Hyundai-Kia nudges past Toyota in Europe

hyundai_logo1According to reports, the Hyundai Motor Group overtook Toyota in October to become the best selling Asian carmaker in Europe this year, provisionally speaking. Data from the European Automobile Manufacturers’ Association, or ACEA, had Hyundai and Kia’s European sales up by 4% in the first 10 months of 2010, to 521,369 vehicles, while Toyota’s sales, including that of Lexus, fell 16.5% percent to 511,754.

Hyundai’s achievement is significant, given that new car registrations in Europe decreased by 5% for the first ten months of the year, with 11.6 million new vehicles registered, compared to the 12.24 million for the same time period in 2009.

The Korean carmaker’s US sales has also gone up, by 21%, its market share increasing as Toyota’s fell, not surprising given the negative impact brought about by the latter’s seemingly endless stream of recalls. Sales of the Sonata were up by 64% – comparatively, Camry sales dropped by 6.3%.

Back in Europe, Nissan should also have a lot to smile about – among the major players, it has posted the most significant gains in 2010 sales, up 13.1% from last year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nasurudin on Nov 23, 2010 at 1:48 pm

i still buy a japanese if I am in malaysia. Korean cars 2nd hand value sucks. Every month close to 3k Malaysian buys a Vios. Even if it cost RM100k above for a Vios J <they will still buy

• kitman on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:03 pm

nasurudin pls set toyota for you holy religion

• kitman on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:04 pm

rm100k for a vios j,better go for 2.0 forte or inspria,y go for vios j dugong

• Mancini on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:07 pm

that gonna change in mere 3 to 4 years time babeh. Sime Darby need to play part to strengthen thier hundyai 3s to achieve that

• miaw2 on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:33 pm

they already started!…T&H no longer in command…

• goproton on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:16 pm

especially after sales…..they need to keep up with the progress of the brand…..

• tooyoott on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:27 pm

3rd world mentality….

• cyberspace on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:31 pm

Vios J for more 100K..u are insane..

• Notakosong.com on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:01 pm

dude, i smell great sarcasm here,!

no, really, no matter how good the koreans are, the typical malaysia will always worship the japs more, eventho they becoming crappier.

but thats good!, we could buy great cars with good price from koreans, and ditch the japs,

• goproton on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:14 pm

but they aren’t that good yet though…just that ppl who tired of seeing T/H badges around want to get something new and at the same time the Korean pop out…and there you go keep worship it like it’s the best car out there….
        if there’s someone pop out and say ‘waaa T/H not bad’ then you will bash them….but when you say ‘waaa Hyundai not bad’ you don’t allow ppl to say what they think and there you go saying ppl like ‘you are typical 3rd world minded basher’…..
        well for you…ditch the japs?drive a purely japanese imported model first…..the local build is a no no quality…thai build maybe better a bit….
        anyway there’s still a lot for Hyundai to improve and must say they are getting better n better!!!
        you can thumb me down anytime I’m ok with it….just saying the truth…

• alex c tseung on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:47 pm

you may or may not be rite, but what i can see is that what people pay for in a korean car now you get much more stuff compare to what you get in a japanese car. You must always compare apple to apple. In my opinion, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. you can not say that japanese design not nice and korean designs r nice. That is equavalent to saying my wife is pretty and your wife is an ogre. You have to look deeper. You pay 90k for a japanese car, what kind of specs you are getting compare to a 90k korean car. I think thats the rite way to see things. I think it applies to all types of cars.

• goproton on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:03 am

that;s what ppl are doing now….i want Hyundai because design is good….
            japanese car is good but is our local dealer suck big time….
            Korean car i must say is OK…not good enough….
            if you’re saying compare apple to apple then you should compare a japan imported japanese car with a korea imported korean car right?
            doon’t talk bout the price because it’s not fair too….is the local dealer who hike up the price….
            so if want to bash we should bash the local dealer correct?
            i’ve got both korean and japanese car at my house…so just saying what i feel bout the car…….
            well anyway only 7 thumbs down for me?i thought there are more basher who think im a basher?

