Electric smart fortwo to enter small series production after positive trial

Smart Electric Drive

Daimler has confirmed that it will put the smart fortwo electric drive into small series production after a successful 100 car UK trial involving the Metropolitan Police, universities, local councils, architects and energy companies. The trial involved select customers leasing the vehicle for 4 years at a monthly cost of £375.

The smart fortwo electric drive is powered by a 30kW electric motor built by Zytek. It runs on a single gear transmission and smart claims that cost-wise, it is able to achieve the equivalent of 300mpg. You charge it via a regular 3-pin plug as it has its own own-board charger. 0 to 60km/h takes 6.5 seconds, which isn’t very sluggy at all actually but because it only has a single gear ratio, top speed is limited to more or less 100km/h.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• scanzew on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:23 pm

soon as possible available at malaysia…pleaseeee…oil price will go up again very soon..maybe reach US$200 per barrel within years….dangerous situation huhuhuhu

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:35 pm

our Lotus EV with D.E is far better.

• Yes! I would love to have one for my mum to goto pasar and wife to send kids to school.

• KitKat on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:27 pm

Purrrrrfect for a city car.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:27 pm

canzew said,

June 23, 2009 @ 11:23 am

soon as possible available at malaysia…pleaseeee…oil price will go up again very soon..maybe reach US$200 per barrel within years….dangerous situation huhuhuhu

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/06/23/electric-s…

Dream on dude… petronas influence is way too strong in Malaysia, how can they make money when everybody starts driving electric car?

But the car spec is quite impressive though…

• Nutzs on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:35 am

Haha, this is the best car to use in traffic jams.. "Beep" 'coming through, coming through'…shoo shoo…XD

• fizz6487 on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:18 am

Yeah… Oil price will rise and never go down.

We need a car that use nuclear power… Maybe this car will support for full power for 20 years??

This is great idea right?

• Stick a remote controller n u have a life-sized Tamiya to play on weekends. Hehe.

• scanzew on Jun 24, 2009 at 7:00 am

maybe gasoline skyrocketing to RM3/litre at 2010 to RM5/litre at 2013…. mampus la sape bawak naza RIA ke….sekali tekan vroom jer dah kena RM1.50 hahahahaha…very very mampus situation…malaysia very crucial setup nuclear plant for energy…maybe this nuclear plant located at remote area…tengah banjaran titiwangsa ke…pulau sepadan ke…….

• ooh, 1 gear ratio, more or less similar to a cvt since it never shifts up or down.

the top speed limit is negligible considering that in most cities like london, traffic never goes above 60km/h.

• fizz6487 on Jun 24, 2009 at 4:22 pm

i really dreaming nuclear power for our country… and of course our malaysian car industry.

Maybe one day, we have our own nuclear plant at banjaran titiwangsa. But of course, if we success for that nuclear plant, we have another problem. We must remind ourselves about world policeman, America. This america will not accept all muslim country to generate nuclear plant.

Or, we could train our people to follow what Iran do…

Oooh… if we have the nuclear engine for car…,

• PROTON roti benggali on Jun 26, 2009 at 3:22 pm

this car design la.. remind me of roti beggali.. LOL