Volvo Car Malaysia hoping to get you hopping with joy

Now, if you’ve been eyeing getting yourself a Swede ride this year, well, Volvo Car Malaysia is ushering in the lunar new year with some festive deals involving rather attractive monthly repayments, ones that’ll have you beaming like Thumper, what with the Year of the Rabbit just around the corner.

Until March 31, it’s all syrupy where the S40 2.0 Powershift, V50 2.0 Powershift and the S80 2.5 Turbo is concerned, with the deals – which are available through all Volvo dealerships – bagging monthly installments starting as low as RM1,690 for the S40, RM1,897 for the V50 and as RM2,830 for the top-of-the-range S80. So, doe hop along to check out these meaty bunnies at the rabbitry.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Tyler Durden on Jan 24, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Looks interesting…

• Steven on Jan 26, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Volvo S40 is a rebadged Ford Focus. It is stupid to buy a Volvo and pay a bomb in maintenance cost when you can just go to Auto Connexion and buy the same car, albeit a different name but at only RM110,000.

Volvo parts are super expensive, just like Alfa Romeo. Why nobody buys Volvo anymore is because the maintenance will kill you. Ask any ex-Volvo owner out there.

• Lim Choon Bing on Jan 24, 2011 at 3:33 pm

I would never want to own a China owned company car. Volvo has become like Hummer, nobody wants it because of the “china” stigma.

Previously, Volvo had one of the worst resale values in Malaysia, now its going to get worse with this China image.

People may rebut by saying quality control is maintained etc but lets face it lah, China don’t buy business for fun, they are probably already trying to maximise profit as we speak.

Volvo and those things you buy from Alibaba.com are now more or less in the same category lah.

• my dear fren… u were saying china are alibaba & maximise profit…??? U R WRONG…. TOYOTA, HONDA and even PROTON in MALAYSIA are WORST!!!!
      Inspira for 90k++ ??? who is da bigger $ sucker ???

• khor chong on Jan 24, 2011 at 4:31 pm

This promotion is because nobody is buying Volvo anymore. The name of Volvo was slowing dying in Malaysia. But when China bought the company, it was the last straw to many.

Now Volvo is like Fiat, Alfa Romeo, Saab etc in Malaysia. It really only exist in name albeit the scattered few showroooms here and there.

• Malik on Jan 25, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Khor chong,

What about the current promotion from Toyota, Nissan, Honda & Mitsubishi now ?

Meaning nobody buying them also . I think these 4 Japanese makes are also desperate to get sales too as nobody is buying any cars from now and chinese new year too.

So it is utterly very STUPID and Naive to make such statement. You seems to be uneducated person.

Even BMW, Mercedes and VW is also having lots of promotions before VOLVO to get more sales.

• English Teacher on Jan 25, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Mr Malik, you call people uneducated, but look at your English, its so hard to comprehend.

Every paragraph got some error.

“You seems to be uneducated person,” should be read as “You seem to be an uneducated person,”

The last paragraph also so hard to comprehend.

• english teacher 2 on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:00 am

You got that right! Next time correct yourself first then comment. Well, maybe it’s just who you are. if you know what I mean. standard

• Risty on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:54 am

Khor chong,

It is no point realising your frustration over Malik , To me the english is fine except some typo error.

There is saying if you cannot win them , but at least join them .

All the points Malik had commented does make sense in response to your advertisement comments .

Most car companies whether selling premium or non premium products does need advertisement or promotions in a way to get sales moving or achieve sales target .

It is not that Japanese cars are better and if you think that japanese cars are better why are they spending so much money on promotions and advertisement as compare to others?

I hope this answer to your prevoius comment

• Good deal on Volvo’s car. No doubt about its finishing and performance. However, the after sales service is killing you!..
    After take over from Chinese company, hope that they can have cheaper parts but without taking away its quality!..

The V50 is worthy and so is the S80, which is affordable..

• mikey on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:29 pm

anyone know what is the t&c? 9 years loan? and how much downpayment require?

• 1) I have no qualms about being China owned or made. Heck, might be even better than Proton. There’s much more competition in China and so they’re bucking up. Wouldn’t you say 90% of the household electronics, your mobile phone etc is made in China?

2) Volvo showrooms look nice and classy though. That said, why does Volvo, BMW and Audi have such low resale value compared to Japanese makes? Is it the high cost of maintenance and reliability issues?

