Alfa Romeo 159 price revised upwards

Sime Darby Auto ConneXion, the company behind Ford, Land Rover and Alfa Romeo, has announced a new price for the Alfa Romeo 159. Available only in 2.2 JTS spec with Selespeed gearbox, it is now priced at RM195,888 (nett selling price excluding insurance, road tax and registration fees). The previous price was RM188,888.

For your RM200,000, the 159 comes with 9 airbags (front, rear, window, driver’s knee), Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), auto lights and wipers, bi-xenons, three-zone climate control, sunroof and 18-inch alloys, among other kit.

The direct injection 2.2 JTS engine comes with 185 bhp and 230 Nm of torque, good for 0-100 km/h in 8.8 seconds and a top speed of 222 km/h.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• izputra on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:56 am

Wow!!..nice front end

• What? I am planning to buy the car next year but now have to re-consider

• ONGWC5 on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:15 am

Almost 200k price, even 0-100km/hrs does not mean all for an Alfa, still a important parts of performance like the sport sedan! :(

P.S

My Civic 2.0 with slightly mod can hit 8.76sec form z-h(base on RSM), but y an Alfa with 2.2………….?

• Bruno on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:18 am

Saw one on the road the other day, it looks drop dead beautiful and it is even good value.

• meaning that second hand value up?

• Alan Wong on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:31 am

Nice!! But this car was launched 2 years ago… Nothing much has changed from the 156 except for some cosmetic and better electronics…. Heard its more reliable than the 156 too…

• what performance…. this car is slow…. 200K no thanks

• TC,

I dont think car price in Malaysia will drop. But all of them is increse every year (as per model).

• Kevin Lee on Jan 01, 2010 at 2:33 am

Top up another 10K and get a MK6 Gti, its even more heartstopping than this. Shame to Auto Conexxion, profit orientated idiots

• Harvinder Singh Sidh on Jan 01, 2010 at 3:06 am

slurp

• haitz!!!! prices of new cars shoot up like the gold price.. but goes down slippery slip the moment the car is out the showroom.. is this a good desicion to make at this kinda economic environment? gr8 new cars are getting harder and harder to buy and its getting more expensive each yr…..

• chuakz on Jan 01, 2010 at 3:27 am

I think this car is good value for money for M'sian standards….think about it….a european sedan for less than 200k…or 200k….even the cheapest C class, A4 or 3 series is much more expensive while having less power….

• langit_gelap on Jan 01, 2010 at 3:37 am

we do understand about the ringgit is weaker compare to other currencies, but please do not hike a price on alfistis, it seems like a SIME DARBY is a greedy organization…cheh!!!what a shame!!!

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 01, 2010 at 4:17 am

Wondering if this has anything to do with the 10K AP "Tax"…. someone is passing the buck down.

ONGWC5 said,

December 31, 2009 @ 5:15 pm

Almost 200k price, even 0-100km/hrs does not mean all for an Alfa, still a important parts of performance like the sport sedan! :(

P.S

My Civic 2.0 with slightly mod can hit 8.76sec form z-h(base on RSM), but y an Alfa with 2.2………….?

Weight, gearing, etc. Plenty of variables. Cars are getting porkier with all that safety.

My old 1989 Mitsu Galant FWD 2.0L Twincam N/A will do the sprint in 7.8 seconds. So? 0-100 is not the only indication of how a car feels.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 01, 2010 at 4:21 am

As an aside, a fellow neighbour in our housing estate has a new white 159. Nice looking car. Looks much better in person than in pictures.

Somehow I prefer how the old 156 better. It just seems the 156 is nore compact, sporty and purposefull not helped by the fact when it came out, it replaced the square boxed 155, a giant leap in aesthetics.

The 159 seems lacking in that regards.

• sutheshkumar on Jan 01, 2010 at 4:37 am

if this is the Q2 version then I think it shouldnt be any problem.

• the bastard on Jan 01, 2010 at 5:20 am

ONGWC5 said,

P.S

Your Civic locally assembled. Alfa is CBU. That pretty much explains the price. And not everything is based on straight 0-100 drag. The handling is as much as important as the 0-100 speed. Having driven a Civic, I would imagine this Alfa to be years ahead.

Also, performance does not mean start to standstill, you should also look at the performance whilst accelerating from 40-80 or 80-120, which being a 2.2 JTS (high revving), would eat up your Civic.

• Jimmy on Jan 01, 2010 at 5:38 am

Why no sunroofed Camry from UMW like this one.

• Good decision to make more money as they already figured the fans are the same number and a bit more expensive will not drive them away.

Still cheaper than a BMW or a Merc C.

Beauty as interpreted in the eyes of the beholder.

You can get 2 forte's 2.0 litre for that kind of price plus a trip to Korea with the family….

• funny on Jan 01, 2010 at 5:57 am

200k can get new Golf GTI, and with better second hand value. Alfistis damn rich.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 01, 2010 at 6:24 am

so stupid.

• BRAZBUZ on Jan 01, 2010 at 6:32 am

is this due to AFTA?

