Kimi Raikkonen does not rule out Formula 1 comeback

2007 Formula 1 World Champion Kimi Raikkonen has revealed to Finnish newspaper Turun Sanomat that he may make a return to Formula 1 after leaving the pinnacle of motorsport this season to spend some time in WRC. He currently races a Citroen C4 for the Red Bull Junior Team and has recently scored his first WRC points at the Rally of Jordan.

“It’s not turned in any direction and I am in no hurry to make decisions. We have to see what is possible, what is the most interesting option and what I enjoy most, when it comes down to it. I will decide at some point later this year,” said the former Ferrari ace.

Rumor has been circulating that Raikkonen may take over Mark Webber’s seat in Red Bull next season since he is already racing for a Red Bull-owned rally squad although this is mere speculation at the moment. Would you like to see the rather quiet Raikkonen make a return in Formula 1? I would!

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Jarum on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Guess he is having more fun rallying! :)

• Jarum on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:50 pm

Sorry typo!

Thought he was having more fun rallying! NOT guess!

• BBB888 on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Who care about him?

• I do care… haha

His driving style is rather aggressive… i think other than Schumi, he’s the second most aggressive pilot on the circuit before…

• tokmoh on Apr 28, 2010 at 11:46 pm

YEAAAAAHHHH!!! Would love to see two of my most favourite drivers in the same team!!!

They just need to get the reliability and strategies fixed *cross finger*

In the meantime, GO VETTEL GO!! GO RED BULL GO!!

• dont forget the legendary mika hakinen. huhu. he’s awesome

• Yeah, i would like to see the return, but hopefully was the stronger Kimi, not the Kimi in last season Ferrari F1, just was kinda lousy performance…perhaps…even Massa better than him in that time…

• tokmoh on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:38 am

IMHO, Ferrari is very much Massa’s team just like McLaren is Hamilton’s team. At least Kimi didn’t act like crybaby Ape-lonso blaming the team “abandoned” him.

Last year when Massa was not around due to accident, Kimi can even win at Belgium. Just shows that Kimi is better than Massa when the team can focus on him. Massa sucks. He just doesn’t have the driving style of a champion, unlike Kimi, Alonso, Hamilton, Vettel, or Button. But yet, he acts like he can. He should’ve just just lay low and be a good second driver ala Barrichello (during Schumacher’s time), Coulthard (during Mika’s and Kimi’s time in Macca) or Webber.

• in fact kimi did an amazing job last year with that 3rd class car on the grid and even drove to the top of the podium in spa. it’s clearly a miracle … with tat car massa im sure he doesnt have tat capability to do that. massa is clearly not born to b a world champion. he doesnt have the criteria … during wet race, ops … no nid to mention … anyhow, looking for kimi to return to formula one as soonest possible with a competitive car.

• I would LOVE Raikkonen back in F1 – in a good car. I was so disappointed in Ferarri in 2009 – what a dog of a car. I felt bad for Fisichella and Bourdais also because they were trying so hard in that awful car. Kimi getting 5 podiums and a win was a miracle. But it would be great to see him in a car like the 2003 Macca or the 2007 Ferarri (2nd half) – he’s amazing to watch. That said – he seems to love rally. I wouldn’t begrudge him rally if that is what he wants. He gave us 9 years in F1…

• the return of Iceman…

• Kicap on Apr 29, 2010 at 10:09 am

pairing with vettel will increase the intense in the race!!! webber just dont have the strength to keep it right till the end of the race….

• would love to see him back !!
    love his driving style…he was unlucky tho back then…

• bukapintubayartol on Apr 29, 2010 at 11:22 am

I would like to see him race again, but not at the expense of webber

• Motorist on Apr 29, 2010 at 11:38 am

Dont bother Kimi. F1 is going to the dogs. Bernie et all is screwing it so badly that it’s no longer an honest motorsport.

Stay in rally & build your name there like Mika.

