W204 Mercedes-Benz C-Class gets big facelift for 2011

The W204 Mercedes-Benz C-Class facelift comes right on schedule, roughly mid-way through its typical 7 year lifecycle that started in early 2007. Visitors to the 2011 Detroit Auto Show next year will be able to catch the new W204 facelift for the first time in metal at the show grounds but for the rest of us, these photos will have to be suffice until Mercedes-Benz Malaysia launches the update.

The front end features an updated design including restyled headlamps, hood, and bumpers. The front end looks quite aggressive especially in the darker colours as a large amount of the front bumper has been dedicated to air intake grilles, which seem bigger vertically now as well.

The headlamps are not merely changes on the internal design – the whole shape is different and they’re now an L shape similar to those found on the SL-Class. Revisions on the tail end are not as drastic as before, but the tail lamps do get a new design and LED illumination to match the LED daytime running lights up front.

Top: new interior, Bottom: pre-facelift interior

The interior is completely different – the new C-Class gets a new dashboard that mimics that found in the W212 E-Class. The area that contains the COMAND screen now appears as an extension of the instrument cluster area, which is a very big change from the previous COMAND screen hidden behind an opening.

The multi-info display screen in the middle of the speedo is now of a higher resolution and features colour. Various buttons have also been rearranged and I’m liking the look of the new interior so far from the photos at least, much better than the pre-facelift.

There’s also much more area on the dash that Mercedes-Benz has now dedicated to showing off trim pieces, compared to the pre-facelift design which was quite bare especially in front of the passenger seat.

Look after the jump for a full hi-res gallery of the W204 facelift.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1823]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• l3ryan on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:34 am

i like this!
    another great facelift from MB :)

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:37 am

good job on the interior

• Getting the E-Class looking

• Alpha on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:45 am

seriously very W212-ish!!

• Ezalian on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:48 am

Nice~~ That looks more handsome.. I like the headlights.

• mystvearn on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:50 am

SL lights are ungly on this car. SL in a whole is ugly. Current lights are better looking

• squawk on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:52 am

I also agree about the lights. Current ones are better. The new ones definitely look fugly on this car. I’m liking the new dash. Much sleeker look.

But if MB call this a facelift then T can call theirs ‘full model change’. :-)

• speedyjack on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:51 am

the headlight looks like skoda octavia

• the interior must be taken from the E-Class coupe?

• skiborne on Dec 24, 2010 at 1:13 am

theres a manual! first time since long time ago!

• alldisc on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:14 am

it is not surprising!
      almost every car outside malaysia has a manual version of it in many other markets. europeans prefer manual tranny a lot, even though the traffic jams in paris and london are even worse than KL.
      it just make sense for any manufcaturer to offer manual and auto tranny to cater different market.

• skiborne on Dec 25, 2010 at 12:54 pm

not in the case of MB. MB had long time never come out cars with manual. but other carmakers do.

• superleggera on Dec 24, 2010 at 1:22 am

3-series and A4 are still look better than this..

• losantara on Dec 24, 2010 at 1:24 am

wah really very sexy !
    Correct me if i am wrong…….. for the currect new C Class….
    – the first oil change (yah oil change only and nothing else) at 12,000 km cost RM 1000
    – each tyre is approx RM 800 !!
    – A pair of brake pads is another RM 800 !!

• busybody on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:49 am

basically anyone own that afford merc wont bother much on the servicing, unless major change..

anything that goes less than 5k per/service is consider common

• losantara on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:46 am

Haha you really think most of the C class owners never bother about the maintenance ? So far all the NEW C class owners I know has struggled between the C and the Accord/Camry 2.4/Used E/Used 5 series before they make up their mind.

Exclude the C 250 CGI and C 230. Most of the C 180 / C 200 owners I know off JUST CARE ABOUT THE 3 POINT STAR for purchasing the car. Tell me whats the handling of this car at 160 km/H ?

Sorry C class owners, you have not seen how I bash Proton users !!

• merc handling much better than lotus ride and handling la
          haha in your dream!

• Calvin on Dec 25, 2010 at 3:45 pm

The handling is so much better than a Proton. Not to rebuke your comment, but although I don’t own a C-class myself, I’ve sat in quite a few, including the C180 & C200. Ride stability is comparable to the Camry, but what do you expect from a car which is lighter & smaller than a Camry? Think a bit before you blindly bash around.

