Chevrolet Captiva – 5 year warranty and 2 year free service

Naza is now offering a 5 year (or 175,000km) extended warranty program and a 2 year free service (or 40,000km) package for any Chevrolet Captiva sold between April until June this year. The free service package covers the following items:

• Engine oil
  • Engine filter
  • Engine coolant
  • Air cleaner
  • Air-conditioner air filter
  • Clutch fluid
  • Spark plug (only applicable to Captiva Gasoline range)
  • Fuel Filter (only applicable to Captiva Diesel range)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Squawk on May 17, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Trying to get rid of old stock? :-)

• jolly_idiot on May 17, 2010 at 4:46 pm

I tot Chevy is dead? Still alive?

• azrai on May 17, 2010 at 4:47 pm

This is where NAZA’s midas touch is. Chevrolet will increase their sales with Naza.

• sokmo- on May 17, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Nice. Hopefully Captiva is getting more popular, especially on diesel version. Just wondering, how the service performed by NAZA so far?

• I recently (19 March) sent my car to Chevrolet 3S centre due to gear shifting problem. I was told the spare part needed was not available and they need to order from Naza (which they meant have to order from overseas). So I ask them to proceed. Until today, as I made follow up every week, my car still cannot get out of the workshop.

When I called workshop 2 weeks ago, the spare part container already reach Malaysia (order had made 5-6 weeks ago, sea freight, i guess). So I asked if I can get the car by the following week. They said they will try.

I called last week, they said the part already with Naza but they still not yet receiving the part. They will try to get it done by this week. So will I get my car by this week?

Is there someone from Naza or driver would like to clarify or verify if i had overstated any claims…

Good service or not….you judge it.

• Kevin Tang on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:40 am

I owned a Naza Kia Sorento which alway facing same problem with you. The service was slow and most of the time the car will leave a side not to repair it. When talk about the price, it was sky price. When you told them not going repair it and let others garage do it, you will get 40% off!!!

• How about Hyundai “Tucson”? izit 5 years / 300,000 km? or extend warranty package?

• drMpower on May 17, 2010 at 5:14 pm

captive doesnt really got hunged by our people. i dont know whether it is the same class as of crv, sorento, and that kia, but it fared quite bad. rarely i see it on the road and i am talking penang roads, not some urban places.

what does the hindrance of our people spending money on this? i’d love to if i got the cash. its big. it looked nice. brash. and people driving it kinda looked very butch. (jantan).

wooot?

• niamafufu on May 17, 2010 at 5:47 pm

nice suv…i love tis

• I own a full spec diesel, and you only hear the engine noise when you’re idling but once you start to roll, its same as driving a petrol engine. And its not in the same class of CRV, the features that comes with this SUV is almost parr with Premium class if not better compare to some which call its self premium.
      I would say, our people are still worried about resale value, which I agree is poor for GM. But for someone who don’t upgrade too often it a good choice.

• Agreed…but i dare say that the diesel captiva is very powerful and more frugal compared to a CRV or X Trail…

• This is pissing me off. I’m paying around $500-$700++ on each service of my Captiva. Just finnish 40K, which means next service have to pay for the labour charge as well. Hope Naza will waive the labour charge for previous buyers.

• cybermaster98 on May 17, 2010 at 5:24 pm

This is to boost sales before the new Captiva arrives rite? When is it expected?

• New captiva is coming? can’t be. I think only the Cruze will be launched this year.

• think on May 17, 2010 at 8:22 pm

cruze can be viewed in showrooms from this month 25th ……….but the official launching is later in june..

• NasRule on May 17, 2010 at 7:06 pm

bro mari,

r u using diesel or petrol captiva?

• NasRule

I using diesel AWD.

• NasRule on May 17, 2010 at 10:38 pm

bro,
          how come each service will cost you skyhigh? is it normal? how long is the service interval period? 5k?

• Actually its not that expensive compare to my previous perdana or evan waja (5 K service), the interval is 10K and they use fully syn. oil (almost 6 lites) + other comsumables.