• Rachael on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:07 pm

ive only ever seen F1 on tv , id love to go see it in real life. On the tv they dont sound this loud obv you wouldnt want it this loud on tv but i would just like to know how loud are they in real life when you are rlleay there ?

• ya kimi. everyone is waiting for ur return.

• blackbox on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:47 pm

This year F1 is less interesting with out him. Really hope he can come back next year.
    But I also wish he can come out some result at rally to prove that he is a talented driver. Too bad he can’t attend both.

The return of the Iceman, hooray!!

• who care about him? he cant even speak properly in public, just murmur to himself, he has no champion quality, just pure ah beng style, cant even know how to preserve the engine

• U r wrong~ man, even he cant speak well, but he is the true race driver & yes, he got the speed & potential & deserve to win the championship.
      Look at his previous partner, Coulthard, Montoya, Massa, they juz not compete with him.

• Who say he cant speak well? U watch the checkered flag, and watch him..he cant stop talking. the most important is his driving skills, pandai cakap saja tp x pandai race, buat apa? itu mcm wa pun boleh!

• michaelk on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:01 pm

see you next year kimi….

• Jarum on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Ask him to join Lotus la?

• Slum In Bolehland on Apr 29, 2010 at 3:35 pm

how bout lotus give a chance….
    chance the engine to renault and grab kimi as a deal…
    woot must be superb for next season…

• Bangla_butuh_keling on Apr 29, 2010 at 3:51 pm

i think he finds driving stick shift at 150 km/h in a narrow dirt road more interesting than using flappy paddle and deal with high G force

• Jarum on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Interesting nick name in the wake of implementing a fictional 1Malaysia. :)

• i wud say he is true naturally race driver beside shumi, alonso and Lewis. But i dont think any team wud spend such a budget to get most expensive driver… Lets wait n see

• SMoky on Apr 29, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Kimi is a true race driver, not like some pple bullshitting & play politics on track.
    Who cares if he cant speak english properly..he drives well, thats all he has to do.
    GO Kimi!

• Squawk on Apr 29, 2010 at 6:55 pm

He can speak English properly. He just doesn’t know what a fullstop/period is. :-)

• tokmoh on Apr 29, 2010 at 10:34 pm

GIMME BRO FIST!!!

Exactly, Kimi’s not a cheater. Like Alonso. Or liar. Like Hamilton. Or talk cock all the time. Like Hamilton. Or pretend to be Mr Nice Guy all the time when he’s actually a bitch. Like Hamilton.

Kimi is made of win, more drivers should be like him.

• aragorn on Apr 29, 2010 at 6:28 pm

True, Lotus should hire Kimi. But first need to hire Adrian Newey and get a Mercedes engine. We are going to have a season like in 2005. Anyone wants to donate so it can happen..?

• lotus paste power on Apr 29, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Try roller blading, Kimi…..

• kimi_ on Apr 29, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Looks like everyone are welcome me…..LOL

• kimi's fan on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:43 pm

he should come back

• kimi_ on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:01 am

The Finland newspaper ‘Turun Sanomat’ like MALAY WORDS……LOL

• Kimi should race again.. F1 is be boring without him..

• Really look forward to have another world champion on the grid. I think he is cool and able to drive with gut. Give him the right car and I believe he is able to net another title.

• Jordi on May 04, 2010 at 7:31 pm

I really hope Kimi will make a comeback next season, he is a rare talent in F1

• Yolandi on Jul 11, 2010 at 9:54 pm

I will be the first to say that Kimi should be back in F1, but the truth is, from being one of his biggest followers, i could not help but feel a bit disapointed towards the end of the 2009 season.
    I am not interested in excuses of him not having the right car. Schumi was not just a driver, he was a genius in that he told his team exactly what was needed to make the car perfect for him. I am hoping that the time on the Rally circuit would have helped Kimi to become a bit more mature in his abilities. This is constructive critisism Kimi, hope to see you with your full potential back on the F1 circuit.