Delhi 2010: Tata’s flagship Aria crossover

While it may look like another bland MPV, the new Tata Aria is billed as a crossover by its maker. Tata says that the Aria blends the functionality and comfort of an MPV with the all terrain assurance and “premiumness” of an SUV. To be launched in the second quarter of this year, the Aria can be ordered with torque-on-demand AWD and sits on a ladder frame. The ground clearance looks pretty substantial too, so perhaps Tata’s SUV claims aren’t that unreasonable.

Tata is proud of the Aria’s cabin, which has “theatre style” seating for seven. It sports premium features such as 3D surround sound, dimming roof lamps, built in GPS, “state-of-the-art infotainment system”, multifunction steering wheel, climate control and cruise control. Safety features include six airbags and ESP, which is a first for an Indian OEM.

The Aria, which sits on an all-new platform, is powered by a 2.2-litre direct injection common rail diesel engine with 138 bhp and 320 Nm of torque. It is Tata’s most expensive model and will take on the popular Toyota Innova in India.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wrongturn on Jan 07, 2010 at 12:38 am

lot of news from the land of cappati and curry lately..eh

• It gonna be tough pitting against the Toyota Innova

• ttchuien on Jan 07, 2010 at 12:40 am

look familiar!?!?!?

• dejavu on Jan 07, 2010 at 12:43 am

Wonder if Tata will follow Toyota's Innova-Fortuner-Hilux (IMV) platform footsteps

• @ntiPeroDua on Jan 07, 2010 at 12:45 am

FIRST !!!!!!!!!!!

• theanswer on Jan 07, 2010 at 12:48 am

hurmm…mpv with big tyre eh?

• off topic, sorry

PAUL is there any full report on kia forte?

i did my test drive on forte today. its so taut solid and stable i wouldnt recommand friend buying vios or city (which i did last time) after i drive a forte.

city and vios feels light.

feeling like driving the german car, amazing.

and loaded with gadgetry if ones want gadgets. my evaluation is its drive.

the 1.6 cruise 2500 at 100 respectively good torque.

• Anonymous on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:08 am

DELHI 2010 is truly a car show for humanity. Simple concept & practical cars.

Sometimes i hate Paris Motor Show, Frankfurt, etc..

• farghmee on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:08 am

offtopic>>

apx apx apx

• MADBOY on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:17 am

The reason for using the term crossover : ladder frame.

If it is built using monocoque chassis, the vehicle will be much lower and then can be called a "proper MPV".

Look nice and come with good safety devices.

• pulge on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:18 am

We should have more Tata brand here to spice up the market. This one looks interesting though the design is pretty normal.

• Mufasa on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:19 am

have u been to india? look at their road and then you know why that tire is big

• "Safety features include six airbags and ESP, which is a first for an Indian OEM. "

it's not even a first YET for Malaysian-made cars…

• “Safety features include six airbags and ESP, which is a first for an Indian OEM. ”

it’s not even a first YET for Malaysian-made cars…

that shows how sophisticated Indian market has become, while we are still dreaming…

• kimi_ on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:45 am

The headlight copy perodua ALZA !!!!!!!1

• Musafa on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:49 am

LoL

• 20v_ke35 on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:56 am

Awat macam exora??? proton ada buat deal ke ngan tata???

• better looking than exora…

• prolover on Jan 07, 2010 at 2:25 am

no ALZA ether EZORA…..

its just like a HYUNDAI GRAND mini SUV STEREK…

the front surely like a same..

hahaha

• alldisc on Jan 07, 2010 at 3:24 am

tata is definitely ahead of proton.

probably perodua and naza as well.

• very Innova look…..

• Sharviin on Jan 07, 2010 at 4:21 am

one word….Murano…

• kingv6 on Jan 07, 2010 at 4:22 am

Looked kinda like Exora with Alza headlamp..

Agree guys?

• MotorMusuem on Jan 07, 2010 at 4:24 am

look likes Murano

• nabill on Jan 07, 2010 at 5:32 am

looks like innova…but it makes sence bcos its smarlty powered bt a proper 2.2cc diesel…cars like this should only have diesel….

• Poor Country on Jan 07, 2010 at 6:01 am

Estimated price 10-12 lakh RM73500-RM88200 consider expensive, They should lower the price since this is local OEM.

Somemore 2.2 machine with 138bhp diesel engine slightly underpower. The only good 6airbag + ESP .

Proton Exora=Lotus Handling+Mitsubishi gearbox invecs II+ Siemens Technology

• Gajen on Jan 07, 2010 at 6:41 am

6 airbags with esp?? wasnt expecting that….seriously not bad…

proton hasnt got esp yet..wake up call

• just me on Jan 07, 2010 at 6:43 am

UGLY… same with proton, doing ugly mpv….

but at least this tata have a 2.2-litre engine…

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 07, 2010 at 6:45 am

look awesome and agressive but those tata logo seems out of place.

