Formula 1 Korean Grand Prix: Construction on schedule

This year’s Formula 1 calendar has a new destination for our favourite traveling circus. The first ever Korean Grand Prix, the third last race of the season before Brazil and Abu Dhabi, is penciled for 24th October. Korea Auto Valley Operation (KAVO) has come out to assure that construction of the Korea International Circuit is on schedule for completion this summer.

At present, 80% of track is completed, and in July, the circuit will enter the final phase of the development – surfacing of the track. “Construction is on schedule for completion this summer, and we have encountered no obstacles whatsoever, either logistical or political. The Government, at both the central and provincial level, is fully supportive of the project, and the entire country looks forward to welcoming F1 to South Korea this autumn,” KAVO’s CEO Yung Cho Chung said.

Located in the South Jeolla region, 400 km from Seoul, the Yeongam circuit is in a rural location and KAVO plans to develop the area surrounding the circuit. A high-tech business park, residential and leisure facilities are part of the plans. The waterside circuit, like most newer tracks such as Sepang, has been designed by Hermann Tilke to be a good challenge for the drivers and to house 130,000 spectators. The 5.615 km F1 track has a smaller 3.045 km course built into it for less demanding events.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• squawk on Jun 16, 2010 at 2:27 pm

On paper, it looks like there’re some overtaking opps.

• Thats one challenging looking track!

• scanzew on Jun 16, 2010 at 2:54 pm

very long straight…i hope mclaren win this circuit for the 1st time with their supreme F-duct!!go mclaren

• Tiadaid on Jun 16, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Tilke’s tracks have been derided by many European F1 fans. And here’s another one.

• hahaha. sepang looks like mahath*r. this one looks like a laughing mahath*r!

• 400KM from Seoul? That’s a turn-off…

• FIREPOLICY on Jun 16, 2010 at 4:27 pm

the lower part of the circuit almost similar to sepang

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Jun 16, 2010 at 5:52 pm

at first….

wonder why the design-rythm is similiar to sepang….

because it was designed by the same person…

• wah.. korean also waste tax payer money to host f1.. *smirk*

• mufasa on Jun 16, 2010 at 7:33 pm

“Located in the South Jeolla region, 400 km from Seoul, the Yeongam circuit is in a rural location and KAVO plans to develop the area surrounding the circuit. A high-tech business park, residential and leisure facilities are part of the plans”

why choose rural area?….please answer in typical malaysian mode….i dont want profesional smart answer,,,, hehe

• reuben how on Jun 16, 2010 at 10:56 pm

south jeolla is a poorer area. To win votes from local residents, politicians promise (but they deliver!) big infrastructure projects. Of course i can’t comment on the politics and connection with money because i simply do not know, and with the internet and freely available information, this would be hotly debated but korea has a large population base, so white elephants of the present become useful as time passes by. Incheon airport (like our KLIA) felt quiet when i first visited korea a few years ago, but now they have just completed another expansion and it feels quite busy, and the greater urban area of seoul feels closer to the airport as the free trade zone becomes more developed.

• reuben how on Jun 16, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Also forgot to mention that land is a huge premium in Seoul. The total population, counting the sprawling cornubation of apartment blocks is about 23 million +. Don’t think that they could spare the land…

• mufasa on Jun 17, 2010 at 8:45 am

its ok,,you can comment on politic and money too,,, this is paultan.org and we are malaysian…. f1,,tax money,,,national company car,,they all related.. :)

• Tiadaid on Jun 17, 2010 at 2:04 pm

That’s not how a Malaysian should have answered! :D

• Oh my, wierd looking track…

• Peter on Jun 16, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Very tough match? I think so….not easy though….

• annihilated on Jun 17, 2010 at 12:06 am

the layout shown here is a bit different from KAVO’s layout especially on turn 4, 5 & 6.

• ppCCqB on Jun 17, 2010 at 11:12 am

we, malaysian without GLOBAL player such as KIA,HYUNDAI, SAMSUNG,LG but we already have this F1 circuit earlier than China and Korea, Malaysia boleh!!!

so now we’re going to bankrap in 2017, lol. hahahhahahah, boleh jugak ni

• mufasa on Jun 18, 2010 at 2:57 pm

who say we going to bankrap,,,we still have 25milliton people who need fuel,,,who will pay GST,,, who wil buy non local car tax duty…. who will use highway with toll…. we going to survive maaa….

• nighttrain on Jun 17, 2010 at 12:46 pm

can touch 350km/h ar on that straight? white elephant or not, better book my ticket lah..

• 2ndStage on Jul 11, 2010 at 3:48 pm

korean is lame. they didn’t know what the meaning of SPEED. hahahha