Hyundai Santa Fe and new Avante unwrapped at KLIMS

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has just unwrapped the facelifted Santa Fe SUV and the new Avante at KLIMS 2010. The former was officially launched for the Malaysian market while the C-segment Civic fighter is being previewed ahead of its Malaysian launch, which will be in the third quarter of 2011.

As previously revealed by this site, the lnokom badged CKD Santa Fe has two engine options – a 174 PS/228 Nm 2.4L Theta II engine that replaces the old 2.7L V6 and the R-series CRDi engine with e-VGT, 197 PS and 442 Nm of torque. Both are paired with Hyundai’s in-house six-speed automatic with manual override. Claimed fuel economy for the petrol model is 12.3 km/l and 14.9 km/l for the diesel. The 4WD system is of the torque on demand variety, with a 4WD Lock button.

The equipment list is high. Dual airbags, ESP, Nappa leather seats, built in GPS, reverse camera, Bluetooth/USB/AUX stereo with steering controls, sunroof and smart key with push button start are standard for both variants. As previously announced, the petrol retails for RM158,888 while the diesel is priced at RM169,888. Prices are OTR with insurance and includes Hyundai’s 300,000 km/5-year warranty.

The ‘MD’ series Avante is being shown for the first time in Asia outside of Korea, and you can view and touch it at KLIMS. Will it be worth the wait? Come to PWTC to see for yourselves. HSDM also took the effort to bring in the ix-Metro concept car for some variety. Hyundai’s 606 sqm stand is located at Tun Razak Hall 4.

More pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1772]

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1774]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Duncare on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:30 pm

For me, a test drive of the facelifted Santa Fe with powerful and torquey R-series seems very practical and ticks quite a few boxes of my next-car shopping list. A test drive is definitely necessary before decision making as this would be my first Korean+diesel engine+SUV.

Regardless, the car’s 300,000 km/5-year warranty is mouth-waterly tempting and that shows Hyundai is confident with their products! I like that!

• Ha Gnih on Dec 03, 2010 at 12:40 am

Dude, go go go !! Go test drive the Koreans now. These days, they are REALLY giving the Land Of The Rising Sun a run for their money. With a new, own-developed engine, the Koreans are getting the ticks in alot of my boxes already. Hence the Sonata parked in my garage now. Time for alot of people out there change their mind sets when it comes to the Koreans these days.

• RON97 on Dec 03, 2010 at 10:10 am

I’ve test drive this model before end up with XC90. for that price i can say that it is a good car, very torquey. best choose diesel over petrol. good for young family and don’t buy mini van/mpv. Only queen controlled guy would drive mini van/mpv.

• Duncare on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:24 am

5008 is for my wife and 3 kids lah! It seems that’s the perfect replacement!

Me also very interested in this powerful beast. I think it is value for money for the size/power/fuel consumption/impressive warranty. Korean or whatever country of origin is not really a major concern cause we are living in a globalization era.

On the other hand, me also seduced by the sexy Passat CC. Simply couldn’t get my eyes and mind off that beauty! Practically speaking, I also put in some thoughts on the comfortable Teana 2.5XV…. All different character but all seems fitting my budgets and wants also….. tough call

Anwyay, can’t commit two car loans at once…. Got to do all the test drive first and make a wise decision.

• pug or c4 on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:28 pm

“Only queen controlled guy would drive mini van/mpv”………….what is ur prob?…egoistic chauvinist with too much testosterone in tiny brain of yours located in your pants

• DonkeyKong on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:05 am

Wrong, mini vans and MPVs are for men who have grown up and have different priorities in life. Please return to comment only after you’ve reached puberty. Thanks.

• First Hyundai R engine to arrive in Malaysia… oh Yeah…

• DonkeyKong on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Can’t wait to see the Avante in the flesh! Hope that when it gets launched eventually, its price will be comparable to that of the Forte and the 207 for the 1.6 model.

• Waterbro on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Anyone have dashboard photo, i want to see how they incorporated the GPS, thanks

• bryan jones on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:18 am

dream off donkey. the price wouldn’t be around 70k-95k.. starting I bet at least 90k.

