Subaru Impreza Cosworth offers “supercar humbling pace”

We have here a few detail shots of a car that packs “supercar humbling pace” and will “offer performance-car fans the thrill of a lifetime”. The car in question is the Cosworth Impreza STI CS400, which will go on sale in June in the UK.

All we know now is that this joint-effort by Subaru and Cosworth will boast 395 bhp at 5,750 rpm, sufficient to dispatch the 0-100 km/h sprint in just 3.7 seconds. If you need a barometer, the Audi R8 V10 is slower than this mad Scooby by 0.2 seconds, so supercar humbling pace is no empty boast. The standard UK-spec Impreza WRX STI does 296 bhp at 6,000rpm and complets the century sprint in 5.2 seconds, so we’re looking at a big jump in performance here.

Going faster means stopping harder, and Subaru reveals that the Cosworth Impreza STI CS400 will feature a bespoke AP Racing brake package with six-pot callipers and huge 355 mm discs at the front. A wide range of further upgrades have been made to the suspension, exhaust and to the donor Impreza’s exterior and interior styling. Only 75 units of the Cosworth Impreza STI CS400 will be produced. Prices and further technical details will be announced closer to the launch date so stay tuned.

Detail shots of the ultimate Impreza after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1011]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• omg..i want one~!

• wow…6-pod by AP Racing….yummy!

• 1st..

wow!..really mad scooby!!

• valandil on Apr 01, 2010 at 1:34 am

wow, this car is MAD!! and i like it!!

hopefully it handles still like an STI with all those power..

• only 3 pics ?

• wow….no further comment but simply impressed with the impreza..this is what we call "performance car", looks humble yet glorious inside…i agree with the "supercar humbling pace" tagline..i agree.

cdvR

• waahh..is it RM 115k? =p

• impressive..

• Rassan on Apr 01, 2010 at 2:16 am

Power!!!

• proton _noprodua on Apr 01, 2010 at 2:23 am

very nice car..i mean the power.but i bet the whole car will be very nice too..

• Choon on Apr 01, 2010 at 2:28 am

I love this version of Subaru STi, wish had more pictures and info here!

Motor image strategy in Malaysia is very unimpressive, taking the new 2010 STi selling at RM 290+K is unwise.

The problem with Motor Image is the lack of willingness to take a big share in Malaysian's market, the reasons is very clear – too much effort and too little return.

We will have limited choice of model to select.

• and the price is………..a few bucks cheaper than a supercar

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 01, 2010 at 2:45 am

Didn't the last FQ400 match or even better the century sprint at 3.5s?

Perhaps not so much of a supercar killer, but some of us actually have V8eater writen on our otherwise stock looking 4G63T AWD powered cars…with power to back that up. Its one of the few cars that gets street cred from V8 crowd.

• smart ke?

• an Evo FQ400 challenger

• staff on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:02 am

Did ppl praise bcoz it bears Subaru name? and close their eyes for the cosworth?

because last time i check in F1 topic in this blog, some ppl questioning this Cosworth capability?

BTW, i think the japanese are sending message to the European… by saying "see, we dont have to make supercars to challenge you"

• donadoni on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:38 am

subaru finally wake up from their hot seat to rival fq400. well done!

• armandd on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:00 am

aiyaa, where's the exterior pic?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:10 am

This are just teasers, the car will be launched in June as stated

• love it!!

• mu_77 on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:42 am

Amazing stuff from SUBARU!

• I think here we also can do the power & handling close to this MAD STI… but this time will be done by the official Subaru & cosworth enigne should be a 2.5L…. sure like to see it on June.

Ah Paul,

plz keep us posted TQ!!

• intel on Apr 01, 2010 at 8:26 am

Since Lotus has a good relationship with Cosworth

they should have just transplant a cosworth into the R3.

Then the 115K and all the sports tuning would have been justified.

• yeah good :-)

• Peter on Apr 01, 2010 at 9:16 pm

Well, why transplant a cosworth into the R3? Campro CPS is good enough, furthermore if cosworth is being transplanted into the R3, i think the price would be most likely more than rm200k…..

Do you guys know how expensive Cosworth is worth?

• so ah beng one haaaaa!