Is this a leaked sketch of the Polo Sedan?

This is allegedly a leak sketch of the new Volkswagen Polo sedan bodytype. It doesn’t look particularly surprising as the change to a sedan bodytype is quite straightforward – adding a boot. There are no awkward lines to be smoothened out as the Polo has quite a squareish straight-cut design to begin. It won’t be the first time the Polo has been turned into a sedan either. We’ve also featured a ‘chopped image of a Polo Sedan in the past. It would be very interesting for the Malaysian market if a Volkswagen Polo Sedan can be locally assembled in Proton’s Tanjong Malim plant and offered to Malaysians at a price of perhaps RM80k+ to battle the Vios and the City.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 1proton on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:07 am

how about new waja?

• samat on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:16 am

I just love the latest Msian motor scene.
    Suddenly we get a whole range of sub -80K
    cars built by reputable manufacturers latest being Kia / Mazda / Ford
    Not only T & H is shaken but also P1 and P2
    to come up with more atrractive packages.
    Looking forward to this new sub 80K ‘s price war !!!

• 80k for a Polo? I’d buy it in a heartbeat.

• Wow Paul, so great you understand Russian. lol :-)

• chaku on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:25 am

hmm i have a feeling that the polo sedan will have the same look as the VW NCC Coupe.
    more or less the same silhouette

• The body and rear section look a bit like the current Focus sedan.

• where is your speed? on Apr 06, 2010 at 3:05 am

80K +??? impossible!

• harry on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:35 am

how about new P E R D A N A ?

• Indian Autos Blog on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:52 am

This is in fact the official image released by VW in Russia. This is the B-Compact sedan that’ll cost less that 10k Euros and will be built in Russia. In India, this car is destined for production in the second half of 2010. The Polo hatch is already being built and sold here since last month.

• Annihilated on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:09 am

Paul,

It’s nice to see if this could be assembled in Proton TM plant.
    It’ll be a big hit in the ASEAN for sure.
    However, it’s just a sketch for now.
    I think it’s still a long way to its first commercial production.

• keluangman on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:09 am

I would prefer a ckd golf sedan aka jetta than a polo. Polo is too small and maybe too expensive for local taste, unless they priced it a stone’s throwaway from the saga or myvi/alza, in the region of rn60k-ish.

• lowprofile on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:03 am

hey what does this thread have to do with waja? please keep comments to the topic.

• proton on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:05 am

just ask the proton to stop everything, and start manufacture this polo sedan,then we can have it at RM50k.

its funny that the car price through out the world is not increasing, only in malaysia, where even an entry level cHonda city is at 90k, where last time, RM90k is Honda civic’s region.

No its not inflation, its a drop in purchasing power.

• kedaikopi on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:17 am

yerp, how ’bout new waja..?

• P2cekikdarah on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:32 am

Hopes the JV works out between them, so we might see it becomes reality Paul…

• imagine if VW can follow VW polo- ford fiesta pricing pattern in Singapore. more or less very similar at sgd70k. Fiesta tentatively around RM80k in Malaysia but unlikely for VW polo at RM90k if not ckd-ed.

• ttchuien on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:33 am

VW want to build car at car price range at city or Vios? impossible, unless no excise tax for car in future. May be they put the car at Civic or Altis price range, but city & vios space.

• If Mazda & Ford are bringing in sub RM$80 thousand cars why can’t VW ?
      Their Indon plant or JV with P1 would enable them to to it !!!

• Jaybond on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:45 am

Is it that VW’s intention, is to set up a contract assembly, or VW’s own assembly factory?

• mohsin on Apr 06, 2010 at 10:57 am

is it intentionally leaked sketch by vw?
    is it can be trusted? I say marketing strategy!
    Normally, the design will be turn down when it becomes real!
    Hope VW can retain this good design to the production

• Syarif on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:27 am

GREAT! Any development to break the overpriced, underspec Toyota and Honda dominance in Malaysia is very much welcomed, especially if it is from a reputable company like VW

• BRAZBUZ on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:41 am

the 1st model vw ckd in m’sia is golf gti…
    because stupid NAP not allowed car below 1.8 ckd in m’sia…

• theking on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Paultan,

Proton will rebadged D segment aka Perdana Replacement from VW soon. Maybe Paul can show some potential cars from VW here.

• Snotmaster on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Dear Volkswagen,

Please oh please come back to the Philippines, or ASEAN in full force. My parents were raised with the original Beetle and Carmann Ghia. I grew up in Singapore admiring Audis, which were the best looking cars in the eighties. I like the German design language of Bauhaus understatement.

Just set up a dealership network, and if you can’t expand in Malaysia, just CBU from India, China or Russia. If you do, the VW Polo sedan will be my next car, guaranteed.

Over here the choices are the cheap and ugly Vios or the handsome but all too common City. I currently have a City btw, which is still a nice car… but all private owners seem to have them since the Vios are all taxis. We don’t have any other choice. The Fiesta / Mazda 2 are a coming breath of fresh air but their styling for sedan sucks, and they are stuck with old tech.

My ideal car would be a VW Polo sedan TDI with dual clutch transmission. I will pay in cash as well as pledge my firstborn baby. I will decorate it with Euro plates and the the colors of Wolfsburg, your hometown.

Please come and set up dealerships all over South East Asia again, dear Volkswagen. We have Suzuki here which is doing weak in the local market, so you’re welcome to just take over their dealerships instead.

Das Auto FTW.

• omahabojan on Apr 06, 2010 at 3:21 pm

Honestly, I find this sketch very appealing and if this is realized, I’m sure many might opt for this. If the price band is as per above, it’s even better and the Japanese might have further competition. Koreans are already at their tails or surpass.

• Jaybond on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:14 pm

Yup, the Vios especially is quite overpriced & underspec. Interior quality is not too dissimilar to Perodua Myvis.

• ade sesape tau tak jurusan ape nak ambik @ ipta yg berkaitan dgn rekabentuk automotif?

• Aariz on Apr 06, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Btw: a “real” Photo of the new Polo sedan leaked out to the public…

http://www.stern.de/auto/erlkoenige/erlkoenig-polo-classic-omis-sportler-1514233.html

• think on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:08 pm

it will be great if all the volkswagen models can be done “ckd”..at least this could be the smart move to avoid ultimate taxes in malaysia as ckd cars will be cheaper a bit…

• Peter on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:04 pm

I simply cant understand why some Automobile makers take short cut in making Sedans….

Look at Mazda 2 hatchback to the sedan version,

Look at the Subaru ‘s impreza hatchback to the sedan version,

And look at this again….

I think its the same old story….

Hatchback to sedan version is the ugliest thing i have ever seen……..

• just me on Apr 07, 2010 at 1:16 pm

great move… malaysia is a sedan market.
    it would be wonderful if next is VW Golf sedan version… =)
    can fight with civic, altis and lancer

• The VW polo really earned the title for the car of the year, as it is a reliable car since many years.