• theanswer on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:10 am

Standard satria gti 1.8 can hit 8+ sec. cost only 70k when new comapred to civic 129k..funny comparison la you.

• theanswer on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:14 am

if im looking for performance and style..i'll go for golf gti anytime. the advantage tht 159 got is it's a sedan..anyway 3 zone climate control? wow..the third one who what?

• theanswer on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:19 am

I think this car is good value for money for M’sian standards….think about it….a european sedan for less than 200k…or 200k….even the cheapest C class, A4 or 3 series is much more expensive while having less power….

ahh..dont forget peugeot 407.great package but the performance is way down below.

• subhero on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:19 am

200k only for the paus look like?..

better get 200k E class. or bmw.. more satisfy

• Chris Chong on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:21 am

The bastard,

Alfas give a very good impression of good handling and performance by offering heavy steering, stiffer-than-usual suspension and a sweet engine note. Push them hard, though, and they'll usually end up being nose-heavy, with loads of understeer and are generally scary. This is my experience from my dad's 156, which we got rid off because the Selespeed broke down or refused to engage every other week.

I also hear that the 159 is more reliable, but that's also what Ron Lim from Milan Auto said about the 156 (compared to the 155). Never again.

And for RM200k, you could get a Civic Type-R, which is definitely better than any 159 if performance and handling are your priorities.

If you want a fairer comparison

• FRUST OWNER on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:55 am

this car is dead , now died again.

• 200k?

Civic type-R.

Nuf said.

200k for that kind of performance is not acceptable, even if its an alfa.

• xavier lert on Jan 01, 2010 at 8:27 am

only 100 to 200 increase in monthly payment….

• nicecar on Jan 01, 2010 at 8:33 am

this is Happy New Year from Sime Darby

• theanswer on Jan 01, 2010 at 8:33 am

Why no sunroofed Camry from UMW like this one.

because camry is ckd in malaysia..made for msian market..why need sunroof when above u is a hot sunhine. most of the car with sunroof is imported one. for example umw toyota wish and grey imported wish..the grey(usually with wald badge) got sunroof while local wish no sunroof.

• xavier lert on Jan 01, 2010 at 8:34 am

hey jgn marah : ONGWC5

i own fd2 also…i think this car is better… civic will lose to anyone on acceleration but try hit it on top….Vtech rule!!!….

one thing for sure…5 yrs down the road….u thing which car worth higher??

• thats a beautiful car indeed, price and perfomance : shakes head. :)

• toycar on Jan 01, 2010 at 9:10 am

boring car… go and hire an asian and design the car for you…

• skiborne on Jan 01, 2010 at 9:35 am

people who buy this i bet wont give a damn about second hand value, they just want to own an italian car or "alfa romeo", thats it

• skiborne on Jan 01, 2010 at 9:45 am

sorry to interrupt, people who opt to have civic are generally the ones who bothers about 2nd hand value, reliability (honda), or the goodwill of that brand percieved by us malaysians. personally i think this alfa and the civic are different in category in fact

• wuttaheck on Jan 01, 2010 at 11:00 am

i'll wait for another 5 years…maybe half the value? :)

• the bastard on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:01 pm

@Chris Chong,

I think all FWD cars will understeer if you push em hard enough. That's why there's Revoknuckle and Renault has its own front wheel setup.

Unfortunately though, I can relate with your experience, being an owner of a Ford Focus 2.0, currently having some absorber or drive shaft + warped brake disk problems. AND having replaced the front drive shaft once already…

I do think the Type-R is not a fair comparison. The Type-R is a totally different segment, except for the price range.

A fair comparison would involve another D-Segment non-premium Euro, like the 407 or the Mondeo. I guess even comparisons to Asian D-Segments would be fair as well, like the Camry 2.4 or the Accord 2.4 or even the Sonata.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:03 pm

That amount of money, maybe go for VW GTi MK6?

• emine on Jan 01, 2010 at 3:50 pm

Bring in the 159 JTD with 6-Speed Manual box, haaa that will be a cracker….. fast and yet economical……. can take on the BMW 320d….. anytime……

• The Audi A4 is rated at 160bhp/220nm. And it has all the advance gadgets and most effficiency engine in this category. Comparing it with the Alfa? Alfa is no way near it in terms of technological advancement and handling. Don't believe? Test drive both cars, and make your comments.

The Alfa is pretty much dated, and it should not be priced up as it is never a premium brand in Euro.

Camry ckd in Msia? AFIAK, it is still being imported from Thailand. SEA assembled vehicles seldom have options for sunroof.

• And the A4 is only 1.8. Why pay extra road tax for miserly performance ?Want more power without modifiying it, choose its elder brother, the A4 2.0TFSI quattro.

