New fuel subsidy system in May 2010?

ePetrol

According to Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Chor Chee Heung, the new fuel subsidy management system will be implemented from May 2010 onwards, so I suggest everyone be prepared to restructure your household’s monthly budgets for a potential increase in fuel expenditure, especially if you are a middle income earner, a group that like its namesake are constantly squeezed around the world.

The system is currently being finetuned and studies on the subsidy distribution and target groups are currently still underway. The system’s exact mechanism will be announced after the study is completed and a decision has been made.

The PM had previously announce in his Budget 2010 speech that the system would use our MyKad identification card.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• corona on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:16 pm

no good…if lost I/C means have to pump at no subsidy, while holding the temp IC

• is it SAVE?..opss… SAFE?..

• maxlee on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:22 pm

I dunno, will this contribute to more john doed-IC?

• Tenine on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:27 pm

Kenape perlu mykad utk dpt subsidi? positif dan negatif guna mykad..

Positif

1. Kena install sekali sistem lesen kenderaan dalam mykad coz kalau org takde lesen kenderaan so die org tak boleh beli minyak subsidi..dgn cara ini dapat membendung kes memandu tanpa lesen..

2. jika mykad kita hilang…harap2 sistem tu boleh jejak penggunaan mykad kite…dan kamera CCTV boleh cam sape yg guna mykad kite..

3. mykad menjadi lebih berharga dan kita akan jaga mykad kita coz kalau hilang takleh dpt harga subsidi…

4. dpt mengesan penjenayah yang dicari jika die org beli minyak subsidi…

Negatif.

1. stesen minyak akan menjadi lebih sesak sebab pembelian minyak akan menjadi lebih perlahan di kaunter…

2. mungkin kes kecurian mykad akan meningkat?

3. kalau cip mykad rosak or sistem reading kat stesen minyak rosak?…tentu tak dpt beli harga subsidi…

• rahmat on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Siapa dapat kontrak supply & install kaya-raya-lah !!

Bayangkan berapa stesen minyak ada di Msia.

Open tender ke direct negotiation ???

• jolly_idiot on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:50 pm

Stupid G with Stupid Brain with Stupid idea for stupid people.

• justice (Member) on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:56 pm

what bunch of crap.really not interested to know what more of silly ideas they are coming up now. First of, 15 years old vehicle thiny policy but was scrapped of the idea, then cease of imports. what the heck are they thinking for pete's sake?? every single idea they cooked up is for the sole purpose of filling their pockets somehow.GDI!

• eposuer on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:58 pm

jolly_idiot said,

November 16, 2009 @ 1:50 pm

Stupid G with Stupid Brain with Stupid idea for stupid people.

———————————————————————————————

jolly_idiot..do you have brilliant idea? you should fwd ur ideas to Gov then..

• justice (Member) on Nov 16, 2009 at 10:03 pm

rakyat punya gaji naik lah!bertahun tahun sudah kita tunggu. kita ni dah jadi bahan ketawa org lah; "Lets have a good laugh by seeing what sort of silly new found implementation it has, the country thats supposedly rich but never got up to there."

• poor salary man on Nov 16, 2009 at 10:08 pm

Hey! I'm going to rent out my IC!

Price? maybe 50% after you get the petrol rebate… XD

• just abolish road tax larrrrr…

• kemosabe on Nov 16, 2009 at 10:31 pm

Hmm I wonder if the subsidy will be race based as well given the race based politics they are playing?

The Government is getting trickier by the day.

It'll be better to remove the entire fuel subsidy system and price vehicles closer to real world prices.

The subsidy saved can be channel back to the people via the income tax system since from this we know the level of income of individuals.

Those who fall below the taxable income would receive some form of welfare help(in cash or food stamps etc).

The gov could lower the taxable income level to ensure those who receive welfare are indeed the hardcore poor, and possible increase their tax revenue without burdening the citizens.

Same goes for the toll roads. Remove the subsidy. Let those who use the highway pay for it, and later get back their rebates thru the taxation process.

Excess money should be use to purchase the highway bit by bit and make them toll free.

The subsidy system used by the government is a method of ensuring profits for certain quarters.

Another area is the road tax. To promote a greener environment, the road tax for small engine vehicles(maybe 2 liter and below) should be reduce or just maintain it at current levels, while the road tax for vehicles 2 liters above should be raised significantly.

For example – 3 liter engine pay 3 times more than current, 4 liter pay 4 times more etc etc.

• Littlefire on Nov 16, 2009 at 10:55 pm

My brilliant idea is all oil & car price open market! Easy!

Since the G say dont want subsidise the fuel, why not open up the foreign car market? Right?

It should be a balance, fuel expensive car should be cheap. Just like US which float the price.

• Angie on Nov 16, 2009 at 11:15 pm

stupid idea, look on our atm card, credit card, the more we use, the easier the card get torn, crack, etc, then we need to replace, we kena pay!

• another brainless strategy move.

even in johor, singaporean who drives back to refill is fine becasue how many tank can they refill . i think the enforcement has to be stricter at thailand border, not singapore .those thai-malaysian are here in malaysia to smuggle the oil etc. and the local authorities were pointing the gun at singaporean pulak. adui.

when petrol price drop below 1.8, they dont make noise. now start to make noise. ^%$#@

• droll on Nov 16, 2009 at 11:51 pm

there's nothing wrong with removing subsidies. but the govt has to ensure the regular folks have access to alternatives that they can afford and doesn't overly burden them.

• G taknak singaporean isi minyak kt m'sia. Tu pasal buat camtu.

• Headache on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:23 am

"Another area is the road tax. To promote a greener environment, the road tax for small engine vehicles(maybe 2 liter and below) should be reduce or just maintain it at current levels, while the road tax for vehicles 2 liters above should be raised significantly.

