Rally Indonesia: Neo S2000 shakedown complete!

neo-s2000-alister-mcrae
Click for enlarged image

And here they are, the first photo of the Proton Satria Neo Super 2000′ with its new driver and navigator – Alister McRae and Bill Hayes. They’ve just completed their Rally Indonesia shakedown and are now ready for the 222km of competitive stages in Makassar this weekend, winding through the sugarcane plantations of Takalar.

“It’s a real honour for me to have the opportunity to drive for a new manufacturer like Proton. We’ve had a good shakedown today and are happy with the performance of the car. The conditions are very hot and dusty, but we’re definitely looking forward to the challenge on the weekend and will give it our best,” said McRae. Let’s see how the Neo does with its new pilots.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=536]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• scanzew on Oct 02, 2009 at 9:13 pm

hahaha satria neo with Bugati veyron engine ka???hahaha….

• scanzew GTFO pls..

• fadzly on Oct 02, 2009 at 10:04 pm

who is this scanzew? is he a noob?

• Halfclutch on Oct 02, 2009 at 10:25 pm

come on guys..dun be so stiff..let's laugh together with him..hahahahaha..laughter is good for your health..hahahahaha

• Tiadaid on Oct 02, 2009 at 10:27 pm

I hope Alistair can get some good result in Indonesia so that'll silence all the Proton bashers, although I hope they can quickly convert the car to right hand drive for Karamjit to drive.

• henry on Oct 02, 2009 at 10:33 pm

Tiadaid, there is no point to waste money to convert to RHD if Alister did well there.

• HANCOCK on Oct 02, 2009 at 11:10 pm

GOOD JOB

• bmpower on Oct 03, 2009 at 12:49 am

It's still 'in developement stage' car.

So don't expect too much. The car is not well ready yet.

what ever it is.. all the best A.McRae

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 03, 2009 at 3:59 am

Official flag-off tonite then parc-ferme. Actions start tomorrow with 1st SS. Here's wishing the team all the best, and give us fans some 'rally' good news, come rain or shine! CIAO!

• huhuh on Oct 03, 2009 at 4:25 am

hi, paul. do u have any information on the proton new engine?

• Go Proton Go.

• dalam buletin utama tadi dilaporkan Proton dah siapkan engin baru 1.6 cc. tapi tiada pendetailan.

• Anonymous on Oct 03, 2009 at 6:58 am

Bravo Mr Alister! .. Err.. Proton!

• fazron80 on Oct 03, 2009 at 7:46 am

good luck to our neo s2000

• Jarum on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:01 am

So Karamjit Singh is jobless again?

• Kerelbort on Oct 03, 2009 at 10:27 am

Sadly, the Flying Singh not use to the LHD setup that Neo S2000 having right now… I've seen a vidz of him navigating the Neo S2000 for the first time and my first instinct is that he is very carefully navigating the car thru the test course…. it might look like a measly simple problem but in a high speed 'cruising' it does make a very big different.

I've also seen a few of his vidz navigating the Evo and he's very confident holding the car to the track…. and seen him on tarmac long long time ago during F1 promo @ JB and that really show how steady he was playing with the crowd as he tries to get nearer and nearer to the crowd on each corner…

I salute the Flying Singh and I wish luck to McRae and Hayes.

• still waiting for the good news from them!

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Did some research and asked around and this is what I found out. For everyone's info…..Karam drives a Left Hand Drive car for his daily use and that had been a good few years now. Yes it's not easy to drive a LHD car, but we are talking about Karam here. FYI…..he drove a LHD Ford X works car in the Thailand Rally in 2001/02 and won many races! 2 years ago (2007) he drove an EvoIX in the China Rally and that was a LHD too, and mind you, he was not slow …..clocking top3 times in all the stages, so that's not the thing here at the moment (about Karam not being able to handle a LHD – I too made that mistake earlier without researching, so apologies to Karam)…..Now THE Question is this. WHY IS HE NOT IN INDONESIA DRIVING THE MALAYSIAN PROTON SATRIA NEO SUPER 2000 CAR????? Until and unless someone comes out with the truth, presumptions would be made, come rain or shine! CIAO!

• Karam should retire and open a driving school to get new local rally talents. My dad retired from Hockey a long time ago.

• Karamjit might be too tall or heavy for the car….

just a wild guess

• Perdana V6R on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:49 pm

In the end they did not finish. Both days. Not classified. Better luck next time.

• NutzeyWagen,

conspiracy theory?

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 07, 2009 at 4:26 am

icyd said,

October 6, 2009 @ 1:13 pm

NutzeyWagen,

conspiracy theory?

I've presented the facts to the best of my knowledge (all sourced from very reliable sources) here to be shared with all. To be honest, I myself doesn't know what is actually going on, but I intent to find out the truth, come rain or shine! CIAO!

P/S: Received an autographed postcard from Alister McRae.