• JonLing on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:15 am

Yes, you might be right, and I know it’s not cheap to maintain any MB car. But I don’t think anyone who goes for this car care that much. They have the money anyway, and this car really has class.

Can’t afford it now, but if I really can afford an MB car (and maintain it well), I think this would be the one I would go for. It’s way better looking than the pre-facelift ones, though pre-facelifts ones are no bad looking either.

Just one question: when will MB Malaysia bring in this car, since they have just launched C300 sedan and estate of the current pre-facelift model??

• really?
      but already expected..
      want to be the best, have to drive the best (quote taken from movie cant recall)
      when u afford to purchase premium brands, dont think abt the maintenance..
      in reality, i still believe the more expensive the car, the more expensive the maintenance..
      no such thing the cheaper maintenance..
      wth the terengganu’s exco want to sit in an e class..

• rally_fan on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:38 am

its interesting to note just how much the merc interior looks like bmw today.

• Ze Ber on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:19 am

Hmmm, got a fren with an old W124…..and he has managed to keep it in good condition without the so-called “expensive” maintenance Mercs are know for.

RM 800 for a tyre…….i think those are RFTs which are not really necessarily. Tyre prices for the same size varies according to brand n model.

• Jimmy on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:56 am

There are a lot of people enjoying Merc for free, plus the free maintainence. The money is not from them. Neither from their fathers.
      It is from the BANK, the interest from their saving accounts.
      They don’t have to touch the money from their companies.

• Just sent my w204 for first servicing at an authorised dealer, cost abt RM800. That’s reasonable la for 12k intervals.
      The new facelifted headlights are UGLY!! Square and curves just don’t blend well.

• Yeah, wait till you go for the second service. It will definitely be more than one grand. I kena already.

• About the tyres – yes, it cost me RM 880 each to change the front Michelin tyres when I sent my C-Class to Cycle&Carriage JB.

Then I found a workshop at Taman Perling JB who charged me RM 570 each for the same Michelin tyres which I then replaced for my rear tyres. They are new, authentic Micheline tyres. Amazing how Cycle&Carriage extort your money away on car maintenance and consumables.

• I LOVE MB!!!!! And also BMW and Audi

• Kevin Lee on Dec 24, 2010 at 2:41 am

dude, u know, 12k oil change interval compared to usual 5k that u pay about rm300-rm400 for a japanese car SC?

also tyres, are dependent, if u want michelin, u pay that much, if u want cheap, u can pay cheap. the original michelin primacy is made in france, hence the price, else just get cheaper brand model

brake pads is expensive because they are high performance and the new brakes are from the S class system, hence brakes very quickly, so u know

• the juke on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:05 am

this is what we called facelifts

• alldisc on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:15 am

wah, this is not a facelift anymore, this is already called major revamp!

• Wisdom on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:48 am

The headlamps looks a bit ah beng…. plus DRL even more ah beng. The logo on the sedan version is too large…

Nice interior though…

• bobby on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:40 am

This is no facelift, this is like a new model coming out from the factory.

For the headlight alone, MB will need to change all the machinery and assembly process. Not regard on the different material procurement etc.

The price for this car will be increase quite a significant margin.

• Jimmy on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:44 am

Much nicer.
    Other companies who want to do facelifts should do it properly like this, not like the Toyota especially.

• toyuta on Dec 24, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Most of Toyota car is already very nice, do not need much of facelifts. MB is ugly so need lots of touch-up.

• Diablo on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:28 pm

The current C class didn’t look too bad to be honest and when I drove it 3 years ago, the handling was certainly a delight which I did not expect from a Benz. Then the family bought a C230 AV over a year ago which was rather exciting but then.. hmmm.. apart from the pleasant looks, it wasn’t a very comfortable to sit in especially long distance. A little disappointed with the seats etc. Also, a family friend who didn’t know better thought it was a Toyota or Honda until he saw the 3 pointed star *roll eyes*
    Certainly did not feel like the Mercs of old and if you deleted the badges, it could be anything, even a Jap.

However the 2.5 V6 engine and 7spd tranny is a gem I must say. Super smooth. That I like. Too bad Merc decided to replace it now with the 4-banger turboed CGI.