Bottom line is , the Alfa price should not have any increases unless it was added with additional worth while tangible features

• chuakz on Jan 01, 2010 at 5:06 pm

200k only for the paus look like?..

better get 200k E class. or bmw.. more satisfy

200k won't get u near an apek E-class or another oh so common on the road BMW….besides….I don't understand people complaining that this car is lacking in power…..look at the amount of 320is and c200s on the road….they have less power than the alfa but more than 30k diff…and people didn't complain…it's pathetic

lotsa dumbass comments here man….u buy an alfa because it's an alfa….it has tradition, heritage, pedigree…..not because it has good resale value…

• Kevin Lee on Jan 01, 2010 at 5:31 pm

guys who dont own these cars are not well worth for comparison, enough said.

ive got friends who drives alfa, i drive other marques and that includes merc and honda. every car has its plus point or whats not

to those who think the audi a4 and the merc 200k is slower than the alfa 159, u guys are wrong. all of these accelerate at the same speed, both a4 and 200k are 1.8 forced induction cars. even in paul tan's site, the 0-100 for c200k is 8.8 secs, same as the alfa romeo. its slighly more expensive, by right, 30-40k more expensive than the alfa, most likely cos of its brand prestige. also look the other factor, merc has service centers around malaysia, while alfa doesnt necessarily. theres no alfa service center in ipoh, afaik! even for audi, lack of service center to begin with. and audi is run by euromobil, which is a subsidiary of eon.

so if u tell me, merc's badge, is run by c&c singapore, is perhaps the least profit orientated , right here. i rather dump my cash in a merc, knowing i will have good service and good resale value! but for an alfa, thats what i will take if i leave depreciation aside!

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 01, 2010 at 6:02 pm

skiborne i agree with u

• kayel on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:31 pm

my dream machine for quite sometimes ago, now already change my mind to mkvi gti….really outstanding..

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 01, 2010 at 8:02 pm

HELL YEAH, I AGREE WITH U ALL, THERE ARE PROS AND CONS, THATS LIFE EH

• Maserati on Jan 01, 2010 at 8:15 pm

Haih,better top up a little bit get the Volswagen Golf GTI…Much nicer and better!

• AR156SW owner on Jan 01, 2010 at 8:32 pm

RM200k for this 159 beauty is worth every single cent that you guys spend on.

Sure, the Selespeed may cost a bomb to run after the warranty expires and owners would curse as they spend thousands on its maintenance annually (just like the 156 owners of today!); the parts would be rare and lacking with specialist mechanics grinning by their chopping boards; etc… but at the end of the day, when the parts are working in tandem, you have a beautiful car that attracts most people's attention (including non-Alfistis') whilst not looking like the typical Ah Pek in the Benz or the Ah Beng in the CTR.

Continental cars available in Malaysia today that could compete with this 159 in the looks department would only be the Mondeo and 407. And if Naza takes over the marque in Malaysia, I guess all you folks would flock to Naza to buy your RM120k Naza 159 :)

• laser on Jan 01, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Great. They wont sell any. I looked at this before ended up with a 323i. I love Alfa having owned a 147 a few years ago. But I just cant bear to take the depreciation and the shite quality that comes with Alfa cars. I still love it, and find bmws too sanitised (though they are much better built, handle a great deal better).

As much as love alfa but I am cognisant that the germans are in a different league. They have better resources to build better cars. Alfa just doesnt have the financial flexibility to do good cars.

• koozold on Jan 01, 2010 at 9:20 pm

luv this car very much !!!

• ONGWC5 on Jan 01, 2010 at 9:34 pm

theanswer said,

December 31, 2009 @ 11:10 pm

Standard satria gti 1.8 can hit 8+ sec. cost only 70k when new comapred to civic 129k..funny comparison la you.

Oh really, this is the most funny joke i heard before, remember what u said; STANDARD SATRIA 1.8 DOCH from z-h WITH 8+ sec! (Not even mod).

Wake up bro, install some equipment to measure z-h, then u will found out what proton present on paper spec for stria are rubbish! (7.7sec on paper spec, correct me if i'm wrong!)

• Earthling on Jan 01, 2010 at 10:52 pm

You guys mentioning the Civic Type-R must have about 1cm long cocks.

• theanswer on Jan 01, 2010 at 11:12 pm

did i sed 7.7sec? I just sed 8+sec..it can be anything over 8 sec. but still..it's 70k when new. nway, i'm just being sarcastic because u compared 200k alfa with ur 129k civic. z to h can be very subjective..even ariel atom supercharged can beat ferrari modena z to H..so u wanna sed that 3.6 litre from ferrari is not good?

• mitlanevo on Jan 01, 2010 at 11:15 pm

the price is ntg wrong lah if based on our SUPER EXTRA CRAZY tax bolehland…

at least when driving this u wont feel 'pasar malam' as 3-series and c-class…

• mitlanevo on Jan 01, 2010 at 11:18 pm

evo x fq-400 2.0 uk spec, 0-100kmh is faster than ur civic and satria, habis cerita…

• AR156SW

I respect your point of view…only true alfa lover will look past it shortfall… it may not be for everyone including me. Also Alfa is not for posser as it takes passion tears and sweat to own one.

what you described in terms of problem also sounds like BMW. But

people will not critise BMW cos it is a BMW…. Now days BMW value is like shitte and anybody can buy the car… you can see insurgent of posser….with

M3 bodykit using sime tyres…enough said…

New BMW 320i costing RM 240K will lose to Alfa. You see the double standard….Further more in the conti circle BMW value is one of the worst.

