. it has to be balance :)

• [quote comment="236633"][quote comment="236632"][quote comment="236599"]those foreign automobile manufacturer are trying to leaving us right now, but no worries at least we still have p1 & p2. haha… maybe later VW will become taxi in indonesia. please keep laughing… ha… ha… ha…[/quote]

Yeah Bro, u r right, In Bangkok, use d latest Corrolla Altis as Taxi too.

In Vietnam, Ford Focus is also a Taxi

for those who has not travel around, please do so and open your eye

• scottloeb on May 08, 2009 at 7:01 pm

[quote comment="236668"]Malaysia lost US47mil investment. Padam muka BN!![/quote]

oi kawan, padan muka BN or padan muka kita? who rugi, BN or kita? kalau ada kerja masuk, sapa yg kerja dan ada duit? BN jugak? adoh..

• muryadi on May 08, 2009 at 7:02 pm

you know what?

See?[/quote]

Yes, betul tu. Walaupun negara kita tak kaya sangat tapi negara2 jiran kita biarlah dapat benefit jugak.

Tahun 1995 saya melancung di Medan masa tu ada lagi yg duk bawah jambatan sungai dan menggunakan air sungai tersebut utk mandi dan membasuh. Rasa sedih dan simpati pada mereka.

• Good god!…

Taxi in malaysia use Protons because the govt tell them to use P1 or P2.

Not because other car is expensive.

AFAIK, taxis purchase is tax free..

RT.

[quote comment="236695"][quote comment="236633"][quote comment="236632"][quote comment="236599"]those foreign automobile manufacturer are trying to leaving us right now, but no worries at least we still have p1 & p2. haha… maybe later VW will become taxi in indonesia. please keep laughing… ha… ha… ha…[/quote]

for those who has not travel around, please do so and open your eye[/quote]

• dcwhz83 on May 08, 2009 at 7:09 pm

[quote comment="236695"][quote comment="236633"][quote comment="236632"][quote comment="236599"]those foreign automobile manufacturer are trying to leaving us right now, but no worries at least we still have p1 & p2. haha… maybe later VW will become taxi in indonesia. please keep laughing… ha… ha… ha…[/quote]

for those who has not travel around, please do so and open your eye[/quote]

in Netherlands/Germany, they use latest Merc E-Class as taxis… in Sweden they use Volvos… in France, its Merc/BMW/Peugeot/Renault mixed…

• Littlefire on May 08, 2009 at 7:16 pm

LOL… from VW become taxis…

In the end, we r the losers as the G chase them away…

• barca on May 08, 2009 at 7:18 pm

USD 47 million of lost investment some might say, with another bunch said there goes my plans for a cheap Polo/Golf/Passat etc…….so what?

i can understand the passion of people wanting to own a conti such as VW, etc.but what i can't understand is that SOME of these people lamented the policy as if they know better about the policy. i myself admit that i know zilch about it. which brings the question: do you people know and understand what's at stake, even a tiny bit about it?

bottomline, all these people want is VW cars at cheap prices.

pretty stupid wish, i might say. if and only if VW would entertain this bunch of people, they might as well hand out freebies and turn into a charitable company.

national interests should preside over an obvious cost-cutting, maximizing returns exercise by VW to sell their cars worldwide. look at the bigger picture and stop inflating your ego and even hope to own a cheaper Polo/Golf/Passat etc.

VW does not care one tiny bit about you and i, they only care about ways to extract our hard-earned money. it's that simple.

• barca on May 08, 2009 at 7:20 pm

you know what?

See?[/quote]

ditto.

• [quote comment="236675"]It's only producing VW Touran and the looks also not that nice. Why people here so sad/angry and jealous with Indonesia.

Let them progress also, let their rakyat can make decant income also.

I'm not really surprise, what we want is more hi-tech technology factories/investment here.

Be patient guys and gals. Win some, lose some.

p.s. I'm not a BN supporter (no WAY!!!)[/quote]

Muryadi, have you seen the Touran up close?

• Luqman on May 08, 2009 at 7:37 pm

[quote comment="236643"].. so what so great to have a debt ridden VW in the country?[/quote]

VW has 10 Billion Euro (approx. RM47 Billion) cash. That was the reason why Porsche wanted to take over the company…

• 4sight on May 08, 2009 at 7:49 pm

That was the mind-set 10 years ago.

Look at Thai Viet China + now Indo.

Their workforce has upgraded themselves

by leap + bounce.

So what is this "educated workforce" u talking abt ?

Not only VW, look where the detroit of Asia is?

Thailand, where Honda, Toyota + Tata have established research and development centres in the country to support their businesses.

Yes,Kulim is massive but if u don't offer incentives

then who would want to invest here?

Wawasan 2020!!(sigh)

• muryadi on May 08, 2009 at 7:50 pm

[quote comment="236709"]

Muryadi, have you seen the Touran up close?[/quote]

Ok, it's look rather nice but it's pricey, according to this site the price starting from GBP 17k = RM 90K (not yet including import tax!).

http://www.whatcar.com/car-review-equipment.aspx?….

• augusta on May 08, 2009 at 7:51 pm

I'm a journalist from Indonesia. I'm just being neutral and not offended by any comments of u. For us it is an overwhelming step of VW to put plant here in Indonesia. It creates jobs and helps the economy to step up.

It is true that labor cost and production cost is cheaper that's why VW interested to put investment here. But the other thing that why VW interested is because they do know that the population here (alnost 250 million) and also the oppurtunity of selling cars more in Indonesia. It is the fact.

In accordance about taxi, Proton Waja even Toyota Alphard is also has become taxi here. Most of people here think about oppurtunities for only pure business.

