Mark Webber storms into his first victory of the season from pole!

Mark Webber has clinched his first grand prix win of the season in Spain following his pole position start. The Australian who led pretty much the entire race finished ahead of Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso after taking over second place from Lewis Hamilton who crashed at the dying moments of the race. The final podium position went to Webber’s teammate Sebastian Vettel who was nursing his car to the finish line.

Michael Schumacher raced his Mercedes Formula 1 car to fourth place after fending off championship leader Jenson Button from McLaren. The other Ferrari of Felipe Massa’s crossed the finish line in sixth place followed by Force India’s Adrian Sutil, Renault’s Robert Kubica and Williams’ Rubens Barrichello after starting the race way down in 17th place. Jaime Alguersuari rounded off the top ten for Toro Rosso.

Lotus Racing’s Jarno Trulli led the new teams and finished the 66-lap race in 17th place. Both the Virgin drivers were the last ones to cross the finish line. Both the Hispania drivers and Heikki Kovalainen in the other Lotus retired. The latter did not even make the start. The other two drivers who joined the retirement list were Pedro de la Rosa from Sauber and Sebastien Buemi from Toro Rosso.

Instead of a wet race as predicted earlier it was a dry affair with very few incidents. Not much drama when the lights went green and towards the end of Lap 3 it was Webber who was leading ahead of Vettel, Hamilton, Alonso, Button, Schumacher and Massa.

The first few scheduled pitstops took place after Lap 12 and as the dust settled it was still Webber in the lead but Hamilton was second ahead of Vettel. Schumacher also managed to jump to fifth place and went on to keep Button at bay till the end of the race. Schumacher proved that he still has what it takes to race and entertained viewers with his blocking abilities. It wasn’t the same case for teammate Nico Rosberg who spent most of the time in the mid-field.

Both Toro Rosso drivers were slapped with drive through penalties mid-way through the race and the top three positions remained the same. After Lap 52 Vettel dropped to fourth place as he was suffering from brake-related issues. At that point Webber was in front of Hamilton and Alonso. However as mentioned Hamilton did not make it onto the podium as he suffered from a tire-related problem and crashed at the second corner.

Jenson Button is still leading the Driver’s Championship with 70 points. Alonso is now second with 67 points and Vettel is third with 60. McLaren is still the leader of the Constructor’s Championship with 119 points but Ferrari is close behind with 116. Red Bull is three points behind in third. Formula 1 now heads to Monte Carlo for the prestigious Monaco Grand Prix.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• kimi_ on May 09, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Michael Schumacher has good drive today…..LOTUS is EMBRASSING TODAY

Anyway……..FIRST comment

• Tengkurex on May 09, 2010 at 9:56 pm

Why is Lotus embrassing just that Heikki have gearbox problem. At least Jarno ahead 2 sec from other newcomer.

• Read below, I read Trulli’s lap time. He should be 20 second ahead of the other newbie. Not 2 second. But I dunno whether Trulli or Lotus should be the embarrassing one. (My guess is both… )

• malaysia memang boleh on May 09, 2010 at 11:02 pm

don’t talk much,even Nico rosberg and barichello were 1 lap behind at the end of the race,why don’t you say something about them especially the team which also been sponsored by a Malaysian company.

• hahahaa 20 seconds ahead? what do you think this is?

• Prondo on May 10, 2010 at 6:07 am

hahah schumacher 1m behind the leader. what do you think this is? The lotus car is at least 5 tenths faster over one lap compare to VIrgins. They should be more than 2 second faster.

• You take his whole damn time sheet and analyze. I’ve read through and this is my conclusion. Have you? Don’t just defend like crazy when you don’t even know a shit. You’re no difference from those that bash this team.

Take qualifying and practice into account, the new update should bring them a consistent 0.5sec advantage from Virgin with ease but it didn’t. Trulli complain the feel of the car is different from Friday and Saturday. Which, might be true cause they have not enough race mileage with the new kit but is a very vague excuse. If he was driving on a consistent 1:31, he should end up with a 20 second advantage over the finish line from Timo Glock’s virgin.

BTW, did you have any knowledge that Nico didn’t have a good start and pitted twice and Barichello started just in front of Trulli? They have their fair share of problems. But at least compare apple to aple, problems to problems.

• malaysia memang boleh on May 10, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Compare apple to apple,not aple!!!
            then how about mercedes gp,they had improve their aero drastically,but then you see yesterday’s result,see every team have their own problem,like you said in your comment,but then you say like mercedes gp have their own problem,and i think lotus also have their own problem,and their budget is small compare to others and lotus is not the only team who change their aero design,even virgin had some something to their cars,

• malaysia memang boleh on May 10, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Oops it should be ‘done something’ not ‘some something’

• Sorry that I didn’t have enough time to check my grammar. Anyway I personally feel that it isn’t the car that is wrong, Trulli was the factor as he can pull out a 1:30 immediately from a 1:35. I just felt Trulli is somehow driving like “whatever” when he was 20second ahead of Glock. He should have maintained that with ease. After the race, I felt disappointed, and questioned whywasn’t Trulli the one that was stuck in the garage.

As you point out Nico, he did a bad job, had crap luck as well but if you look at Schumacher, he did well. Overall Schumacher showed the true pace of the Merc GP while Trulli didn’t.

