911 GT2 RS is the most powerful road Porsche of all time

The new Porsche 911 GT2 RS has been unveiled and it’s being touted as the most powerful street legal Porsche of all time. The claim is backed by a 3.6-litre six-cylinder boxer engine boosted by two turbochargers with variable turbine geometry to produce an incredible 620 hp. With just 1,370 kilograms to pull, 0 to 100 km/h is done in 3.5 seconds while 200 km/h appears in 9.8 seconds, a shorter time than some cars’ century sprint time. If you’ve got a death wish, continue to keep the pedal to the metal and you’ll be at 300 km/h in 28.9 seconds, by when you’ll still have 30 km/h to go before reaching maximum velocity.

Compared with the “standard” GT2, power has been increased by 90 hp while weight has been reduced by 70 kg. Power to weight ratio is one horsepower to propel every 2.21 kilos into a blur. All the grunt is channeled through a six-speed manual gearbox on to the 325/30 ZR 19 rear tyres. With all that performance, how can a GT2 RS owner possibly coax out the claimed 11.9 L/100 km fuel consumption is anyone’s guess. CO2 emissions of 284 g/km is down by 5%.

With great power comes great brakes, so PCCB composite ceramic brakes are standard here. Driving dynamics are maintained by RS spring set-up, PASM Porsche Adaptive Suspension Management, anti-roll bars, dynamic engine mounts and PSM Porsche Stability Management.

Flared wheel arches and wide wheels give the RS a muscular stance while the use of matte black finished carbon-fibre-reinforced (CFR) components around the car adds a touch of sportiness. The light-alloy wheels with central locking are exclusive to this model while ”GT2 RS“ model designations on the doors and rear lid leaves no doubt about its identity. Aero parts include an upgraded front spoiler lip and a rear spoiler lip which is now 10 mm higher, made of CFR and as of course, finished in carbon fibre.

The sporting theme continues inside with lightweight bucket seats (in CFR plastic) and door panels. The latter is closed with door straps instead of the usual door handles for a race car feel. Most of the interior is black but the roof lining, seats, seat belts, gearshift and handbrake are red, the latter two in alcantara.

Only 500 of these monsters will be built so your 199,500 euros investment is bound to be exclusive. A fully kitted up GT2 RS can cost up to 237,578 euros.

Hi res images and a nice promo footage video is available after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1128]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• niamafufu on May 13, 2010 at 2:14 am

tis porsche can beat f1 car or not?damn fast….

• bugatti also cant, why would this car can?

• Of course cannot lah…. otherwise we just race this instead of spending millions racing F!.

• rookie on May 13, 2010 at 10:19 am

“Formula 1 GP Car: Williams/BMW 2000, 3 litre V10, 800 BHP, 0-100 in 1.2 second, Formula 1 speed record: 386 kph..”

go figure my friend.. ;)

• iskett on May 13, 2010 at 11:12 am

My friend, no road car can beat an F1 car on a track, ever.
        Not even a Hennessey viper, a super tuned Gtr, let alone a stock porsche.
        That’s why they have a GT class for those cars.

• niamafufu on May 13, 2010 at 7:06 pm

icic…haha,jus cant find any f1 car spec on9..

• Bobby on May 17, 2010 at 11:18 pm

This comment warrants you a permanent ban in European or American websites. Paul’s such a nice guy. :)

• lolwut on May 13, 2010 at 2:33 am

It cannot ‘beat f1 car’, but yes its damn fast… well maybe it can beat the Lotus F1 cars since theres a 50% chance they wouldn’t even race…

• shawal on May 13, 2010 at 5:00 am

Nicknamed ‘The widowmaker’~!

• Gajen on May 13, 2010 at 7:14 am

holy mother….the advertisement for this car is just awesome

• Jaybond on May 13, 2010 at 8:45 am

This kind of performance (with respect to the power-to-weight ratio), should put the 911 GT2 RS in the same league as Ferrari 599 GTO , Lambo Murcielago LP670-4 SV and Corvette ZR-1, a comparison test is badly needed!