So for conclusion is that business always take risks no matter what. I do really appreciate about Proton Exora, it is really the best family car for Malaysia. I just cant wait the respond of Indonesian people here if Exora will be launched in next a month or so here. But then, Freed is coming here in Indonesia for the first time in south east asia. One of the Director of Honda here in Indonesia said that there are already order for more than 500 units until now . I also talked to my friend who is also work as sales promotion. He said the same thing. So, we'll see also if VW made the right decision if Touran can beat Exora and Freed. Thank u

• Perhaps VW purely just want to make money rather than giving benefit to proton and malaysia….They want to cover their loss in making bugatti veyron hehe

• Perotiga on May 08, 2009 at 8:09 pm

[quote comment="236707"][quote comment="236693"]That's a really good move what?

you know what?

See?[/quote]

ditto.[/quote]

rubbish.

• bmpower on May 08, 2009 at 8:11 pm

Thailand Detroit of Asia?

not anymore. It's loosing now.

even after thaksin down. (taksin might be bad, but he is very good in economy)

The new detroit now changing…

It's Shanghai or any other china state.

Oh! BTW!.. Did you know now Detroit already a city of destruction or collapse?

It's 1 of the most worst state in America. Abandoned buildings, bankrupts everywhere. Etc etc.. Detroit is dying…

Regarding FDI.

without we much concern, Malaysia is slowly moving not as 'a country that need much of external investor'. Malaysia just slowly become 'a county of investor'.

You might be not realized it if you're just a 'salaried worker'. But if you see the biggest picture..

Many of our bluechip company are investor in countries especially 3rd world country. That's bring back money to malaysia, let name a few ie Petronas (a well known). Guthrie and golden hope farms in indo, philphine, vietnam etc. Robert kuok company in hongkong china etc. Ananda's Astro for all over asia pasific. Air asia respectedly etc and just so many more again and again.

And i do believed, there's many SME company too..

What we need just now is a really good and honest govt. That's all about.

Bad govt , bad country, citizens suffer. Vice versa.

Anyway… buy your own country made is the best solution to kept the money in. It's not only about 'patriotic'.

• Perotiga on May 08, 2009 at 8:12 pm

and i guess later we are the foreign worker.

• muryadi on May 08, 2009 at 8:21 pm

[quote comment="236724"]Thailand Detroit of Asia?

It's 1 of the most worst state in America. Abandoned buildings, bankrupts everywhere. Etc etc.. Detroit is dying…

Regarding FDI.

without we much concern, Malaysia is slowly moving not as 'a country that need much of external investor'. Malaysia just slowly become 'a county of investor'.

You might be not realized it if you're just a 'salaried worker'. But if you see the biggest picture..

Many of our bluechip company are investor in countries especially 3rd world country. That's bring back money to malaysia, let name a few ie Petronas (a well known). Guthrie and golden hope farms in indo, philphine, vietnam etc. Robert kuok company in hongkong china etc. Ananda's Astro for all over asia pasific. Air asia respectedly etc and just so many more again and again.

Anyway… buy your own country made is the best solution to kept the money in. It's not only about 'patriotic'.[/quote]

I like this comment.

Regarding "buy your own country made" I also agree but still my wife/children still insist me to buy Estima or Alphard instead.

I still trying to convince them that Exora MPV is good enough and already practical. Than I can save some money for rainy day.

Susah2…ahh merapu kat sini pulak..

• peYno on May 08, 2009 at 8:33 pm

[quote comment="236718"]I'm a journalist from Indonesia. I'm just being neutral and not offended by any comments of u. For us it is an overwhelming step of VW to put plant here in Indonesia. It creates jobs and helps the economy to step up.

It is true that labor cost and production cost is cheaper that's why VW interested to put investment here. But the other thing that why VW interested is because they do know that the population here (alnost 250 million) and also the oppurtunity of selling cars more in Indonesia. It is the fact.

In accordance about taxi, Proton Waja even Toyota Alphard is also has become taxi here. Most of people here think about oppurtunities for only pure business.

So for conclusion is that business always take risks no matter what. I do really appreciate about Proton Exora, it is really the best family car for Malaysia. I just cant wait the respond of Indonesian people here if Exora will be launched in next a month or so here. But then, Freed is coming here in Indonesia for the first time in south east asia. One of the Director of Honda here in Indonesia said that there are already order for more than 500 units until now . I also talked to my friend who is also work as sales promotion. He said the same thing. So, we'll see also if VW made the right decision if Touran can beat Exora and Freed. Thank u[/quote]

Honda freed is a rival to Toyota sette (upcoming perodua MPV) in Japan market.. and honda freed outruns toyota sette interm of sales and popularity

U ar lucky such mpv will be entering indonesia market.. but in Malaysia ,, becoz of our gorv want to protect and give business to so called "malaysian 2nd national car" perodua… they will assemble this mpv instead of under Toyota brand (assembled in Thai or Indonesia)..

Honda freed definenetly will be direct rival to upcoming MPV perodua and if this honda freed enter malaysia market.. perodua mpv will be suffer

• peYno on May 08, 2009 at 8:35 pm

[quote comment="236725"][quote comment="236664"]i guess sooner or later, other car makers will choose malaysia as it production hub.

and i guess later we are the foreign worker.[/quote]

i guess later.. all Malaysian educated automotive engineers and management will cari makan in Indonesia

• 4sight on May 08, 2009 at 8:35 pm

you know what?

See?[/quote]

What kinda nutshell thinking is this?

Nutshell=Lack critical thinking and have narrow thinking in their small nutshell and yet they think they are thinking and handling problems like an adult. I don’t know exactly what makes them having this false perception but I think it is the lacking of critical thinking, experience and limited exposure in the real world of survivor. They are restrained only to academic and their activities circles are also bounded by non-sense laws.