Summary, I don’t think it’s the car’s fault (maybe 35% that it was), Trulli in this race sucked and you cannot accept factual criticism. Lastly, malaysia yang boleh with your type of thinking tak boleh improve! Luckily, we have Tony in charge of this team instead of you.

• Yeah man, why is Lotus embarrassing? (BTW work on your spelling)

• F1Freak on May 10, 2010 at 8:05 am

I think why there is no mention of Rosberg and Barichello is because they did not boast about upgrades etc., unlike some. I thought after all the upgrades they are suppose to be mid of the pack? So why is Lotus Racing in F1 again? To show the world Malaysia boleh, yup boleh non starter and another many laps behind. 1Malaysia(?), I still dont get this (telling the rest of the world) , dont think the rest of the world gets this either.

• I don’t expect them to be in the mid field but I do expect them to be far away from the backpack (Virgin) but they (Trulli or Lotus) didn’t deliver.

• tokmoh on May 09, 2010 at 9:51 pm

YYYYYEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

Would’ve been happier if it’s a Red Bull 1-2, but 1-3 is fine too. Thank u Hamilton for ‘giving’ Vettel the podium MUAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAAHA

GO VETTEL GO!!! GO WEBBER GO!!! GO RED BULL GO!!!

• Adrian Kok on May 09, 2010 at 11:00 pm

The bulls are doing well they just need to continue to improve…

• that was fast!!

• LOTUS,,,CHANGE DRIVER LA…..WE WANT FAIRUZ FAUZI!!!!

• delio on May 09, 2010 at 10:07 pm

wow… super fast report….

• scanzew on May 09, 2010 at 10:08 pm

boring race…

• lotus keep waste your money, never mind, u got a lots to waste, Anyway Micheal is back, confirm from the result, not like the lotus, noting is impress & happy, 3 laps behind, not 3 seconf behind.

• Reply to idiot on May 09, 2010 at 10:18 pm

u siao one u think lotus is established n totally experienced??? 3 seconds u go race la dun talk cock condemning a great rookie team!

• answer to idiot on May 10, 2010 at 11:53 am

Good lotus supporter, few million for 3 second, is good.

• Reply to idiot on May 10, 2010 at 6:55 pm

right let me see if u can enter the race with RM1 and get 10000 laps behind. bad lotus critic. you should read what toyota did in F1.

• Lotus got your support, continue……

• Eyesore on May 09, 2010 at 10:25 pm

yada yada yada…. always wanted instant success… try setup urself a f1 team and see if you can instantly get into top 10 position… wait no need f1… setup a cup prix team…lower budget…

• Adrian Kok on May 09, 2010 at 11:02 pm

It takes time to build a F1 team mate, Chillz la.. one day lotus will make it through.. So far Lotus has been doing pretty well as a newbie.

Force India took 3 season mate.

• Vezeroth on May 09, 2010 at 10:18 pm

dammit lotus, c’mon get both cars to start and next year get a better engine! no point saying your the best of the losers!

Cosworth engine seems to really suck, why do they even allow it?

• Tengkurex on May 09, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Because Cosworth offer them the lowest price amongst the engines. Even William using it also and you can see William’s race result. From 17th to 9th place. But shame to see Lotus haven’t really make significant progress after their major upgrade. Well..they are in apprenticeship year. Better concentrate for next year cars than invest too many money for this year cars that really can’t catch up more established team.

• Ronaldo on May 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

Best of losers = Losers too!……… , Best rookies = Losers too !
      Both lotus driver is fine, only the car engine and aerodynamic giv problem always…

• Not sure whether they wasted the money on the car or the driver.

Trulli was doing 1:30 to 1:35. He had once a 20 second lead from Glock (the Virgin car, doing 1:30 to 1:32 consistently) and he can lose the advantage in 5 laps time. Bravo! IMO, Trulli is really inconsistent in this race. I wonder what is his excuse. Too bad Heikki can’t get out from the garage…

• RH PumpkinKing on May 09, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Schumi is giving Button some driving lessons.. that part is quite exciting.

• Chelsea Will Be The Champion on May 10, 2010 at 12:39 am

Mosley demanded that any new team entering F1 for this season had to take the Cosworth option. So is not Lotus fault for not having better engine from more better engine manufacturers.

• Ronaldo on May 10, 2010 at 10:07 am

why ah? Mosley have shares in Cosworth? got commisions?

• Tengkurex on May 10, 2010 at 2:35 pm

I think all you guys should read this about Cosworth supplying engine to all newcomers. http://www.formula1blog.com/2010/01/30/cosworth-new-teams-a-disaster-in-the-making/

• awesomesauce on May 10, 2010 at 5:58 am

I think the highlight of the race was Schumi cock-blocking Button. You can see how frustrated he was during the post-race interview.

• Yeaaaaaahhhhhhhhh…………..Schumi was perform well…..keep it up…..The Stig~~!

• jazzer on May 10, 2010 at 8:12 am

is it true what you said Chelsea Will Be The Champion ?
    never know about this before..

• Motorist on May 10, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Petronas really got bang for bucks exposure yesterday. The amount of TV air time given to Schumacher Mercedes with the Petronas logo was more than what Petronas could dream of. In parts, Petronas have to thank Button for trying unsuccessfully to overtake MS.

If someone were to calculate the amount of global TV air time exposure of the brand during the race, it would probably pay back the sponsorship deal already.