Austin Mini powered by 3,500 horsepower V18 engine?

If you think the HMS V12 Dragster bike (bike powered by BMW E38 750iL V12 engine) or the Dodge Tomahawk was crazy (a motorcycle powered by a Dodge Viper engine), wait until you check this out. This is a heavily modified Austin Mini that has 3,500 horsepower and 14,000Nm of torque. Just click the image to have a closer view.

I seriously have no idea if it runs, but that massive red monster at the rear is a Cummins QSK78 diesel engine with no less than 18 cylinders in a V-bank, has 78 litres of displacement, and 12 turbochargers! It’s typically used to power much larger vehicles than this Austin Mini, such as mining industry dump trucks. This craziness will be displayed at the Goodwood Festival of Speed. Perhaps it doesn’t run and is more of a ‘sculpture’.

“We never like to let a challenge go by unanswered so we got to thinking maybe we could fit the QSK78 into an original Austin Mini. It proved to be a bit tricky to fit under the bonnet but our engineers came up with a more creative solution. “We’re certain that the Goodwood crowd will have difficulty believing what they are seeing,” said Steve Nendick, Cummins’ Communications Director – Europe, Middle East, Africa and CIS.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Helmet on Jul 01, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Overkill has never been so extreme.

• Sodacurrant Kirry on Jul 01, 2010 at 11:43 pm

I like red and I cannot lie!

• mata katak on Jul 01, 2010 at 11:47 pm

boring…..

Why not plonk the same engine to a kapchai?

• rear light on Jul 02, 2010 at 9:23 am

kakakaka…typical bashers, always not enough..some of u will say “it is underpowered”, right?..

• Neonda on Jul 05, 2010 at 9:42 am

what la u dey…even 1 of the turbo charger equal to the kapchai rim…

• Just to make a news! Any practicality?

• mystvearn on Jul 02, 2010 at 1:14 am

I forsee this thing terbalik like the Reliant Robin in the recent Top Gear episode

• redfueler on Jul 02, 2010 at 1:35 am

wow krazy!

• armandd on Jul 02, 2010 at 1:36 am

poor mini..

• Salamander on Jul 02, 2010 at 1:55 am

Can this thing even run?

• BMALOI on Jul 02, 2010 at 9:24 am

I doubt it can move at all…. the chassis wont stand the weight of the engine in the first place. that’s why the car is properly jacks to hold the engine…

• *laughing out LOUD*
    …phew..
    well, whatever it is, I’d probably agreed with Paul that it doesn’t run and is more of a ‘sculpture’.

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Jul 02, 2010 at 7:28 am

Crazy 5.0 litre engine…WTF

• Aaron Isaac on Jul 02, 2010 at 8:05 am

sorry, where is the fuel tank?

• FIREPOLICY on Jul 02, 2010 at 8:56 am

of course it cannot run…look at the tyre…

• The Black Stig on Jul 02, 2010 at 9:44 am

It look like Quasimodo the Hunchback of Notre Dame!!
    I hope it’s just a piece of art, it has no practicality at all.

• kevin on Jul 02, 2010 at 9:45 am

From what i understand. This should be a Generator.

• squawk on Jul 02, 2010 at 9:59 am

How much is the road tax? :-)

• You can see from underneath the car they need pillars and some serious bolting to keep the engine from crushing the car. Pretty pointless to me, but I guess its good enough for a 5 second look.

• just me on Jul 02, 2010 at 11:02 am

This maybe out of topics, but anyone knows a webite/blog like this but for motorcycle stuff? thanks,

• Can see that the chassis is not able to support it.. So its a fake!!

• X ray eyes on Jul 02, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Hello,
    What if the elongated mini is just carrying the engine. I need to see where the CUMMINS crankshaft is connected to, probably to the free air. HAHA caught them red handed then.

• simpz on Jul 02, 2010 at 6:32 pm

izzit really moveable?

• kancil_driver on Jul 02, 2010 at 11:06 pm

I’ve seen a pickup with a heli turbine engine on TV. Can’t remember which program, but it moves.

• nice inventions if it could be legalized in our country.We need new breath

• Seriously on Jul 05, 2010 at 9:27 am

definitely just a sculpture.

• imagine getting pulled over at road blocks..
    What do you think are the reactions of the officers ?
    JPJ especially ahahahaha