Auto Guangzhou: Domestic carmakers have SUV envy

China loves SUVs, and that segment is the fastest growing of all, recording a 82.94% increase in Jan-Oct 2010 compared to the same period a year ago. The SUV market now accounts for nearly 10% of total passenger car volume, according to reports, and is still on the rise.

The Audi Q7 is out of stock, Shanghai VW is selling 10,000 units of the Tiguan per month, demand outstrips supply for Dongfeng Honda’s CR-V and models such as the Mercedes-Benz GLK, BMW X5, Nissan Qashqai, Toyota Highlander and Renault Koleos are enjoying brisk sales. So it’s no wonder that local carmakers want a bite of the pie.

The “Porsche Cayenne” you see above is from an automaker called Hawtai, not to be confused by local biscuit company Hwa Tai. While it borrows cues from the big Porsche and a front grille design from Jaguar, the B35 sits on the previous gen Hyundai Santa Fe’s platform (Hawtai used to have a JV with Hyundai). Diesel engines developed by Italy’s VM Motori will power the B35, which will also have ZF gearboxes. It will be launched next year.

The gold one is already on sale. Clearly a previous gen Kia Sorento with an Audi inspired nose, the G3 is made by Gonow, which is a now subsidiary of GAC. State owned GAC is also the owner of the Changfeng brand. The G3 is powered by a Mitsubishi sourced SOHC 2.0L engine with 120 hp and 170 Nm. A manual gearbox send power to the rear wheels.

Take a closer look after the jump.

Hawtai B35
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1833]
GAC Gonow G3
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1832]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jack of all trades, master of none.

• Peter on Dec 29, 2010 at 10:15 pm

At least they are better than any malaysia companies . Which Malaysia companies can produce so many variants of cars than them?. I am NOT talking about CKD or CBU . Purely design , engineered and production done totally by Malaysian own pure input ( not copy cat too ) .

Proton needs Lotus and Mitsubishi , Perodua needs Toyota and Dahaitsu > Answer : NO Malaysia companies capable yet .

I have have these imprssion abouit Malaysian people selling Malaysian make or assemble products giving 3 stars quality but asking for 5 stars price ( overprice and not worth ) unlike Europeans , Korean and japanese whereby they really produce 5 stars quality and charging 5 stars ( value for monies ) .

At least China is more sensible , they produce 3 stars quality but also charging 2 to 3 stars price ( more sensible pricing ) .

Malaysian is more like Jack of all trades but master of none more profoundly as compare to them.

• halo bro…x yah duk bandingkan malaysia & china lah…macam nk bandingkan semut n gajah. market kita kecik, tp apa kejadahnya market china yg besar tu pun nk buat “crappy cars”? cuba ko bandingkan china & korea, itu baru adil aku rasa….klu kereta korea boleh berubah lebih baik skg, napa tidak china yg ko ckp ada ‘tech’ yg gempak tu? pikir2 lah….

• Peter on Dec 30, 2010 at 3:17 am

At least they are better than any locally owned malaysian companies . Which locally owned Malaysian companies can produce so many variants of cars than them?. I am NOT talking about CKD or CBU . Purely design , engineered and production done totally by Malaysian own pure input ( not copy cat too ) .

Proton need and copy Lotus and Mitsubishi , Perodua need and copy Toyota and Dahaitsu > Answer : NO Malaysia companies are capable yet .

I have have these impression about Malaysian people selling Malaysian make or assemble products giving 3 stars quality but asking for 5 stars price ( overprice and not worth at all) .Unlike the Europeans , Korean and japanese whereby they really produce 5 stars quality products and charging 5 stars ( value for monies ) .

At least China is more sensible , they produce 3 stars quality products but also charging 2 to 3 stars price ( more sensible pricing ) .

Any angle we look at China is overall better in creating marketable products than Malaysia.

• mutings on Dec 30, 2010 at 9:14 am

but then we have this thing about dubious quality of China-made products, which kind of suggests the price that it comes with. perhaps they will come good in the QC department soon, but in the mean time, their product still does not inspire confidence that it will last a long time. Malaysian companies, for all their ciplak-ing, might have a very good reason to do so. we get to learn how to build quality products like all these already-established brands and (hopefully) will be able to do so on our own once we decided that we can already stand on our own two feet. it’s like weening off a baby from breast milk – they are tiny steps that leads to better things.

brimming with lots of ‘semangat kenegaraan’ here this morning for our team has won the AFF cup. Malaysia boleh!

• JaguarXJ on Dec 29, 2010 at 10:36 am

W t f.china can copy anything ._.

