Hyundai Azera teased in sketches – debut next year?

The Hyundai Azera (also known as the Hyundai Grandeur) remains one of the very few Hyundais remaining on sale now that still has the old design language instead of the new fancy fluidic design that we’ve seen on the Sonata, Elantra, and even the humble Accent.

It was sold in Malaysia, but pretty much had no real competitor. In the US, it belongs to the same class of large sedans that’s one size larger than what we know as D-segment sedans (Sonata, Accord, Camry). These larger sedans called “full size sedans” include the Toyota Avalon, the Ford Taurus and the Chevrolet Impala. These class of cars have big V6 (sometimes V8) engines, and Hyundai’s marketing for the Azera in the US has the slogan “more horsepower than a BMW 5, more interior than a BMW 7”.

Hyundai must be somewhat happy with how the current Azera looks as there are design cues that pay homage to the current generation, especially the rear end. The Azera will be the largest front wheel drive Hyundai sedan and slots in between the front wheel drive Sonata and the rear wheel drive Genesis.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• shawal on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Looks like a mix of the current camry and the sonata, shud call it ‘sory’ , Sory we used and copied

Rear looks good, but front needs to be less fat and more athletic

• hyundai azera 3.3 L much cheaper in the US about $25,495(RM79,365)…korea about KRW 35,920,000(~RM98,858)..it look korean have been con by hyundai n subsidize other people too…lol

• alpha999 on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:35 pm

wow

• bombastik on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:48 pm

front grill almost look like current camry…

• honestly, that was my 1st thought when i 1st looked at the car without checking the title..

btw, don’t the exhausts look like the ones on the Lexus LS460L and LS600hL??

• Ash Menon on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:49 pm

That ass is gorgeous! Now who says big ain’t beautiful :D

• harry on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:57 pm

is it really in malaysia now??nice…

• firdausprudential on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:59 pm

camry facelifted

• kington on Nov 19, 2010 at 4:03 pm

Ya.. even a toddler can tell you that it mimics the Camry.

Then again, for so many years the Korean and Chinese have been taking styling cues from other makes. Kudos to Hyundai for making the current wave of new cars so distinctive.. except for this Azera’s front .

• Paul Tan on Nov 19, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Wanna see a Hyundai that REALLY mimics the Camry?

http://paultan.org/2008/12/31/hyundai-sonata-nfc-ling-xiang-redesigned-sonata-nf-for-the-chinese-market/

For China market only. Not sure if the blame is on Hyundai or domestic partner.

• i very the like.

sure very the mahal one.

• Gajen on Nov 19, 2010 at 4:37 pm

i thought hyundai was mvoing forward with their designs and this azera has about 70% the camry’s look…well this is a sketch and not the real car..

• too near to be a camry

• Dont know why you all keep saying that this mimics the Camry, does it really? The car looks good, but only the front lights looks Suzuki Kizashi alike.

• Jimmy on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Tamed down (the fluidic sculpture), but thumbs up (for people in D-segment age).

• Seriously the koreans have improved so much through the ‘copy-paste’ principal… I dont find any wrong with it, maybe eye sore for other manufacturer’s and owner’s.. Still remember the jaguar-like sonata.. haha

• wow…nice backend…looks like maserati gran turismo/aston martin

• Hyundai Fan on Nov 20, 2010 at 9:44 am

Hyundai new car design is getting better & better. Hope they can beat Toyota & Honda in the worldwide car market share especially in Malaysia where the mindset of majority car owners is still “T&H better than Korean made cars & have better resale value”.

• Lim Kopi on Nov 20, 2010 at 11:13 am

OK lah , design wise best in their range so far, looks better than the new Sonata or accent ….

• drMpower on Nov 20, 2010 at 7:05 pm

hyundai dont have the best planner, arent they?

i see this azera to collide head on with the new sonata. they blundered here big time as well, i see that x20 hyundai or something (the sedan one) and then they got two others. the azera and sonata..

• hello on Nov 21, 2010 at 12:06 am

To me,it looks nothing like camry. even more good-looking than camry. Hyundai is now the leader in design.

• Rafiq on Nov 21, 2010 at 3:48 am

Well, a couple of months ago, I almost bought an 2011 Azera. Guess what, in Saudi Arabia, Azera price is less than Sonata, despite it is of higher segment. 2011 Azera cost 79k and Sonata full spec cost 81k :-D (Azera has no spec because all come with full spec)

Equipment wise, interior quality, Azera is really tip top. Like a luxury car. The only problem is the aging exterior design. But with this one, I guess it is hard for me to resist.

from Saudi Arabia

• uhuk uhuk on Nov 21, 2010 at 11:32 pm

kereta2 buatan kereta semakin lama semakin menawan…bole lawan kete jepun…mcm ni bole la kalau nak dikatakan berani berubah…

• fifteen on Nov 22, 2010 at 10:25 am

A good looker! Wonder if the cab operators in my country will replace the old model with this.

• overall design copied from Camry, front grille from Honda City, tail light from Kia Forte.. (my view)

thats called mix n match!!

• nolan on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:11 am

Jaguar rear…….front camry….