• Jimmy Dean on Jan 07, 2010 at 7:52 am

Looks pretty ugly…

• prolover on Jan 07, 2010 at 9:43 am

yes2.. agree with motormuseum

it a MURANO mpv….

• look like 4×4

• Kwame on Jan 07, 2010 at 12:08 pm

Well, it's not a looker. It it looks like it'll get the job done.

• minto on Jan 07, 2010 at 3:00 pm

Its expensive car from tata

• azrai on Jan 07, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Innova in disguise? Honda Fit Aria a.k.a. outgoing Honda City. So this is Tata Aria.

• qosim slamutt on Jan 07, 2010 at 4:34 pm

looks boring, but still proves the intent of Tata. I think everyones moving ahead way quicker than our 'beloved' 25 year old Proton.

• jolly_idiot on Jan 07, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Tata Balia?

• hadi1975 on Jan 07, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Poor Country said,

January 6, 2010 @ 10:01 pm

Estimated price 10-12 lakh RM73500-RM88200 consider expensive, They should lower the price since this is local OEM.

Somemore 2.2 machine with 138bhp diesel engine slightly underpower. The only good 6airbag + ESP .

Proton Exora=Lotus Handling+Mitsubishi gearbox invecs II+ Siemens Technology

—————————————————————-

diesel engine don't come with high bhp, they come with high torque so to say the 2.2 engine is underpower is wrong….look at the torque figure-320Nm which is more than enough to carry the vehicle….

• afkar (Member) on Jan 07, 2010 at 7:52 pm

innova..with fortuner wheels..haha

• Peter on Jan 07, 2010 at 8:56 pm

This car is not bad. If u compare this MPV with our own Alza and Exora, this car is not really bad. This car has 2.2.l diesel engine. If this car comes to malaysia, i think this might be a killer for our own Alza and Exora. With this car packed with better qaulity check, good interior and spacious and also bigger engine 2.2l diesel engine. I think many people will buy this model rather than overly priced Alza and better engine performance than Exora.

• JACK HAMMER on Jan 07, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Peter said,

January 7, 2010 @ 12:56 pm

This car is not bad. If u compare this MPV with our own Alza and Exora, this car is not really bad. This car has 2.2.l diesel engine. If this car comes to malaysia, i think this might be a killer for our own Alza and Exora. With this car packed with better qaulity check, good interior and spacious and also bigger engine 2.2l diesel engine. I think many people will buy this model rather than overly priced Alza and better engine performance than Exora.

EXORA killer??

in yur dream lah..

don't u know, EXORA was one of the top sales MPV in thailand rite now..

it beat korean, european & china MPV.. (even beat japaneese MPV from suzuki, mitsubishi, honda, mazda, nissan..)

TATA can't do well in thailand.. bcoz thai people are not as stupid as you..

without any "protection" there, EXORA still doing VERY well maa..

..and u think it will killed EXORA here??.. pfrthhhh….

-_-' -_-'

• Peter on Jan 07, 2010 at 10:24 pm

JACK HAMMER said,

EXORA killer??

in yur dream lah..

don’t u know, EXORA was one of the top sales MPV in thailand rite now..

it beat korean, european & china MPV.. (even beat japaneese MPV from suzuki, mitsubishi, honda, mazda, nissan..)

TATA can’t do well in thailand.. bcoz thai people are not as stupid as you..

without any “protection” there, EXORA still doing VERY well maa..

..and u think it will killed EXORA here??.. pfrthhhh….

-_-’ -_-’

Bro, you know how cheap this car can go or not? If this car is priced cheaper than Exora , would you buy or nt? Or even around the similar or abit higher price? This car is much bigger, safer , better interior, bigger engine performance, built on a AWD platform. Would u buy if this car is priced around 80k -90k as compared to full specs of Exora 75k and Alza 70k? You should know what i mean. But, i think this car will not even come to malaysia at all….So, it wont kill Exora anyway. Unless this car is able to make it here, we can expect more "fights" in the MPV range…There is already Exora,Alza, Livinia, Avanza, Chery MPV, Naza MPVs,……

• apixz on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:22 am

ford focus old design?

• JACK HAMMER on Jan 08, 2010 at 9:07 am

Peter said,

January 7, 2010 @ 2:24 pm

Bro, you know how cheap this car can go or not?

WELL, I DON'T KNOW.. DO YOU KNOW HOW CHEAP IT WILL BE????

If this car is priced cheaper than Exora , would you buy or nt? Or even around the similar or abit higher price?

DUH?? DEFINITELY NOTT.. THE CAR IS UGLY, I WON'T BUY A TATA EVEN IF IT PRICED CHEAPER THAN ANY PROTON CARS..

Would u buy if this car is priced around 80k -90k as compared to full specs of Exora 75k and Alza 70k?

YOU MUST BE KIDDING, HAVE YOU TEST DRIVE A TATA BEFORE? IT SUCK, TOTALLY… FOR OVER 80K, NO THANKS.. YOU CAN KEEP IT YOURSELF..

You should know what i mean.