For example – 3 liter engine pay 3 times more than current, 4 liter pay 4 times more etc etc."

——————————–

You sure bigger cc car means less environment friendly ? Guess you have not drove one. My 328i use less fuel compare to a Cefiro 2.0. City or Highway, no matter.

• scanzew on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:31 am

rahmat said,

Open tender ke direct negotiation???

using existing facilities la like ATM or credit card….no need further additional instalation……

• BeemerFreak on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:34 am

Ah this is another scheme for our government to "EARN MORE unofficial income" if u know what i mean. Those who will benefit the most are the implementors

• akupung on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:38 am

i bet people will abuse this….

• scanzew on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:39 am

i think G start to limit the buying for ordinary customer in low income…maybe about 500-1000liter per month….if the customer surpassed the limit…they've to buy in market price….maybe it can overcome smuggling…hehe

• scanzew on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:41 am

easy idea….all using mykad….

• scanzew on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:43 am

i think G start implementing mykad G also can limit the buying for ordinary customer in low income…maybe about 500-1000liter per month….if the customer surpassed the limit…they’ve to buy in market price….maybe it can overcome smuggling…

• kluang on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:44 am

Mee said,
    November 16, 2009 @ 4:09 pm
    G taknak singaporean isi minyak kt m’sia. Tu pasal buat camtu.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    On one hand G promoting Bandar Iskandar to S'poreans
    but on the other hand they don't allow them to buy fuel.???
    If like that might as well ask S'porens to stay out of Msia.
    Ello G … win -win lah. Don't b penny wise & pound foolish.
    Look at the wider picture, they don't come to JB for fuel only
    $ingapore dollar also benefit traders & restaurants.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:46 am

more bullshit by the government. honestly i don't care if we are charged uk prices for fuel….give us uk car prices at the same time

• scanzew on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:49 am

start synergize Mykad linking LHDN and JPJ…LHDN link for oil subsidy regarding the income level….JPJ for Rakyat buy fuel using MyKad that link with Lesen memandu….Mat rempit that doesn't have lesen can buy fuel with market price… maybe they resist to 'Rempiting' again…hehehe

maybe ppl with missing Mykad start to make new Mykad..heheheh or u buy petrol at high price huhuuhu

• kluang on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:54 am

Headache said,
    November 16, 2009 @ 4:23 pm

“Another area is the road tax. To promote a greener environment, the road tax for small engine vehicles(maybe 2 liter and below) should be reduce or just maintain it at current levels, while the road tax for vehicles 2 liters above should be raised significantly.
    For example – 3 liter engine pay 3 times more than current, 4 liter pay 4 times more etc etc.”

——————————–
    You sure bigger cc car means less environment friendly ? Guess you have not drove one. My 328i use less fuel compare to a Cefiro 2.0. City or Highway, no matter.

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    What abt my efficient dynamics 320d which gives me 800km a tank full ??
    Lower car prices and float the damn fuel price.
    Sick and tired hearing Govt has to subsidise us Msian $RMxxxbillions
    every year. Set a max price range and let the fuel co's decide on the final price. With competition fuel co's will offer their best prices.
    Come 2011 when Eoro4 diesel comes into the picture
    expect another headache cos for sure the prices will head north.

• msiaboloks on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:55 am

Paul, by saying the middleclass is being squeezed around the world is simply excusing our idiotic politicians of the BN ( and i justifiably ask you …IS IT REALLY ROUND THE WORLD ???)Look at the high taxes we pay for our cars and where is our public transport to rely on ? all the jams and queques to pay toll and narrow roads have led to stupendous wastage of fuel …and where is our green energy policy ??? Why no subsidy like in US for hybrids??? where would we be in as far as alternative fuel in ten years time ???? and i just hope the malays will wake up sooner than later to save us all from the downward spin this BN piloted plane aka malaysia !!!!!

• ezralimm on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:55 am

The concept is sound, and probably necessary to ensure a fairer distribution of wealth in the country.

But the implementation of the system may be dodgy.

We'll see how it goes.

• ohcaptainmycaptain on Nov 17, 2009 at 1:13 am

it will become another scrapped project, trust me!

• kemosabe on Nov 17, 2009 at 1:31 am

Headache said,

“Another area is the road tax. To promote a greener environment, the road tax for small engine vehicles(maybe 2 liter and below) should be reduce or just maintain it at current levels, while the road tax for vehicles 2 liters above should be raised significantly.

For example – 3 liter engine pay 3 times more than current, 4 liter pay 4 times more etc etc.”

——————————–

——————-

In that case those who could afford bigger CC cars should pay more road tax.

The savings in this case could come in terms of using fuel more efficiently, or using less fuel.

The intention is to tax the rich/richer accordingly.

How does the 328i FC compare to the Selphy 2.0? Just curious.

• i'll standby at petrol kiosk, rent out my mykad to people who doesnt get to buy subsidied fuel.

muahahahahaha

nyiahahahaha

wakakakakaka

fakakakakaka

aku pun dah nak jadi gila ngan our G

dem

• 18"rims on Nov 17, 2009 at 1:50 am

ezralimm said,

November 16, 2009 @ 4:55 pm

The concept is sound, and probably necessary to ensure a fairer distribution of wealth in the country.

…………………………..

Can u explain how this wealth is fairly disributed to a simple layman ??

Is the govt giving back the $$ to the poor??

• kimi_ on Nov 17, 2009 at 1:54 am

Can i know which country had use this implementation before????….Because G always compare to others !!!

• i miss tun Dr. M time! no fuel hike issue! got also few SEN only, now puluh-puluh sen hike. all car kena tax kaw-kaw, even made in malaysia also kena tax! public transport not gud enough, not lik hong kong got many public transport. if i kena lottery i will leave malaysia!

• our MyKad useless one! coz can buka mulut! later buka mulut cannot use need to replace! wen replacement time no need to refuel ur car loh! ur car guna air ar? our G can tanam already useless dumb bass!

