Alfa Romeo 159 TI 3.2 V6 auto spotted at SDAC showroom!

We have an interesting piece of news for ‘Alfaholics’ out there! Upon a quick visit at Sime Darby AutoConnexion’s showroom in Petaling Jaya, we stumbled upon a new 159 variant that is likely to be introduced soon. At first glance the red 159 pictured above looked just like a regular 159 2.2 JTS but a TI logo on the front right fender caught our attention!

TI which stands for Turismo Internazionale is a sportier trim level and in Europe it is offered with either a 2.2 JTS 4-cylinder engine, a 3.2 JTS V6 or a 2.4 JTDM. Naturally the 159 TI comes with a unique body kit, a lowered sports suspension, large 19-inch wheels, red Brembo brake calipers as well as other trim upgrades such as chromed wing mirrors and exhaust tailpipes.

The interior sports electric and heated front seats, different instrument dials, aluminum sports pedals, kick plates, trim inserts, a leather-clad sports steering wheel and gear knob. On the 159 TI we have here, we can see a sportier body kit, 19-inch wheels and red brake calipers. The rear end sports chrome exhaust tailpipes and a V6 designation! This goes to indicate that the 159 has a 3.2 JTS V6 with 256hp and 322Nm of torque at 3,800 RPM. Compared to the 2.2 JTS, the V6 makes 71hp and 92Nm of torque more.

A quick look at the interior reveals different seats, which look sportier and feature Alfa Romeo emblems that are stitched in red. We can also see a slightly different centre-dash trim and a gear lever fitment that suggests an automatic transmission. This could well be the QTRONIC 6-speed automatic. If the rather jerky Selespeed transmission in the 2.2 JTS is stopping you from buying the 159, this could help change that.

In Europe the TI with the 3.2 V6 also comes with a Q4 all-wheel-drive system, but that is unlikely for the local version we are bound to get. The Alfa Romeo 159 2.2 JTS currently carries a RM195,888 price tag. The 159 TI 3.2 V6 could be priced anywhere between RM200,000 and RM300,000.

Continue reading to view high-res versions of the spy images.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1453]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• rossi46 on Aug 28, 2010 at 2:40 pm

alfa!..yummy

• giafranco on Aug 28, 2010 at 2:46 pm

SDAC should introduce 1750TBi Ti version instead of 3.2JTS V6.
    2.4JTDM is a better choice but M’sia Diesel euro 2M quality total failure.

• deli27 on Aug 28, 2010 at 2:50 pm

wau!is it CBU?certainly yes.price $$$~~

• Woah! Tasty~

• ALFAALFA on Aug 28, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Tested the car last week @ Ipoh, special invitation. One word to describe – FABULOUS with the 4WD system. Price @ RM298k ….

• bond the james on Aug 28, 2010 at 4:53 pm

It’s almost 2011, overall, this is a rather outdated design, it’s time for a change.

• safety officer on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:24 am

where you think Mit Lancer got their design from?its the same designer you moron! the difference is Mitsubishi bought the design few years after 159 already launch.

Even after 30 donkey years ALFA cars and their designs still turning heads!

• flizzardo_sohigh on Aug 28, 2010 at 5:06 pm

how will this car fare against audi a4 2.0 s-line quattro ?

• mr.young on Aug 28, 2010 at 5:29 pm

this is ze bomb!

• -.-lll on Aug 28, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Paul, is that BMW beside the car yours?

• Ben X5 on Aug 28, 2010 at 5:52 pm

worth every penny.. wish i could have one :p

• ToPiE on Aug 28, 2010 at 6:18 pm

hey paul,
    thanks for the updates. i see a nice e30 parked right next to the red-babe? so hows ur restoration going on?

• emine on Aug 28, 2010 at 7:01 pm

I WANT ONE….WITH A 6-Speed MANUAL!!!! GRRRR

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 28, 2010 at 7:08 pm

come to India baby

• E Bear on Aug 28, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Maybe this car in the picture specially ordered for a big fan…one off only.

• I LOVE ALFA!

• jolly_idiot on Aug 28, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Alfa always sexy.

• absolutely gorgeous! wish we could buy cars with our hearts rather than with our heads,then we would all be lining up to book wihout thinking about depreciation and reliability issues

• xavier lert on Aug 28, 2010 at 9:52 pm

i dunno why..but this car looks exquisite for me…….

• Paul! This is AWESOME!

• Tezza on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:07 pm

Gorgeous Alfa…WOW…

• I second the comment, why not the 159 1750 TBi? This is the perfect model for us with our tax climate. If we even ask alfa to assemble in Thailand like they did in 2002. the price would be even better!

• Daniel on Aug 30, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Yeah when are they gonna bring in the 159 1750 tbi?

• Lim Kopi on Sep 01, 2010 at 12:41 am

hhmmm lets see,

what ever the price tag is …. with that money its still a no brainer to buy GERMAN …

Corek ?