• Annoy-nimous on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:26 pm

True, aftersales, service and maintenance parts are killing sales of this brand in Malaysia. The dealers and volvo should’ve known this by now but still they are not admitting it. Hope that the association with China will help reduce the manufacturing cost of parts and lower the spare part cost. Otherwise, there wont be anymore volvos in malaysia.
    Also, unlike other brands, the aftermarket products for volvo is very rare in malaysia, which also hinders young (<40yrs old) buyers from thinking about buying a volvo. The majority of those who are interested are probabably volvo owners oredy. Plus, although the current generation of volvo cars drives better than the previous ones, they still get bad reviews as far as how the car drives and handles is concerned. Trust me, while safety is a good selling point, its sportiness and fun that sell cars, at least it still is in these parts of the world. Over here, people compare cars and still Ive heard a guy comparing S40/S60 to a Civic or an Accord or an Altis or a Camry… which is a shame bcoz the S40 is a very good car and offers a lot more. Some might even suggest that getting a 2nd hand BMW or Merc is better than getting a new volvo. I dunno… sigh…

• torres on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:11 pm

I never heard volvo compared wit civic or camry.Volvo is sitting in the middle of JAPS car and EURO car such as BMW or merc etc.

• esther on Jan 25, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Spot on.

Honda and Toyota badge is very MUCH LOWER DOWN the rank of a Volvo badge.

These 2 Japanese makes IS NEVER A PREMIUM CARS CATEGORY in comparing to any Volvo.

For your info, Nowadays people <40 yrs are no longer the same as yesterday people of <40 years . The purchasing power of yesterday young people <40 years are much higher and greater than today people <40 years .

Nowadays . Young people <40 years if they are quite comfortable or manageable with their income will settle for either a Honda Civic or Toyota Corolla whereby the price are about RM 120k which is saving of RM 60K ( for not buying a S40) , These young people wants an S40 but they know they will never be able to maintain and afford an S40 .

Even company tax bracket of RM 150K, Company will provide car like a 2 Litre Camry or Accord cos these 2 cars will cost less than RM150k each. Not because Camry or Accord are good choice , but the tax bracket put them up in choice for company purchase.

I have some friends owning an Accord and Camry but they said given them a better choice , they will rather settle for a European car like Volvo and Mercedes . Reason, Volvo and Mercedes Car structure is sturdy and strong . Accord and Camry somehow the body structure is weaker , flimsy and give them less confident when driving over long distance. Resale value is not important but safety and comfort is their main priority .

• Shanti on Jan 26, 2011 at 8:58 am

I used to think Volvo is luxury cause when I was young, sitting at the back seat of our car, whenever our papa pass a Volvo, he will tell us how strong this European car is and how expensive it was.

But when I went to Britain to study, I realised in England, Volvo is just a normal car. It is lay man’s car. Amazing how silly we Malaysians are. Heck, I even thought Peugeot was a luxury car when I was growing up. Now I realise, its nothing worldwide.
          Volvo and VW in Malaysia is overpriced, so, people think its high class. Globally, Volvo and VW are like Proton in Malaysia.

• risty on Jan 26, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Shanti,

Please do not waste your time down here

Go buy a Proton or Perodua , then you know the quality of these cars compare to a VW or a VOLVO or BMW

• John C. Keller on Jan 27, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Risty, u juz plainly don’t understand what Shanti’s trying to say.

• Mrs. Itu Ini on Apr 24, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Spot on .. car price in Malaysia is way too expensive because of the AP! Cars in the states is way too cheap. My husband’s nephew and niece are driving Jetta (VW)the car I cant even afford to pay

• English Teacher on Jan 25, 2011 at 11:55 pm

In Europe, Volvo is not even a luxury car. So, its not sitting anywhere in between japs and BMW. Infact, Volvo’s status is similiar to Ford, Renault and Citroen. I lived in UK 10 years, so I know.

Only very sad people in Malaysia equate Volvo to Mercedes and BMW. In Europe, Honda ranks far higher than Volvo. I hope people don’t talk rots. Speak to people who have worked and stayed in Europe instead of reading Autocar and trying to bull here.

• Risty on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:44 am

English Teacher

We are talking about Malaysia market here and most comment is coming from Malaysian.

I do not know if you are talking crap or not But as far as In Europe and UK is concerned , Honda is perceive as a Bread and Butter car without any premium badging same goes in Malaysia.

That why honda had to rebadge themselve to Acura in order to stay same par with Volvo. In order word Honda is not premium badge but same ranking and comparison to a FORD , Vauxhall , Morris , Toyota , Nissan

Always when it come to comparison Volvo is always compare with BMW, AUDI , Mercedes but never compare with a Toyota or Honda , simply because HONDA is NOT IN SAME league as compare to the group of 4 .

To the many , Honda is Crappy car without any feeling towards ownership . It is not a collector item or something we intend to keep long .We just want to use a Honda today and throw the crappy Honda away tommorrow.

I was wonder are you really a european english teacher or an asian english teacher with much frustration staying in europe .

• English Teacher on Jan 26, 2011 at 6:46 am

Risty,

Again, another with English problem. “I was wonder,”?

Ask any fellow motoring journalist including Jeremy Clarkson and he will reaffirm what I said. In Europe, Honda ranks higher than Volvo.

