Ford Fiesta on display at 1 Utama High Street

The Mazda 2 has just been launched this week but Sime Darby Auto ConneXion is keen to remind Malaysians that it’s platform mate the Ford Fiesta will also be coming this year. The Ford Fiesta will be on display at 1 Utama High Street from the 7th of April 2010 (tomorrow) until the 11th of April 2010. This is the second time the Fiesta has been on display in Malaysia – it was showcased at Sunway Pyramid earlier this year.

They are also having a little promotion called the Ford Fiesta Malaysia Movement. From what I understand this will be a series of ‘tasks’ that Malaysians have to perform and if you complete them successfully you will receive something. For Mission One, you have to head to the Fiesta display at 1 Utama, snap a photo with the car and upload it onto the Ford Fiesta in Malaysia Facebook fan page. The first 100 who submit their photos will win a pair of GSC movie tickets. There’s also some other information on the Fiesta at the Facebook page such as the preliminary specifications.

Both the Mazda 2 and the Ford Fiesta roll off the same assembly line in Ford’s Thailand plant, albeit with different internals. The Mazda 2 is only available here as a 103 horsepower 1.5 litre with a 4-speed auto while the Ford Fiesta gets two engine variants and two transmission options. The baseline is a 96 horsepower 1.4 litre engine with a 5-speed manual transmission while the top of the line car will get a 120 horsepower 1.6 litre engine mated to a quick-shifting 6-speed Ford Powershift dry twin clutch transmission.

Twin clutches offer better efficiency and better transfer of power over regular slushbox automatic transmissions so more of those 120 horses can reach your tyres compared to if the Fiesta used a regular 4-speed auto. 6-speeds also mean closer ratios so the small engine can be kept in its peak torque band more often. Other confirmed equipment include Bluetooth and USB connectivity.

The Fiesta will also come with ESP stability control which is best in class safety here in Malaysia, although it certainly won’t be best in price range as the Forte 1.6 SX which is a segment higher (C-segment car but the same price as cars in the B-segment) matches the Fiesta’s safety features with ESP stability control and dual airbags.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1034]

GALLERY: Ford Fiesta Preview at 1 Utama High Street – Day 1

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1037]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The Hatchback looks good

• asahiyakuza on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:48 pm

good looking hatchback… it receive a good review on Top Gear(I’m eager to watch the 1st episode of Driven! hehehe). any idea what’s the price?… 80K would be realistic price they’ll put i think…

• SavvyTron on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:49 pm

why i felts hatchback version like Hyundai i30..

• Kambing Gurun (Member) on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:37 pm

With the entrance of Ford Fiesta, Hyundai i30 seems overpriced.

• The Dean on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:41 am

fyi, hyundai i30 is a C-segment car, while the Ford Fiesta is a B-segment car.

• 1 Malaysia on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:43 am

one of the reason hyundai didn’t sale well because its pricing is close to japanese. like it ore not, malaysian still feel japanese make better car than korean. same like ford, the only way to push up hyundai sale is to reduce selling price.

• hatchback looks great

• kedaikopi on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:53 pm

menjadi saingan kepada Mazda 2

• The Loner on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Ini ialah persaingan antara Sime Darby Auto Connexion dengan Bermaz. Tapi Mazda 2 dan Ford Fiesta ialah abang dan adik.

• keluangman on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:11 am

tidak lupe juga yang Ford Fiesta ini bakal menyaingi jualan kereta ruji sedan malaysia seperti Toyota Vios dugong, Honda City serta Nissan Latio.

• _Zephyre_ on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:56 pm

So is there a change in pricing given how the Mazda2 is priced?

• nice looking car…better hp than Mz 2…80k is acceptable…

• think on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:59 pm

a very nice car..this year seems best in the class cars are ever achieved..the kia forte is one great example as of this fiesta…when will be the kia sorento 2010 be launched..

• theanswer on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:02 pm

how big it is compared to i30? or satria neo?

• Zidane on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Hope that it is cheaper than mazda2 :D

• torque (Member) on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:05 pm

I heard the price for the hatch gonna b around 82K plus (high end) while the sedan gonna be around 85K plus. Not only they had the dual clutch thingy but the salesperson also told me that the high end specs gonna get a traction control too. On paper, the Ford seems a better buy compare to the Mazda plus I think under Auto Connexion (Sime Darby), the Ford has better assurance compare with the Mazda under Bermaz (Berjaya Group).

Oh ya! I heard when Ford doing the roadshow tomorrow at 1 Utama, Mazda 2 will be there too. So, all of u can go there and compare both of them!

Good job Ford and AutoConnexion!

• Paul Tan on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:13 pm

Yeah both the Mazda 2 and the Fiesta will be at the New Wing so people can just walk between the displays and compare. Should be very interesting hearing the salesmen battle each other verbally on ground!

• the price for 1.4L (5-speed) is RM 75k,
        while 1.6L (6-speed) SEDAN is RM 80k
        and 1.6L (6-speed) Hatchback is RM 85k…

• Tiadaid on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:15 pm

For god’s sakes Auto Connexion, please keep the price at 82k-85k! Please please please!

• Judging from the specs on the facebook link, I don’t think that the high spec sedan, if any, will be in the 85K range as that looks like it is reserved for the high spec hatch, and also possibly the only variant that has the works.

The sedan looks much better than the mazda2 sedan to my eyes. Wonder if both the styles have the same issue as mazda2 for over 1.9m height people like me. :-)

• chaku on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:07 pm

i’ll prefer mazda2 both hatchback n sedan

• findcar on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:08 pm

how much?