You can call it living in Denial….

• Noneed to bash each other, forrumers.

Sime Darby can put up their sellng price whatever they want. 50k, 100k, 200k, 300k, 400k, etc. IF can sell, sell la….if cannot sell due to competition from other cars, just let the car collect dust in showroom or……make it into jualan murah with some LE bodykit….Whatever la…

End of the day, if the car sucks (performance, handling, 2nd value, etc, sparepart prob, SSS), then everything hat follows will suck…..Eventually, no body will buy it….Then tutup kedai

• kimi_ on Jan 02, 2010 at 2:16 am

Not surprise for the price hike…

Proton Saga BLM also increase RM3000 already long time ago…

from previous M-line RM39,960 to RM42,960 NOW

• ONGWC5 on Jan 02, 2010 at 2:40 am

Noneed to bash each other, forrumers.

Sime Darby can put up their sellng price whatever they want. 50k, 100k, 200k, 300k, 400k, etc. IF can sell, sell la….if cannot sell due to competition from other cars, just let the car collect dust in showroom or……make it into jualan murah with some LE bodykit….Whatever la…

End of the day, if the car sucks (performance, handling, 2nd value, etc, sparepart prob, SSS), then everything hat follows will suck…..Eventually, no body will buy it….Then tutup kedai

Ha ha that's true, typ malasia style, malaysia boleh ma!

• ONGWC5 on Jan 02, 2010 at 2:58 am

theanswer said,

January 1, 2010 @ 3:12 pm

did i sed 7.7sec? I just sed 8+sec..it can be anything over 8 sec. but still..it’s 70k when new. nway, i’m just being sarcastic because u compared 200k alfa with ur 129k civic. z to h can be very subjective..even ariel atom supercharged can beat ferrari modena z to H..so u wanna sed that 3.6 litre from ferrari is not good?

Atleast i compare apple to apple; sport sedan VS sport sedan, 2000cc VS 2200CC, I-VTEC VS boxster, both engine are high rev engine + refinement, both power to weight ratio are almost equal; 156hp/1150 VS 185hp/1300 etc…….

So how about u, given a 3 door coupe car for comparison? Y not u take the 20k+ kancil turbo to compare?

Bear in mind, before u want to comment ppl how shallow they are (funny comparison la you..), make sure u are not one of them!

• stpued on Jan 02, 2010 at 3:59 am

kimi_ said,

January 1, 2010 @ 6:16 pm

Not surprise for the price hike…

Proton Saga BLM also increase RM3000 already long time ago…

from previous M-line RM39,960 to RM42,960 NOW

that is SAGA se , get u r fact rite buster

• superwoman on Jan 02, 2010 at 4:19 am

Brand does matters! Alfa vs Merc vs BMW vs Audi, you figure it out.

Future more, we don't know when will Sime Alfa pull out again? Sime simply exploring the market, and can sell can sell la (same to the AP importer), and not looking to long term business to provide services. I am wondering the little group of Alfa buyers will be crying down the road with 200K being spent!

Same to the famous Naza cars, that is why their services are widely complained. If we said Proton is the openly protected by G, then Naza is the loop hole of the behind the door business by the G related people. Thats bolehland business. Lets see how many Forte can sell then.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 02, 2010 at 4:21 am

still i will buy this car. its an alfa romeo.

• White Jack on Jan 02, 2010 at 4:36 am

Ringgit drop in value most of the time.. so that's why car price only increase, never decrease :)

• mistera on Jan 02, 2010 at 4:50 am

Great car Great value my ALFA ROMEO…..

• kimi_ on Jan 02, 2010 at 4:58 am

stpued said,

that is SAGA se , get u r fact rite buster

————————————

You WRONG…..check the proton website for the price list before you comment!!!!!!!

• The 159 in malaysia is an old unit,the newer version has been released in europe,what we get here is the 159 using the old 2.2 gm engine,shipped in from australia,that was why it doesnt sound like an alfa anymore,that was also why it was slow,the newer version use the famed alfa engine block or fondly known as grandfather axe,it is a 1.8 litre turbo unit that produced 200bhp,so let the sime darby buy the car themselves,wait for the newer version