Your statement that Honda is Bread and Butter is utter rubbish.

Like I said, please don’t talk rots based on your limited knowledge. It is rather obvious you have not even travelled anywhere outside of Malaysia. Typical Malaysian, grew up thinking Volvo is a prestige car because when you were a young boy, that was the only continental car you were exposed to in Malaysia

Have you ever been overseas?

• english teacher, please dont show off ur english here, this is not school or ur english class OK. perasan

• Marcus Osborne on Nov 05, 2012 at 4:09 pm

In Europe a volvo is treated with respect and can compete with audi and other top end brands. in malaysia the reputation is one of poor and expensive after sales despite the millions of RM they spend on ads and commercials telling us how naughty the cars are. Until volvo starts to listen to consumers it will be tough to succeed in malaysia with their present ‘strategy’ of meaningless tactics.

• risty on Jan 26, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Again so call english teacher,

I should call you are a ridiculous dude and i hope you are a sound so call frustrated english teacher .

You contradict to a lot things that you mentuoned

firstly , not to listen to autocar

secondly , you put jeremy clarkson in the picture once again ( Top gear )

Whatever you choose to say ,

Autocar rank Volvo high that Honda

Always compare Volvo to german premium makes >

Honda is still a bread and buttre rubbish car .

If i were you as an english person , i were be shy to learn that the whole UK car manufacturing industries in is totally vanished

I do not see any pride owning a roll royce , jaguar , Bentley .

Bentley currently owned by VW group
          Jaguar currently owned by TATA
          Roll Royce currently owned by BMW

So where is the English pride ?????

At least Volvo is a premium manufacturer now
          Honda is still not a Premium manufacturere yet, Honda produces car from bread and butter level until acura .

Honda is like mixing everything and never is rank higher than a Volvo .

You are insane that Honda rank higher than a Volvo !!!

• Dr Zulkifly TJ on Jan 27, 2011 at 9:30 am

What bad English. This is why our nation is going down hill. I have been following this arguement, what makes you think English Teacher is an English person?

And what are you talking about English pride?

• overman on Jan 24, 2011 at 10:42 pm

in the 90s the Volvo 850 is like a defacto company car for many companies, and their T model even a wagon giving a very good performance.

• own a SXX volvo at early age of 20..now almost 4 years driving this 10yrs old car. a good bargain for price, maintenance, power n luxury..hey man, getting aeound 200k of car wit 5 years old tag for below 100k..it worth…agree resale value is low… a good buy for rich people, me only aford to get a second hand only..

love a volvo since then

• repair cost hasn’t killed you yet?

• venven81 on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:08 am

Lucky you bro. My cousin bought a used S40 2.0T (2003 model) and spent tens of thousand repairing it within 18 months period and finally decided to get rid of it after 3 years ownership. Although it produced good power from the 2 litres turbo-charged engine but he will never get another volvo due to high maintenance cost from his experience.

• pay low instalment for a start, you will know what happen next.

• tokmoh on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Ya wor, tell la more details, Tony. Interest? Period? What’s d catch?

Shud put ADV tag in the title.

• Paul Tan on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:34 pm

Why? They didnt pay anything. Just a brief announcement as a favor. If wanna know ask the dealers la :)

• tokmoh on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:18 pm

Not paid? Ok la, jangan marah ye hehe

Cuz I remember yeaaaaaaars ago Auto Bavaria also used to advertise 318 E46 from RM1,388/month oni or somewhere +- dat figure I think, sorry if not accurate, but it was very attractive for a bimmer hehe. It was 9 years loan (I think very rare those days, but now 9-year loan become std edi). The catch? Monthly installment skyrocket for every following year it became not too affordable as suggested by first year’s monthly installment anymore :P

But then again, Banyak Masuk Workshop memang kena sedia Banyak (Makan) Wang hehehehe

• niuhje on Jan 25, 2011 at 11:40 am

copywriter huh!?? nice play of words…

• Kanason on Apr 18, 2013 at 9:42 pm

I own a 8 year old Volvo S80 T6 model and my absorbers need replacement . Any suggestions where I can buy these absorbers other than from the agents of Volvo- pricing is the issue.

• Mrs. Itu Ini on Apr 24, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Oh, my God! Despite many arguments about the English writing skill, who cares! Even English man don’t speak or write better English! By the way, I am here to read about Volvo because this car has been my dream car since I was young! It is simply because, I see Volvo as the most safest car on the earth. Yes, I might not travel much only to the United States and other Asian’s countries, but knowing that the price of imported cars in Malaysia is way too expensive; I am having a second thought about buying a Volvo now. Furthermore, reading all sort of comments about the maintenance and service prices for Volvo, oh I don’t know, if it would be an affordable car for me to maintain ….