• pulge on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Do we get to have the Fiesta Movement here also? Like in the US where Ford gave 100 lucky Americans to drive the Fiesta over for 6 months (I think) for free. That would be cool!

• jab strong fierce! on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:01 am

Yup! There’s a localize version of Fiesta Movement; check it out here – http://www.facebook.com/fordfiestamy?v=app_10442206389

They are giving out 100 pairs of cinema tickets instead, all you got to do is to pose kawaii-style (kidding) with the exhibition cars at 1U

• _Zephyre_ on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Anyways, as I was saying, if those prices (http://www.ford.net.my/fiesta/preview.html) remain, the Mazda2 is in serious trouble.

• teelim on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:26 pm

price is stated to be starting from RM75k O_O
      http://www.ford.net.my/fiesta/index.html

so I think the top of the range should not be more than RM90K. Honda should be panicking soon. Mazda can also tapau and go home lah

TL

• jab strong fierce! on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Sorry to burst your bubble, but you got to grab hold of the malaysian culture here. Neither Ford/Mazda will shake Toyota/Honda’s ricebowl. Just go and take a short drive thru KL and note of how many Civics/Altises you saw on the road and compare that figure to Mazda 3/Focus. These 2 major japanese car manufacturer are virtually scattered all over the road. I do agree that Ford makes great rides, however with our not so diverse market here, majority of the people will still go with the norm; practicality & 2nd hand value comes first

• Peter on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Well, all i can say its a different segments where people will be choosing in….For toyota/ honda…..

Example: Mazda 2 and Ford Fesita are both consider smaller cars than cars offered by Toyota and Honda……

But i agree with you that many will still choose Toyota and Honda instead….

• jab strong fierce! on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:41 pm

I’m not sure how small is the Mazda 2 / Ford Fiesta compared to Toyota Yaris / Honda Jazz, but I do think they are all roughly the same and falls under the Subcompact car category.

If any of you could stretch some budget over from a Myvi to get a Mazda 2 / Ford Fiesta, it’s definitely a good idea as the current generation for Myvi, Aveo & Swift is approaching the end of its life cycle

• CENTURION on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:50 am

yes.that is true.the really do look nice.these mazdas,fords.but the thing is,H and T have been around for a very long time.It wont be that easy to shift a person’s perception towards other makes

• odi862 on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:21 am

The H and T brands may still have their standing in the market but others like the Korean brands and Ford gradually seeping through their market shares with better specs and cheaper pricing. We will see different scenario in 3-4 years if the Japanese still arrogantly believed that their cars will always be superior (at least from the local buyers perspective) than the Korean. Just look at the electronics industry, some still stick to Sony or Panasonic but many are going for cheaper and on par specs like LC and Samsung.

• Road Thunder on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:39 am

on par specs like LC and Samsung….it’s LG, type properly la. Otherwise, people might think you means LC as Lan Cee

• ProTip on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:43 am

Agreed.

Fiesta is not a T&H competitor, but it may indeed kill the Mazda2.

• alpha999 on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:15 pm

fully agree! most who can afford will definately go for jap makes….

• Gerard on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:37 pm

Yes you ar right, my take on this is unless Toyota/Honda comes up with something new the Ford Fiesta & mazda2 may stand a fighting chance. I have been comparing specs and it seem like both the brands seem to offer quite abit in packages.

• teelim on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:22 pm

I’ll definitely go for the Fiesta just for the 6speed Powershift alone.

If the 1.6 priced below RM90k… oh wait… even if below RM100k, surely Honda can stop selling the Jazz already coz no one will buy. :D

TL

• yeap, that Jazz = Yaris ,….very few on the road. the soon to be launch Freed at rumour RM120k too….same fate

• Gerard on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:39 pm

Getrag-Ford Powershift, try googling that it seems like it’s quite a high tech

• loveMazda3 on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:34 pm

I read Proton is going to use this gearbox also in near future, perhaps for their next all new Persona. They call the project Phoenix. Getrag-6 gear..

• 80-90k seems the best price for the 1.6 hatchback…
    hell, 90k would still be a good deal…

oh, how i love the beauty of hot hatch~

• fort minor on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:59 pm

haiyooo..they wanna sell at 85k, why say 90k also u wanna buy.ask them to sell for 60k la… then ford will bargain with us, sell at 70k for top spec.we save more money.ok la…haha…just joking mate ;)

btw, ni blom hot hatch lg bro.suam2 kuku je baru.bleh la nk lawan dgn VW polo kot. polo dah dalam 130k dah.so,fiesta ni kire bargain laa jugak (for malaysian market guys…not international market)

• malaysian on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:44 pm

im goin to buy this car…been waiting for so long…why is it taking so long…….

• torque (Member) on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:33 pm

I heard if u booked now, u will get ur hands on it by August!

• fort minor on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:56 pm

august!??!deyymmm…lamenyer….how to trade in current car?need to have downpayment money 10% dulu laa…lol

• fort minor on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:02 pm

i had a talk with the SA at OU yesterday.. they expect the first batch to be delivered around end september/ october…so, xdapat la buat kereta baru raya..kereta raya haji sempat la kot ;p

• It would be better if they bring in diesel engine..

• MoFaz on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:01 am

hurm… roadtax for diesel is twice as much for petrol (ie petrol = RM90, diesel = RM180).
      but diesel is cheaper and has better fuel efficiency.
      hurmmmmm

• correct me if i’m wrong, diesel road tax nowadays same wt petrol…anyway the diesel fiesta econetic beat the Prius on fuel consumption (australian review)

• no pics of the 1.4L variant?