• NasRule on May 18, 2010 at 1:42 pm

bro mari,

how can i contact u? can email me at [email protected] ? wanna ask more about captiva…if u dont mind

thanks

• drMpower on May 17, 2010 at 8:55 pm

holy cow. thats… not normal for an all time 4WD?

• You can get your car service at Thailand SC, after your car warranty expired. I believe you could easily save 40-60% of money you spent at local SC, including toll and gas + massages. :)

• The design looks oudated. no point buying. Wait for the new Sorento or Sante fe facelift.

• kayel on May 17, 2010 at 6:05 pm

this is a very good suv…even it’s better compare to crv, i wonder why it doesn’t attract Malaysian buyer to get it ?

• its chevrolet!!!! if it honda or toyota sure sell maaa

• think on May 17, 2010 at 8:21 pm

the cause is pricing “friend”..i do not know no why this cars are very highly priced..there is a concept playing around where suv’s should be priced higher than RM100k..as i no , there is no suv ‘s less than RM100k( i do not consider chery)…

• Squawk on May 17, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Did they mention if it is 2010 or 2009 stock?

• klaka seram on May 17, 2010 at 6:51 pm

it’s noisy inside Diesel Captiva. need more sound proofing

• really ? is it that obvious ? need to test drive the petrol and diesel version to compare then..

• NasRule on May 17, 2010 at 7:08 pm

i think, they should put all the diesel captiva’s goodies inside the petrol version, then only can attract more buyers.

• sunny on May 17, 2010 at 9:42 pm

for me NAZA is not honest, I have a Naza Ria with so called extended warranty. turn out its just an insurance policy. if u claim during the extended warranty, u need to pay a minimum of RM250 non refundable fee. if the failed item is below rm250, dont bother claiming. for those more than rm250, there is no guarantee the claim will go thru. If claim rejected you will lose your rm250. I have a problem with the rear view mirror stands becoming loose during the normal warranty period. When I went to claim a replacement the SC says the plactic component cracked and cracked component cannot claim warranty. Well, the sub grade plastic turned brittle before 50k km and it cant be claim because its cracked! Go figure! Buy from NAZA?! 5yrs warranty?! Yeah rite!!

• dear sunny,

rear view mirror covered under warranty??!!
        i thought it falls under accessories….

• Squawk on May 18, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Are you referring to the interior rear view mirror that’s a necessity for every vehicle (except trucks) or the one that’s stuck out the back of the MPV?

• Have you driven both the diesel and petrol captiva…the petrol is too underpowered compared to the diesel!

• yes…agree that diesel goodies should be inside petrol version !

• Rulered on May 17, 2010 at 8:14 pm

Almost wanted to place an order for this car until I learn the showroom doesn’t offer any service centre.
    I wonder how the warranty and free service going to take effect in Sarawak, not even a single service centre available…..

• jackson on May 17, 2010 at 8:15 pm

And it begins! the ‘good’ hold of Chevrolet brand by Naza. Give it a few months, then you can by it cheap cheap. Brand new. No need to think of bad 2nd hand price. No such thing if you get it dirt cheap in the first place.

• think on May 17, 2010 at 8:17 pm

suv ‘s such this captiva ,do not sell well as their pricing are very high..anyway ssangyong is for sale..do proton have any interest on it..

• I-Have-a-Kimchi-GirlFriend on May 17, 2010 at 8:29 pm

no doubt HONDA CRV is way below par compare to this Captiva or the new Hyundai Tucson(ix35) … but CRV will still be selling well.. but i only give it another 2 years max~~ if its still sit there acting nothing….

with the Korean are picking up… people will soon awake.. as their electrical household product used to be SONY, and now become Samsung or LG…
    why cant the car market do the same?? rite??

if its good means its good.time will tell..
    if one day BMW sucks will ppl still opt for that???

• wallstreet on May 18, 2010 at 8:21 am

Korean car are way better today and really a clear winner compare to the Jap. Unfortunately in Malaysia, cars are expensive and priced way higher than ordinary Malaysians income. Ultimately ppl will still take second hand value as their main priority when buying a car. They will still follow their head not their heart.

