Hyundai Sonata Turbo tuned by RIDES magazine for SEMA

Hyundai seems to be very enthusiastic in courting the American tuning community. Not only has the Korean brand supplied three units of its Equus flagship saloon to tuners for SEMA (click to view the work of Rhys Millen Racing, DUB magazine and Mummbles Marketing), they also let RIDES magazine work on a Hyundai Sonata Turbo. Not sure about you, but it’s my first time seeing a modified YF, and it looks great!

This 274 bhp/375 Nm 2.0T that rolled out from Alabama gets a bodykit that includes new front and rear bumpers, side skirts, rear spoiler and roof spoiler, which all work together to accentuate the Sonata’s “fluidic sculpture” design. Other key exterior elements are the matte pearl paint job from BASF, 20-inch Rennen Modular M9 concave wheels with Falken FK452 tyres, smoked taillights and painted headlights. Also included are a matte black debadged front grille, Audi LED fog lights and 3M vinyl carbon wrap on the roof.

RIDES also reupholstered the cabin in a combination of black leather and suede with red stitching plus carbon fibre trim. Residing in the boot are two JBL 12-inch subwoofers paired with two amplifiers. To top things off, a custom quad tip exhaust was installed out back, while an S-Max front mount intercooler replaces the factory unit up front.

Check out the gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1653]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nolan on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:38 pm

wow……can’t wait to see them tune the new Elantra/Avante……………

• One word… AWESOME!

• O.O Wowwwww…….

• Nice ah long car… Perhaps shud leave it alone.. Look ah beng style

• love hyundai on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:22 pm

ah long drive vellfire/mpv car one..
      unfortunately ah beng cannot afford this car..
      they can only own wiralution=)
      this is for hyundai fans…=)

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:43 pm

hyundai sonata turbo … 274 bhp … wallauweii …

• yihaaa on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:46 pm

amazing!!!

• MBX Boy on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:52 pm

OMG! Hawwwtt!

• Sorchai on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:54 pm

I download photos first. After I get my car, then I send for a mod job like photo. Hee Hee

• Ordinary Joe on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Nice! especially the power mods to the engine!
    Just one thing, not feeling those diamond shape exhaust holes on the rear bumper.

• simon vw on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:09 pm

The looks like ah beng’s car

• Grandisan on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Marvellous front!

• nizam1402 on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:42 pm

nice!!
    go Hyundai

• Be tahan.How much is that? In my wishlist.haha~

• Happy Man on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:41 pm

.. speechless……too good…

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Wow, much more cooler than the existing one.
    Hyundai, please improve on the Sonata’s road noise transmitted through rear tyres. Also, the engine roar is quite loud (compare to Camry and Accord) when you floor it.

• Vincent on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Wor, TK lor…

• ismazri on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Stormtroopers!

• shawal on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:46 pm

Insanely vulgar , but awesome nonetheless…

• love hyundai on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:21 pm

The grillzzzzzzzzzzzz..
    how much ar……….
    Love u hyundai..

• paparazi on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:49 pm

2010 Renault Megane Trophy 1:24 scale diecast car for sale, anyone?

• all ppl was talking hyundai car no resell value,but it’s really coming up in malaysia market,good job hyundai-drive you way

• ericten on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:44 pm

sexayyy!!!!

• not impressed on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:20 pm

Ah Beng look! Yuks!

• Unforgiven on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:48 am

I think Ah Beng is referring to M’sian who modified Proton with replica/cheap stuff.
      If we modified a car with expensive n original stuff, those are hobbies. A set of HRE sport rims may cost RM20k, unfortunately, we are in the bolehland where replica stuff are everywhere.

• redkde on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Ah Beng is not for proton cars, it refer to any car modded by low standard workshops

• Malaysian! Its time for you to have ur mind changed! No more T & H are the best! Now is the time for Korean to show their talent in making vehicles!

• Proton Inspira on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:29 pm

ya, agree with kit..korea car really improve a lot recently..

• SONATA? How many Sonata on the road? I hardly across the latest incarnation of Sonata. I guess SD Hyundai should rename it as i45 since old Sonata not strong enough to go on par with Camry-Accord peers.

Pricing-unwise, clearly the reason why slow “sale”.

• rossi46 on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:31 am

Bro…fyi,waiting period is 5-6 months for the Sonata Msia….Korean plant cannot meet the world wide demand and their priority is the US/Aus/Euro mkt. and not our puny Japs lovin mkt (too little compare to those lucrative mkt)…

thats why not many on Msia road currently, buyers are still waiting for their Sonata’s and some had already gave up and cancelled their order.

• Mancini on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:20 am

bravo. it’s out of this wolrd babeh!!! awesome

• Boogie on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:41 am

Awesome….

• Lim Kopi on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:46 am

Ugly car now UGLIER …. and pretty “Jeng” as well :)

• very nice car, no matter how it looks also better than those ugly VW car…… also big T and Honda can close shop in the future.

• redkde on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:27 pm

OMG VW ugly?? something wrong with your eyes bro!! this hundai looks super ugly….

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:14 am

Pretty women..I gonna ride on you.Bay tahan…Bila mau kena nombor???

• nighttrain on Nov 03, 2010 at 12:51 pm

Excellent marketing strategy. Sitting there at tuners booth alongside other American cars at SEMA no less. Somebody should arrange for these models to appear at KLIMS too.

• hyundai sime darby on Nov 03, 2010 at 1:30 pm

Hyundai Sime Darby should improve Service Centre, Proton Service COE and Mutiara far better then your Elite at Glenmarie. Mr Denis time to invest (new bulding) and improve after sucsessfully launch Sonata YF and Tucson ix30.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Nov 03, 2010 at 1:39 pm

the new car for the upcoming

NEED FOR SPEED……

• axenophage on Nov 03, 2010 at 1:44 pm

awesome and the mod kits seamlessly fit to the body curves and lines. Is the turbo engine is available production engine or from tuner? I wish this to come to Malaysia..

• Ash Menon on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:37 pm

Oh my god, it’s Moby Dick.

• Ah beng drive Iswaralution and Wajalution :) wahaha…anyway i really like this car coz it’s so cool!

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:26 am

What??!!! who is mata kayro actually.Pretty toys u said yurk!!! fugly one u look awesome..

• Kelvin on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:28 pm

I think Korean verhicle are doing quite well recently. They are definitely comparable to the Japs… It’s just that people in MY prefered Japs verhicle due to the availability of spare parts, service centre and wide range of modification potential :) however can see that Hyundai-Kia is picking in MY recently.
    Anyway, the new sonata is just sexy…

• Asral on Nov 06, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Wow.. this car look very sporty!!