• malaysia memang boleh on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:37 pm

the rear of the sedan reminds me to persona’s rear design,its position is kinda high to me

• the prob wt hatch based sedan…..previous gen city had the same prob

• Kambing Gurun (Member) on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Good thing that they give manual option for us who hate auto!!! Too bad its only 96bhp, as compared to Satria Neo’s 125bhp (as usual we always compare anything under the sun to proton :-) )

• MoFaz on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:03 am

proton only have 2 engine variants :)
      waja lancer will use mitsu engines…

• o-zon on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:24 am

r u sure about waja lancer? i tkt u kecewa dikemudian hari..:-D

• MoFaz on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:23 am

yes, it’s all over the net, and from what i heard, there will be 1.8l and 2.0l variants. all lancer will use mitsu engines

• u make a mistake on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:04 am

u said 96bhp one is 1.4. how come u compare with sartia neo 1.6?

• Kambing Gurun (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 6:31 pm

I’m comparing manual vs manual given the available options. BTW Ford’s 1.6 output 120bhp only, but that’s auto :-(

• Charger (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Dude, that’s automated manual. Basically it’s still manual. Even better, it came with 2 clutches!

So what’s the fuss? :D

• BeemerFreak on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:46 pm

thats it for toyota vios. Thought ford might priced it over rm 100k. great job on the pricing. It gives the rest of the car market the chills. i dont mind placing my order now.

• trav_da_man on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:07 pm

I soo in love with the new fiesta!!!!

• my opinoin la,,,,sometime the hback looks like mini caldina…what do u think?????

• omahabojan on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Great coverage Paul. Impressive Fiesta! ‘120 horsepower 1.6 liter engine mated to a quick-shifting 6-speed Ford Powershift dry twin clutch transmission. ‘. I hoped for a twin clutch trans car which is reasonable priced (Hopefully). Golf GTI, Audis are very expensive and it’s good that Fiesta can cater for low income group like me. Plus, the road tax is cheap for 1.6. I’ll be there tomorrow to check out the Fiesta. Thanks for the info Paul!

• neo no more on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:11 pm

selling off my satria neo and getting this baby….big booooooo to proton…………..cps also so yuckksssss

• typical proton basher..

• hahaha on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:17 am

he owned and experienced it. Ppl not satified also a problem?

• mr_3m on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:51 am

he’s already a customer… why would he ‘bash’ something he already bought?
        He’s entitled to say what he like becos he already spent his own money on the Neo… at the end of the day, he’s only criticising his own purchase… so what if he likes other car like this Fiesta? Proton supporter got problem with that? MYOB laa…

aiyooo… if you support Proton blindly aaa…. sampai bila tak maju… just like how it is now… soon coming to 25-30 years… still producing cars that is still behind compared to others…

• odi862 on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:30 am

If you can afford a better car then go ahead……get rid of Proton. Proton cars are ingeniously manufactured and priced for the majority of Rakyat (including me….) can afford to own a car. Owning the Proton car is a love hate relationship (mostly hate I think…). When the time comes to make a change in our life, just let it go and opt for the foreign brands…….

• loveMazda3 on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:39 pm

agree.. i’ve using proton (wira -> now Gen2) and now it’s time for me to upgrde to Mazda2.. because only now I can afford it..
        conclus.. if you can afford just go for it.. dun have to say BS about proton.. I bet most of people hear who blindly bashing proton are using proton..

anyway this fiesta is a nice.. 1.4 would be suficient for my wife.. bye2 dugong and boring city.. :-)

• Dr Din on Apr 10, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Just paid RM500 booking for the 1.6 sedan. I getting it for the missus.

• johnmiddle55 on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:14 pm

I admire the Ford car especially fiesta and focus for so long but too bad I wont touch it at all. In JB, there’s only one sale office and god know what happened to the office. No promotion, no advertisement, and so hard to find the place. Ford got to do more than bringing the new models in JB. If they never emphasize on publicity, after sale service, they will forever be so exclusive.

People like me want to own it but skeptical about the maintenance and after sale support.

• MoFaz on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:07 am

yeah, parts and maintenance could be more expensive, but u get what you pay for :)

• PityOnP1 on Apr 07, 2010 at 8:20 am

Tats y people wont buy it… Coz u get what u pay for… Expensive in all aspect…. tats y would rather choose other brand… People unable to bear paying petrol that always hiking, monthly installment, service and maintainence… How about other expenses?? House, grocery, kids school…. Cheers!

• whatever on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:18 pm

Stop saying the fiesta look like this and that! it does not look like any of the car in the market. they have come with this design way back…afterall the design is original, hope it will be price below 80k for the 1.6 ver. I want 1!

• monomania on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:23 am

agreed, ford fiesta won the 2009 Red Dot Design award, do you see any other cars hold that title when you do the comparison???

• the hatchback really looks good, compared to the mazda, i take the ford because of its brand name and looks.

• the age of tonggek,lol

• Dangg… If only they announce it earlier, then i would have bought this instead of the PUg

• Maserati on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:41 am

Even if these people sell this at RM 90k,it wont sell lah.

Maybe it will have a couple of buyers here & there,but still no way its gonna touch T & H market share lah.

The people who have money are the decision makers,and normally they rarely go for FORDs or Mazda for that matter..

I predict Mazda 2 to be a utter failure & Ford Feista to fare slightly better,just a by a bit..

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:48 am

About time, now why would Ford (or anyone for that matter) still make a sedan version of the hatch is beyond me. its hideous. The Mazda 2 sedan a few posts back was even worst.

Same goes to the 2nd gen City, SX4 sedan, Mazda 2 sedan, Echo sedan, Latio Sedan, Aveo sedan

There are some better looking examples of the bunch like both generation of the Vios (the ’98 Toyota Echo was the first gen Yaris sedan).