• _xXx_ on Nov 17, 2009 at 2:21 am

lo said,

November 16, 2009 @ 3:31 pm

… and the local authorities were pointing the gun at singaporean pulak. adui.

Singapore is whipping boy ma. You think they dare to touch the big bros tomyam/indon??

• Sigh… more cronies to feed…

• Indonesians with Red IC (MyKad) also enjoy subsidy?

• Master Mind on Nov 17, 2009 at 2:58 am

Borrow the myKad go to the jail….

maxiumum penalty 10 years hahah…

compound RM5000. ++++ ????

willing to borrow the Mykad!!!!!!for RM0.30 subsidied petrol/diesel?????

Good policy but implementation ????flip flop?????

corruption????

Dont thought we can borrow the MyKad…….!!!!

i

• its the.. on Nov 17, 2009 at 3:14 am

how abt forigners with passport? how to buy petrol?

• I pity the bulk of the much lower income group. I don't think these are the people that uses that much fuel to start with. Now things are going to get really expensive for them when it hits RM3 to 3.50 per litre.

• Untouchable on Nov 17, 2009 at 3:34 am

Aaaaa…… this is suppose to be implemented a long time ago..

a pending decision and the most wise decision..

foreign car – no more pump freely Malaysian subsidy..

• scanzew on Nov 17, 2009 at 3:41 am

hin said,

i miss tun Dr. M time! no fuel hike issue! got also few SEN only, now puluh-puluh sen hike. all car kena tax kaw-kaw, even made in malaysia also kena tax! public transport not gud enough, not lik hong kong got many public transport. if i kena lottery i will leave malaysia!

———————————————————

i think if he is still pm he also make to oil price at market price…haiyoo…he still known make almost 90% of debt for the country….and still we cannot afford to pay it until now….

make debt debt debt…this is Tun's Motto maybe

• another creative idea from G, i believe most ppl need change their mykad first cos the quality is suck… can't detect

let's see this idea can last how long…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 17, 2009 at 4:43 am

Hmm i shall use my child's mykad for petrol… Haha.

Well we should implement rod tax like england, by CO2. There by cleaner engine cleaner environment. This can give competition to Proton and let them improve. Imagine if we give this challeneg to P1 and P2 and they produce green vehicles, they could sell well in Europe as well, Isnt it benefiting both ways. Think further u dont wombles G. Stupid people leading the smart.

• Ken Masters on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:05 am

Pity you poor middle income earner. Life must be too bad for you.

• Rulered on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:10 am

How much does middle income earners suppose to make annually? What about those middle income eaners who uses small cars or motorbikes? Too many variables to just base on earnings alone, example, what about those middle income earners with large family to feed or those who have to support a sick family members etc,etc. Just float the damn fuel and everybody would just adjust accordingly whether they are low, middle or high earner.

• razee hussin on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:20 am

I was in brunei before…the system they used is that for a foreign car (not using brunei flat no.), they have to go certain pump station which accept it. if you try to refuel at other pumps…they will not accept you…meaning to say it does not matter whether u r a foreigner or not.so long as your car is local..then u r subsidized…to pracice it in malaysia is i think ok…coz most breneian…sgporean..thailan like to go to malaysia to refuel as it is cheaper….i wonder y our gov does not practice this..its simple..

• Ha Gnih on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:24 am

What bullcrap are they giving us this time ?

• just price it at market level and they don't have to waste time, money and effort to do all this and that shit.

i can already easily figure out a loophole in this system, borrow someone else's ic to pump. another half ass idea along hte same as the annual vehicle inspection and the ban on used imported parts.

the middle income will probably be the most to suffer. too rich to qualify for subsidy, too poor to buffer off the effect of increased price.

• imagine your quota is up when u wanted to pump, not because you are done with that month's quota, it is because someone managed to clone ur mykad… somehow i have this feeling 'cloning' mykad will be a big business…

• i can just ask my driver to pump my bmw x6 to get subsidised fuel.

r they gonna trace what u r driving?

• kl-ite on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:12 am

its pretty ridiculous. I'll just use my younger sibling's mykad (who isn't earning anything, so i guess max subsidy) everytime i pump fuel then.

won't solve anything.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 17, 2009 at 8:15 am

plus many Malaysians don;t have IC yet, how them?

• I dont know whether it is efficient n effective to implement it here. It will hassle to the rakyat and as usual whether we like it or not, we have to follow it. Is there any other way to do it?

I totally agree that the gov should improve our public transport than think how to reduce the gov subsidies.. but i bet, none of it will do.. btw the is some of ways the cronies to get money in BLIND WAY… the installation of this machine n the cost of the machine itself will far higher than the original cost.. huhuhu.. like in Penang, 1 liter of petrol it cost RM300!! (totally obvious and ridiculous!!)

This is what I heard (rumors) thanks to Tun M who protect Petronas Board from appoint another member from the government..

• temujin on Nov 17, 2009 at 9:40 am

One by one the policies announced under the new NAP is being
    hammered. Wonder if they even bother to think of the repercussion
    by implementing these changes.
    Not only create hardship to a average layman but also reflects
    the short sightedness of MITI and the person who heads them.
    The rich not bothered abt your subsidised fuel cos all "masuk"
    company account. How abt fleet owners ie buses & lories??

• fadzly on Nov 17, 2009 at 11:52 am

Hmm I wonder if the subsidy will be race based as well given the race based politics they are playing?

== Well bro, if that the case, u cant argue more i think in this country. its not politics, it constitution. perlembagaan. respect perlembagaan as ur rukun negara.

The Government is getting trickier by the day.

It’ll be better to remove the entire fuel subsidy system and price vehicles closer to real world prices.

The subsidy saved can be channel back to the people via the income tax system since from this we know the level of income of individuals.