You can’t compare electronic items with cars. There is no such thing as Sony or other Jap products have higher second hand value, its all down to pricing and the quality.

• Diesel on May 17, 2010 at 10:02 pm

My dad own captiva since last year with promo free 3yrs service, each time visit SC only have to pay rm 3 or 6 ringit (cant remember the amount liao). Currently the car so far so good n always having great time driving it. all i can say lucky didn’t bought harrier over this captiva .

• techart touch on May 17, 2010 at 11:01 pm

the price 4 captiva i can get the new Pajero Sport…look agressive but elegance…enherit the jap tradition….it Mitsubishi well known performance in rally dakar…but chev i only recognise cruze in wtcc…not the captiva….option in your hand…

• Captiva is much better than Pajero, CRV, X-Trail in performance – comfort, handling, power…. You should try it ,,,

• Naughty on May 17, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Still very skeptical with the services that they can provide even though they give such long warranty coverage….is eye catching just to attract ppl to buy their distribution line up. They are still far behind for what is called good services. Take a look at the Chev is getting…..is already almost 2 months…i bet it will surpass that….Chev, not trying to curse u but…..can’t trust ppl with this kind of services who just aim to be big but never good at delivering it.

• ViosUser on May 17, 2010 at 11:28 pm

DO something for the mother earth please. Look at this ugly fat monster. Bad for the wallet bad for the air we breath in.

Why on earth people want to buy 4WD ?

• theanswer on May 17, 2010 at 11:39 pm

diesel is a new green actually. our diesel quality makes u feel it’s dirty. in foreign country diesel engine more greener than petrol.

• Its AWD, which means its front wheal drive and only transfers some power to the rear wheals base from traction input, which means indirectly we save fuel. Its not a all time 4WD or 4X4.

• the smell n the black smoke is bad?. petrol with no smoke seen n smell good dose not mean its good to breath in.

• honda-cheating on May 18, 2010 at 2:48 pm

its better to buy this then crv,,,it has high specs and looks more macho than the metrosexual crv,,,they call it suv but it perform badly offroading compare to escape,captiva,new tucson. crv is made in melaka,is way overpriced—it lacks technology that captiva,tucson,esape have,,,,for 150 k u don’t get leather seat,,,hell,,,tucson,escape,captiva has it,,,,tucson,escape,captiva is cheaper than crv eventhough escape engine is made in germany,got leather seat,and body made in philippines.its and imported suv with more features and a bold off road suv compare to melaka made crv,,,but why dos it cost more than escape? ford is known for its toughness

the only reason ppl buying crv is becoz resale value,,,autoconnection,cergazam,sime darby,naza, has to buckle up in the after sales service,,,they have a good product in hand,,,but they are spoiling it with poor after sale service and so on.there is many improvemnt this companies have to do to make their good vehicles sell and have good resale value.first of all do something about the service department especially the car service centre. follow what honda,toyota,nissan is doing. they have to rectify it. if they do,,,they can put overpriced,plasticky,backdated technology honda and toyota to sleep,,,they have to change malaysian mentality,,,singaporeans have better mind set than malaysians,,,I was told that kia forte is the number one selling car in singapore beating city and vios flat out. and bare in mind that forte is thousand times better than vios and city,,,plus it was design by audi.

• honda melaka on May 18, 2010 at 3:43 pm

ford escape-135k(after discount) 3 years warranty,3 years free service
      captiva-145 k-5 years warranty-2 years free service,
      tucson-13xk- 5 years warranty,,,not sure of the free service yet
      crv-149k,3 years warranty,6 months free service

crv in other countries have leather seat and have 2.4 engine,,,crv melaka no leather seat 150 k

escape engine made in germany,,,cbu from philipines

tucson cbu from korea

captiva not sure made where

crv made in melaka

malaysians,,,do ur math

• cybermaster98 on May 18, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Honda-Cheating,

I think u need to check your facts. The Top Selling car in Singapore for 2009 is Hyundai Avante. The Kia Forte is ranked 3rd and the Vios is 4th. But the Kia Forte sales include 110 units of the previous model. If u remove this 110 units, then the Kia Forte drops to 4th position behind the Vios. And the sales difference between 3rd & 4th place in Singapore is small unlike your statement that the Forte beat the Vios ‘flat out’. The Vios is an older model and its still doing very well against the much newer Forte.