• james on May 13, 2010 at 8:46 am

Not sure if the F1 car is faster on a Nurburgring but the GT2 comfortably beats the Nissan GTR, Corvette, Zonda F, etcs…

It is hard to believe that GT2 RS has a simple manual box and the speed comes from old-school engineering rather than sophisticated computer controls like in the GTR.

• molala on May 14, 2010 at 9:40 am

of course f1 is faster, what makes you think its not?
      no production car can lap nordschleife in under 6 minutes. f1 cars did.

• i don’t think so.no matter how good the car is it will never beat F1 car on track..top speed maybe..

• ahmad on May 13, 2010 at 10:03 pm

yello friend, why dont you compare with rocket to the moon..it will satisfy yourself

• Kington on May 13, 2010 at 9:01 am

This is indeed another milestone in achievement for them, considering the that it’s still being developed over the same 6 cylinder boxer engine while rivals Ferrari has moved on the V8s and the junior Lambo sporting a V10.

In essence not many will appreciate this, even our good old Clarkson has yet to come in terns with the idea having a rear engine driving the rear wheels.

GT Porsches are meant to be pushed hard, and my last experience on the 996 GT3 proved that if you’re gonna drive it fast to enjoy its precision and mechanical feedback to your palm, you’re gonna have to push it, else you’d be better off in a Fezza or a Lambo.

• Ronaldo on May 13, 2010 at 9:10 am

The top speed of this car almost similar with F1 car……..but the acceleration confirm lose to F1 la……

• many supercars can do more than 300km/h as well, nothing impressive with the top speed actually. Even ferrari 458 italia can do more than 310km/h..

• ahmad on May 13, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Agreed with your, i would suggest you to compare with SCUD rocket speed..much much better

• molala on May 14, 2010 at 9:43 am

topspeed is nothing brother, the matter is how fast can you reach the top speed. I bet this GT2 RS can tapau GTR badly.

• barca on May 13, 2010 at 9:30 am

hahahaha…..i like this line of the first paragraph.

“If you’ve got a death wish, continue to keep the pedal to the metal and you’ll be at 300 km/h in 19.1 seconds, by when you’ll still have 30 km/h to go before reaching maximum velocity.”

sweet car to have for sure!

• omahabojan on May 13, 2010 at 9:31 am

One damn fast car! I can’t imagine handling such car at such high speed. I think I sure panic when reach that top speed. Great car

• SaKai on May 13, 2010 at 9:34 am

why this thing alwez looks similar in ext design? no customer complaint ? lol

• haha..i was wondering the same thing actually. I think there are of cuz customers who feel sick of the overly used exterior design but it’s Porsche who keeps on ignoring these comments..haha

• 2fast on May 13, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Actually Porsche wanted to move away from the classic 911 design some time ago but huge customer and fan protest stopped them. Porsche customers are nostalgic bunch but they have lots of money so Porsche listens to them :)

• gtrkid on May 13, 2010 at 9:55 am

i want one!!!!

• segambut on May 13, 2010 at 9:59 am

wicked!

• This is sick. I’ll have mine in Black please.

• Which one better? Buy this monster or Gallardo….

• Marcus on May 13, 2010 at 10:41 am

Corvette ZR1 as it’s challenger…….the latest supercharged upgrade

• Gajen on May 13, 2010 at 11:32 am

what a car…love it!!

• Motorist on May 13, 2010 at 12:24 pm

Drool….

• youngbags on May 13, 2010 at 12:49 pm

this is totally wicked

• meteoraniac on May 13, 2010 at 12:58 pm

so its a roided vw beatle…

• Jaybond on May 13, 2010 at 2:02 pm

I think the 458 Italia Scuderia should be the challenger of the next generation of 911 GT3 (998?), not this one…

• mohgui on May 13, 2010 at 2:05 pm

let’s see how fast you will piss in your pants when you accelerate at break-neck speed in this car. better standby some adult diapers if you wanna burn rubber with this stupendous machine…

• make it more lightweight..haha

• 2fast on May 13, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Awesome car. Porsche is returning to its roots in making ‘dangerous’ sports cars.

• love this… still hate the GTR…

• The Stig on May 14, 2010 at 9:37 pm

Paul, the technical data on Porsche’s official website states that the GT2 RS slashes 200 km/h in 9.8 seconds, not 6.3 seconds.