Those who fall below the taxable income would receive some form of welfare help(in cash or food stamps etc).

The gov could lower the taxable income level to ensure those who receive welfare are indeed the hardcore poor, and possible increase their tax revenue without burdening the citizens.

Same goes for the toll roads. Remove the subsidy. Let those who use the highway pay for it, and later get back their rebates thru the taxation process.

Excess money should be use to purchase the highway bit by bit and make them toll free.

The subsidy system used by the government is a method of ensuring profits for certain quarters.

Another area is the road tax. To promote a greener environment, the road tax for small engine vehicles(maybe 2 liter and below) should be reduce or just maintain it at current levels, while the road tax for vehicles 2 liters above should be raised significantly.

For example – 3 liter engine pay 3 times more than current, 4 liter pay 4 times more etc etc.

== all of ur ideas was great bro.. lets tell the gov

• fadzly on Nov 17, 2009 at 11:57 am

kluang said,

November 16, 2009 @ 4:44 pm

Mee said,

On one hand G promoting Bandar Iskandar to S’poreans

but on the other hand they don’t allow them to buy fuel.???

If like that might as well ask S’porens to stay out of Msia.

Ello G … win -win lah. Don’t b penny wise & pound foolish.

Look at the wider picture, they don’t come to JB for fuel only

=== cant agree more bro. Its true singaporean come here pouring money rather than smuggling our subsidize petrol. even their G implement singporean to fill up 2/3 of their tank be4 leaving singpore. thus i dont see y should they buy petrol here for their own use inside their country?

• _xXx_ on Nov 17, 2009 at 1:00 pm

A big time old politician sitting in his office keeps blaming causeway the root cause of jam at JB Customs! Even my 6-year-old daughter knows it isn't.

• Lightning McQueen on Nov 17, 2009 at 4:06 pm

_xXx_ said,

November 17, 2009 @ 5:00 am

A big time old politician sitting in his office keeps blaming causeway the root cause of jam at JB Customs! Even my 6-year-old daughter knows it isn’t.

=============================================

So it jams bcoz of Custom?…

So ur smart 6 yo suggestion is to lift up the custom?? Smart Ass suggestion…

• biggie on Nov 17, 2009 at 4:15 pm

just wondering how to channel back the money saved through abolishment of subsidy through the income tax system. As the poor income RM3000 and below do not pay income tax.

The idea being put is sound however the infrastructure to support the implementation is massive and I don't know whether its worth it or not.

• Azlan on Nov 17, 2009 at 4:54 pm

'very very very very good'..this is 1malaysia!oh people out there,proud of it!!!

• learner on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:11 pm

i see this strategy in long term if implemented properly will give huge benefit to all malaysians IN GENERAL. i don know some malaysians will be affected by this but very minimal numbers. why? let says the mykad is linked to LHDN,JPN, and JPJ, or any other agencies that can access the mykad, example,

(1) when some rob you and use the mykad to pay petrol, police can track them. this apply to any kinds of criminal activities too.

(2) the subsidy really channeled to the right people, not that the thais who twist every drop of malaysians gas petrol and diesel before leaving malaysia (i know about this and i hate to see them shacking the pickup kau-kau to make sure the tank is 110% full),

(3) malaysians will also 'unnoticed' educated from time to time not to waste resources therefore reduce the pollution,

(4) those mat rempit, no license people, or traffic offenders who the license was suspended will be reduced a lot, those ah beng tailgating and driving fast will also reducing in number, this will reduce the accident rate,

(5) malaysians will be more responsible to take care the IC and more responsible to carry them all the time, maybe this can prevent some desperate malaysians to sell their IC to pendatang and simply apply new one at JPN.

this will benefits rakyat, dis-benefit criminal, benefit environmentalist, etc, in other words, majority of people. of cause there are some disadvantage also, but let them implement this first, because i find malaysians are so funny when responding to the new policies, they like to see the dark side only not the bright side. this is proven when you see the word cronnies, G, U**O, etc. if you don't make a step how to progress? wait and see, after than we all go rally if to much negative effects.

• kemosabe on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:21 pm

biggie said,

November 17, 2009 @ 8:15 am

just wondering how to channel back the money saved through abolishment of subsidy through the income tax system. As the poor income RM3000 and below do not pay income tax.

The idea being put is sound however the infrastructure to support the implementation is massive and I don’t know whether its worth it or not.

———————————

The gov could lower the taxable income bracket to more appropriate levels.

More people will be taxed but will be subsidized accordingly to their income levels. So a person earning rm2500 will get less subsidy than someone earning RM1,200, but the rm2500 person may get enough to consider as not-taxed, while the rm1,200 would get enough subsidy until it exceeds the tax amount and this would be called welfare.

Not sure this would work as I'm not an expert in taxation, but i think it does solve the mykad issue at the pumps, and also bring car prices closer to market prices and hopefully would solve a whole host of other problems as well.

• rider on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:45 pm

I think for the last 50 years or as long as petrol started selling, Malaysian has been a lucky lot with subsidised fuel. Our neighbours like TH & SG have to pay market price. Removing fuel subsidy is an inevitable thing.. MY will be running out of oil in approx 2 decades that would mean $20B the gov spend on subsidy annually (will be more in future if we start to be nett importer) and the bulk of gov's budget from Petronas's contribution is going to end at some point. I think we should not think that we can go on forever using cheap fuel.

Even the middle east countries have started looking at alternative source of income for their country (e.g look at Dubai financial hub) as they too are planning their future without oil income/resource.

If one look at Denmark/Norway where they have petrol income, the gov save 90% into account and the public pay market price for petrol and income tax is as high as 40+%.

The reality for all of us to be aware is that MY gov is running out of $ and needs to cut expenses. I think the subsidy is for everyone regardless of income level. we just have to be careful with how we drive and maximise the subsidy amount.