If they wanted a car with a bigger boot, why not just make the wagon equivalent? Pugs don’t seem to have a problem with them (207SW, 307SW), and even Honda’s Airwave ended looking pretty good. (even our own Theo Chin has a rendering of a new City wagon which looks pretty good)

I do like both the Mazda 2 and Fiesta hatches, but they are a little small, too bad they are not bringing in the KIA Forte hatch, a nice Hyundai sourced 2.0 turbo in that would be sweet..heheh

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:21 am

They still build these hatch derived sedans because there’s a market for it. Not here, but you can’t argue with the volume of China and India. Agree with you on the Vios being the one of the better looking cars of its kind.

• Vios is way much better than Honda’s City and these new fellows.

• jab strong fierce! on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Specs wise, the Fiesta easily tarpau-ed the rest of the competitions

• Gerard on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:42 pm

if you are talking about the Sportivo yes, otherwise you may want to consider comparing it again

• Agree with you. Sedan versions of the hatch are generally hideous looking. But then beauty is at the eye of the beholder I suppose.. and some people prefer practicality vs looks (how else can we explain people buying the old Honda City? ;p). So we shouldn’t be so judgemental. Peace!

• ProTip on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:47 am

Malaysians seem to adore boots. No hatch-style doors for them, so wagons are out.

As for ugly-looking “sedan-hatches”, well, most Malaysians are not rich enough to have the luxury of choosing looks, not when resale value, practicality are the major considerations.

For those who can afford nice cars, they wouldn’t even be giving these small cars a look anyway.

• juice on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:26 am

i read sumwher da 1.6l (manual) fuel consumption is about 5.9l/100km if i remember correctly lah..

• Spencer on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:55 am

Hi Paul,

Is the model showcase Detroit 2010 in your previous post will be available in M’sia?? Those are much more better looking….

• I already have 2.4 L car. Always kena saman couse of speeding. I’m looking for small cc car and this is great. To be below 100k still can effort without trade in. Thank to ford.

• u must be joking? i drive a 1.6 liter and also do the same.. so far nothing. LOL

• MoFaz on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:18 am

yeah… police always point the radar to big cars.
      the trick is, speeding only in middle or slow lanes, not the fast lanes :)

• ignas on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:07 am

my guess it would be cheaper than jazz but slightly more expensive than mazda 2 because of its advance technology and ‘best in its class’ major equipments. probably priced close to the pug i think.

• khaix19a on Apr 07, 2010 at 5:12 am

now bring in the ford mustang….haha

• mohd hafizzul on Apr 07, 2010 at 7:45 am

Waitinng 4 Myvi 1.5cc ( Vios Engine ) on August 2010…Edisi terakhir sebelum generasi kedua masuk…Menurut sumber,spec lebih kurang JDM…tunggu…

• o-zon on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:21 am

i dont think myvi 1.5 will use Vios engine. only in dream.even alza use avanza’s engine.
      u think T is so stupid to let us get D-VVTi here? u’ll yg stupid kne tipu ngn T n D + P

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:54 am

Agreed..lol!!!

• alpha999 on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:22 pm

ur rite…….i think the engine used similar to Alza’s….cost effective….just comestic changes dashboard, re-arrange layout, add support for iPod, AUX, ……and wa la….myvi 1.5

only issue is pricing…..

• Fiesta is for small vaginas on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:14 am

Probably Myvi 1.5 is a Sedan version….and that would be a joke of the year.

• aiyoh… myvi gonna have 1.5l? plz dun do that perodua, even now u can see a lot of myvi speeding at 170km/j..it will be a lot of accident if they make myvi 1.5l

• proton on Apr 07, 2010 at 8:00 am

hem….which fiesta better? for a 30 year old man, hatchback or sedan?

in this price, perhaps a kia forte 2.0 would make more sense in the long run? oh no….how to choose?? but then, if we’re talking about sedan, who can forget the 1.5 City? gosh.

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 07, 2010 at 8:33 am

It does have the better package and look compare to Mazda 2, plus 1.6 and 6 speed auto :)

• While the hatch is hot..the sedan’s back is downright ugly..

• in fact Persona derived from hatchback Gen2 also well executed than these Mazda-Ford duo. But for the RM85k the specs of 1.6 easily eclipsed others unless you’re really into C-segment then these duo not for you.

in fact in Singapore Fiesta is on par with Polo, dynamically or retail price. But, in Malaysia don’t even dream.

Thus, in short you may considered Fiesta if you take into account the handling and dynamic of a car that not shy far from Focus hatchback. Bring the potent diesel and this will have impact to the T&H.

Vios is ugly but better executed B-segment and you can’t blame their buyers though l never consider one unless sub-RM50k for J.

Still not satisfied? Wait new Waja Lancer priced around RM70k. Full C-segment and if using Mitsubishi 1.8 the car has Civic 1.8 performance at Vios J (A) price. My dream.

• where u got the info price around rm70k. i heard the price of waja lancer around 80k++

• MoFaz on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:06 pm

yup, i believe it will be around 80k too.
        RM70k is too close to persona H-line, RM60k.

