Jaguar XFR launched with RM888,888 pricetag

Jaguar XFR

The Jaguar XFR is now here in Malaysia, featuring the new AJ-V8 Gen III (AJ133) engine that produces 510 PS and 625Nm of torque. Jaguar did alot of shouting when the XFR was first released, claiming it was the fastest Jaguar ever based on the top speed of 363.188km/h recorded at Utah’s Bonneville Salt Flats.

And how much would you have to pay for one of these? RM888,888 OTR without insurance. Now what else can you get in Malaysia for that money? Two cars come to mind – the BMW M5, and the Brabus S B7 which is a tuned up W221 S350 S-Class. The XFR is definitely a looker in the metal and in photos as well, and the engine sound even at idle really stirs up some adrenaline.

That exhaust system is really some good work on Jaguar’s part, and even just teasing the engine with some light revs produce a real beautiful induction and exhaust sound, which I’m sure everyone at the Pavilion tonight enjoyed. Supercharged V8s seem to maintain that amazing way they sound, while a turbocharger in the middle of the exhaust stream seem to screw around with the engine note a little.

Jaguar XKR

SISMA Auto also unveiled the latest Jaguar XKR today, which gets the Jaguar Drive Selector knob from the XJ and the same 510 PS and 625Nm engine as the XFR. The XKR goes for RM1,088,888 for the coupe and for the convertible there is a premium of RM150k, so it retails at RM1,158,888.

For now these figures definitely beat the BMW M5’s but I have a feeling they might fall short once the F10 M5 is out, since the X5-M and X6-M already have a 555 PS engine. But with both BMW and Jaguar’s monster engines featuring forced induction it should be much easier to wring more power out of them anytime.

Look after the jump for more photos I snapped at the launch event.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=424]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• redwings on Aug 13, 2009 at 6:50 am

gosh… what a lucky numbers….888,888…

• crazy pricing :0

• Cutester on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:11 am

Can't even afford a car at RM88,888…. :(

• Yu tjin on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:29 am

Wat a beautiful car…Awesome

• BeemeFreak on Aug 13, 2009 at 8:05 am

Wow. this baby is gorgeous. Might convert from beemer freak to Jagfreak. Top Gear's Jeremy Clarkson also praised this car heavily sayin that it is on par with the Beemer M5.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Aug 13, 2009 at 8:32 am

Deborah Priya Henry is hawt~

• DannyArcher on Aug 13, 2009 at 9:23 am

what? the dashboard is made out of plastic covered in leather? where is the timber dashboard?

its so plastic!!!!

• Cuppy on Aug 13, 2009 at 11:30 am

but a beemer always a beemer…it has a standard by itself ;)

• pennstater on Aug 13, 2009 at 2:42 pm

hahahahhahahaa the price tag

• James on Aug 13, 2009 at 3:05 pm

A correction: RM1,088k to RM1,158k is a difference of RM70k, not RM150k

• Kambing Laut on Aug 13, 2009 at 3:12 pm

Imposible is nothing….

But this kind of pricetag would make it as imposible.

So nothing more…

• mohd hafizzul on Aug 13, 2009 at 3:46 pm

Gila ke apa?? Mahal la SIOT !!!

• azrai on Aug 13, 2009 at 3:56 pm

haiyaa…Sure target chinese consumer market with those 888k price tag.

• bobdbilder on Aug 13, 2009 at 4:03 pm

I don't think you'd put a German in this comparison. Caddilacs and Aston Martin or Maserati should come to mind. Its not about the ponies when you are at this price bracket. Superlatives should be reserved for refined driving, image and aura.

• kimi_ on Aug 13, 2009 at 4:05 pm

better buy a house at mont kiara…………

• lambov12 on Aug 13, 2009 at 4:35 pm

surely .. it will go to subzero section ..

• stephenstreets on Aug 13, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Deborah Priya Henry is hot.

Oh and the XFR is very hot too! Its not as pricey as M5(RM 1 Juta =;=!).

Here's another car on my list of cars-that-i want-but-can-never-afford-in-my-entire-life list(seems to be growing longer recently)

• r3dskai on Aug 13, 2009 at 5:25 pm

if only they sell it with the babes inside..:D

• my car only worth RM8,888.00

• zurial on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:12 pm

for that kind of pricing, u need too much of money, too much of pride, and too much of everything else.

• Anonymous on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Price including the lady? :D

• FastCar on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:29 pm

Wish to have this along side Aston Martin and Maserati! Wow…

• Gajen on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:31 pm

tHe^CuLpRit said,

August 13, 2009 @ 12:32 am

Deborah Priya Henry is hawt~

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/08/12/jaguar-xfr-launched…

exactly…haha…shes hotter than the car

• jaguar club subang j on Aug 13, 2009 at 8:51 pm

its an awesome car

• gavin on Aug 14, 2009 at 1:23 am

Do they come with those legs? if not i think it will help though

• May i know where is the gear?????? Did it 'erected' when we start the engine????