• Notakosong.com on Nov 24, 2010 at 3:33 am

u know what, i thumbs up u for this matter,

thats the thing, the mindset just gonna get around and around, bashers never stop u know. but it would take some time of course

but we should look at the current trend now. last few years back of course the koreans sucks bad, but now? one of the world auto market leaders. So just enjoy the up and down of the brand la, we consumer know best what to choose right?
          why pay more when u can get better deal?

speaking of purely imported japs model, mind sharing which model is? i know accord is cbu thai, thats why the case of “Honda accord tak guna” <- google for it

i just wish proton have it own up and down, instead of plain timeline….

• Someone on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:56 am

I totally agree with you. I’m not a Toyota fan(I’m more VW) but I’m tired of seeing people bash other people who praise Toyota. Like it or not, Toyota do make some good cars. Camry is an exmple, although I agree most of their best models are overseas.(Someone import the iQ!!)

So people, please, you can support whatever car maker you want, but don’t bash others. Please.

• i wouldnt buy vios even if they priced it at 50k…vios is fucking ugly dugong

• goproton on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:20 pm

this one gotta blame the bank…they are playing major role in setting the 2nd price….
      they choose blindly…..if they like the car then they’ll set the 2nd hand price high….if they don’t like or even don’t know much bout the car they’ll bring the 2nd value down to earth….

• alex c tseung on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:36 pm

I dont think that the banks determine the 2nd hand value of a car. Its all bout supply n demand. for exmple, if you have 1 vios n 5 customers that wasnt to buy it, who will you sell to? you definately will sell to the person that offers the most. likewise, if you have a sonata for sale and you have 10 customer that wants to buy it, will you let it go at a cheap base on the fact that its a korean car? If you do that then you are doing your thinking with ur buttocks and not ur brain.

• goproton on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:05 am

nope…go check with them….they actually set a price list for 2nd hand car for the car dealer……
          many ppl knew bout this already…..

• alex c tseung on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:08 am

Even if that is the case, I believe the banks do what they do base on supply n demand also. If the demand has gone up while the supply maintains or drop, economics of scale dictates that prices of goods should go up. So if the banks dont do things base on this principle and set the 2nd hand value of a car base on it being a korean car, then i think its a big loss to them too. Anyone from banking industry care to comment?

• goproton on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:07 am

and YES i think they think with their buttocks…i really don’t understand why and who’s the ‘clever’ person behind this….

try compare 2nd hand car prices of malaysia and other country then you’ll know….

• I think Hyundai is coping up with the resale value, 08 Elantra for a RM 12k drop, 08 Vios G 9K drop, 08 Altis G RM14K drop, 12k for Civic.

• please pray to your toyota god, u malaysian!

• fyi….all vios in malaysia is locally made…and trust me the quality as the same as proton car….i know it because i m involve in making vios and proton cars

• brendanc on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:36 pm

No matter what other manufacturers does, it can never compete with T & H. Too many consumers just not aware of T&H’s issue outside of Malaysia, they are still living inside the well.

Try slapping a T or a H emblem to a Forte, Fiesta or even Saga and it will fly off the showroom in a blink of an eye.

• cyberspace on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:34 pm

3rd world mentality..poor you..

• handsome*dude on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:40 pm

in tern of a company growth… why can’t Korean beat the Japs ??

each and everyone are the same player in the same industry… sure one can overtake the other and one can step down from long victory, rite??
      (except for heavily protected company like P1 in a specific market~~sorry,not mean to bash P1 here~~~)

OOOII~~ Skyscraper is not built in one day~~ and wat i can see is the Korean now is aggressively building their skyscraper as tall as they can !!

btw, the two koreans had just begun their fire ~ who will win?

• Rhys Millen on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Doesn’t matter .. they are under the same group.