• KCivic on Jan 02, 2010 at 7:06 am

Happy new year to everyone. In my opinion, the Alfa 159 is a very beautifully designed car, just look at its sexy curves! And it looks sporty, and comes with all the electronic functions and safety features to get you around. The price to me is very competitive like some of you point out and at around RM200k, it is quite a steal as compared to an A4, C200, or 320i. It has 185hp to help you accelerate and not look dumb at the traffic light at Red beside the above cars. 0-100km/hr is an indication of acceleration and it ain't gonna take you to heaven, and why the rush ler? Driving and Alfa 159 is all about absorbing the Italian way of driving or how a car should perform, so there is no need to rush, feel the steering, road handling, listen to the engine, smell the leather, and enjoy the ride. For those who whose reason of buying a "safer" car for RESALE VALUE will never get to enjoy the various makes of Contis be it Alfas, VW, Fiats, and other European makes which to the Western countries are fantastic cars especially for the British. Malaysians tend to be more "kiasu" when it comes to buying new cars for RESALE VALUE but when it comes to flying and speeding, they are never "kiasi". I was concerned about buying a Continental car when I decided to sell my reliable Proton Waja of 5 years (non Campro but Enhanced Edition the one with 16" rims and 2 Airbags ones) for RM28k, bought at RM66k, so mathematically over 5 years, I "lost" RM38k BUT that is over 5 years already and for that 5 years I had gained a lot from this car for being a reliable mode of transport, at around RM7k a year. Anyways, to cut the story short, i bought a Civic instead of at that time the close consideration was a PEugeot 407, Mitsu Lancer GT, Camry and Accord, but the Civic 2.0 version was a much value for money. And then after driving for 6 months now, I only look at VWs, Audis, Mercs, BMWs as the next car, because somehow I had or will miss out on all the fun or driving continental cars if I continue to think "Japanese". And Alfa 159 actually caught my attention being such a beautiful car, and how wrong can you go with an Italian Alfa, right? And in case of price, for RM200k, a GTI Mk XVi will be nice but its a different kind of comparison and practicallity. My friend drove the Alfa 147 for the longest time and still driving it. My ex boss drove the 156 and it was superb when you see how the car performed especially during one of the trips to Melaka, which I would say it was a fantastic ride. Civics I guess are for those who are looking for something affordable which is an overall performer. An Alfa may speak of someone to have balls…haha..no..I mean that Italian flair it exudes… Tell me if it does not look good! And for RM200k, I would ask those who are thinking to get an A4, C200, 320i, to give it a thought and consideration.. If all of us continue to think too much of RESALE VALUE, we wont enjoy our lives that much! For almost RM40k to RM60k cheaper than the above 3 makes, I will consider the Alfa 159! For RM200k, brand new 159, enough horses, top speed for me to consider it if I was gonna buy other continental makes. Of course, if our government could maybe reduce import duties a bit, i will enjoy my life even more, and probably change different continental cars every year! Nice looking Alfa 159! My dad was a Volvo lover moving from 244, 240, 740, 850 when his first car was the Merc (Batman looking with gear stick on the left of the steering and body hard as steel model and with the wing tails one) before, to driving his present Nissan 2.5 XTrail, haha its quite a funny Evolution. Oh the present Volvo C30 looks very nice! Cheers to all.

• skiborne on Jan 02, 2010 at 7:15 am

Kcivic, i dnt think this alfa is literally designed with curves, more like straight lines. haha

• the bastard on Jan 02, 2010 at 7:38 am

@KCivic,

Just an advise dude… Paragraphs makes reading a LOT easier :).

• pelams on Jan 02, 2010 at 3:45 pm

if u want a good resale value, just buy a vios n shut up ur mouth..

• White Jack on Jan 02, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Great story and thanks for sharing, KCivic :)

Can't blame most Msian considering about "Resale Value" as cars in Bolehland is way overpriced as compared to other countries, so the thinking is to have "Minimum Lost" and "Minimum Spending" (on maintenance) while having forced to own a car (Just look at our public transport)

• Jimbeam on Jan 03, 2010 at 12:12 am

Some of you Alfistis, sigh, after all these years still not wake up eh?

Kana chopped alive also still singing happily

• The people considering this car, most unlikely the type who worry about resale value.

• Jimbeam on Jan 03, 2010 at 5:31 am

Kev,

… not to mentioned that those who bought the car dont worry too much about their time since they need to spend their weekend in the workshop LOL!

that's explain why the car always have LOW MILEAGE

• GTA Killa on Jan 03, 2010 at 5:55 am

ARs are for those whom really enjoy the make. For the longest period, I had an AR 156 that had been prepped out to hunt for poser Bimmers and Audis on the highways. And guess what, I always win hands down (except for the times when the car spoilt, as you know, AR would consistently break down).

Even if the 159 price has not increased by a sen, I would still not buy it. Because it is an AR, which means that maintenance would likely suck your balls inside out. If you want to enjoy an AR, buy a second-hand 156, 147 or 155 and those would be easier to maintain. Just try to get one with working Selespeed though, for those always break down and the parts like actuator, etc cost a bomb at the mechs. But you still have half-cuts to choose from until stocks run out.

Older ARs are da bomb!

• Yongcl on Jan 03, 2010 at 7:13 am

Thank goodness by 2011 the chop shop will be phased out for good, means that less sampah on the road like AR 156,147 and 155 – peace-

• I-HATE-GG889933000-G on Jan 03, 2010 at 10:19 am

This Alfa 159, look nice but not very nice~

for 200k. Still Audi A4 looks better.. interior is still Audi better built. only just 30k more…

my choice still A4!

