Hyundai release i20 Sports Edition CRD model in Paris

Hyundai and its European R&D Centre in Rüsselsheim, Germany, has developed an i20 Sport Edition, in cooperation with German high performance tuning company Car Research and Development (CRD), a Brabus-related company.

Essentially a body kit package direct from the manufacturer, it adds exterior enhancements such as a body-coloured front skirt, flared wheel arches, a glossy radiator grille mesh insert and black bezel headlights with day time running lights. Housed under those flared wheel arches are 17-inch Brabus alloy wheels shod in Yokohama tyres, along with glossy B-pillars, smoked windows and dark red tinted rear lights.

Moving on inside, orange leather lines the Recaro seats, while a black leather gearshift cover with orange-colored seams, a chrome gear shift knob, a leather-wrapped center console, leather-covered door panels, and a 7-inch touch screen navigation are added to give an interior to match the exterior.

For more pictures look after the jump for a picture gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1578]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• at first i thought it was a myvi

• its still hyundai…

• gattaca on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:47 pm

got some MyVi & Swift DNA in this….conclusion: Boring…………..

• from side of this car is like a myvi!

• mitlanevo on Oct 05, 2010 at 5:10 pm

wow, 2 thumbs up for both the exterior and interior, nicely done!

• the juke on Oct 05, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Does it involve bodykits only? wow, paid millions to the germans just to come out with this bland/boring/mediocre design…

• redxdevil on Oct 05, 2010 at 5:44 pm

its more nicer than myvi!!!

• Jimmy on Oct 05, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Hyundai needs to learn from Suzuki Swift: the pre-facelift Getz is so cool, don’t change too much.

• Jack Lim on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Nice interior so do exterior….
    hyundai and Kia really done a great job in Malaysian Market..
    they soon will major sales in Malaysian =)

• Ranjit on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:57 pm

If the price is reasonable…
      For now I prefer Swift just lets wait and see…

• notakosong.com on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:26 pm

it may looks like myvi or swift wtv, but wayyyy bigger, more like caldina size

• anti-first on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:00 pm

not bad……….for a Hyundai! :)

• nabill on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:15 pm

no engine upgrades no point , thr are alot of shops that can do cutom interiors and bodykits…

• An i20 is aimed for the budget consumers remember? They can live without a big engine. If we’re looking for performance, we would be looking at a genesis coupe.

• drMpower on Oct 05, 2010 at 10:15 pm

u cant souped up every car, can u?

its more of desperation, to be honest, with those aftermarket stuffs. big rims, shiny yellow bucket seats.

initially being a two door is a good start for so call sporty, modern type of vehicle targeted at young people. a big engine or should i say powerful one would get this closer to hot hatches out there

strangely they stop at the exteriors.

• its a sports version but never mention anything about increased engine performance?! any extra ponies??

• wowoooowwwwww on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:16 am

don’t think will sell well….ppl won’t pay more for a Hyundai….ppl buying Hyundai because of value for money….
    don’t think this car will sell at a Hyundai price….
    no performance upgrade due to high r&d cost….brabus knows this car won’t give Hyundai big sale so not worth doing much…

• DonkeyKong on Oct 06, 2010 at 2:29 am

So Brabus is into charity now? Has Brabus been taken over by Malaysian civil servants and their “tidak apa” and “lantak lah” attitudes?

• wowoooowwwwww on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:17 am

huh?I’m just explaining la bro….if I’m brabus I won’t think of doing so too….the real case is….it’s still a Hyundai….
        and what you mean by charity?sure Hyundai paid them to do it…and brabus don’t even wanna include a brabus badge there…

• The Black Stig on Oct 07, 2010 at 7:15 am

Obviously you’ve never been elsewhere but Malaysia. Hyundai sales are astronomical in Europe, US and Asia. In other countries in Asia this car will sell like hot cakes.
      Who care about Malaysia where the consumers are “rich” and immature who only dreaming to buy Mercedes and BMW.

• bobdbilder on Oct 06, 2010 at 1:22 am

Fluff. Which part of the added weight of leather on an auto gearknob, 7in touch screen Nav or 17in wheels that makes this sporty? Compare this to what happens when Renault gets out a Cup or Trophy version.

• Maybe it would be a better idea to compare it to the more realistic Myvi SE. See any improvements in performance?

• jason on Oct 06, 2010 at 1:58 am

sweet car how much for the kit and daylight saving leds ive a standard three door and looking a kit but cant get one mine is red wit racing stripes from front bumper to back bumper.

• Hyundaifollower on Oct 06, 2010 at 7:48 am

But though it is a Hyundai Design the rear adopted a little of BMW 130 Sports. What do u think?

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Oct 06, 2010 at 8:19 am

Good looking, not value 4 money…

• Eddie 308 on Oct 06, 2010 at 10:12 am

If Theophilus Chin whipped up a 2 door myvi… it’ll look exactly like this….

• looks kinda ‘fragile’ and cheap.

• This shows that you haven’t been in one of the newer hyundais’ before.

• awg1031 on Oct 07, 2010 at 9:44 am

the seats nice though..semi-bucket..wohooo!

• power?or only looks?