• Neutral on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:05 am

If Sime can offer competitive sales price and attractive after sales packages, ford fiesta will give two big T n H some hard time. Let our car market not dominated by these big four T, H and the double P !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• ABTguy on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:06 am

I beg to defer, to me the VIOS latest model, together with Latio sedan are the ugliest sedan in the market, much worst than the 1st gen City. The ugly frog cars :D

As for Fiesta, if the offer is really below RM85k, I will be quite keen to upgrade my sub-par Avanza into it. I meant the dual-clutch model, it’s a piece of gem :)

When it comes to sedan vs hatch, when Ford developed such B-segment model, it has to take care the biggest market 1st -> Europe. It’s quite practical from them to add a boot later, though not a very nice one, just to fill the needs of some other minority buyer. Wait, there could be quite some sedan buyers in China dude. But from what I read in meg, there are more ppl in China choosing the hatch over the sedan.

On normal day to day usage, not much diff for 90% of the customer, I guess. Just pick whichever looks nicer :)

• memory on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:11 am

return back to ford & mazda rule in early 90’s. i remembered my father had bought ford laser TX3. it’s so impressed me! 1.8 DOHC EFI. at that time so ‘canggih’ already.

• My dad had a mazda 626 hatch and sedan in the 90’s. He said he fall in love with those digital meters. LoL

• redwings on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:15 am

Yup.. saw my cousin’s 3-doors 323… digital speedometer..

• Yeap the good old days of mazda 323 familia turbo/ford laser/ford tx3….those days ford’s car rocks…

• Ash Menon on Apr 08, 2010 at 9:03 am

Ahahaha yeah my dad had a 626 sedan too! I fell in love with the the speedometers, too!

• sime darby.. what are you waiting for… berjaya already brought in mazda. so slow laa you sime darby.. ni semua kaki lepak, kul 9 minum, kul 10 minum, kul 12 – 3 lunch, kul 5 minum, kul 5.30 semua cabut.

• sime darby u knw,, government link company…”kul 9 minum” wrong timing aledi. it should ” 8.30 am masuk, 8.45 minum, lepak till 1000am, showed face a while, clock out 1145am pick-up anak from sekolah, balik umah, watch tv3 news, mkn, mandi, take a nap..it is a routine….

• Resurrected on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:38 pm

haha…if only like is so easy in Sime ;)

anyway, there are many parties involved in bringing in a car to Malaysia, so bottlenecks are everywhere in the process especially with regards to pricing and the principal

• Kevin on Apr 08, 2010 at 10:53 am

Why are you all blaming SD when the vehicle is not even in production yet???
        Please check the fact first before posting any comments.

• The sedan looks is not interesting as Mazda’s 2 sedan. but for will still vote Forte and i have confidence that is will change the buyers perception towards hyundai cars.

• intermilan on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:23 am

Dude…

Forte tu kereta jenama KIA la .. … KIA forte?

bukan Hyundai.

Muahahahahha…. Mengantuk lagi ke?:

• Forte is Kia not Hyundai!

• fort minor on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:48 pm

forte is kia’s car la bro…..

• BeemerFreak on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:00 pm

Kia belongs to Hyundai. Read more dudes. Haha

• MoFaz on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:14 pm

technically, you guys are correct. it’s Kia Forte.
        but Hyundai owns Kia since 1998, so it’s also true to say Forte is Hyundai’s car.
        small matter only. don’t bother.

• fort minor on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:53 pm

yeah..i do know that Kia is owned by Hyundai…but what happens when some poor chap who read this blog to help him decide on what car to get, decided to buy a forte but then went to a hyundai showroom???

would the hyundai SA entertain him???

can he get the car he wants????

probably no, right ??so, better to point out that little mistake before people get confused, waste their time and energy, and god forbids, embarrassed themselves…. saya bukan along, cuma mau tolong kawan2 saja~~~ ;p

If you want to be more technically correct, in malaysia, it’s not even a KIA forte..it’s officially a NAZA forte…so, go figure….nobody got it “Technically” right after all! LOL

if you think about it, there are so many alliances, merger, acquisition, etc going on in the car industry right now, you won’t know who owns what just by looking at the badge anymore.just look at the nissan-renault-daimler cooperation. nobody really owns anything of the other brands. just a symbolic swap of shares. but they are still co-operating to reduce cost, share their expertise, etc.dat’s beautiful!!.but that doesn’t mean that they’ll have a single showroom to cater to all of their car brands…lexus was associated with toyota, but would they want to be selling lexus in the same show room as toyota?heck no..it’s all about branding lexus as an exclusive brand. otherwise, might as well kept it as toyota harrier. same same what??? hehe

anyway, in a way, you’re correct too mofaz. that’s why we can see so many toyota owners driving their Myvi’s all around Malaysia. ;p just joking. no offence to P2 & T owners. don’t shoot me okay (my brother drives a myvi too,i used to have a T…and my wife drives…OMG a P1!!!such travesty!!)

P/S: this is just my 2 cents (after rounding up adjustment, becomes 0 cents- so, might not worth your time reading this post after all..lol)…CHEERS!!

• Jaybond on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:35 am

The Fiesta’s exterior design alone will give Vios,Latio & City a hard time !

• cybermaster98 on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:24 am

U must remember ure in Malaysia not US or Europe. Physical looks and Specs are not NO 1. After sales service, maintenance costs and 2nd value are NO 1. So even with great design and specs, it still wont sell extremely well compared to T & H.

• Tiadaid on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Then it’s their loss. Bodoh sombong, got something better but still proclaiming their worshipped brand to be the best. I’d trade my City for a Fiesta in an instant.

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 07, 2010 at 6:34 pm

You mean even if they rebadge “kereta sorong” with T & H badge, it would sell very well?

• GoMazda5 on Apr 08, 2010 at 8:57 am

If ure capable of asking such questions, im sure ure capable enuf in answering them.

• keluangman on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:13 am

the fiesta sedan looks like mini mondeo….

• elvin on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:31 am

Bravo..will sell off my local gen 2 to this awesome machine..
    Ford Fiesta..