FYI, the registration using MyKad is 1 time exercise not required every time you purchase petrol unless you are buying with cash.

• karim on Nov 17, 2009 at 8:28 pm

P1 should be allowed to fail. our population is actually too small and too poor to support a domestic manufacturer.

cars and fuel should be reasonably taxed. the taxes should go into public transport, maintenance of highways & roads, traffic enforcement & planning and attracting automotive investors, not protecting a local manufacturer.

many malaysian don't realize it, but subsidies is bad for everybody in the long run. it has it uses, but the time to end it is nigh.

i'm afraid that some politicians will use the subsidy card to win votes, but in the end malaysian don't learn to conserve a limited resource and the government spend a lot of money on subsidies instead of nation building…

• petrol or petrol on Nov 17, 2009 at 8:44 pm

Removing the subsidy is actually a good thing. it will teach everyone to learn how to be more careful when spending. and it is FAIR for everyone irregardless of their earnings.

It's like an Adidas shoe, you make more, you buy top range (or the shoe itself), you make less you buy something else. In the petrol sense, public transport for those who cannot afford fuel.

Mahathir? he started the protecting Proton thing. So for those who missed him, i am so sorry because he was the one who kicked the taxation of imported cars into overdrive.

At market prices, our petrol would cost around RM 3. It just mean that, everyone will start driving less, and indirectly saving the planet. And the government can do something else with the money (scholarships)

Malaysian have always been the subsidised people. we should learn that walking on your own is respected.

• S.Roma on Nov 17, 2009 at 9:35 pm

rahmat said,

Open tender ke direct negotiation???

using existing facilities la like ATM or credit card….no need further additional instalation……

—————————————————-

I disagree, the system need to be update so that it can accept the MyKad, and need to re-program for MyKad.

Whos got the contract? U noe le who, hehe…

• S.Roma on Nov 17, 2009 at 9:40 pm

Headache said,

——————————–

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

What abt my efficient dynamics 320d which gives me 800km a tank full ??

Lower car prices and float the damn fuel price.

Sick and tired hearing Govt has to subsidise us Msian $RMxxxbillions

every year. Set a max price range and let the fuel co’s decide on the final price. With competition fuel co’s will offer their best prices.

Come 2011 when Eoro4 diesel comes into the picture

expect another headache cos for sure the prices will head north.

————————————————————

I disagree, u use Diesel wanna compare with petrol? Insane? How much for 1 full tank of urs? Compared to normal sedan car between 40 Litre to 50 Litre? Get the fact right la, u use BMW but dono to compare, wth?

• S.Roma on Nov 17, 2009 at 9:51 pm

With the G comes with that kind of suggestion, i thk it is better to make a survey, discuss and then implement the system.

Get the survey from all kind of people la, not just middle income lor !

• paparadzi (Member) on Nov 17, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Why stick to the old mindset of these c.c. based tax? A 5000 cc car sitting in the garage emits less pollution than a 660 cc car running 1000 km per day. A 1800 cc Merceded Kompressor costs more than a 2400 cc Camry.

Tax should be based on consumption, so a more fuel-efficient car should be taxed less than a comparable car that guzzles more fuel per kilometer.

What we need is a real-world price fuel and car. Car tax should be based on price, not cc. As for fuel, use more, pay more.

We are too deep in the mud, and getting deeper.

• _xXx_ on Nov 17, 2009 at 10:57 pm

Lightning McQueen said,

November 17, 2009 @ 8:06 am

So it jams bcoz of Custom?…

So ur smart 6 yo suggestion is to lift up the custom?? Smart Ass suggestion…

I didn't suggest anything but u did. So I should give you the award for being a smart ass…happy? Oh BTW, what's custom? You meant Customs? I think I can understand better if you said 'kastam'.

• kemosabe on Nov 18, 2009 at 12:48 am

paparadzi said,

November 17, 2009 @ 2:13 pm

Why stick to the old mindset of these c.c. based tax? A 5000 cc car sitting in the garage emits less pollution than a 660 cc car running 1000 km per day. A 1800 cc Merceded Kompressor costs more than a 2400 cc Camry.

Tax should be based on consumption, so a more fuel-efficient car should be taxed less than a comparable car that guzzles more fuel per kilometer.

What we need is a real-world price fuel and car. Car tax should be based on price, not cc. As for fuel, use more, pay more.

We are too deep in the mud, and getting deeper.

—————————————–

A taxation on the car price may not be a good idea as the car prices in this country are artificially high.

A higher priced car doesn't mean it will consume more fuel. A bigger engine would consume more fuel in general.

• amirzaim on Nov 18, 2009 at 12:50 am

Cara ni memang bagus sbb rkyt jiran mesti kena bayar lebih. Tapi sistem ni ada persoalan:

1. MyKad selalu rosak. Kalau rosak, mesti bayar lebih!

2. Kecurian identiti selalu berlaku sbb nak rebut sussidi minyak.

3. Cammana dgn org pedalaman yg x ada mykad? Mereka akan dianaktirikan!

4 Harap teknologi bagus, Tapi boleh kalah dgn negara maju mcm jepun! Teknologi konon!!!

Takkanlah PM suruh rkyt kita naik kereta lembu dgn kereta gajah!!!!!!! LIKE HELLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Goverment nak sedut duit drpd rakyat, sbb tu lah depa buat mcm2 bg batu atas kepala rkyt!!!!!