• Paul Tan on Aug 14, 2009 at 2:11 am

Er… yeah, the knob "erects".

• it doesn't look 888,888 to me.

• the gear is a turning knob..

• mystvearn on Aug 14, 2009 at 2:16 am

Cars aimed at the businessman, politicians, and royalties

• mozaks (Member) on Aug 14, 2009 at 3:08 am

wonder how much the insurance and road tax will be..

• aksMs on Aug 14, 2009 at 3:45 am

zurial said,

August 13, 2009 @ 11:12 am

for that kind of pricing, u need too much of money, too much of pride, and too much of everything else.

____________________________________________________________________________

….and a tiny manhood too? Tehehehe! Oh well…it's still a bloody beautiful car for what it is. Can't help but to drool over it. And the lady too! ;)

• My god…it's RM888k, in taiwan , it's around RM500K.. Take a look here.
    http://news.u-car.com.tw/news-detail.asp?nid=9592

For that extra 388k i can get myself a 370Z(in malaysia) :)

• keluangman on Aug 14, 2009 at 4:39 am

gimme a Maserati Quattroporte anyday…. this car fugly.

Jaguar? Untuk org tua lah! Senior citizen car! haha…

• mitlanevo on Aug 14, 2009 at 10:32 pm

s-type and x-type are MUCH MUCH MUCHHHHHH better than this…

• Buggatti on Aug 14, 2009 at 11:37 pm

Can buy ferrari already.

• i think people here would go for the XF first, this one is seriously meant for people who wants lots of power but not a bmw, and has a real thick wallet.

when's the XJ coming tho?

• henry on Aug 16, 2009 at 9:22 am

ohhh deborah priya henry.. when she speak, i'm flirty!!

• plutohunter on Aug 16, 2009 at 10:28 am

Why do they like to do this kind of thing? Hiking up the price just so they could have all 8s? Please tell me that's not the actual price even after tax. :|

• yelenmotorsport on Aug 17, 2009 at 5:56 am

yup, better get the M5

• darylyap on Aug 17, 2009 at 9:29 am

Honestly,

It takes someone with a more refined taste for things in life to truly appreciate a Jaguar, no doubt it looses out to its german beemer, merc, audi rivals when it comes to the engineering side of things but IMHO nothing matches British class, elegance and svelte'ness. It is rather stereotypical for the masses to put Jaguar beneath the germans in terms of hierarchy ranking but in my opinion, Jaguar stands above the rest. Personally having previously owned a 5-Series and currently a XF, it is a completely different ball game, on the road you wouldn't take a second look at a 5-series going by as what is there to shout about when every single china man or tom dick and harry seems to have one these days? The amount of heads that the XF turns is insane, at every stop light when you see people in other cars glaring at the XF, moving here and there just to get a better look..now that satisfaction you get from that is simply irreplaceable. Even at hotel jockeys, with a an XF your guaranteed a spot right infront of the entrance, whilst they hide the CLS's and the 6 series's in the back. And there has been a few occasions where upon getting in the XF from the jockeys the fella who drove the car infront of whatever hotel actually stuck his head in before closing the door and said 'Nice ah boss?' with a giant smirk on his face. Lets see that happen with a 5-series, E-class or a CLS. There are what, thousands of 5-series's on the road? The grey imports and mass production capabilities of BMW has killed the exclusivity of the BMW badge, the last time i checked there were only 76 Registered XF's in Malaysia (i was one of the first 10 to acquire the car) but that shouldn't matter, when jaguar built the XF and the XFR it was said that it was not intended to be direct competitors to any german rivals, it was built to be a class on its own, and thats what jaguar is, its sales is not targeted for the masses, jaguars market segment is aimed at a niche group of individuals that really know how to appreciate the 'angry cat badge'. Heck even I'd rather swap my current 7 series for the latest upcoming Jaguar XJ instead of the 'oh not so impressive' F01 7 series.

p.s. to people who really think the interior looks cheap, i suggest you waltz over to Sisma Auto and get into a XF, not even the XFR just a standard XF, sit down and i need not say more as a 5 series's interior isn't even a fraction as classy as a Jags interior. You do realize that the XF has bagged tonnes of 'Best Interior' awards around the world right? Also CAR magazine named the XF best all timer and best executive car of 2008 over the CLS, 5 Sries, Audi A6 etc. etc.

cheers to all,

This post is strictly based on my opinions and solely my opinion, if anyone is offended in anyway i do apologize in advance.

• shoryuken on Aug 17, 2009 at 8:16 pm

Its insane price…

• how much is a brand new m5 ?

• ini kereta siapa mau pakai di malaysia? tan sri juga pakai, orang tua2 juga tatak boleh speeding ma

• zuljag on Nov 15, 2009 at 4:43 am

heyy..y dun u all just come and have a look at the car first..

i'll be glad to show u around the car ..:p

• i truly agree with what daryl said . This car is truly in a class of its own and the best part is , no 1 can deny that.

• i like this car!!!!! so smart!!