• Notakosong.com on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:04 am

u dont know anything do you?

hyundai = kia la, they shared almost everything

• tokmoh on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:47 am

He’s talking about North Korea vs South Korea la, not Hyundai vs Kia :P

• john doe on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:01 pm

brendanc….u r spot on….tht is the prob….malaysians with 3rd world mentality still hails Japs made cars which r not even made in Japan…only engine n transmission is from ther and tht also not complete….T is Thai made n H is Malacca made…sad when they think its comparable to T n H sold overseas which are directly from Japan or from T & H’s US & EU factories…while Korean cars r directly imported, only change badge for ‘tax’ purpose…latest Korean rides using GEMA engines which r even designed and used by Mitsu, Chrysler n some GM models n they r 5 star NCAP holders since all from same factory for world market…

• goproton on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:01 pm

HELLO…..GEMA engine is not designed by the KOREAN….MITSUBISHI is the one who build up the thing……
      Hyundai n Chrysler then tune it for their own….

• squawk on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:48 pm

GEMA is a JV, like how PSA and Fiat JV’d their Eurovan.

• goproton on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:12 am

JV…..YES….but is Mitsubishi who came out with the whole thing la…go wiki dude….
          ppl say JV then you think all JV is the same…==’

chrysler give $ and mitsubishi give design and hyundai give some other stuff(sorry i don’t remember)….

Mitsubishi is the one who design the base engine….
          then chrysler add their own tech,hyundai use their own piston,mitsubishi add mivec and so on….

• From: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Engine_Manufacturing_Alliance
            The initial design of the engine block was handled by Hyundai.

Reviewers generally praised the Hyundai version more than the Mitsu, and the Chrysler version, being tuned for peak paper power, comes in last – except when turbocharged.

• Someone on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:01 am

You see? Once someone says something that the majority doesn’t want to believe, it gets thumbed down.

Sigh. Yes, malaysians are of 3rd world mentality all right, but of the different kind then most people commenting mean.

• Rhys Millen on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:05 pm

CORRECTION:
      Hyundai designed the block.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Engine_Manufacturing_Alliance

“The initial design of the engine block was handled by Hyundai”.

Mitsubishi simply does not have the financial means to be investing in engine design when they can just buy them.

Sames as P1 not having the financial means to invest in development cars in certain segment in Malyaisa .. so buy from Mitsubishi the Lancer …

• goproton on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:13 am

yes you are totally correct…the block!!!haha good that you mention it…=)

mitsubishi no $…..chrysler is the bank….

• perkasa on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:08 pm

nice job too Nissan…well done!

• m4xspeed on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:22 pm

I’m one of proud owner of a Hyundai. Still going strong. Congrats Hyundai !!!

• m4xspeed on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:22 pm

I’m one of proud owner of a Hyundai’s car. Still going strong. Congrats Hyundai !!!

• breal on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:33 pm

way to go koreans! hopefully we follow the same way as the US and europeans,,,the japs keep skimming ridiculous profits while we keep buying their bs

• been driving my getz since 2004, apart from normal wear n tear maintenance..the car still gives me value for money satisfaction..no rattling npo squekin..and dashboard still solid unlike my previous wira..after 6 months gabe me lot of problems already. Have in mind to upgrade to avante next year and keep the getz as a gift’ to my daughter.

• bobby on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Don’t comment onto those 3rd world mentality people.

Frankly, I felt pity on them that they never grow up.

Katak di bawah tin milo.

• Notakosong.com on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:06 pm

haiya,

no matter what, these typical malaysian will always worship t/h la….
    koreans just keep at that sub-standard level ok, so we customer can always get good car at good price.