Go Audi!

• GTA Killa on Jan 03, 2010 at 7:29 pm

:

:

:

Yo Yongcl, if AR156, 147 and 155 are considered thrash when they have been successfully used for BTCC wins, I wonder what kind of "automobile" you personally use? Lemme guess, you must be one of those with a Proton Wira but sticks a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution or SLK (small little Kancil) or Naza 206 rebadged as Peugeot 206, right? You're bombed!

• Yongcl on Jan 04, 2010 at 1:41 am

GTA Killa

no need to be childish and stoop so low… I am driving W203 anyway.

The volume of sales speaks dude. So far those trash like 156 147 and 155 are either already scrapped or , waiting patiently in the workshop for part replacements.

same sampah like Fiat, no wonder Torino got no mood to sell em, since, it is a sampah .

• Ever wondered why in MY Alfa Romeos are fondly referred to as "Ah Fah lor mieng" (Alfas ruin your life)?

• Joel William on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:45 am

Guys,

Any idea if they are bringing in the AR 159 1.8 Turbo to Malaysia?

• Harry on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:43 am

Sad to see the 159 price hike again with already high price originally. During Milan Auto time, you can see many 156 on the road. After Sime Darby took over, you could hardly see new 156 and perhaps a few 159 on the road. Pass back to Milan Auto so that every enthusiasts can own an alfa

• GTA Killa on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:30 pm

Yongcl, for a Merz owner, you sure don't sound like you have travelled overseas much; or else you'd have known that Fiat and AR are popular marques overseas, esp in Europe. They have stylish yet affordable makes, and even TG endorses that one is not considered a petrolhead unless one has tried an AR in his lifetime.

In Malaysia, these marque's low volume is largely due to the high import tariffs and poor distributor strategy. Even with such poor distributorship, the AR159 and Fiat 500 won the COTY 2009 awards- that's how good these cars are like! See any new Merz in the winners' list? Nope, cos those are the typical Ah Pek cars.

A word of advice- go travel a bit, and you would soon see the world with enlightened eyes.

• tokmoh on Jan 05, 2010 at 7:15 pm

GTA Killa : but those TG clowns also always joke abt its unreliability. They do acknowledge its beauty, bt being unreliable means it takes a lot of commitment ie time n money to buy n maintain it. That's why AR is like a test-of-faith to qualify one to be known as petrolhead : u hv to really commit to dare to buy one. Something most msians aren't.

It doesn't work here in Msia cuz Msians stereotype continental makes as being expensive to maintain n bad 2nd hand value. Only exceptions are merc n BMW, having their long brand presence n prestige to thank for. Other continental makes, unfortunately, don't have that prestigeness, so… it's a pity.

• emine on Jan 06, 2010 at 5:33 am

ALFA have some of the best sounding engines available to us normal people…… only BMW can ever comes close (only the straight six though)….. BMW may handle better ( a bit )……. but those ALFA sound alone can make people smile ear to ear……

• Wira4eva on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:20 am

Alfa Romeos make some of the most beautiful and stunning cars on the road.. In my opinion the 159s are like pieces of beautiful art which are not for everyone. It's like asking my secondary schoolmates from 'arts/commerce stream' to appreciate a Picasso/VanGogh etc.. Dun think they will ever get it.. Not most of them anyways (p/s: I was in the Science stream..):P

Problem with malaysians are the mentality they have growing up. Many comments up there shows ignorance, low level of reasoning skills and egoistic etc. Although armed with poor intelligence they still like to give their few cents to 'put down' others, make unrealistic comparison to proof their worth. It's somehow depressing to see..

Fact is RM200k is a lot of money for most of the guys but could be peanuts or affordable to few people. RM240k is a lot more unaffordable for most of the guys but still peanuts or affordable to a few. Just because most people here probably cannot afford, they come out a comparison with something they know better ie, civics, proton satria etc..

Average earning Malaysians will most probably choose a car based on resale value because he wants to save the residual value to buy another car in the future or other financial considerations; not a bad idea but unnecessary for the few who has it or thinks RM200k is peanuts.

Anyway, buying a car is a personal preference there's no reason for some guys to put down others just because you don't like it, don't have the ability to own it or simply don't have the refine taste period.

And by the way, owning a merc or bmw don't make you a rich man! hahahaha… silly malaysians..

IMHO Alfa Romeos are stunningly beautiful, fast, safe and 'almost state of the art'.. period..

