Subaru Forester S-Edition concept unveiled in Australia

forester s-edition

More from Sydney, this time from Subaru. Making its world debut at the Australian International Motor Show is a Forester concept called the S-Edition, which offers strong clues to a possible new variant next year.

The S-Edition builds on the existing Forester XT, but its turbocharged 2.5 litre engine offers 259 hp. a jump up from the 227 hp available from the XT. Torque is up too on this one, with 347Nm to the XT’s 320Nm.

forester s-edition 2

Additions to the Variable Torque Distribution (VTD) All-Wheel Drive vehicle include a revised sport suspension, paddleshifters accompanying the five-speed auto gearbox, 17-inch high lustre alloy STI wheels and unique styling accents, including of course S-Edition badging.

Inside, new to the kit list are drilled alloy pedals, new Alcantara seat trim bearing S-Edition logos as well as luminescent instruments with a centre design unique to the model.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1623]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• harry on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:41 pm

subaru is a fail..in bolehland..haha

• zafedz on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:53 pm

Not impressive from my point of view…

• looks more 4×4 rather than suv

• sheesh, reading stuff like this frustrates me…we can’t even get the existing Forester XT version, let alone this.

Motorimage seems to be satisfied selling wrxs here…don’t get me wrong – m sure they did their cost benefit study and what-not, but there’s no way Malaysia is gonna become a sophisticated auto market with these limitations.

That aside – just love the Forester S-Edition. What a lovely monster to own.

• BabyMilo on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Perodua Kembara better than this…

• binbin on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:47 am

MI is selling the XT version w/o the badge, the XT badge doesn’t matter because it’s the only model we get here.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Oct 16, 2010 at 2:40 am

oh my god

subaru is becoming more , boring , more bland , more “TOYOTA” by every model they launch

• Another boring design…come on Japs u can surely do better than this

• CocoBear on Oct 17, 2010 at 9:09 pm

U guys don’t know a thing about Subaru Forester. This car is the best compact off-roader money can buy (now even better). In Australia, this car sells like hot cake!

• agreed.

typical malaysians only look at aesthetics & cosmetics.

they have no idea what sorta grunt this subaru’s got.

perodua kembara….what r u? an infant?