• saw the review on Fifth Gear last nite for the sedan version, but think the UK version is a hell lot different from this one

• cybermaster98 on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:54 am

Im a bit confused with the Fiesta. Can somebody put it clearly for me to see the difference in the specs and pricing? Does the Hatchback come in both 1.4 and 1.6 variants?

• xatomic on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:54 am

Great car, but unfortunately due to the mentality of Malaysians who majority of them cares bout resale value and maintenance parts/cost more, wont see much around anyway. How many Focus do u see?

• I think the older folks whom been driving those laser/TX3 in the late 80’s will buy these compared to the new gen T & H worshippers

• malowar on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:35 pm

Let see, IMHO, T& H has been dominating Malaysian buyers becoz M & F were quite late to introduce RM80k to RM 90k price range models, which in this case Mazda2 & Fiesta. But who knows in the future, right?

• don’t mind having one of the hot-hatch :-)

• The interior is nice and sportier than the Mazda 2. I would consider it.

• yeah want one of this hatchback.

• was told that the sedan will only make it here later than the hatch. anyone knows if this can be confirmed?

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:01 pm

1.4 auto variant don’t get 6 speed tranny ke…I thought on booking that….wait a minute 1.4 variant has no option for auto?

• mr_3m on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:04 pm

new ford fiesta… 75k to 85k…. yummm.. yummm….
    car coming from Tom Yum land…. heheheh…

• lchan on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:06 pm

where in other locations on earth can we find a 6-speed fiesta?????

• Looking at cheap CBU car prices – is it due to stronger Ringgit against Dollar / Euro / Baht values?

• MoFaz on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:20 pm

nope, it’s AFTA.
      we don’t know whatever happening behind the curtains, maybe Thai ask Malaysia to lower import tax for their cars otherwise they wont sell rice to us? hahaha…
      can we see similar situation in Singapore? can they get cheap car if Singapore also under AFTA?

• nighttrain on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:50 pm

Quick-shifting 6-speed Ford Powershift dry twin clutch transmission, with ESP is really cool for the price tag. But underpowered compared to Proton’s 1.6cps engine. In what way is this car better?

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:15 pm

u think perfromance only came from engine arr??..its a combi between gearbox & engine…and fiesta got both of them!

• BeemerFreak on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:04 pm

In everyway this car is better than proton. Fuel economy, badge factor, power, reliability, Comfort, as everything else. and dont argue, i believe there are many more that will agree with me.

• turbonatics on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:52 am

completely shit. this thing is rubbish compared to proton 1.6 cps.. the exterior design “oooo,stupidity is showing”,euuuwwww….it makes me puke…

• anti turbo on Nov 22, 2010 at 1:23 pm

completely bull shit..how can Proton engine match the engine of this car… The design certainly beat any Proton… wake up dude..

• Charger (Member) on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:01 am

Power / weight ratio and the 6-speed box with lightning speed shifting. Definitely a killer.

• WInterAngeLs on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Lets hope the price will maintain at RM85K for the high spec. With the interesting specs like ESP n TC with dual-clutch gb…heck this is one hell of a hot-hatch! VW Mk6 could only be in my dreams and Mazda2 could zoom-zoom balik rumah dy. xD

• A little perspective. Went to see Fiesta at 1Utama today. Just so happened Mazda2 was also on display. My impression: Fiesta is nice, inside and out. But M2 is sexy. Not Alfa sexy, but sexy nevertheless. Having test driven one previously, I prefer it to Vios and City as it is more responsive and nimble. Not sure whether it will be comfortable for long distance drives; perhaps not. Haven’t driven the Ford, so can’t say.

Build quality – I think M2 is better. Try close the door of both cars, you will understand what I mean.

Overall, the Fiesta might be better value for money since it is better specified, but I love the M2. Either that, or I might try to save some money and go for a Saga ;)

• loveMazda3 on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:47 pm

of course the mazda have better quality… all the way from Japan.. not the tomyam land..

• both from thailand…same plant if not mistaken

• MoFaz on Apr 07, 2010 at 6:20 pm

ayoo.. Mazda 2 is coming from tomyam land also la bro….

• blaster on Apr 08, 2010 at 9:51 am

Had seen the car at 1Utama. Agreed about the door. When close the M2 door, sound bumm, solid. The Fiesta sound klank, like it is empty and not properly build.

• minnow on Apr 15, 2010 at 2:25 pm

hahaha…stupid….living in a nutshell, can come n comment bout cars…

• MR.MILLER on Apr 07, 2010 at 7:03 pm

By judging on the door for the build quality is not a wise choice…

have u try doors on PUG 308 & 407? its so solid, more heavy, somehow I often get ‘slam’ by my own door… the door closing sound was louder, but it was due to i get used to japs car door are light in weight..and now I have adjusted my strength to close my 308 door right now…but yet… I still have to remind whoever that get into my car.. they always slam it so hard!!!!!!

“eh….no need too hard, this car is different…just push gently..~”

it do not have so many rubber compare to japs car.. i guess the Fiesta might be the same reason.. but u cant deny its more solid, hence more safe..

• MoFaz on Apr 07, 2010 at 3:22 pm

can only get in August?… book now so that you can show-off your new car during Raya!

• barulah dpt menyambut hari raya penuh erti dan senyuman hahahaha

• Altiveq on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:33 pm

I studied in the UK, this car belongs to one of the lowest insurance group and is the most affordable cars for students to use. Look at how much it sells here… one word… OMG!

