SEAT’s “Scirocco rival” is pretty and green

I haven’t finished covering every hall of the Palexpo yet, alternating between going out for “war” and posting in the press centre, but so far, the SEAT IBe is one of the concepts that caught my eye. Low, wide, squat, and free from the severe “criss-cross” lines of the current range (which I personally dislike), the IBe could be VW’s Spanish subsidiary’s rival to the Scirocco. Although its 3.78 m length is 250 mm shorter than an Ibiza, the IBe measures 1.8 m wide and is only 1.22 m in height. The showcar’s 19-inch wheels also look good with almost zero overhangs beside them.

Unveiled here by managing director James Muir (right) and chief designer Luc Donckerwolke, the IBe is a zero-emissions electric vehicle powered by lithium-ion batteries. With a max output of 102 bhp and 200 Nm of torque, the IBe completes the century sprint in an unexceptional 9.4 seconds, although the 0-50 km/h time of 3.4 seconds suggest good point and squirt acceleration. Top speed is limited to 160 km/h.

An electric powered SEAT should be quite far away, since the brand only plans to launch its Leon Twin Drive plug-in hybrid in 2014. For now, SEAT has a popular range of diesel powered Ecomotive cars, the best of which (Ibiza Ecomotive) achieves 27 km/l and 98 g/km of CO2. More pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=900]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:11 am

i think the production model will look very seductive

• WhiteFox on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:23 am

Copy the design and update it to Satria Neo new skirting >< kakaka

This really look awesome but always like sedan sportcar more

• Paul Tan on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:23 am

its a polo coupe!

• Alpha on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:25 am

hey,Danny or Paul or whoever wanna answer this.do u know why seat is not brought into Malaysia??i've been around the globe,and I really found SEAT(which is pronounced see-aht.lolz.) models to be really nice.it'll be nice if it's available in malaysia.

• how much is the ticket to go in Paul? how did you purchase it? please tell me because i badly want to go in the future!

• Stryker on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:52 am

At first look, next-gen Satria Neo done right.

• Paul Tan on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:55 am

alpha – simply because no one has brought it in. a group of entrepreneurs actually asked me for assistance in the past to contact SEAT and i acquired the proposal template for them but nothing else came out of it. anyway the latest rumour is that cartrade (vw cars) is bringing them in?

ben – we applied for media passes, they are free if you have a publication. the show is not open to public yet. you can check out public tickets here – http://www.salon-auto.ch/en/pratiques/ticket.php

• trikfidi on Mar 03, 2010 at 9:05 am

looks like Satria Neo

• the most ugly car i ever seen…uglier than perodua kenari..heh

• another copycat car..copy neo styling..heh

• rcellu on Mar 03, 2010 at 9:25 am

has a look Satria Neo

• Alpha on Mar 03, 2010 at 9:35 am

wow,paul!!if it's true,than that will be really cool!!

• is this 2 seats or 4 seats car

lampu depan dan belakang tu.. that's the future design I guess; even Proton concept car have that almost similar lampu belakang design

• Looks like a bloated Satria Neo. Satria Neo and Satria Neo S2000 looks better.

• fazron80 on Mar 03, 2010 at 3:47 pm

sport rim have similar design as satria neo's previous bling bling rims. But of course looks better than neo's.

• farid on Mar 03, 2010 at 3:52 pm

maybe they got inspired by satria neo? the rims, the view? look at pic 3,5,17..

• RunnerUp on Mar 03, 2010 at 4:09 pm

sweet.

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 03, 2010 at 4:12 pm

The light design alike the Audi.

Same designer? Overall not bad, but should be no dealer for SEAT's car in malaysia?

• yes..the shape like satria neo…

• automotive designer on Mar 03, 2010 at 4:24 pm

wow. it looks fake. looks like my prototype models. hahahaa. dull design and colours.

• neo?

• krazyfacts (Member) on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:26 pm

if only i can put those rims in my neo ):

• pomen_gtr on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:28 pm

the rear side looks like savvy that have been widen to the max….

i wonder why proton alway make narrow cars….

*savvy

*BLM

*gen2

most of them were narrower than P2 mawwy

• sekali pandang xnampak mcm neo..

but + with that turbine rim..

cant avoid to compare it with neo~

• Peter on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Very cool design……..

• audi A1 lookalike?

• the rear does resembles Alfa Romeo Brera

• kobealex2020 on Mar 03, 2010 at 9:31 pm

somehow… this car looks very similar to a Neo. like the front bumper, the rims, the shape, even the back of the car u cud c thr is like something in the lower back which looks like satria's mid exhaust o.O

• are they sure that have done building this car?

• nazri on Mar 04, 2010 at 12:02 am

i think this is just clay model 'half complete' la.. u see they just stay outside only.. no interior pic?

• alfarabi on Mar 04, 2010 at 4:44 am

satria neo wannabe

• Hate the colour.

• Annihilated on Mar 04, 2010 at 3:27 pm

Concept made from clay. Though I think it still lacks of flavor and design isn't clean. Current SEAT style is prefered.

• Tak boleh bawak lalu bumper.

• stylo!! i like headlight..

• Mysticmind on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:03 pm

seriously side profile and the rim just look like neo.

Plus the overall car just really close to Satria S2000 wide bodykit!

• SEAT pronounce SIAT… ahak.. look nice from side it look like Satria Neo..

• silmi on Mar 05, 2010 at 7:22 pm

look for yourself and judge…

• somesay on Mar 06, 2010 at 11:59 pm

look at the rear from side profile. looks like Savvy don't you think