• Malaysian on Nov 18, 2009 at 1:33 am

Cara bau untuk menaikan harga minyak., masalah nya, ada masa kah untuk check MyKad dulu untuk membeli minyak? Tambahan pula, kesesakan mesti akan sentiasa berlaku di stesen minyak., secara tak langsung., perlu membayar tampa subsidi, jika tak ada masa., and, harga barang mesti akan melambung., tengok lah nanti., yang tak dapat subsidi 2., besanya golongan pertengahan & kaya., dan juga mungkin tokey2 kedai, seumpamanya., semestinaya charge tambahan ini akan mereka cover., balik2 rakyat yang tak berkemampuan jugak yang kena, sebab, untuk cover kenaikan takrif minyak, harga barang jualan dinaik-kan.., last not least, STUPID G , Nehjep & BarangNaik!!!..,

• Wochomi on Nov 18, 2009 at 1:52 am

Are there any Lawmakes or Govt ppl or Politicians reading this forum? Good place to listen to the Rakyat, IF they r 'serving' the Rakyat. Jgn syok sendiri.

• uneducated politicians…………………………..

• painsama on Nov 18, 2009 at 5:14 am

I'm expecting that starting from next year those middle income earners would start selling cars/trade-down to smaller cars. The only ones who would receive the benefit from this arrangement are those low income earners (for sure since they the target group), while those high income earners just won't bother. In the end it seems that middle income earners would end up with nothing. Oh God mortgage, car installments, personal loans, child's daycare what ever where to find the money. Ah long probably will come to rescue.

• ngyahloon on Nov 18, 2009 at 5:51 am

fair enough, all of us have been enjoying subsidized fuel since time immemorial. It's about time we face up to reality like the rest of the world. Hope the new system wont be abused and let the deserving people get the subsidy.

• rex79gt on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:03 am

i don think in any country ppl purchase fuel wif IC

if feel unhappy wif G? don vote them in election will do

• painsama on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:42 am

ngyahloon said,

fair enough, all of us have been enjoying subsidized fuel since time immemorial. It’s about time we face up to reality like the rest of the world. Hope the new system wont be abused and let the deserving people get the subsidy.

It will be abused. No doubt about it.

By the way what's the point of removing the subsidy while car prices in this 1Malaysia land are astronomical in comparison to the rest of the world. It won't make a fair relative comparison, while the rest of the world are enjoying something that are far fetched to us 1Malaysians when it comes to things related to cars. We're also "enjoying" "fairly priced" road tax and auto insurance. To make a relative and fair comparison of mean fuel prices between different countries, please take into account the car prices, cost of keeping cars, availability of good transportation, per capita income etc. Don't just make a statement just for the sake of making a statement, and for that matter just because you can afford it. There are plenty of reasons why Malaysia should keep the fuel price low and why we Malaysians should enjoy such privilege, that would be snatched by our so called rakyat didahulukan gov very soon.

• painsama on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:50 am

petrol or petrol said,

>>Removing the subsidy is actually a good thing. it will teach everyone to learn how to be more careful when spending. and it is FAIR for everyone irregardless of their earnings.

———————————————-

Just because you make more that your cohorts, you can make such nonsense statement.

>>It’s like an Adidas shoe, you make more, you buy top range (or the shoe itself), you make less you buy something else. In the petrol sense, public transport for those who cannot afford fuel.

————————————

Ever take public transport to work everyday? You're day dreaming.

>>At market prices, our petrol would cost around RM 3. It just mean that, everyone will start driving less, and indirectly saving the planet. And the government can do something else with the money (scholarships).

————————————————-

I doubt so.

>>Malaysian have always been the subsidised people. we should learn that walking on your own is respected.

————————————————-

Then we don't need government. Just live on your own in the jungle.

• learner on Nov 18, 2009 at 4:53 pm

amirzaim said,

November 17, 2009 @ 4:50 pm

Cara ni memang bagus sbb rkyt jiran mesti kena bayar lebih. Tapi sistem ni ada persoalan:

4 Harap teknologi bagus, Tapi boleh kalah dgn negara maju mcm jepun! Teknologi konon!!!

Takkanlah PM suruh rkyt kita naik kereta lembu dgn kereta gajah!!!!!!! LIKE HELLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Goverment nak sedut duit drpd rakyat, sbb tu lah depa buat mcm2 bg batu atas kepala rkyt!!!!!

1. myKad always broken? i have ATM cards in my wallet and i use them average 2 times per months and been using the very same ATM cards for many years. myKad is more quality than ATM car, if my ATM cards don't broken, why must myKad can broken? unless if you are non-tidy type of person.

2. you can cheat people if you duplicate someone else myKad and they have to verified the authenticity of the cad with bare eye, but using machine which is linked to the JPN i don't think you can cheat. even if got, the number is very minimal. remember majority of malaysians will get benefits instead of the minority and isolated cases.

3. malaysians must have myKad, if those pedalaman people don't have myKad, its the time for them to have one. some more the very pedalaman people who don't have myKad not even bother about having cars not even motorcycle cos they live in the jungle, somo more like what you said they riding lembu only. if they have problem to apply myKad, this normally happen because their nationality is questioned like in sabah especially and this case also doesn't represent the majority.

4. malaysians technologies never beating the japanese since day one. but i know some develop nation using one card for almost everything such as ATM card that can be use to pay busses, trains, theme parks fares, etc. why can't malaysians?

please re-think back what you have said, people can judge you mentality level base on your posting.

• petrol o petrol on Nov 18, 2009 at 5:34 pm

>>Removing the subsidy is actually a good thing. it will teach everyone to learn how to be more careful when spending. and it is FAIR for everyone irregardless of their earnings.
    ———————————————-
    Just because you make more that your cohorts, you can make such nonsense statement.

>> FYI i make less then the malaysian median, so you are the bag of nonsense people are talking about everyday

>>It’s like an Adidas shoe, you make more, you buy top range (or the shoe itself), you make less you buy something else. In the petrol sense, public transport for those who cannot afford fuel.
    ————————————
    Ever take public transport to work everyday? You’re day dreaming.
    >> i used to take 2 buses and 1 lrt to work everyday. in shirt and tie. please, do not assume if you do not know nothing. and only want to be helped everyday.