• MR.MILLER on Apr 07, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Brother,

Since long time ago, we already know the facts of wat you mentioned~

ya..we know…

don’t remind us of the fact pls, let us keep our world in this small aquarium..

when u r back in here, u must join us by saying “malaysia boleh”~ u know?

• omahabojan on Apr 07, 2010 at 7:53 pm

Hehe, i agree. We don’t have a choice here so might as well just embrace it. Chill guys, in the spirit of “Malaysia boleh”, let us wait what new stuff they can come out this year. Paul, any idea if Malaysia going to have a Waja or Perdana replacement rather than facelift?

• odi862 on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:37 am

I heard from an insider that the Waja replacement will be like Lancer with few cosmetic changes and come with 1.8 engine. The engine still dunno either a licensed engine from Mitsu or the guys in Proton come out wilth the new Campro 1.8 engine. Anyway this is an unconfirmed information and maybe Paul can fill in better ones.

• omahabojan on Apr 07, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Just came back from One Utama to check out both cars M2 and Fiesta. Both are on separate floors so I guess the sales person will not argue with each other :-) Personally, I feel Fiesta is worth the money due to the specs (85k full spec). If you like something sexier, you may want to opt for M2 (the boot has a soft touch button so opening it is a breeze). According to the salesman, you can only get the car in August if you book now. The Fiesta on display is 1.4 and somehow it has leather seats. Apparently it’s just for show and in actual fact 1.4 and 1.6 will only have fabric seats.

• Fiesta is for small vaginas on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:39 am

Checkout both cars at 1U and end up falling on love with the Mazda3 sports sedan.

Anyways here are my reviews on why I shouldn’t get a Fiesta or Mazda2
      – I’m average tall person(173cm with 70kg), sat on the passenger seat next to the driver and my knee is touching the compartment. due to the v shape design of the dashboard I have to adjust my legs, one being longer than the other. imagine driving this in long distant…ouch! but I guess it will be a great fun for lil people. As for the Mazda, i feel its just too narrow till i’m touching the doors and windows is just few inch to my face, I don’t know bout you guyz i just can’t get a comfortable position sitting on the passenger seat and driving position. Finally did you guyz notice the plug cables in the ford fiesta, my gawd that’s a total turn off and the only thing I could put in the boot is someone’s head.

Why I should get a Fiesta?
      – Dual Clutch system
      – If i’m still in college, boots store books files and porn mag.
      -if i’m not claustrophobic

• fort minor on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:17 pm

haiyoo bro…how come you compare M2 and fiesta, and suddenly goes for M3 sports sedan???you should compare M3 with focus la at least. br bleh conclude M3 better, right?

Each car have their own target demographic. M2 and Fiesta is clearly not suitable for you.but would be good if you can buy it for your gf la…show her how much u sayang her.but before you buy, make sure she’s open minded and doesn’t mind the badge of the car. otherwise, maybe clash right away….lol

• If i’m rich, i will buy the m2 for the people i hate.

I also notice that in the M2, I have to tilt my body to the left bcoz the concave roof. that explains my face is few inch to the window.

Good luck!

• I haven’t check Fiesta out but expecting the small interior space issue. I have stepped into Focus and immediately got out of the driver seat – it was kinda cramped for me that I had to bend my legs a little. I am medium built with 1.68m / 60kg by the way.

• even smart car is feels bigger than fiesta. I know coz i drove one before.

• yourmomGotBigVaginas on Apr 11, 2010 at 12:59 am

welll, if you compare this car FOrd fiesta with Mazda 3, then you’re not here to buy a car, go drive your proton.

lets compare a ferrari with a BMW. it is so funny.

• i somehow dont like this specific rims. remind me to “local” product.

• klaka seram on Apr 07, 2010 at 8:20 pm

fiesta looks nice and better spec than M2
    any fiesta available for test drive?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:04 pm

change the rims!

• Eric G on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:16 pm

May i ask, how do dual clutch transmission works? the one with gear lever that has + and – only?

• proton on Apr 08, 2010 at 8:10 am

dual clutch, like normal auto gear, with + and – option, and better efficiency. like DSG, or mitsu dual clutch. New tech.

|This car can beat kia forte, with its dual clutch as a selling point, provided that you are not looking for a family car, but then,u can always choose a sedan version :)

• minnow on Apr 15, 2010 at 2:19 pm

this car can beat Forte?…hahaha….yea i agree on the 6 speeder (got shiftronic or not) and dual clutch selling point….but tht wil backfire with Forte’s C segment size, sporty looks(Shreyer line,17” alloys), keyless entry, button start, Auto climate control, eletro chromic rearview, auto headlights, SDVC, CBC,BA, CVVT Gema World Engine, 6CD changer audio with iPhone connectivity…etc…..Fiesta high line specs are only for the Hatchback sport…the sedan will loose out to any B segments, let alone C segment….

• ABTguy on Apr 08, 2010 at 8:46 am

DSG from Volkswagen is the world famous dual-clutch system, there are 2 set of “clutch” inside the autobox, one set handle 1,3,5 while another handle 2,4,6 for example. So when you are in 1st gear, the other set of system is pre-ready the 2nd gear, when you shift from 1st to 2nd gear, the 3rd one is pre-engaged somewhat.

Pro : fast shifting, super fast, thereby increase 0-100km/h speed count :)
    Pro : slightly more power loss compare to full manual, but much much less power compare to normal auto-box. => lower fuel consumption

Con : due to the complexity of the construction, the dual-clutch box may be expensive to repair (if konk)

DGS – > VW copyrighted, rougher at low speed, silky smooth when revv

Getrag powershift (adopted by Ford & volvo) -> as smooth as normal auto-box, but may not be as “fast” in shifting compare to DSG. It works quite similarly, but still has some fundamental different.