• Su ber on Dec 28, 2010 at 11:26 am

I drove the old c, maybe year 2000 or so n it was really nice at highway speeds. It wasn’t very smooth in the city. I did not like the seats either but now that I am heavier, maybe there would be some improvement.

I suspect the tyres of the new C is too low profile for our uneven roads. Tyre pressure also important.

Changing to 16″ or even 15″ would make it less hard.

The Camry no matter how silent it may be, has a floaty feel when it hits the higher speeds.

• in the 1st pic, the headlights look like from e90 IMO.

anyway, good job from MB. this is a good proper facelift….not like ” all new” toyota avanza/rush or p2 myvi/viva. p2 would have called a change like this 3rd generation myvi.

• JustUpgrade on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:41 pm

Felt like 3Series looks better now..

• Franco Baresi on Dec 24, 2010 at 1:21 pm

everythg about it simply oozes confidence

• Haha what is this?

MB no one’s going to blame you if you make a last minute decision to ditch the facelift, especially the headlights.

• torres on Dec 24, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Looking at the interior, the aircond vent like BMW 5series and the speedometer like MAZDA.But still looks good on his own.I like the HEADLAMPS design but doesn’t suits the car body.Abit off!!………..still like the current one.

• Kanda on Dec 24, 2010 at 7:42 pm

The old headlamps are better,
    Agressive looking and nice rims,
    Nice facelift,
    Kudos MB, as always.

• pultat on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Another model jumps on the Audi’sh DRL bandwagon….

• Nice,we should accepting new!some ppl say old one is better but out of date and we r not staying at 90’s and 00’s!

• toyuta on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Good try MB, but still ugly as ever, I will put my money on Lexus IS anyday over this expensive and only 1.8 liter engine car.

• YangYang85 on Jan 06, 2011 at 3:05 pm

As far as I know, your Lexus IS250’s 2.5V6 is not as quick as MB’s “only” 1.8 L engine boh.
      And Exterior wise, I agree that Lexus IS is better looking especially the latest facelift version, but I reckon MB is still more prestigious brand over Lexus ^^

• zerouzer on Dec 25, 2010 at 12:02 am

hope that MB will bring in their diesel lineup next year

• Steering design much improved over that old playstation one.

But still, it’s a mistress car.

• Really nice major ‘facelift’ from MB… The Japs shud learn how to ‘facelift’ from the big boys….

• Lexus IS 2.3

0-62mph
    8.9~9 seconds

Maximum Speed
    135 mph

Mercedes C 1.8

0 – 62 mph
    9 seconds

Maximum Speed
    140 mph

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 26, 2010 at 10:42 am

love the estate! now does it come with an AMG v8?! LOL

• Fatty on Dec 28, 2010 at 11:35 am

This is a very nice “small” car.

German quality is quite good but no idea whether assembly here is just as good as elsewhere.

Don’t know why they choose such low profile tyres, as if they are unaware that our roads can be rough n filled with unexpected craters.

• Its quite a rare sight to see a Facelift with major interior changes..
    Interior Colour is beautiful, but this all perceives through the right atmospheric lighting. Whilst living in Germany, i bought the W211 E230 with this toffee/buttermilk interior, absolutely beautiful in the brochure, and pleasantly eye-catching and soothing in real life (under the german atmospheric hues)

When i brought back the car to Malaysia, I wanted to litterally paint the interior black. The penetrating light, the variation from dull-gray atmosphere and the scorching yellow made the interior looked so off. It had never looked so bad.

• YangYang85 on Jan 06, 2011 at 3:13 pm

CANT WAIT to see how BMW new 3 series F30 would look like to compete with this facelift C Class w204, hehe

• PaulS on Jan 17, 2011 at 7:29 pm

From what i heard from a local Mercedes sales advisor is that the facelift photos we are seeing now is only for the US market and the facelift model here involves only accessories..anyone can comment?

• I take delivery of mine in the UK in April :-)

7 speed Auto as standard.

• Eevolution3 on Feb 26, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Hmmm,

Interior is a good leap ahead.. Looks good.

Exterior? Front now looking like Nissan Fuga?? Haha…OMG Fu** Ugly?

Google Nissan Fuga and you will know what i mean…a direct copy.

What was wrong wit the current design headlights anyway? Always tot it was beautiful

• Stephanie Low on Jun 15, 2011 at 3:56 pm

I would like to know when this new C250 MB facelift will be launched?and when can i see the car in the showroom?