>>At market prices, our petrol would cost around RM 3. It just means that, everyone will start driving less, and indirectly saving the planet. And the government can do something else with the money (scholarships).
    ————————————————-
    I doubt so.

>> there'd be less Mat rempit as well, because even if they race but they cannot afford to have gas

>>Malaysian have always been the subsidised people. we should learn that walking on your own is respected.
    ————————————————-
    Then we don’t need government. Just live on your own in the jungle.

>> you talk like as if you are the shallowest california turd roll. no government means you guys would be running around in diapers. the government is there to help the people but fuel doesnt seem to be the area for them to invest 'our' money.

education, research and infrastructure (public transport, mind you)

• i think people bashing here rich people who gonna pay real market price..cannot use subs..n people think politic only..look how they comment..more like politic talk..do that politic do that also politic

• painsama said,

November 18, 2009 @ 12:42 am

ngyahloon said,

fair enough, all of us have been enjoying subsidized fuel since time immemorial. It’s about time we face up to reality like the rest of the world. Hope the new system wont be abused and let the deserving people get the subsidy.

By the way what’s the point of removing the subsidy while car prices in this 1Malaysia land are astronomical in comparison to the rest of the world. It won’t make a fair relative comparison, while the rest of the world are enjoying something that are far fetched to us 1Malaysians when it comes to things related to cars. We’re also “enjoying” “fairly priced” road tax and auto insurance. To make a relative and fair comparison of mean fuel prices between different countries, please take into account the car prices, cost of keeping cars, availability of good transportation, per capita income etc. Don’t just make a statement just for the sake of making a statement, and for that matter just because you can afford it. There are plenty of reasons why Malaysia should keep the fuel price low and why we Malaysians should enjoy such privilege, that would be snatched by our so called rakyat didahulukan gov very soon.

—————————————————————-

i think u r the1 will abuse it…..how can we abuse if people like u give ur mykad to some else….n 1 thing i can summarize…rich people r jahat n corrupt cause they r the one who pay high price not the low income people rite. so who will be the abuser..rich people la

• y low income abuse since they r the 1 who benefit rite…only rich people who will abuse the system so that they pay less for more..wat i can summarize from all the "abuse" comment…im not rich but going there if rich i dont care pay high that time i rich maa..

not rich=pay less rich = pay more, but not rich = low quality, rich = high quality things fair rite. not rich=pay less=very high qua=1st class not fair maa

• lamirzaim said,

November 17, 2009 @ 4:50 pm

————————————————————–

sedot duit org kaya maa…..not us only kaya people.. kaya people kete lembu miskin org proton maa..yea!!!!!

• y so takut-takut kene pay more kaa?…if not rich don takut-takut maa…kaya org yg kene takut sbb x dpt subs..aiyoo!!!suda tebalik maa

• painsama on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:22 pm

k??z said

blah bla bla…

————–

I did not refer to kaya people in all of my statements. I meant middle income earners who would suffer. That's why they are called middle. Rich people can even drink fuel if they want.

===================

k??z said,

November 18, 2009 @ 10:36 am

painsama said,

November 18, 2009 @ 12:42 am

ngyahloon said,

—————————————————————-

i think u r the1 will abuse it…..how can we abuse if people like u give ur mykad to some else….n 1 thing i can summarize…rich people r jahat n corrupt cause they r the one who pay high price not the low income people rite. so who will be the abuser..rich people la

—————————————-

Even diesel subsidy is well known to be abused, this one is the next. And again I didn't mean rich people. I meant MIDDLE INCOME EARNERS "a group that like its namesake are constantly squeezed around the world." As this group has to pay tax, higher fuel price and etc, in the end they will end up just like low income earners, no different. If you want to get envious, just envy those rich bastards, not middle income earners.

• kelop on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:44 am

relax my friends…

According to some trusted source, the MyKad will be used only for registration.

Then your account as an eligible citizen to receive subsidized fuel will be created and the account will be linked to a credit card or a type of payment card that will be accepted at the pump (maybe more than one credit card to avoid issue when u readch credit card limit etc.) . You will use this card(s) to purchase the fuel. You can lend this card to other people if you want but I am sure you dont really want to do that. Morevoer, I heard that there will be a limit ( monthly) imposed on the amount of subsidized fuel you can buy, so you cannot really abuse the system. Once you reach the limit, you have to buy at market price.

Yes you can still abuse (sell) the unused portion of your quota but I think this is negligible to the government.

But this is only something I heard… maybe not true … but I think its workable..

• We rakyat have sacrificed too much for our PI and selfish policy, when we can see this stop…

3S – Sick, Sad, and Sign…

• the dark side of msian history will be recorded on this issue again..since bribes index also in increasing mode..hmm

• petrol o petrol on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:37 pm

According to some trusted source, the MyKad will be used only for registration.

Then your account as an eligible citizen to receive subsidized fuel will be created and the account will be linked to a credit card or a type of payment card that will be accepted at the pump (maybe more than one credit card to avoid issue when u readch credit card limit etc.) . You will use this card(s) to purchase the fuel. You can lend this card to other people if you want but I am sure you dont really want to do that. Morevoer, I heard that there will be a limit ( monthly) imposed on the amount of subsidized fuel you can buy, so you cannot really abuse the system. Once you reach the limit, you have to buy at market price.

Yes you can still abuse (sell) the unused portion of your quota but I think this is negligible to the government.

But this is only something I heard… maybe not true … but I think its workable.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

your tip sounds really workable and i think if its implemented, it seems like a real brilliant idea.

most ppl will question the quota but it really helps deter waste.

Update us on the tip!

• corect me if im wrong. do you agree that the fuel subsidy will be abolished soon.? i will if…….our carprice is cheaper than what we have now, which among the expensive in the world. The goverment should stop the excise duty on the car sale, than you can implemented it. 1/3 of my salary now goes to my car and it is higher than what i pay to own a house. my car will become a useless after 15 years. imagine how much more we have to sought out for the fuel after this.