• muryadi on May 08, 2009 at 8:42 pm

[quote comment="236733"][quote comment="236693"]That's a really good move what?

you know what?

See?[/quote]

Nutshell=Lack critical thinking and have narrow thinking in their small nutshell and yet they think they are thinking and handling problems like an adult. I don’t know exactly what makes them having this false perception but I think it is the lacking of critical thinking, experience and limited exposure in the real world of survivor. They are restrained only to academic and their activities circles are also bounded by non-sense laws.[/quote]

That's nice, in here we can agree or disagree to each other but try not to labeling people.

• Roti naan on May 08, 2009 at 8:45 pm

hahahaha…..everytime proton is involved in discussion, sure got argument from "experts". So many experts here, but nothing ever changed.

Argue some more..

• peYno on May 08, 2009 at 8:49 pm

[quote comment="236737"]hahahaha…..everytime proton is involved in discussion, sure got argument from "experts". So many experts here, but nothing ever changed.

Argue some more..[/quote]

u are wrong.. this time perodua also got involved… more variety

• [quote comment="236733"][quote comment="236693"]That's a really good move what?

you know what?

See?[/quote]

Nutshell=Lack critical thinking and have narrow thinking in their small nutshell and yet they think they are thinking and handling problems like an adult. I don’t know exactly what makes them having this false perception but I think it is the lacking of critical thinking, experience and limited exposure in the real world of survivor. They are restrained only to academic and their activities circles are also bounded by non-sense laws.[/quote]

bmpower is joking…dun take it seriously la. aih. no sense of humor at all la u.

• 4sight on May 08, 2009 at 10:04 pm

yah msi,

reading his 2nd posting on FDI

reflects his shallow mentality.(sad)

• shoryuken on May 08, 2009 at 10:06 pm

The G story will be let the people got $$ buy those expensive car, buy protong to support the country even though the $$ you pay does not generate back the quality. Support your nation! Isnt that 20 years hearing of this already?

Oh wait, i forget the creation of job is not important. The tax of those people buying expensive car is more important to the pocket anyhow.

• Masjo on May 08, 2009 at 10:42 pm

[quote comment="236758"]yah msi,

reflects his shallow mentality.(sad)[/quote]

i think bmpower also got the point coz every week kastam malaysia tahan PATI seberang selat melaka. OK la tu. kita sama serumpun mau carik makan jugak pak. Malaysia sudah ada Merc & BMW plant. Bagi VW plak kat Indon sebab TOYOTA dah dominate Thailand….

• Automotive_Critics on May 08, 2009 at 10:48 pm

[quote comment="236724"]Thailand Detroit of Asia?

Regarding FDI.

Anyway… buy your own country made is the best solution to kept the money in. It's not only about 'patriotic'.[/quote]

You're right. The best solution is to keep money within the country to increase GDP and citizen's earnings.

For Indonesian journalist, you're right to say 250million people's economies of scale but be prepare for the worst. You're many will be out and as long the VW is there, you're GDP is off course increase however albeit.

Malaysia just need more transparent G only handling tax payer money. For current foreign policy, it just ok for Malaysia.

• mayor81 on May 08, 2009 at 11:01 pm

peYno wrote:

B16a VTEC& 4G92 MIVEC owner wrote:

Perotiga wrote:

those foreign automobile manufacturer are trying to leaving us right now, but no worries at least we still have p1 & p2. haha… maybe later VW will become taxi in indonesia. please keep laughing… ha… ha… ha…

become taxi also better qc than our car. Have you been to Germany? they even use Merc as taxi. now lough on that…

pity malaysian.. prrrfthhh

for those who has not travel around, please do so and open your eye

Since my friend here travels abroad a lot and assuming the rest of us here doesn't, and knows we know nothing, let me tell you something, Toyota and Honda IS ACTUALLY OVERPRICED here! They have already placed their item as premium product in Malaysia. Why? Because Malaysians likes to believe that when they drive a Toyota Vios they are one class above their peers who drives a Gen2. Honestly, they are no better. I'm no Proton hardcore supporter, my family drives imports except my dad who is comfortable with his SAGA and Perdana. Malaysians are missing the point and going with brands without proper reasoning. Have you heard of people buying the wrong car for their needs simply because they want to be perceived as brand-wise by others? Like a family of 4 who needs a small sedan but end up buying a Mini town car from Perodua? Then after a balik kampung excurison complaints that there is no space to store luggage because the boot space was small. Proton MPV vs Perodua MPV? Come on, why even bother comparing?! Different requirements, requires different applications and tools. Similar story different car. Peace!

(Sorry Paul for going overboard again!)

• ariefin on May 08, 2009 at 11:11 pm

[quote comment="236718"]I'm a journalist from Indonesia. I'm just being neutral and not offended by any comments of u. For us it is an overwhelming step of VW to put plant here in Indonesia. It creates jobs and helps the economy to step up.

So for conclusion is that business always take risks no matter what. I do really appreciate about Proton Exora, it is really the best family car for Malaysia. I just cant wait the respond of Indonesian people here if Exora will be launched in next a month or so here. But then, Freed is coming here in Indonesia for the first time in south east asia. One of the Director of Honda here in Indonesia said that there are already order for more than 500 units until now . I also talked to my friend who is also work as sales promotion. He said the same thing. So, we'll see also if VW made the right decision if Touran can beat Exora and Freed. Thank u[/quote]

I agree with Augusta, I am also from Indonesia and I will also keep neutral considering some of the harsh comments about our country. It has been confirmed that the Touran 1.4 TSI will be sold here in Indonesia and possibly CKD assembled. Indonesia has a population of 250 million and that is a market VW is trying to tap. That is also a thing that Proton is trying to do with the Proton Exora this coming months.