• that fact was told to me by kia salesman when I went to checkout the forte—

• I said that based on wat the sales man told ME, but after u said this,I search and found that number one selling car in singapore is hyundai avante,,,third is forte and fourth is vios,,http://www.motortrader.com.my/forums/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=34493

the point I’m making is that in sinagpore a korean car is being the number one seller,,,wat was once a country crazy of japanese car like toyota and honda,,,but realising that korean cars offer more they opted for it,,,but in malaysia,,,u don’t see that happening,,,by judging the website I visited on the car sales in singapore after u told ME to check MY facts,I see that forte is giving a good fight to vios in a country which was once a strong hold of toyota,,,the corolla is a good trusted car for many generations and its been a top selling car in singapore for many years as u know it,,,,,,but in singapore u can see that hyundai avante has beat it.(as u said forte is a much newer car,so in 2010 I think forte sale might move up a notch) as u said that the vios is an older model,,,hence its toyota,but a korean company like kia is giving it a good fight with their forte. so thats MY point. ppl of singapore has better view on this,they choose cars based on the specs and functionality,,,becoz I believe with the world going so advance in technology,,,the cas We drive on a regular basis should have these advance technology that safeguard us and make our life more comfy and peaceful at the same time eases our life without costing a bomb,,,and I see that korean car like forte might just have it,,,not only korean cars,,,look at ford mondeo and escape and other manufacturer too ,,,singaporeans said it out loud by making korean car the best selling,,,in malaysia,its rare to see forte,,,but city and vios is a common sight. ppl shoud opt for wat is better and look beyond the badge. maturity is needed,,,mindset has to changed. thats MY point. thanx to cybermaster98 to check MY facts,,,I hope u’ll understand the point I try to make.

• cybermaster98 on May 20, 2010 at 9:15 am

HC,

Yes i agree with you but the main issue in Malaysia regarding some foreign makes like the Koreans i the LOCAL DISTRIBUTERS & SERVICE CENTRES. Its not the car itself and nothing to do with Malaysians not appreciating cars. If u were to compare the car alone, i myself would opt for the Forte over the Vios considering the superior specs. But Korean makes in Malaysia are being let down by the local service companies appointed to bring in the car. The Forte in Malaysia is sold and serviced by Naza and its common knowledge that NAZA service is down the dumps. You can have the best specs in a mid range Korean make and it will still lose out to the Japs. As ive said many times, if the Korean makes wanna beat the Japs they have to improve their local dealerships and service centres. Ive personally maintained Korean makes like Kia in the last couple of years n the service standard is no where close to Toyota / Honda.

Cheers!

• Philip J. Fry on May 18, 2010 at 6:20 pm

It wasn’t designed by Audi. The head of design at Kia is Peter Schreyer, who was the former lead designer for Audi.

• yes it was philip,,,,,,but u have to admit that forte looks very much like an audi especially the interior,,,and its not that much plasticy,,,it has european standards quality especially the dashboard and steering. has the signature of an audi

• E Bear on May 18, 2010 at 8:40 pm

It looked pretty nice until u see the new Sorento……especially the front and dashboard.

• captiva now model 2010 no more 2009.

• guzzal on Jul 02, 2010 at 12:32 am

Captiva is overpriced in Malaysia!

Have a checked other countries chevy websites.
    Indonesian alone sell less about RM20K with 3 years warranty comes with unlimited kms!!!!! And so the UK etc.

Malaysian always pay higher for many things….and so the spareparts & services.
    DIstributors are over over over profiteering.