New Jaguar XJ’s all-aluminium body and chassis

Jaguar XJ

Like the outgoing Jaguar XJ, the upcoming new XJ set for a 9th July 2009 debut will have an all-aluminium body and chassis construction. That’s the only way a large car like the current generation XJ could weigh less than 1,600kg.

Jaguar has released another teaser video, this time centered around the new XJ’s all-aluminium chassis. We get to see the chassis from the side and top, which should give us a better idea of how the car’s roofline will be shaped like.

Watch the video after the jump.

Previously featured Jaguar XJ Teasers:
All-new Jaguar XJ set for 9th July debut!
Is this what the new Jaguar XJ will look like?
VIDEO: Ian Callum on the new Jaguar XJ
VIDEO: Jaguar XJ Bowers & Wilkins Teaser

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yeews on Jun 26, 2009 at 8:44 am

No 1

• yeews on Jun 26, 2009 at 8:44 am

hehehe… always wanted to do that since everyone so gung ho about it

:P

• Gajen on Jun 26, 2009 at 9:09 am

the current xj is also all aluminium chassis right? so is this better or the same…

anyway…cant wait to see this xj!

• Roshana Begh on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:04 am

After a 13.3inch MacBook Pro release last month, this would be the next on aluminium chasis. Now in my wish list.

Paultan,any word on the price yet?

• PROTON TIGER vs BRIT on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:44 am

Jaguar XJ chasis vs PROTON EXORA MPV chasis.. who win ar…?

LOTUS ENGINEERING? TIGER ENGINEERING? JAGUAR ENGINEERING?

• PROTON TIGER vs BRIT on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:51 am

maybe next time PROTON will built the car body chasis with the hardest steel in this world.. the japanese Katana sword metal, even bullet also can't destroy it!

then this will happeen…

PROTON TIGER cat said … AUMMMMMM!!!!

BRITISH JAGUAR said… OUCHHH!!!

• PROTON TIGER vs BRIT on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:53 am

watch this Japanese sword KATANA vs MACHINE GUN.. and its REAL!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9b1rnHdq3Rs

maybe next time PROTON will built the car body chasis with the hardest steel in this world.. the japanese Katana sword metal, even bullet also can't destroy it!

then this will happeen…

PROTON TIGER cat said … AUMMMMMM!!!!

BRITISH JAGUAR said… OUCHHH!!!

• azrai on Jun 26, 2009 at 3:59 pm

Can our local 'kedai ketuk, kimpal, dan mengecat kereta' repair the car after accident?

• roti naan1 on Jun 26, 2009 at 6:48 pm

if a person own a Jag, it is assumed he/she could afford sending the Jag Authorised Repair Center.

You don't want your car that costs hundred of thousand of RM to some local ketuk body shop, do you?

Anyway, aluminum requires different welding equipment compared to Ali, Ah Kau and Mutusamy ketuk bodyshop. Just for any one information

• Hmm… Last time l heard from lotus, aluminium chassis are pressurized(filled with gas) inside it, because aluminium is weak naturally. What happens when you accident? I'm sure ah beng and ah lian from local repair shop cant repair it. Correct me if im wrong

• does proton basher here notice that new jag above similar to something

??

?

?

?

100plus tin can….both made of aluminium…hehehe

bashla…..kete ni

• you have to ask the same question to land rover defender owners .