Vettel scores pole in Abu Dhabi with Alonso in third!

Red Bull has carried over its momentum from the Brazilian GP with Sebastian Vettel’s pole in Abu Dhabi under the starry Arabian sky. The German who is also a strong title contender will start tomorrow’s race ahead of Lewis Hamilton from McLaren. Mathematically, Hamilton is still able to become champion this year but it looks quite unlikely for the Brit. Championship leader Fernando Alonso of Ferrari managed to secure the ever-so-important third spot in the dying minutes of the qualifying session.

McLaren’s Jenson Button who is officially out the title hunt is fourth ahead of Mark Webber, who currently lies second second in the table with 238 points, just eight points behind Alonso. The other Ferrari of Felipe Massa’s will start the race from sixth. Williams’ Nico Rosberg, Renault’s Robert Kubica, Mercedes’ Michael Schumacher and Force India’s Adrian Sutil complete the rest of the top ten.

The Lotus drivers managed to finish the session ahead of both the Virgin drivers in the final qualifying of the season. Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen are in 19th and 20th positions respectively. Timo Glock and Lucas di Grassi are in 21st and 22nd while the two Hispania drivers complete the last row. It’s a must-watch race tomorrow so make you sure you tune in!

You can check out the full results here.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• mitlanevo on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:27 pm

huh? F1?

• Happy Man on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Good luck Hamilton!!!!!

• Ferrari will win..all odd is with alonso side..both bulls need alonso far behind them n hamilton need alonso n the bulls to crash

• scanzew on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:10 am

Super bad season bcause of RedBull’s domimance…2010 season sucks!!

• ultraman on Nov 14, 2010 at 3:41 am

butthurt is storng in ferrari n mc larren fanboys…lol
      can’t accept a good race winning is it?
      there’s ups and down of it apperently..
      well F1 is a team effort not solely drivers job..
      kudos too redbull for this season making a big struggle for the big guns

• scanzew on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:04 pm

Well their bending the rules…in regulation,no movement at all on front wings,but they move it…we can see genius of Fduct..no movement of aero parts..only movement by drivers…so the abid to regulation…
        I think redbull just bribing FIA for that LOL hahaha ;-p

• scanzew on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:08 pm

Redbull-it give u the (illegal flexible) wings!!! Hahaha lol..cheater!!

• Anti Proton on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:20 am

hope vettel wins

• love PROTON on Nov 14, 2010 at 2:43 am

PROTON just acquire RENAULT F1 TEAM engine factory in Viry-Châtillon, France..

next year PROTON will defeat Red Bull Racing.. once an ally in PETRONAS SAUBER ENGINEERING F1 project before.

• Xefron on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:14 am

Alonso win – if can secured 1st and 2nd
      Vettel win- if can secured 1st Alonso 3rd and below
      Webber win – if can secured 1st ,Vettel 3rd,Alonso 6th
      Hamilton win- if can secured 1st , Webber 3rd, Vettel 6th,Alonso 11th.

• my bet is on ferrari…..all rival need alonso to drive very bad n need to winn n plus alonso need at least first, second, third, fourth or fifth with webber n vettel to unable to win

• jamal on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:52 am

alonso’s championship surely. cant wait for race tomorow. webber bottled it haha

• Careful user on Nov 14, 2010 at 10:42 am

I pretty sure sebastian will score tonite, but just my prediction. My feeling top five will have accident crash when the green light turn on. Simply because the top five will have to maintain or over score to pursude their chmapionship lead. I hope vettlel will become 2010 champion of F1. Alonso won twice oled, hamilton did once as well, button just the luck, Massa was rotten luck past time, and Webber is so old to score the Chamion. Vettel, all the best to you tonite!!! We give u our full support, go for your trohphy!!!

• seriusSAM on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:20 pm

there’s no green light dude

LOL

• Careful user on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:16 pm

U are first time watching F1 ha, silly!!! Go watch few times and throw away your old glasss lah!!! Ci ba fellow!!

• seriusSAM on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:32 am

dude…

there’s no green light after red lights turn off at the start

LOL

• trav_da_man on Nov 14, 2010 at 10:44 am

If Alonso wins the world driver’s championship, expect the red bull driver’s splat to gone worse. Also expect Webber to leave RBR!

Hope not!!!!

• Xefron on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:08 am

We can see both three drivers share final total point if

1st Webber
    3rd Vettel
    8th Alonso

• scanzew on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:06 pm

2007 fail to kimi -1point…2008 win with +1point to massa…2009 surpassing kimi with +1point…2010 maybe +1point to alonso?! Just leave miracle does his job to hamilton…..
    -Hamilton~Mr. One point!!! 

• must watch 2night…..