• blabla on Dec 29, 2010 at 10:42 am

‘not to be confused by local biscuit company Hwa Tai’
    maybe it will break like a Hwa Tai biscuit

• jay8393 on Dec 29, 2010 at 10:43 am

The Hawtai B35 shows what will happen when you take a Porsche Cayenne’s body and stitch the Audi Q7 front-end to it.

• both suv are so ugly..Please don’t come to Malaysia..

• ericmaxman on Dec 29, 2010 at 11:08 am

look sure copy. then crash test, i cant wait. every time a chinese car goes through a crash test , sure it will be amusement

• Why couldn’t they stop copying other ? Really sick of these nerd company that keep copying, and last thing I hope, never ever come to Malaysia please, stay at your China and thats enough.

• HazOne on Dec 29, 2010 at 11:23 am

Automotive world will be dominated by the China car manufacturers and every single car manufacturer in China has shown how innovative they are in combining design of two different cars from two different companies and turn them as a very “SUPER UNIQUE” car. Honda, Proton, Toyota, Mini, Porsche, Kia, Hyundai and other giant car manufacturers have inspired these China car manufactures in every single design. I hope those cars will only be selling for a China domestic market because those cars have no originality and we could see that there is no effort put by these China car manufacturers to have their own homegrown designs. Before this we have seen China provided alternatives to those who can’t afford to buy original I-pod, I-phone, LCD TV, mobile phone and other original expensive brands by making the same products with almost the same designs under their own brands which can only last for less than a year or two. Now they have turned this effort to automotive industry……. Please dont’t bring those cars to Malaysia…….

• Schnider on Dec 29, 2010 at 11:32 am

please don let these low quality creature come to malaysia….Please

• Schnider on Dec 29, 2010 at 11:33 am

please don let these low quality creature come to malaysia!!!!please

• frossonice on Dec 29, 2010 at 11:41 am

Okay, how many automobile brands there are in China? It is like early 20th century all over again.

• mfahd_88 on Dec 29, 2010 at 11:47 am

haw tai?
    sounds like malaysian biscuit company,hwa tai lol
    n when i saw the 1st picture of the suv car in this artcile,
    i thought it is a cayenne!
    damn!my eyes did tricked on me!
    -_-‘

• JeffLim on Dec 29, 2010 at 11:47 am

The Hawtai is a Ba$tard child of “Porsche Cayenne” and 2000 Jaguar S-type… The other car is a COPY of Kia Sorento…

• fcukers on Dec 29, 2010 at 12:02 pm

You’d be surprised. Go and have a look, tour the plant if you have the chance. The machines and technology is beyond belief.
    I used to have this impression of the China, cheap and no good, but damn, they’re really really good. Just that they have this approach, what quality you want? Most of us would fall in the “cheapest” range, so that is what we get, cheap, substandard products.
    If you’re willing to pay, some products (machines) are way way better than europeans.
    Just look at their public transport, although they drive like idiots on the road, but the railroads are really ok.

• Civa_kumaringam on Dec 29, 2010 at 1:04 pm

I couldn’t agree more, just look at their satellites and rockets!! They r very capable n real smart at the same time. IF they really want to design their own car / engines surely they can do it with flying color yo!

• also their bullet train which is the fastest commercial bullet train in the world at over 450 km/h speed

• Both of thems izit based on hyundai or kia sorento platform? copy and paste again.

• aki_zz on Dec 29, 2010 at 12:08 pm

2.0 liter with 120bhp? wow!

• Type F on Dec 29, 2010 at 12:23 pm

Please dont bring these biscuits in Malaysia..
    We have enough hwa tai inventory already:)

• Sabahan1M on Dec 29, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Really copy & paste car. Soon or later. China wannabe Ferrari, Lambo will produce .

• drMpower on Dec 29, 2010 at 12:49 pm

there is someone saying about the ‘might of china’ to become the greatest power in automobile
    the writer also mentioned about who are we to kid ourselves and told us to accept that the mainland is to be capital of motors of the world
    then he/she cited the korean makers that no people were to be bothered only for the kias and hyundais overtook some of the established names

i think the writer is a caveman/woman with a broadband connection

bet he/she still think the 240 wagon is the most classiest motorcar in the world. and that Lotus is somekind of a vegetable.

now i tell u
    the ‘might of china’ lies in the buying power
    money
    no one is interested in educating the chinese to build a proper vehicle
    let alone giving them the knowhows to manufacture something worth to be bothered at

these companies, outside companies from Berlin/ Detroit/ Nortfolk/ Stuttgart etc are interested in selling cars
    and making money
    lots of money
    the days when bankrupt is everydays word china gives them great solution
    but china is clever

they got this ruling about the manufacturers have to share something with them
    but what chance do they have
    when u see that cayenne?

i rather ride a pokeman to the shops.