• Sarah Anderson on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:16 pm

Yuck.. I prefer the proton leiku and tuah..
    Gday from Australia~

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 02, 2010 at 5:17 pm

Can’t wait to test out the Avente’s NU 1.8 engine…supposely best in class in terms of fuel economy and power.

• Johan on Dec 02, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Damn, the model in blue-purple gown is hot!. Wonder what’s her name.

• Gavin on Dec 02, 2010 at 7:34 pm

diesel sounds really nice

• Is Hyundai showcasing the Elantra at KLIMS?

• I drove this new Santa Fe 2.4L whilst in the US on holiday. It served me well, covering 2500kms through minus 14C and icy roads and up to 7000 ft elevation, and the six-speeder is great. I can only imagine the CRDi diesel variant. I would love to have one. But I already own the new 2010 Tucson.

• Neutral on Dec 02, 2010 at 10:34 pm

wahhh…admire new Avante very much! superb exterior!

• klguy on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:49 am

by the tim e the avante is launched locally, its gonna look outdated. just like the current avante…..when newly itroduced it looked cool, but when launched here ppl bosan with the design d.

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 03, 2010 at 9:35 am

Woooo….., from the sante fe picture i realize there is two “amature” women stand beside that santa fe. But, did you all realize their height???is taller than the SUV, mean they are easily more than 180cm and above. I like that face and the amature women smile!!!wonder they are from korea or somewhere else…!!Anyhow, the car is so so only,women more attractive me!!

• bro…all car will look outdated one day..

• rossi46 on Dec 03, 2010 at 3:02 pm

the R-series CRDi engine with e-VGT, 197 PS and 442 Nm of torque….and 14.9 km/l for the diesel
    ———————————————————————————————————————

Wow…same fuel consumption with my honda city. And its huge, can carry 7 ppl…..power is more too!, compared to my city 130ps and 140nm

I loike!

• lazyf on Dec 04, 2010 at 7:26 pm

Just came back from KLIMS 2010…
    I love this All New Hyundai Avante/Elantra…very nice!!!

• bryan jones on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:16 am

yes even a bit smaller than the other B-segment. price wise going to be between 90k-110k (i hope)..while the SA mentioned it could be lower than its rival.

• Should be C segment, 2700mm wheelbase, if no mistake. B for accent. vios and city.

• avante!!! on Dec 04, 2010 at 10:25 pm

No GPS, the model displayed is the premium variant, not TOP.

Asked those guy in duty, all say Q3 next year launch, but some say 1.6 & 1.8, some say 1.8 only, some say <80k for 1.6, <90k for 1.8, another one say 100k for 1.8………..

• Avante on Dec 05, 2010 at 5:47 pm

wah! they say everything lah!. Lolz!!

• avante!!! on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:47 am

just heard that avante is open for booking, anyone have any info?

• skyler on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:24 pm

Yeap…avante is open for booking now…I’ve booked mine while visiting the KLIM show

• Santa Fe Fan on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:12 pm

The leather seats are in brown. BROWN.!! What an ugly color for a beautiful SUV. It is a very nice car until someone in Hyundai Sime Darby decided to have BROWN leather seats. Because of the BROWN leather seats, I decided not to place booking for the Santa Fe at KLIMS today.

• Waterbro on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:24 am

alamak, already book one, can anyone furnish the photo for the elather seat? please

• Santa Fe fan on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:33 pm

Just enlarge the photo (the 1 with 2 pretty woman). Check out the seats. They’re brown. The old grandfather furniture (1960s) office chair color. The leather’s good but the color….. Maybe some people will like the color, but not me.

• cari2SUV on Dec 10, 2010 at 4:24 pm

…confirmed already dude…brown color for interior…next year …..don’t be surprise….we will see some of the government enforcement agencies using 2.2 diesel r type engine as an offical fleet cars…….wait and see….

• sANTA fE on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:19 pm

GOT MY CAR

THIS IS AN ELEPHANT THAT RUNS LIKE CHEETAH~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

• me wafiy on Mar 15, 2011 at 10:55 am

…mine still waiting 3 more days to come…..silver 2.2 r type…cannot sabar anymore….my kids keep on asking….