• proton on Apr 11, 2010 at 12:56 am

well, you need DSG gearbox if you have 200 HP under your bonnet :)

THis is a 1.6 liter econ car, its already a surprise to come with 6 speed dual clutch. and Can the FC comparable to Honda city? i’m very interested in these 2…..

6 speed gear must be good in Fuel Econ…..kia forte is losing out on this.

fiesta? city? forte?

• minnow on Apr 15, 2010 at 2:03 pm

u obviously cant compare to Forte…its a C segment car, with specs n features tht Fiesta owners can only dream….ur suppose to compare with B segments cars so ur choices are M2, Fiesta, City or Dugong….Fiesta 6 speed dual clutch are only for the hatchback sport i think(the highest price)…fuel economy goes mostly to the engine efficiency and car weight too…

• Fiesta ada ESP tapi Mondeo tak ada ESP?

• Charger (Member) on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:16 pm

No 1 seems to be complaining on the missing passenger’s handle bars by the doors?

It’s been replaced with teh tarik hanger now instead. Which is rather odd to me.

• Toughchoice on Apr 08, 2010 at 3:30 pm

I’ve sat in both the fiesta n Mazda2 at 1U today, and I must say, to my surprise i prefer the M2 interior much more than the Fiesta. From the pictures alone, I thought I will like the Fiesta more but not after i tried both. Some ppl complaint the m2 plastic dash rather cheap, I find the real thing very acceptable, the center console is painted in metallic black with little pearl effect under the spotlight at 1u, the interior build quality just felt pretty solid.

And I prefer the m2’s cabin design, eg. it’s just more comfortable to rest my hand on the m2’s door panel where all the buttons located. ALso, I noticed in Fiesta, the rubber/silicone cover found between the steering column and the dash not fitted properly ie. the cover sides falling apart from the fittings.

The rear roofline of the Fiesta looks much lower than the m2 when standing next to the car, so the Fiesta’s looks sportier from rear and side. BUt when comes to details of exterior design, eg. the skirtings, the front bumper (esp.the non-painted portion) i personally felt the M2 is nicer.

• proton on Apr 11, 2010 at 12:54 am

mazda 2 vs ford fiesta interior is like VIos vs CIty interior.

ford fiesta interior and steering(telescopic) is very very sporty. Mazda 2 steering is like cute kind, round steering, round speedometer, round auto gear lever.

ford fiesta is like semi bucket seat, which i prefer very much. And the door is good, the place where you can place you hand.

The Steering cover that is falling apart, is due to telescopic steering, which is lack in Mazda 2, i have to say your lack of knowledge of this car is regretable. Telescopic steering is available in more expensive car, the only car that has in the price range is kia forte and Honda city.

Now….is this Fiesta Sedan better or Honda city better?? ? very very tough choice.

Well, and kia forte too…..Mazda 2 is out. If you wan a Mazda, get a Mazda 3 with zoom zoom effect.

• sauron on Apr 08, 2010 at 4:16 pm

is it me or is the sedan version looks a bit out of proportion? maybe to maximize the boot space.

• neo no more on Apr 08, 2010 at 11:57 pm

booked….only september can take my car……wtf…………….if lucky july or aug……90k for the 1.6 hatch sports…………but drum brake at rear……oklah…..:P

• Quite cun la this car…. And the chick model also, matching color in every respect… I might buy this car for my wife. (OMG, talking abt model and wife on same breath.

The sound system looks like built in, so no chance to install own ICE…

• shahrul azwad on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:19 am

I like sedan. I think I opt for Mazda 2 instead of Fiesta.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:27 am

My advise to u is to to see the M2 on the road before u buy. It really looks funny fromthe back.

• Agreed!… i Just saw somwhere near setiawangsa.. look plain and ackward..

• niuhje on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:04 pm

what!! no one commented!!!???? Weird

• Paul Liew on May 06, 2010 at 12:16 pm

Hmm… both fiesta and forte is charming.. wondering which 1 should I get? As the price is so near (which is my 1st priority)… To me, fiesta win at design both interior & exterior, but forte win at performance (only engine?).. which i think the last thing to compare is the fuel consumption.. no idea at all ^_^

• minnow on May 07, 2010 at 1:46 pm

fiesta win on design…hav u got ur eyes checked???….the only thing fiesta got in advantage over Forte is the transmission(Fiesta hatchback sports only), Forte wins in class (C segment), size, handling, specs, safety, interior quality and goodies and best of all the price…

• exteriorly, Forte looks great… but interior dashboard look like oldschool, not futureristic and boring.. stering look ackward.. aftersale like resale value and service still can’t beat other brand.. but the specs price everything, Forte bravo!!!

• Let’s make sure whichever brands sedan/hatch we Malaysian gonna buy, may it be B or some Korean C segment car, KEPT below 100K! :)

Everybody will be a winner then!

• visel on Jun 16, 2010 at 9:57 am

hi,

i’m thinking of Suzuki Sx4 or Ford Fiesta…
    which is better?

• ProTip on Jun 28, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Gather all relevant facts, test drive both (several times) and decide which one suits you.

There is no real “better” car.

• calvin alastair on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Ford Fiesta looks better than Mazda2, both interior & exterior…..

• cocoemonella on Aug 30, 2010 at 3:08 pm

actually Fiesta remind me of Kia Spectra5,except a but smaller

• I did test drive Mazda 2… hey.. is a good car..very light. Nice. I will about it. I am driving Jazz now.. Mazda will be my next car. Ford Fiesta .. look good. but I think I prefer Mazda2.