Peugeot to introduce new “hors-série” sub-brand for more upmarket models

Peugeot RCZ

Following the footsteps of its quirky sister brand Citroen, Peugeot will be launching a new sub-brand that will be used on more upmarket models with higher profit margins, similiar to Citroen’s DS sub-brand. The new sub-brand will be called hors-série, which is French for ‘custom-made’ or ‘out of series’.

The sexy Peugeot RCZ will be the first hors-série model and Nasim has announced intentions to offer it here in Malaysia. The next hors-série model will be a wagon version of the new Peugeot 508. The 508 is a new model that will replace both the 407 and the 607, and it has been previewed in the form of the 5 by Peugeot concept. The third hors-série model will be unveiled only in 2012.

They will keep the word hors-série in all markets without translating it, much like how Volkswagen uses the tagline Das Auto even here in Malaysia. This can sometimes cause some rather amusing conclusion. A friend of mine actually thought Das Auto was a Malaysian-Indian owned Volkswagen dealership as Das is also an Indian name ;) Until he saw it in Germany of course.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lotus technology on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:53 am

LOVE IT !!! sweet

Just dont stick the Naza badge on it

• Deuter on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:32 am

i think Das means "The" in german. they use "Die" and "Das" as "The", "Die" is for male, and "Das" for female (or neutral, not very sure) so "Das auto" means "The auto". correct me if i am wrong, german language expert out there :)

• mr_3m on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:34 am

i'm not french so how do we pronounce hors-serie?

horsie? Horsiri? hors-ri?

hor-si-ri?

hors-seri?

whore-siri?

they cannot compare with Das Auto as it is much easier to spell and pronounce…

the french was probably drunk when they came out with horsserie… i just feel the word hors at the beginning just doesnt sound right….

but anyway, lets see if peugeot can build up the horsserie image to the right level like Citroen is trying with its DS range….

• Big Bud on Apr 18, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Hi
      You should prononce hor say ri
      you sounds gao gao ha?
      You cannot spell but already can criticize …. why drunk?
      “hors -serie” means “special design” .
      I dont want to spell all malaysian or chinese or tamil words that sound ridiculous in french ,,,,,you would be amazed .

Take care

JFB

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 18, 2010 at 2:54 am

naza rcz when coming?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 18, 2010 at 2:56 am

when naza rcz come

• Arthur on Mar 18, 2010 at 3:10 am

Actually, "hors serie" translates more like "special edition" rather than "custom made" ;)

• xsara on Mar 18, 2010 at 3:26 am

oo lala….drool….i hope i'll hv enough $$ to buy this beauty when it comes to msian shore

• lowprofile on Mar 18, 2010 at 3:41 pm

there will never be such a thing as naza rcz. as promised, the 206 bestari was the last ever naza branded peugeot and it will stay that way.

anyway, hors-serie sounds like horse series to me! :D

• Baron on Mar 18, 2010 at 5:52 pm

look like frog

• Tiadaid on Mar 18, 2010 at 6:03 pm

mr_3m said,

March 17, 2010 @ 5:34 pm

i’m not french so how do we pronounce hors-serie?

horsie? Horsiri? hors-ri?

hor-si-ri?

hors-seri?

whore-siri?

they cannot compare with Das Auto as it is much easier to spell and pronounce…

the french was probably drunk when they came out with horsserie… i just feel the word hors at the beginning just doesnt sound right….

but anyway, lets see if peugeot can build up the horsserie image to the right level like Citroen is trying with its DS range….

————–

I think it's pronounce ors-saeree. Them french don't pronounce the h.

But according to the Babel Fish translator, hors-serie means out of the ordinary instead of custom made. Maybe the litleral translation of hors-serie

• Those driving the Naza-Peugeot 206 are gonna be smiling.

Too bad the car isn't available anymore.

I reckon the Peugeot name is gonna be brighter in the coming months.

• Alan Wong on Mar 19, 2010 at 12:47 am

The RCZ will be the CBU unit just like the 308 GT. There is NO volume to assemble it in Malaysia. I don't think Nasim will bring in many, 10 at the most for the 1st batch and see how the sales do before deciding on the 2nd batch. Peugeot makes great looking cars that make heads turn. However, personally, I find the RCZ to be not a family car, but rather a "fancy" car that costs more than RM 200K++. Not many people will be in that category to buy a "fancy" car with that amount of money. For those who do, you will enjoy driving it. There is something about a Peugeot you cannot explain until you drive it. Its really a pleasure to drive. My wife told me that I shouldn't sell my Peugeot for life. She now knows why I like it so much, after she sending me to the airport and driving the car back home.

• sparrow on Mar 19, 2010 at 7:46 pm

alan wong.. u donoh naza assemble it for export purpose?

• Mad Cat on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:13 am

The RCZ is definitely not for the GT Wing + Loud exhaust crowd.