From the WSJ they say that the plant will be a 1 hour drive from the Jakarta, so this means around the Karawang area near the TMMIN and Honda assembly line. My guess is that VW somehow has cut a deal with Proton to use their assembly plant in Karawang which has been rumoured to be sold by Proton or possible rented.

Regarding taxis we are using the Toyota Alphard, MB C240, Vios, Waja. A source also mentioned that Blue Bird Group already has plans to use the E-class or S-class as taxi

Just be happy that finally VW has decided to put a assembly plant in ASEAN for at least they can use the AFTA scheme to sell the cars in Malaysia or other countries.

• peYno on May 08, 2009 at 11:29 pm

[quote comment="236760"]The G story will be let the people got $$ buy those expensive car, buy protong to support the country even though the $$ you pay does not generate back the quality. Support your nation! Isnt that 20 years hearing of this already?

Oh wait, i forget the creation of job is not important. The tax of those people buying expensive car is more important to the pocket anyhow.[/quote]

so.. if proton/perodua not exist… investors will come and invest here??.. wake up laa…prrrfthhhh

pls admit.. thai/indons attract investors better than us…

• goguncas71 (Member) on May 08, 2009 at 11:47 pm

Malaysia protectionist?

Give me a break, you think giving foreigners the same treatment like Proton somehow going to make Malaysia a 'detroit of the east'?

Don't be stupid – PERODUA IS JAPANESE OWNED!!! Do you see them exporting cars all over the world? (A token few to UK but certainly they don't allow to challenge the Japanese made Dahatsu) Do you see Toyota/Daihatsu making perodua the production hub for Myvi/Passo/Boon? Why do they keep manufacturing them in Japan?

WHAT DO WE GET FOR ALL THE TAX BREAKS WE GIVE THEM?

WHERE"S ALL THE PROFITS (AND INCOME TAX WE COULD BE COLLECTING?)

Bah!! A 47 million dollar factory? What kind of car 'Factory' cost 47 million?

Only when they start a production hub and start exporting worldwide from indonesia is there soething to talk about…

• muryadi on May 08, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Nice, paultan.org also has Indonesian reader as well. Keep on coming, I myself like to know your "automotive" stories/news/comments as well.

What a wonderful IT/internet world indeed.

• bmpower on May 08, 2009 at 11:56 pm

[quote comment="236758"]yah msi,

reflects his shallow mentality.(sad)[/quote]

when you trying to labeling people.

it's reflect yourself. most of the time it make you look more bad.

If you think you're good, none of your post are factual nor has point.

Regarding PATI…

If anyone thinkin im joking. yess. i might been true. If you think it's not.. yess.. you're true too..

Some might be thinking, it's not a serious issue. But PATI is really a damn serious issue. You go and living in Klang town for a week, than you know what I mean. I didn't meant all of them are bad guy on the street, but yourself gonna felt bit unsecure when around you are 70% Indonesian!.

1 – Let say.. a VW factory in Indonesia only made not over 1 million new job. So it's mean, not much 1 factory to help a country, a really poor country with so low FDI.

2 – Don't you know, that's MILLIONS of RM just fly over to Indonesia every year by PATI?

3 – Every single one PATI that's captured, before send them back to Indonesia, how much we had to spend money for them? it's all reach over 50million per year!

4 – Many person those say… Oh! 'malaysian loosing investor (VW).. Many of them just dreaming to had a Golf GT even in reality they cant afford it!. and in other words… they are just selfish!.

for 4sight,

if you wanna argue me. It's ok. Everybody has different POV.

but please! with fact and longer comment without too much emotion involve…

write more 'educated comment' not your arrogant attitude.

TQ.

• amirzaim on May 09, 2009 at 12:03 am

Volkswagen memang bagus bukak kilang kat indon sebab ada ramai pekerja yang menganggur nak cari makan. Depa takpe sebab rakyat indonesia tak fikir soal gaji, tak songeh pulak tu. Boleh jadi kes PATI makin kurang. Tapi, rakyat malaysia, macam mana? ada peluang kerja, tapi terlalu pilih kerja sangat sampai hampir keseluruhan sektor industri dikuasai oleh pendatang asing. Cammane nak explain? nak salahkan pendatang asing ke rakyat kite? Kalaulah kereta Volkswagen keluar kereta sport seperti golf GTI ,scirocco dsb. di indonesia, boleh jadi harga kereta lebih murah berbanding keluaran negara eropah yang kena cukai tinggi.

• [quote comment="236711"][quote comment="236643"].. so what so great to have a debt ridden VW in the country?[/quote]

VW has 10 Billion Euro (approx. RM47 Billion) cash. That was the reason why Porsche wanted to take over the company…[/quote]

brother, look at its debt of 18 billion euro it owes to its cummulative bondholders,unfortunately the huge bondholders are Porsche owner, so what will you do when you are in Porsche shoe when u know that u will not get your money back? u will certainly buy VW shares and its controlling stake to ensure you get your money back, right? if you have $18 billion bonds and not including any other liabilities, and your cash at bank is $10 billion only , is that something wrong with cash flow?

• waheng (Member) on May 09, 2009 at 12:18 am

they made the right decision only for their own future, neither country nor citizens. Hence end up 1.6 Exora..