• takeo1070 on Dec 29, 2010 at 1:28 pm

guys, like it or not, with china products, the world inflation stays at the minimal level….without them, am sure those so called world class mfr will simply price their product astronomically. look at what happen to Home appliances product i.e dvd player, LCD..etc….even crammed with latest tech, its still affordable to the massses.

• Hatwai B35 is a Porsche Cayenne rip-off.

• Sruban99 on Dec 29, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Basically…they should just stick to copy those electronic appliances …but .they should not mess with cars as the usage risk will surely increase in accidents due to unsuitable chasis which cause major imbalance in stability in the long run…..they might have the technology but surely lack in quality creations….i just hope they don’t come up with ferrari ,lambo , porshe mixup…..who am i kidding ..of course they will!

• shawal on Dec 29, 2010 at 3:35 pm

I wonder what goes through the designer’s mind, tarak tau malu ka……

• Rockmebaby on Dec 29, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Warning to Proton Juara Kampung:
    The China carmakers already started selling SUV & our friend at Proton is maybe just sketching one on their expensive PC.
    The China carmaker is going through a rapid learning curve & they’re bloody bold & fearless. FYI, the chinese already pretty good in computer graphic & CAD skill than most part of the world. It’s just a matter of time when they have their own Designer Sifu & master.
    We can all laugh at them now but as somebody mentioned here, most Chinese carmaker import the latest production robot, tools & software from the European & American. They can offer u any level of product quality. Just make sure you to pay more for top quality stuff. Remember this, your bloody iPhone 4 & iPad are done by chinese peasants. Not a bloke from US or Europe….

• drMpower on Dec 29, 2010 at 11:12 pm

oh no please
      i had this horrible vision
      about iphone or ipad
      to be design, tested, and manufactured by the chinese

….

ooh! i just remembered
      those design and testings
      are made by steve jobs people
      in the great united states of america!

oh my oh my
      bloody hell

this is a great secret
      stevie jobby told me not long ago
      the peasants in china asked for 1 pence a month
      no wonder china makes all the things
      NOW

• comp_kia on Dec 30, 2010 at 2:41 pm

You folks may laugh all you want but looking from a higher level scheme of things, the china will be next the super house or should i correct, it’s already on it’s way there.

The china company like some mention here are cash rich. I won’t be surprise one day, they might even buy over Ferrari or VW.

Jap car used to be laugh at during the 80’s by the westerners. Koreans car were a joke in the 90’s. Now who had the last laugh….the koreans are already winning the westerners heart while the jap are going backward instead.

So, now, we may laugh at China but seriously, in 5 years time, Malaysia will still be a joke with the stupid proton.

• ezracopters on Dec 31, 2010 at 1:44 pm

1. It’s true, base on recent progress. China will become the biggest economic powerhouse.

2. China also had a potential to become world largest automotive developer.

3. Those HW SUVs really “not pretty” and disgrace (as for now la, kan dtg tak tau lg)

4. Malaysia’s own Proton had it’s dark days and gotta a big plan ahead. Judging from it, the future seem to be rosy. they now realize if u cant fight it, then join it. Hence the China JV and the prospect entering India’s market. Plus the Lotus factor might given em as parent company a gud vibe in a future.

5. With 1.3 billion citizen, China should be ashamed to only come up with this. Even if 100 million people there were well educated and wealth, its only 7.7% of China’s population. The rest are remaind unknowned.. hehe. But, those 100mil people still had a huge purchasing power & demand. that’s why everyone goes to China. BTW, did u guys ever used public bathroom in China??? poop on the floor and even sink, yuck!!!

6. 1.2l SUV, 120hp and made in Japan engine, not impressive enough.

7. really don’t want to see this thing on Malaysian road. Please don’t!!!!

8. Japan once used to be world greatest imitator, took em’ almost 40 years from WWII to learn and evolve..and then walla they come up with their own originality. Whilst Thailand also used to be know as world greatest and biggest imitation product market from electronic appliances, fabrics, automotive spare part etc.. where are they now???? still no where hahaha (except for those infamous ‘lady-liquid’ product, and Japan’s auto hub which also happened to be 3rd largest asian auto hub). They learn but never evolve and lead. China should learn from this if they don’t wanna stuck as today. But judging from Chinese (not Malaysian one) buying mentality, they seem to be don’t care or don’t mind.

9. Again, we can’t fight China. We just need to be truly and deeply careful in picking up China product into our life. Not all of em are bad. Give em a chance i said, but as for now..beg u the power that be do not let this China limp bizkit outo industries come here!!

• ezracopters on Dec 31, 2010 at 1:48 pm

#correction

6. 2.0l SUV, 120hp and made in Japan engine, not impressive enough.