Honda Malaysia achieves monthly record sales in March

March must be a very lucky month for the auto industry. Not only did Perodua achieve its best ever monthly figures, now Honda Malaysia has announced that the 4,041 units it sold in that month is the highest ever in the company’s history. March was the biggest contributor to Honda Malaysia’s first quarter sales of 10,025 units, and they are looking good to meet the annual target of 40,000 units, especially when a new model will join the range next week.

The B-segment City was responsible for 43% of the total sales, with more than 4,000 units sold. Honda Malaysia would be happy to maintain City sales at this level with fresh rivals in this price segment – besides the C-segment Kia Forte, buyers can opt for superminis like the Mazda 2 and soon to be launched Ford Fiesta.

The just facelifted CR-V has done well too – 556 units have been sold while 1,600 of bookings are in line. The Accord and Civic respectively contributed 19% and 18% to the total sales, while CBUs models Jazz and Stream stood at 6%.

It’s no longer a secret now that the new model is the Freed, which is described by Honda as a “compact premium MPV”. The seven-seater based on the Jazz/City platform will be launched on 22 April. Click here for a “plant tour” of PT Honda Prospect Motor Indonesia, where our Freed will roll out from. Watch this space for the launch report.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rodimus on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:58 am

Congrat to Honda M’sia.

• Maserati on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:06 am

Ppl are buying Honda City for the looks thats all.In real life driving,its sucks big time..

• ndchan on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:21 pm

.. either you’re a dugong driver or you’re too poor to own a city, no?

• JoeGti on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:53 pm

hit 210 km/h from sg besi toll to ukm interchange after one dugong cucuk me.
        New city is better in term of handling compared to prev one

• Freeze on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:23 pm

210kmh with city??city can only run up to 190 only….

• Lightning McQueen on Apr 17, 2010 at 5:57 am

Typo error though…
            I think he wanna type 120… not 210 or else.. at the downhill section where u get 210 for one second while the rest is just 160kmh… he he he

• compare to what?

• Maserati on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:07 am

Check out the Blue honda city in the pic,only one light working?

• BeemerFreak on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:13 am

Hi danny, has Honda Malaysia announce any tentative pricing for the freed?

• Premium Compact MPV = comfirm very expensive for a GL/Rondo/Exora class small mpv…but ppl will still buy ..Its Honda!

• Oris_TT2 on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:32 pm

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 15, 2010 at 1:59 pm

My guess will be between 108k to 112k. Reason is not to kill sales of their own model. e.g Civic 114k Jazz 105k.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 15, 2010 at 2:13 pm

You’ll have to wait till next week for the “surprise” :)

• used non national car owner on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:17 am

This is good news for Honda.

A positive indication that our economy is picking up again.

Bravo!!

• cybermaster98 on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:23 am

City – 1752 units
    Civic – 718 units
    Accord – 766 units

• Good job.. at least they are on the right track.

• let’s see how much FREED will be sold here… 120k???

• Day deSIANG on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:48 am

Honda Civic / City is in my wishlist :D

• AE86 (Member) on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:10 am

well congrats to Honda… a good car will speak for themselves, no surprise they’re doing better and better.

• sayapdewa on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:23 am

my coment lost hah?

• Terry on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:27 am

nice..~~

• supercap69 on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:43 am

No surprise. Popular carmakers recorded increased sales in March due to anticipated hike in interest rates in April or 3rd week of March. Let’s see the figures in April then.

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 15, 2010 at 1:51 pm

You’re right. In fact it already rise from 3.75 to 4pc when the Persona Elegance launched.

• Tiadaid on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:07 pm

I don’t think this is an isolated case. I think almost all car companies will hit their sales target since there’s not a better time to buy a new car then now, with interest rates low. It bodes well for the current economic situation of the country.

• lavenderguy on Apr 15, 2010 at 1:50 pm

where is the white city??

• Wow.. I thought Toyota the best seller..
    Dunno that Honda is much bigger sales than Vios

• Well Done, HONDA, the prestigious performance.

• sayapdewa on Apr 15, 2010 at 3:38 pm

haiyaa..every year sales increased which contribute to massive jammed lorr..p2 honda tyota all increase! what about lrt public transport? plate number oso faster..whats gonna be after plate wilayah reach WYY9999?

• I saw a Protong with a newer license plate wilayah. So no worries.

W 2* S = Alphabet Number Alphabet

As for better public transport, we could wait until kingdom comes.

• staff on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Your point in bringin proton name is for what?

• its a temporary number plate ma that not yet registered by jpj…
        it use by proton dealer to sent to the respective owner.

• Lightning McQueen on Apr 17, 2010 at 6:01 am

Bro.. its called trade plate… not only for proton la…
          its for traders to transport the car la bro… it being used for small delivery purpose like 2 or 3 units which is not justify enough to rent a trailer

• jamal on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:26 pm

i see a lot honda city on the road now. Good design , look elegance.. good job HONDA,
    the true power of dream..

• kikilala on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:31 pm

in singapore new wish n freed already a standard taxi..

• littleboy on Apr 15, 2010 at 7:15 pm

the design is v weired….front look futuristic but the rear outdated….last time the car just donno which 1 is front and back…

• Lightning McQueen on Apr 17, 2010 at 6:03 am

I tried one City belongs to my cousin, a bit sluggish climbing up Bukit Lanjan.. I dont like the steering wheels, not comfortable grip while driving..

• congrats Honda – The Power Of Dreams…

• mitlanevo on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:04 pm

bravo!!! great job!!!

• Herminem on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:04 am

I like the upcoming Honda Freed ..been riding on it for 3 days in Bandung but its to small for price above 100k

• If one opens New Honda City page in facebook, one will be disappointed bcoz of the rust issue on this NHC. Really hope Honda Malaysia will do something about it, bcoz i have booked one and it’s coming soon..

• Squawk on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:02 pm

Looks like the staff will be looking forward to 12 month bonus this year!

• congratulatiion Honda malaysia achieves the sales target.. THE POWER OF DREAM