• peYno on May 09, 2009 at 12:30 am

[quote comment="236798"]they made the right decision only for their own future, neither country nor citizens. Hence end up 1.6 Exora..[/quote]

exora and upcomping perodua MPV .. rite???

prrfthhh

• asahiyakuza on May 09, 2009 at 12:49 am

Aihh.. I don't understand Malaysian.. Doesn't it occurs to you that those country that use Foreign car (e.g Thai with Ford..Toyota.. etc) as their taxis is merely because they don't have their own National car? Germany use Merc.. VW as taxis(guess where they come from)… Sweden use Volvo(again guess..). Ever think about India using TATA cars for their taxis.. and think about their quality!!.. Just be proud we have our own national car… something to talk about… and like it or not.. after 28 years, Proton is still here and have a European brand under it… aihh…

• ariefin on May 09, 2009 at 12:57 am

[quote comment="236785"]Nice, paultan.org also has Indonesian reader as well. Keep on coming, I myself like to know your "automotive" stories/news/comments as well.

What a wonderful IT/internet world indeed.[/quote]

I have been following this blog for some time, and find it most informative regarding the automotive industry especially here in ASEAN. I would not say that Indonesia is a poor country, considering that the Honda Freed already has a lot of bookings.

I hope that Paul has the chance to see the upcoming Indonesian International Motor Show which is going to be held end of July – August at the Jakarta Expo Center. He can report a little bit about the automotive condition here in Indonesia.

Considering that there is still a Global Financial Crisis and the government has not given any stimulus for purchasing new cars. The market itself is still growing, but at a slower pace because of the increase in car pricing. Proton itself is doing considering well this few months because they are the only ones who have a price range for sedans below IDR 200 million (RM 57.100)

The crazy thing is that Lamborghini has opened their authorized dealership in Indonesia and already has sold 12 units of the Gallardo LP560/4

• watercolor on May 09, 2009 at 12:58 am

[quote comment="236682"]Why must we use an automotive blog site to vent our political frustrations? I reckon the decision makers would have their reasons for declining VW's proposal. Unless, one has privy to the conditions set at the negotiation table, one will never know. Perhaps, the conditions set by VW were too one-sided that even if the FDI were to be received in Malaysia, it might not be beneficial to the country. Remember, everything has a price and being excellent businessmen, I am sure the VW people would have suggested a number of conditions that might not be "mutually beneficial" to Malaysia for their investment here. And VW being tough negotiators (and they usually are), it might not have been easy for our representatives to find the middle ground for a "win-win" decision. FDIs are good in boosting a nation's economy but NOT all FDIs are beneficial. Maybe, mistakes might have been made in the past but we must continue to encourage our administrators to strive to protect our interests and drive towards getting quality FDIs.[/quote]

True.

Not all FDIs are of good quality.

It's timely that the country seeks n welcome only high quality FDIs.

And at the same time promote local industries to become FDI in other countries.

• look at the bright sight. prosper neighbor is good. i dont think we can live in peace if all investments into asean goes to malaysia, and leave out our neighbor, or we have to leave with double or triple window and door iron grille in our house

• mystvearn on May 09, 2009 at 1:54 am

There is no way of hiding the fact then when ASEAN countries + German carmakers = monstrous flaming the government. LOL

• Sick&Tired on May 09, 2009 at 1:59 am

There are several reason's why Volkswagen opted for Indonesia. And one of them is the screwed up Automotive Policy which was introduced by our government to protect Proton & Perodua!

And to make things worse, they always make (unexpeected) announcements at the last minute & this makes it a not conducive environment to conduct business in malaysia .

• knight_templar on May 09, 2009 at 7:17 am

sadly i also think our loss is Indonesia's gain. Once again business is all about making money and sustaining operations even during turbulent economic periods. Our two local car makers are really nowhere near being prepared for open competition with the big guns. We really have to differentiate between patriotism and sound decision making. The fact is we dont have the numbers to compete with bigger car makers. I recently saw a report on CNN which shocked me. Assembly of cars in China is far cheaper than in Japan simply because of extremely low labor costs. The industrial revolution of the eighteen hundreds saw human power being superceded by machines and now take is taking a turn. So basically the Jap companies can assembly their own cars in China at lower costs than using high tech robots.

Of course there's the issue of green tech. Proton is miles away and does not even have a proper road map. The Detroit Auto deal will most likely tank. Proton's current crop of cars are merely on the cusp of basic technology( ie. CO2 emissions, activepassive safety, percieved quality). This means that the techology is going to become outdated in the less time than the product life cycle. It would have been so much better is Volks invested here, apart from the creation of jobs, usage of facilities and technology transfer, we could have simply had better cars for the ringgit. Is it P1, P2 bashing? No. Just common sense from someone who believes in once bitten twice shy…

• Andrew on May 09, 2009 at 11:57 am

I do hope it will give the way overrated Kijangs a run for their money.

Sadly I know that's a pretty high expectation, given the fact that the majority of Indonesian auto consumer is irrational – they're narrow-minded and short-sighted.

• embahmu on May 09, 2009 at 2:51 pm

Tying a knot with VW may only serve the need of the upper class segment of the society NOT 'the bottom billion'. If VW is not willing and ready to sacrifice a bit and be proud of it, there is a saying that goes '1 pergi, 10 mari'.

There will be a much better deal in the future. Only time will tell.

• goguncas71 (Member) on May 09, 2009 at 3:16 pm

Man…some people can get it and repeat the same lies again and again…

Proton is protected? Proton is going head to head with P2 which is a TOYOTA subsidiary on level playing field. Pitting Proton against the biggest car company in the world isn't exactly babying it is it?

Lies some more – if only we open up our market give foreign car companies the same incentives as Proton then we'll be another Detroit of the east? Bullsh@t…We have done exactly that (Japanese owned Perodua) and how many cars have they exported?

• Perotiga on May 09, 2009 at 5:17 pm

[quote comment="236731"]

Honda freed is a rival to Toyota sette (upcoming perodua MPV) in Japan market.. and honda freed outruns toyota sette interm of sales and popularity

U ar lucky such mpv will be entering indonesia market.. but in Malaysia ,, becoz of our gorv want to protect and give business to so called "malaysian 2nd national car" perodua… they will assemble this mpv instead of under Toyota brand (assembled in Thai or Indonesia)..