/sarcasm

• rossi46 on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:08 pm

My guess on why Hyundai topled Toyota in Europe….easy, …Hyundai made good diesel engine, example is their current 2.2 R-series diesel (rave review abound)…and in UK/Euro…diesel are important, where the major sales are diesel…and Toyota and most Japs are way behind in diesel tech…Nissan are doing well due to diesel coming from their parent co (Renault), which have excellent Dci FAP diesels…..to succeed in euro, u need a good diesel

• Rhys Millen on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Rossi,
      Good analysis … infact when Singapore implemented Euro 4 rulings, overnight Japanese taxi’s went out the door .. and in came in all the Korean Diesel engines ..
      Japanese simply do not have diesel technology …

• Someone on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:05 am

You’re mostly right, but not exactly; most Toyota’s in UK have diesel engines, and reports show they’re ok.

• rossi46 on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Toyota D4D or even Honda’s Idtec are not as good as Hyundai Crdi and most euro diesel….Honda is the most pathetic, they only have the 2.2 liter IDTEC which are being used for all the range….from accord, civic,crv,frv…all using same engine….the lack of diesel in their Jazz are really a handicap in europe where other brand supermini have diesel alternative.

• skyer on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:09 pm

the world is changing everyday dear 3rd world mentality people. If you always think about second hand value then your mind is still stucking there in your own world. If you capable enough, just drive whatever you can afford and not what car could lessen your loses. Think what you could use good of it to earn more.

We choose a right ride because we like it (everything) and not because of resale value. thinking of resale value is a painful act and you will think of it every year (5, 7, 9 year) till your hair also becoming white. Why don’t just relax and enjoy your lovely ride??!
    Just my 2 cents. :)

• steve on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Agree 100%. We spend too much money and too much time in our vehicles to buy for someone 5 yrs down the line. I’d hate to buy a car I didn’t like just because it would sell well later. The fact is several korean models are simply better than similarly priced japanese ones, especially here in malaysia. I dread to think what the europeans would make of the Fortuner when they even pour scorn on the much loved (here) Camry. Yet the Santa Fe is generally well received by the media and popular among the masses, far outnumbering any Toyota 4×4 on the roads of the Uk, to my eye at least. Of course after sales service plays its part and it could be one area the koreans still need to work on here.

• Dream On on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:13 pm

I’d rather buy RM81K Forte than the ugly dugong (Vios)! I can always change the Naza badge to KIA badge. Toyota’s quality has gone down.

• I have both Altis and Forte. Both are different breeds in all specs and I love both of them. After 7 years Altis is still going strong and comfy. Forte after 1 year, still sporty and eye catchy. I’m really amazed how advanced the Koreans have to match the Japs and even outdoing the Japs in many aspecs including safety eg my Forte has 6 airbags unlike current new Altis only has 2 airbags at higher price tag. I really hope my Altis had all the advanced features back then at cheaper price tag like Forte when I bought it new. Now, my next hope is it will last as long as my Altis. Fingers crossed!

• Someone on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:07 am

Well this shows not all Toyota buyers are idiots, unlike what some have claimed ;)

• rossi46 on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:59 pm

Forte got 5 years unlimited mileage warranty now in Msia from Naza Kia!!…so no worries bro

• Hyundai on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:30 am

Well, for those who drive a Hyundai car before, they know how good it is just like me. For resell value, it will improve from now on as the demand has gone up.

• even in singapore, borneo motors are giving huge discounts on their toyota models so that the price can be lowered to the level of korean models…otherwise hyundai-kia will overtake them oso.

only in malaysia a toyota can be priced like a conti , spec like a saga and sell like hot cakes. malaysia memang boleh!!

• azrai on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:09 am

The south korea has been attacked by the north yesterday. So for hyundai owner, becareful of shortage of spareparts after this.

• gmorque on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:17 pm

orang malaysia kuar dari perut nampak keta honda & toyota dulu.. dats y dok asyik worship jepun jek.. if kuar perut nampak kereta korea and if malaysia dijajah oleh korea of course malaysia will worship korean cars pulak.. so for now, even how good is the korean cars with good price, still many of malaysia doesn’t even bother to look at it… pity korean cars.. anyway, statistics never lies and show how korean manufacturers really put in effort to improve.

• Kia & Hyundai is sporty and quite good looking,T&H for stupid resale value!