NO, I'M NOT… THE FACT IS

TATA ONLY SOLD 18 VEHICLES (ALL MODELS) FROM JAN-NOV LAST YEAR..

WHILE EXORA ALONE SOLD 16157 FROM APR-NOV!!!!
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/articl…

CHERY MPV (EASTAR) SOLD ONLY 135 LAST NOVEMBER, WHILE EXORA SOLD 1563 ON THE SAME MONTH…

EXORA PLACED 6TH, WHILE CHERY PLACED 34TH ON LAST YEAR VEHICLES SALES.. IF TATA ARIA REALLY ENTER OUR MARKET, IT WILL PROBABLY PLACED WORST THAN CHERY, THAT FOR SURE!

• Anmol on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:35 am

Complete Feature List for Aria:

1) 6 airbags, 2 in the front + 2 side+ 2 curtain

2) GPS in the centre screen

3) Cruise Control

4) 4×4 All wheel drive + Torque on demand

6) 2.2 L Direct Injection Common Rail Turbocharged Intercooler Diesel Engine,

7) BS IV (Euro IV) compliant, with twin exhaust outlets

8) Double Mass flywheel

9) Electronic Stability Program

10) Traction Control System

11) Dual zone collapse steering column

12) Steering wheel with audio, phone and Cruise control Switches

13) Rain sensing Auto Wipe & Auto light functions

14) Butterfly wipers

15) PES Head Lamps with “follow me” feature

16) Engine Immobilizer with Perimetric alarm system

17) Remote Key less entry

18) Intelligent climate control with Economy AC mode & Dash

19) Floor Console and Pillar mounted air vents for all occupants.

20) Glove box cooling

21) Sun-visors with extenders and vanity lamp for co-driver mirror

22) Infotainment system; 2 Din Integrated music system with aux-in

23) Tata Blue Connect(Can be paired with more than 5 mobile phones, and one can make calls through info-system and receive through controls on steering) and USB, Voice dialing

24) Reverse park assist sensors / camera, Speed sensing volume control, 25) Navigation system capable Multi Information Display with instant fuel consumption, distance to go, trip info, temperature

26) Instrument cluster with Day Night Invertible dials

27) Film type radio and GPS antenna on the Rear Quarter glass

28) Electrical fold Outer mirrors with electrical adjustment control

29) Express down Power driver window and power windows on all doors

30) Electrically operated Fuel filler lid opening

31) Dual tone Interiors, Leather upholstery

32) Height adjustable drivers seat with Arm rests

33) Height adjustable seat belts with RPLL and pre-tensioners

34) 2nd row seats with slide and recline

35) Flat floor seats folding

36) Snack tray for 2nd rows and multiple Cup and Bottle holder provisions

37) Roof console with Multiple Overhead bins and Goggle cases

• Looks like the old Honda Odessey. Is it made of High Tensile steel?

• squawk on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Euro IV compliant? Wow.

• @jack hammer.

i think u are an idiot. i not indian or chinese to support either but u say tata sold only 18 vehicles. the only vehicle they have on sale here is an old telcoline which is no longer in production. and i think if that one can sell 18 units is a big thing coz no adverts at all (dont know who is the dealer also!!). And u compare it with a Proton. How silly.

Cherry is assembled here and distributed by Berjaya group and with all the hype and low price, sales still no good. Also I have gone in Tata Safari in India. Very big, spacious and smooth. I travelled from the plains of south india (about 40C) right up to Srinagar (-10C) in that same car. no issues. When I went to Tibet however I cannot find any Chinese cars going towards the heights over 100km from Lhasa. All Land Cruisers. Mind you both regions are similar in geography and weather.

BTW i think u have an Exora. u may think its sooooo good coz u have it but everyone knows it sucks BIG TIME.. Haha bro. Enjoy with your crappy Exora. Alza is better any day not that I got it either.

• anyone here gone to UAE, specifically Dubai, Ras AK or Umm AQ? go and see indian TATA 4x4s kicking up the dirt with Land Cruisers and occasionally Range Rovers (that always lose out anyway) on the sand dunes. although i have nvr participated in many attempts Indian 4×4 (dunno the name) beat Land Cruisers. (Of coz depends on driver also lah).

Exora… my ass

• proton still using carburetor. 'New' Iswara on Carburetor. I think it's the last manufacturer in the world using carb LOL!!! BTW even that cheapest car Tata Nano uses fuel injection!!

• Peter on Jan 10, 2010 at 12:49 am

Bro, exora is a nice and good car. Yes, i agree that exora is good, i also feel that exora is way better than the alza. However, u must know that TATA vehicles are coming up better and better. They have lots of new and nice design cars.One good example is the upcoming TATA PRIMA….Go google and search. U will understand why , i am saying so. If this car comes to malaysia market in around like 3-5 years time. I will buy that car if it ever comes here.

Proton is still far away from TATA. If Proton wants to be better, first the govt should let it grow and become better. Willingly to invest in bigger projects, willingly to invest more R&D for more car models. I think maybe Proton will become better….