Honda freed definenetly will be direct rival to upcoming MPV perodua and if this honda freed enter malaysia market.. perodua mpv will be suffer[/quote]

i don't think so honda freed is a rival to p2 D46T with under protected from G in malaysia, how much import tax for this little MPV you know? 50% or 100%? and the local car only 10%. for example myvi beat jazz easily.

• Perotiga on May 09, 2009 at 5:23 pm

unless has a p3 to rebadging the freed transfer to local car.

• Perotiga on May 09, 2009 at 5:50 pm

[quote comment="236953"]Man…some people can get it and repeat the same lies again and again…

Proton is protected? Proton is going head to head with P2 which is a TOYOTA subsidiary on level playing field. Pitting Proton against the biggest car company in the world isn't exactly babying it is it?

Lies some more – if only we open up our market give foreign car companies the same incentives as Proton then we'll be another Detroit of the east? Bullsh@t…We have done exactly that (Japanese owned Perodua) and how many cars have they exported?[/quote]

p1 owned lotus, only p2 still babying with father mother, don't be afraid to open up our market.

myvi has exported to Indonesia and badged as the daihatsu sirion, shame.

• [quote comment="236878"]sadly i also think our loss is Indonesia's gain. Once again business is all about making money and sustaining operations even during turbulent economic periods. Our two local car makers are really nowhere near being prepared for open competition with the big guns. We really have to differentiate between patriotism and sound decision making. The fact is we dont have the numbers to compete with bigger car makers. I recently saw a report on CNN which shocked me. Assembly of cars in China is far cheaper than in Japan simply because of extremely low labor costs. The industrial revolution of the eighteen hundreds saw human power being superceded by machines and now take is taking a turn. So basically the Jap companies can assembly their own cars in China at lower costs than using high tech robots.

Of course there's the issue of green tech. Proton is miles away and does not even have a proper road map. The Detroit Auto deal will most likely tank. Proton's current crop of cars are merely on the cusp of basic technology( ie. CO2 emissions, activepassive safety, percieved quality). This means that the techology is going to become outdated in the less time than the product life cycle. It would have been so much better is Volks invested here, apart from the creation of jobs, usage of facilities and technology transfer, we could have simply had better cars for the ringgit. Is it P1, P2 bashing? No. Just common sense from someone who believes in once bitten twice shy…[/quote]

I did not why u have this idea… but it seems to be a thrash in the making.. Volks would not transfer technology to this region…by the way, the touran that being manufactured is not the latest technology or the latest generation.. i just wondered how they are going to sell in Japan… well i know japanase are tech savvy and love high end latest products… they must be laughing at these tourans and will say it a big "bagiro".. by the way, have u watched the BBC program that Geely China intend to use the robots instead of humans because they can't produce enough cars to compete and the Japan did not want to use China as a production platform because they are well aware and fear of cut, copy and paste or so called reverse engineering that are rampant in the chinese car manufacturers and they will certainly know that they will lose out in these games…. so for proton to be forefront, it must use its brains and to have originality to produce car even though it starts from basic… because an original work is better and far more superior than a cut and copy paste work….

• scanzew on May 09, 2009 at 6:37 pm

malaysian 'force' by government to using low quality national car…maybe until we dead pun maybe we cannot see toyota vios at the level RM30K- 50K…..

• scanzew on May 09, 2009 at 9:13 pm

merging proton and perodua still solve the problem…proton hardly need foreign partner…very crucial move

• ariefin on May 09, 2009 at 9:17 pm

[quote comment=”237044″][quote comment=”237030″]can somebody tell me how much is the price for vios in indonesia…[/quote]
    1.5E M/T rp204.400.000rp = rm68.9838
    1.5G M/T rp217.400.000rp = rm73.3712
    1.5G A/T rp230.200.000rp = rm77.6911

http://www.toyota.co.id/cars/price/?Model=Vios
    http://finance.yahoo.com/currency-converter#from=IDR;to=MYR;amt=1[/quote]

Yup those are the OTR prices for the Vios however it doesn’t sell that well as a private car. Toyota got large sales of the Vios because they have marketed the Taxi version of the Vios which is around Rp 140 million OTR = RM 47.633 with the main bulk being purchased by the Blue Bird Group of around 2.000 units. In the price range of small sedans only the Proton Persona is sold under Rp 200 million ( Persona H-Line A/T Rp 158. million)
    and the Proton Saga is sold here for Rp 115 million for M/T M-LIne and Rp 125 million for A/T M-Line and sales of Proton is rising due to cheap price alternative.

The big 10 in Indonesia is still dominated by MPV’s which are:
    1. Toyota Avanza 6200 units
    2. Daihatsu Xenia
    2. Toyota Kijang Innova
    4. Daihatsu Gran Max
    5. Honda Jazz
    6. Suzuki APV Arena
    7. Daihatsu Luxio
    8. Nissan Grand Livina
    9. Daihatsu Terios
    10. Toyota Rush.

So it wouldn’t be any surprise that VW considers Indonesia as its main MPV market. From what I have heared is that the assembly plant is considering making the VW Gol of the Brazilian market available for ASEAN as a cheap option

• cikaput on May 09, 2009 at 9:52 pm

[quote comment="236733"][quote comment="236693"]That's a really good move what?

you know what?

See?[/quote]

he's giving his comments… do not let us think that u are the nutshell..