• petrol o petrol on Nov 20, 2009 at 5:37 pm

the prices of cars will not come down this is because the government needs to make money.. and they need to protect proton.

imagine. if they lift the taxes on imported cars.

a vios would cost approx 58000 and proton persona costs 52000. do you think their cars would sell?

Perdana costs around 100k and camry 2.4 would cost around that region. same price, much much MUCH more spec. higher quality better engine and very reliable. do you think Perdana can still sell (gear box problem anyone)?

Tata would bring in their car which cost 10k. toyota will bring in the Passo which is 40k. who would buy PERODUA?

There's no way the government is going to lower the car prices. thats because proton and perodua are protected (allowing them to make ridiculous amount of profit margin).

• WilliamSmith on Nov 23, 2009 at 7:58 am

There's one of the thing we as the consumers can contribute. We buy ban for your bucks products. I think currently the majority of foreign car manufacturers models sold here is overpriced. Just benchmark it from those market established brands and those still penetrating market brands and you can roughly get a feel how much "premium" we're paying for their branches and operations. Worse, these established branches after sales service is just "outta this world". If you're lucky didnt bought a "lemon" car, then you might not get the feel of their "true color". Else, be prepared for the "piss of your life". There're also trends we can see now where a new/replacement model is brought in with poor specs…2 airbags, abs, ebd for selling price over 100k is just a norm and it shouldnt even be "shout bout" in their advertisement message. What happened to those latest standard convenience? Like Rain Sensor, Auto Headlamp, HID Headlamps and LED Lamps (which helps to save electricity hence the environment), side and curtain airbags? These should be the latest standard in term of safety and convenience. The size of the cars has grown, price has grown but spec remains. So when we buy the better ban for your buck models including those more fuel efficient and greener engines, we're generating consumer trends and preferences where the manufacturers look at for their upcoming products offering which will lead us to better products in the future. We can drive the future if we're doing our part.

• somesense on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:52 am

fact is, its all too easy for officials to make a living being in G so much so that they stop administering the state but instead live off it. At our expense.

We pay road tax. But this money isn't being used to build our highways. It's privatised and we still end up paying at toll gates.

We pay for car duty buying imported vehicles to keep local car makers alive. But this money isn't used to subsidise those cars. P2 and P1 are still charging very high margins. So in effect car tax is being used to artificially keep local manufacturers margins high. And for what? To develop our labour force? What can they do after so long being exposed to foreign technologies? Are we making our own engines?

Now G is pulling our petrol 'subsidy'

Erm – isn't the oil ours?

Here's the thing. The subsidy is an on paper figure. It's basically the income they are not getting from selling below world price. But we're not buying fuel from the world market. That damned petrol we dug out ourselves within our own borders. Price for fuel is what we want it to be. The term subsidy shouldn't even be applicable. Fact on fact – prices of petrol for Malaysians is the cost price of extracting said fuel which I'm willing to bet my EPF is NOT above 1.80 per litre. So what are they subsidising? Nothing. That number is the income not made from selling oil to Malaysians instead of to USA or China.

Seriously – Do any of us have a problem with selling oil cheap for own consumption? Ofcourse No.

Petronas might not like it. And so wouldn't the G since they're living off on Petronas' profits ( for F1 rights and sponsorship etc. )

But hey – extracting and selling that oil is a priviledge endowed by us to them. If the cost price for producing Malaysian petrol is 1.10 / ltr then that should be the selling price. There is no subsidy. It's high time we wise up and stop using that term when talking about Malaysian oil.

• petrol o petrol on Nov 25, 2009 at 9:40 pm

somesense,

how true are your statements?

i thought our fuel which we extract in malaysia are actually exported and the fuel we use are imported? our fuel is high grade hence it is exported. we still have to follow the world price as we import lousy fuel for our lousy cars.

• pening lalat on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:47 am

Mee said,

On one hand G promoting Bandar Iskandar to S’poreans

but on the other hand they don’t allow them to buy fuel.???

If like that might as well ask S’porens to stay out of Msia.

Ello G … win -win lah. Don’t b penny wise & pound foolish.

Look at the wider picture, they don’t come to JB for fuel only

=========================================

I mean i couldnt agree more with them..klu takde org singapore masuk negeri ni takkan ada niaga org2 kita.hai nampak kata takde lagi lah pegawai kastam duduk kat kerusi dorg.pasal org singapore lah pegawai kastam ada gaji..klu dorg tak masuk mcm mana dorg ada kerja dan dpt gaji…klu kita sesama manusia ada perasaan mcm tu senang kata roboh kan aje jembatan kosway dgn 2nd link kan senang..takyah kita risau pasal org singapore dtg nak pam minyak kat sini..boleh dikatakan pasal org singapore lah negeri kita ni ada naik sikit demi sikit.bukan saya nak sokong org singapore tapi klu kita bukak mata kita betul2 ..anda akan nampak juga…..dorg tak heran klu tak dpt masuk negeri dorg dah ada mcm2 tapi pikir lah mcm mana dgn org2 kita…economi akan terus munjunam..rakayat kita akan mogok..tgk lah nanti.buat lah perkara yg tak masuk akal lagi.SELAMAT lah ye..

• As an expat working here, I pay tax, I'm married to a local, I have a local bank account, credit cards and own a car.. How does this affect me? Would my wife have to ride along every time I pump fuel because I don't have a MyKad? If so, then this is utterly ridiculous!

• Prices of non national car to drop in May 2010?

Its that a truth or purely a rumors being spread?

I have just booked a car n waiting for the car to be delivered nxt month!

Please help to verify this matter as it would be a great and huge lost for me in just two month!!!