• KCivic on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:15 am

Wira4eva, agree with some of your pointers and reasoning. RM200k is indeed expensive and it was like the cost of my condo purchased 5 years ago. You drive a RM200k car its like driving a home for the less fortunate ones. You are absolutely right that driving a RM200k dont make you richer but at times, its about branding yourself when you can afford it I guess. I am saying this when one can afford it only and there is no point having corporate imaging when you cannot afford it. The RM200k car is not stolen but bought with hard earned cash and within affordable means. I mean for certain professions or status in this very realistic society, people drive good cars and wear nice watches because they can afford it but there are some who flaunt what they do not have meaning one month earn RM5k but they drive a car which monthly instalment is like RM3k then it make cow sense or monthly salary RM5k but wear a watch which cost RM10k meaning he went hungry for two straight months just to wear that nice watch. I drove the Proton badge for 11 years from Satria to Waja and now "H" (I will not spell out what car I drive cos there are some hardcore car owners who hate hearing it again and again hahahaha its the civic). I hope Wira4eva is not serious about leaving up to your name cos just want to say that we must always and have the right to work our way up through legal and ethical means and live the fruits of the seeds you sowed through your lifetime and to drive better cars to reward yourself after much hardwork! Also we should only compare orange to orange and not to apple. Thus we shud compare car makes according to similar or close range price, engine capacity, hatch or sedan, etc to be fair and respect other car brands too. :)

• Wira4eva on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:52 am

KCivic

Thanks for your supportive comments. I do not mean to belittle anybody but after reading ridiculous moronic comments made me upset and lose faith in our already problematic country. When are guys gonna think for themselves and others? Well, i guess everyone is free to comment in a forum but..

I'm a fan of technology and beautiful cars. Not that keen about being the fastest 0-100 or the most expensive kind of car owner. I had 1 Proton, 1 German and 1 Italian cars prior to this. Although not a hardcore Italian car fan, my next purchase is probably going to be the 159. The look of it is enough for me to make most of the decisions not to mention the safety features, sophisticated engine and beautifully crafted cockpit.

I had the 156 for 7 years. Still smile silly everytime I see it or when the Selespeed downshifts with the engine roar in high speed cornerings.. :) The 3 Series was a very good drive but cost an arm and leg to maintain and every monkey in KL has one nowadays.. My Proton Wira 1.5 Manual was my first new car for 3 years when I was 18 years old.. And contrary to believe, my Wira and BMW actually broke down more often than the Alfa and the fuel consumption on the 156 is similar to a Wira 1.6A due to advance engine design.

• Yongcl on Jan 06, 2010 at 8:15 am

GTA Killa

you gotta be kidding me… I think I see more Citroens in Europe compared to Fiat or AR..

been to Rome, Lisbon, Madrid, Bern, Bucharestm Paris, Frankfurt, Copenhagen, Cardiff, on

business tours of course.

In Malaysia due to its infamous unreliabilty and also poor after sales and service that makes

the car very unpopular. so like you said those two cars won coty 2009, but does it mean anything

to you or to the sales or to the masses? do you see these two sampah on the road everyday?

what it got to do with the merc anyway? if it wins anything also I dont care and I dont bother LOL.

it is just a car to me anyway. can you afford one? of course not since you can only afford a silly old 156

work hard kid, enjoy your life then, no need to waste your precious time on that junk. by 2011 the half cut will

be extinct , and so your 156 will be a real worthless junk

• GTA Killa on Jan 06, 2010 at 5:37 pm

too bad KCivic I think your civic is much more worse than my 156.

• xavier lert on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:59 pm

someone say ariel atom????!!!!!! wat engine does it use???…..so it is better then ferrari huh??……ini suda bagus!!!

• amirad on Jan 06, 2010 at 9:24 pm

My heart desires this alfa. My brain wants a Golf GTi. But my pocket only allows me a G2 CPS. OK. That's it. Gotta work harder now.

• Wira4eva on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:24 am

Yongcl,

wads the matter with you? Are you trying to tell the whole world you have big ego coupled with pea-sized brain? Small pee-pee perhaps?

Get a life..!

• KCivic on Jan 07, 2010 at 5:45 am

Wira – No worries mate. I know you are not belittling anyone here. Get the 159. You are not answerable to anyone. Anyways, everyone is entitled to any cars they want and can afford to own…so..enjoy the ride!

• GTA Killa on Jan 07, 2010 at 10:03 pm

LOL, someone impersonated my nick above and tried to put down Honda fans- but please at least use proper English and caps; that way, you'd at least show that you learnt proper English.

Yongcl, my 156 bought new was also in the premium car segment then. I could have paid a little extra for the Beemer or Merz; but I was bowed over by the design and individualism that simply exudes from the 156. Hence the signing on the dotted line.

You tried to impress by claiming that you have been to a few places- but you must have either went to remote areas or you were eying the ladies (summer perhaps?!) rather than the automobiles. Those of us who really travel would know that AR can be found all over Europe- the prices are in the affordable range and the masses can afford it easily. And these cars are simply scrapped if there is a Cat C or D as insurance companies would rather compensate the low value of the car compared to the labour costs associated with costly repair works.

You have a lot of negativity in you. I don't know you personally so I can only deduce by your posting that you must have wanted an AR lots; but your father probably felt that you were too Ah Pek-styled so the Merz would fit your image better. Thus, you have that built-up anger in you and you feel the need to belittle AR makes to justify that hurt in you.