• cikaput on May 09, 2009 at 10:02 pm

can somebody tell me how much is the price for vios in indonesia…

• Alifzzz on May 09, 2009 at 11:07 pm

I don't know why all basher's here so willing to have VW palnt over here? Hoping much for GolfGTi? Do you all know in last 20 years ago Golf is just bread&butter car, and in list of 'avoid it' from journalist in UK (somehow like P1 cars now)…and now looks how people praise Golf now? VW learn in hard ways as what they become now, and tooks more than 25 years or even more than 50 years (their first model is might be Beetle). So proton also had learned in hard way, and looks like they're now going back to peak.

I second bmpower on the FDI. Malaysia now is becoming as investor country and this is how we could in way become developed country, not depending on forgein investment. And let all Indonesian working in their homeland is much better as what commented by bmpower.

• Perotiga on May 09, 2009 at 11:22 pm

[quote comment="237030"]can somebody tell me how much is the price for vios in indonesia…[/quote]

1.5E M/T rp204.400.000rp = rm68.9838

1.5G M/T rp217.400.000rp = rm73.3712

1.5G A/T rp230.200.000rp = rm77.6911

http://www.toyota.co.id/cars/price/?Model=Vios http://finance.yahoo.com/currency-converter#from=…

• Perotiga on May 09, 2009 at 11:38 pm

[quote comment="237026"][quote comment="236733"][quote comment="236693"]That's a really good move what?

you know what?

See?[/quote]

he's giving his comments… do not let us think that u are the nutshell..[/quote]

a frog living in the well=the egg in the well hatched the tadpole swims around the well and grows slowly into a frog but it can't jump out from the well. then the frog sires the next generation after generation in the well. all these frogs will ever know is in the well and that is there only view of the universe.

• nadzri m yusof on May 10, 2009 at 1:41 am

We must accept VW decisions, You can criticised but VW know malaysian wil opt for Mercz or BMW first. Indo is a huge market maybe another 5 years thier TIV will hit 1million who know.

Proton and Perodua also have to compete in unfair interet rate, for many years rate are more 1% higher then non national car, why they never see this is protection form. I strongly belive p1 n p2 will dominate not lees 80% if they allowed to fair play.

• peYno on May 10, 2009 at 3:04 am

[quote comment="236970"]unless has a p3 to rebadging the freed transfer to local car.[/quote]

no need rebadge.. just ask Honda Thai or Indonesia to assemble freed for ASEAN version.. like toyota indonesia produce toyota AVANZA dan export to Malaysia.. the price is still same as Avanza produced by UMW/perodua..

• peYno on May 10, 2009 at 3:08 am

[quote comment="236967"][quote comment="236731"]

Honda freed definenetly will be direct rival to upcoming MPV perodua and if this honda freed enter malaysia market.. perodua mpv will be suffer[/quote]

i don't think so honda freed is a rival to p2 D46T with under protected from G in malaysia, how much import tax for this little MPV you know? 50% or 100%? and the local car only 10%. for example myvi beat jazz easily.[/quote]

As i said earlier.. if gorv open the market..and w/out protection from gorv.. the 1st company that will be die is P2..not P1..

who wanna buy P2 rebadge/downgraded version if ppl can buy the car under T and H brand

• Will VW downgrade their Touran simply because they want to make it cheaper?

Why not, Toyota also does the same thing with their Avanza.

• Perotiga on May 10, 2009 at 7:04 pm

[quote comment="237082"][quote comment="236967"][quote comment="236731"]

i don't think so honda freed is a rival to p2 D46T with under protected from G in malaysia, how much import tax for this little MPV you know? 50% or 100%? and the local car only 10%. for example myvi beat jazz easily.[/quote]

As i said earlier.. if gorv open the market..and w/out protection from gorv.. the 1st company that will be die is P2..not P1..

who wanna buy P2 rebadge/downgraded version if ppl can buy the car under T and H brand[/quote]

so cut down the sticking p2 with father mother and open up the market, let freed directly fight with sette in malaysia.

• [quote comment="237223"][quote comment="237082"][quote comment="236967"][quote comment="236731"]

who wanna buy P2 rebadge/downgraded version if ppl can buy the car under T and H brand[/quote]

so cut down the sticking p2 with father mother and open up the market, let freed directly fight with sette in malaysia.[/quote]

if that happens, 101% ppl will never buy proton. dont mention p2 already lol

• knight_templar on May 11, 2009 at 4:38 pm

Proton is first and foremost a business. One in which taxpayers money has been put on the line. As such the company's one and only aim should be profitability and sustanance. We are all aware that Protons future roadmap and plans are still shaky. The next generation of cars could even be badge engineered and the Campro engine is already outdated (in terms of power delivery, nvh, fuel consumption and i assume it would score poorly in terms of CO2 emissions).

So what should we do? Very simple allow foreign takeover. Hasnt Mini thrived under BMW? Mini are still built in very British Oxford by Brits. And how abt Rolls? The car used by HRH Queen E isnt even British owned but it is British made. This is the path Proton should take. Im not going to elaborate anymore as I believe this is a sound suggestion. Anyone who has preconceived notions, feel free to use the Internet, google all you want abt running bussiness and how foreign takeover has turned the fortunes of so many companies to realise its virtues.

• Reasonably Insane on May 11, 2009 at 8:44 pm

which type of foreign takeover?

1: just to use proton in order to get market volume for their cars… without much benefit for proton… in the end proton will turn back to become rebage company

2. takeover that offers fair deal.. benefits both companies… prosper proton and it's foreign partner…

if u refering to VW deal with proton… i believe it will fall into type 1

• knight_templar on May 11, 2009 at 9:09 pm

i have clearly mentioned which type. Read again and properly bozo!

• Perotiga on May 11, 2009 at 9:50 pm

3.ketuanan proton.

too bad, proton only want to live along with the ketuanan proton.

• So SeRioUs on May 12, 2009 at 7:02 am

[quote comment="237510"]3.ketuanan proton.

too bad, proton only want to live along with the ketuanan proton.[/quote]

—————————————————————-

bro…whats your problem…??

this blog become so boring with this kind of ppl… tunjuk pandai..

so much of comment from ppl like you…become not i interested anymore to read this blog…because of all your comments…seriously i mean it…doesn't shows any knowledge sharing from each of your comments…

go and work in proton..become CEO n we all wanna c how Proton would be under your brilliant leadership…

• Reasonably Insane on May 12, 2009 at 3:54 pm

[quote comment="237584"][quote comment="237510"]3.ketuanan proton.

—————————————————————-

so much of comment from ppl like you…become not i interested anymore to read this blog…because of all your comments…seriously i mean it…doesn't shows any knowledge sharing from each of your comments…

go and work in proton..become CEO n we all wanna c how Proton would be under your brilliant leadership…[/quote]

no need lor… already know what he's going to do… sell proton to some foreign company and walk away with bunch of undertable money…

• knight_templar on May 12, 2009 at 4:23 pm

—————————————————————-

go and work in proton..become CEO n we all wanna c how Proton would be under your brilliant leadership…[/quote]

Dont readla. Better for the nation. I Even the gov admits that cross fertilisation is needed to bring ideas in from the private sector

• Perotiga on May 12, 2009 at 8:32 pm

—————————————————————-

i am regretted, i hope i could recovery my wrong… that all came out with my very private emotion and act like a selfish with brainless… seriously.

• ripratama (Member) on May 13, 2009 at 3:48 am

As an Indonesian, I'm surprised to see that VW with their very small sales volume outlook gives the go for a new assembly plant. Most Indonesians (myself excluded) wouldn't think of buying anything but Japanese in view of best resale value and perceived durability, and couldn't care less for comfort, driving dynamics and safety.

VW's toughest task is to get customers out of their Innovas, Avanzas and all other unsafe & uncomfortable MPV-wannabes here and try their Touran out. With powerful marketing and price incentives, it may succeed in breaking the typical mindset here. Who knows, perhaps they can thrive like they did in China.

• So SeRioUs on May 13, 2009 at 6:01 am

[quote comment="237644"][quote comment="237584"][quote comment="237510"]3.ketuanan proton.

—————————————————————-

Dont readla. Better for the nation. I Even the gov admits that cross fertilisation is needed to bring ideas in from the private sector[/quote]

————————————–

Bro.. read my comment properly la..i said,

some comments here very annoying…some ppl just google n then tunjuk pndai here wit info that they have… tunjuk mcm dah terlebih 'khatam' buku economy, buku sejarah, buku automotive… pls la..

admit… comment tu bia la ber informative n membina..

not simply bashing, kutuk… yg betul, ok fine.. but not all ppl here telling the truth… got it?

thanx for reading my commentss

• knight_templar on May 14, 2009 at 5:43 am

[quote comment="237883"][quote comment="237644"][quote comment="237584"][quote comment="237510"]3.ketuanan proton.

—————————————————————-

Dont readla. Better for the nation. I Even the gov admits that cross fertilisation is needed to bring ideas in from the private sector[/quote]

————————————–

some comments here very annoying…some ppl just google n then tunjuk pndai here wit info that they have… tunjuk mcm dah terlebih 'khatam' buku economy, buku sejarah, buku automotive… pls la..

not simply bashing, kutuk… yg betul, ok fine.. but not all ppl here telling the truth… got it?

thanx for reading my commentss[/quote]

what makes u think ur the truth gauge? How would u know if the're speaking out of experience? Truth is you dun even have an opinion. Ur like one of those perodua Kancil 660 drivers. You dump all ur lives savings and earnings to buy the most affordable brand new car so that u at least have fur tyres to use our highways. Then u complaint about toll, petrol blablabla. But u dun realise that ur a nuisance on the road just like u r on this blog. The reason ppl trash talk sometimes is bcos they have been subdued for so long. Once theyre satisfied venting feelings constructive ideas will blossom. But we should never ever deprive ppl of avenues to vent feelings, including blog. Off with bigots like you…

• So SeRioUs on May 15, 2009 at 6:40 am

[quote comment="238176"][quote comment="237883"][quote comment="237644"][quote comment="237584"][quote comment="237510"]3.ketuanan proton.

—————————————————————-

————————————–

thanx for reading my commentss[/quote]

what makes u think ur the truth gauge? How would u know if the're speaking out of experience? Truth is you dun even have an opinion. Ur like one of those perodua Kancil 660 drivers. You dump all ur lives savings and earnings to buy the most affordable brand new car so that u at least have fur tyres to use our highways. Then u complaint about toll, petrol blablabla. But u dun realise that ur a nuisance on the road just like u r on this blog. The reason ppl trash talk sometimes is bcos they have been subdued for so long. Once theyre satisfied venting feelings constructive ideas will blossom. But we should never ever deprive ppl of avenues to vent feelings, including blog. Off with bigots like you…[/quote]

———————————–

wahh!!

i'm so impressed with your comment…looks like u r the one who only deserve to gives comment in this blog?good..thanx for insulting others or precisely me…very appreciate that…

well who cares…again..thanx for reading my comments…my lousy comment?

dats what u mean? thanx

u simply label me as annoying poor guy who only can afford kancil n talks so much in this blog? weyy… read back whats perotiga comment..why r u simply bashed me?nak tunjuk pandai la kan..even u r rich, afford to buy H,T,M,VW or watsoever, doesn't mean org lain bodoh n miskin..

takder org nak amik tau ko tu kaya byk mana pn…arrogant!

pls learn how to respect others…