Or, it could be like what Wira4ever said, that you just so happened to have a small pee-pee. In which case, my condolences. Come to my clinic, I'll give you some drugs to make you feel better about yourself and hopefully, be functional in the bedroom scene again. But don't go for those street drugs as you wouldn't know if these are manufactured properly or what are the real contents, okay?

Back to my choice of make that you belittled, yes, I like my 156. You are however wrong that I only have this "poor man's car". I have other cars in the garage too; and since you're a big fan of Merz, I'll share that I also have the previous S-model, W220. Roomy, handles like an over-sized barge and used only for the snobbish factor at the club. On normal days, the 156 is the one that brings a smile on my face.

You are clearly not a petrolhead, hence your comments that 159 is just a car. It is, to many of us real Alfistis or car-lovers, a running piece of art. Something like this should be made affordable to the masses, just like in Europe; as what dictates that only the rich can drive a sports-influenced car. You, me and anybody else should be given a chance- thus the local distributor's strategy to increase its price given its non-premium label here is a laughing stock. But the car in itself is not a laughing stock.

And you, with your silly justifications, made yourself another laughing stock. Here's to you- HAHAHA. Good day then :)

• vinodGr8 on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:18 am

Why must compare the alfa 159 with civic fd? It is really unfair, like comparing strawberry with petai!

I think anyone think 200k is expensive for an italian machine is either stupid or retarded.

Remember, alfa 159 IS an italian, and comparison can ONLY be made with another italian.

It is just plain stupid and crazy to compare this beauty with some stupid, soulless, cheap and ugly japos. Very stupid.

If u think it is expensive, it is DEFINITELY not for poor and practical person like u.

Alfas are made for enthusiasts, great taste individuals and people with abundance of money like many other italian marques.

200k is very affordable for people who deserves this car. U want cheap, go buy japan craps!

• gta killa, forgot to take your medicine today? why so tension? replying here wont justified that you have a piece of shit sitting on your garage.

• ONGWC5 – For starter, ur civic 2.0 is defo lighter than the 159. There could be other stuffs like what u've modded. Anyway, diff class; cars are just not measured in terms of 0-100. Pure muscle mentality only applies to the Americans :-X.

• i own an 159. trust me. its a great car. i also own bmw 325(E90). it might be underpower compared to the beemer. but its cheaper by a 100 grand minimum. i really think its an option that everyone that could look at.the 159 salespeed is much better thn the beemers paddle shift. real good feeling in downshifting.

and btw no offence to jap car owners. how can you compare it to a jap cars and even a malaysian cars( worst of all).nvr owned a malaysian car but will never buy one ever lolx. what you want are conti feel la bro. try to compare with something much better.

and buying this car depends on how affordable are your budgets are. and stop comparing resale values and repairings. its just as same as any other conti cars. the 159 is even easier and cheaper to maintain!

the 159 is a great car with no doubt. if its underpower wait abit longer. i have been told that the 3.2 version with 4WD is coming soon. and the range price is 300K. roadtax abit steep la but its a great car allrounder and the feel is just amazing. or you can look at 169 which will be out in 2011. will be getting one maybe

• To Those idiots….

First of all, when I considered to get an Alfa, I won't bother a single s*** about the resale value, and doesn't mean I will fork out all my money to get a car. For those who only think of resale value and bla bla bla…..please get away from here comment rubbish around, because I know you will just get almost all your savings to get a WHAT WE CALLED got RESALE VALUE car…..

If I have the money, I will just considered how am I going to enjoy the car when I bought it, who cares about how much we pay for the services or the depreciate of the car????? Is just like those people who own a Ferrari, for some of those cheapskate people, the price for maintain it is a huge amount, but they can still keep it and enjoy it??? A performance tuning package for a Ferrari is around Rm70K, for some people can get a 3rd class jap car…like Vios etc…..nuff said, no hard feelings….

So for those who are thinking of RESALE VALUE….pls pls pls don't mess up here…thx

• Alfisti on Mar 13, 2010 at 9:05 pm

C'mon guys. How to compare Japs with Italians? Totally different strokes, feel, handling and of course street presence and kerb side appeal. Jap cars are basically mundane and have a strong loyalty due to work horse history and budget maintenance. A lot of people have wrong perception of Alfa mainly due to heresay. Have they ever own or driven one to begin with before making unfair comments? I do not own an Alfa,….yet but am eyeing on one already (waiting for the 159 1.8Ti).

The price increase (only RM7,000 extra) for the added specs and tech really is worthwhile. (comparing "if I must"-to modulo kit for cosmetic appearance only and costing about the same if not more).

So the Alfistis will always rejoice and the "anonehs" decry.

• E Bear on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Long time never see this car and then looking back, it really stands out.

I can still remember the rusty afla’s which the polis were also using then….solid sounding.

Maybe can consider it an affordable ferari? relative..distant.

Got soul.

• Richard on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:58 pm

Have just test driven the 159 today. All I can say is it is indeed a superb car. No comparison. If you talk about resale value forget about buying any cars coz all cars depreciate. But the sheer driving pleasure of the 159 matters most.