Deadline extended for express bus operators to move from Bukit Jalil to the Southern Integrated Terminal

According to a statement issued today by the Land Public Transport Commission, the deadline for all express bus operators – serving destinations south of Kuala Lumpur – to relocate to the Southern Integrated Terminal in Bandar Tasik Selatan, KL will be extended to March 1.

The decision to extend the deadline was made by the Government to give the express bus operators more time to relocate from the Bukit Jalil Temporary Bus Terminal to the new six-storey terminal. The extension is also to avoid the public getting confused during the heavy travel demand period around Chinese New Year.

The extension of the deadline will also to enable new ticket counters to be constructed in the terminal, to enable bus operators with their own ticketing system to sell their tickets at the terminal.

The Government has also set up an Operational Readiness Task Force, which is headed by the LPTC. The task force is to ensure the smooth migration of express bus operators to the SIT by the new deadline.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• its seem like the new Tambak Johor Checkpoint.

• kinda confirm the fact that we are always good at starting something but finishing it is a challenge. still wonder why we bother opening it when the issues not ironed out?

• acerman on Jan 28, 2011 at 8:27 pm

I really want to know the pros and cons first. This involves all the public and not just car lovers.

• autojohndoe on Jan 28, 2011 at 8:35 pm

how are they make this arrangement?

some of the operators say, it is last minute notice, so they are not prepared for that…

dont let this become stranded like the Klang Sentral

• paparadzi on Jan 28, 2011 at 8:56 pm

What is the reason the bus operators are reluctant to move to the new terminal?

• because the ulat2 cannot survive there..

• if not mistaken the surcharge for each bus park there way too high

• BULLSHIT Express on Jan 29, 2011 at 10:33 am

Surcharge on each bus is their excuse.

Main reason is the ticketing system.
      Passenger will be buying direct from terminal operator, NOT bus company at new terminal.

So, if the express bus fare is RM10, bus company CANNOT jack up higher than that during CNY.

That’s why they want to setup own ticketing counter and sell direct to passenger.

Siapa rugi ???

• ah beng on Jan 31, 2011 at 10:32 pm

live in johor – always travel to kl – always buy return trip ticket – now how eh?

• transformer on Jan 28, 2011 at 9:38 pm

wasted…. everywhere bocor….. just like wikileak….

they should let operator sell their own ticket…..

• what do you mean leaking? mind to share?

• leaking? new bus terminal already have leaking issue?? people using that terminal have to bring their own umbrella, i suppose… hehe…

• Iskandar on Jan 31, 2011 at 9:08 am

Yeah, do that and we’ll have a new “Puduraya” with new ulat taik roaming everywhere.

This modern terminal will once and for all stop the crazy price hike we Malaysians have been experiencing for years during Raya, CNY or during other festivals.

Kudos to the government. Time for these ulat taik to go out and find real jobs.

• i’ve went there and i think it is a complete waste of money..
    they made it too huge to cater ONLY southern region..should’ve have cater northern and east region since there are more routes..and let pudu handles southern so that wont be congestion around there..
    finally they allow bus operator to sell own ticket..this is way much better..
    i hope they make a spot check on every bus at the exit entrance before leaving to destinations for safety matters.

• it more congest at pudu if south bound bus is there…..there r 50 bus company operate to cater south area

• izhar on Jan 29, 2011 at 10:20 am

if no proper bus terminal….what would u say????
      not comfortable…
      ulat tiket
      bus without permit waiting outside terminal..need to walk…
      engine smoke…
      hot…i need aircond…
      bus can’t go out from terminal..massive jammed….30min wasted of time…
      dirty food court…
      what else???
      maybe u can reply my comment for adding the complaint….

• osh_kosh on Jan 29, 2011 at 9:58 pm

some ppl r just like to complains… everything is not right to their eyes… :)

• does Southern Integrated Terminal is integrated with any mass transit system? if that so, it will be relief. btw, jalan duta terminal location is damn wrong. is hard to go there, rapid KL shuttle bus and bloody taxi is the only option available to go jalan duta.

• lrt,ktm komuter,erl and rapid kl bus..all intergrated.

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 29, 2011 at 11:40 am

agree! if you got no duit for taxi how to go to duta bus stop?! this BTS bus stop, again shows the lack of consultation with the bus operators and what they need to make it work. aiyo why everytime also liek this one?!

• From what i read and what i heard from my friend in bus company..
    there are several issue still need clarifying,
    ticketing system…
    exorbitant rent..
    and price for bus parking.. rm 20 if not mistaken..
    that note that bus parking for sungai nibong platform in penang just rm5..

• by looking at integrated mass transit system, its reasonable the price is abit higher. the market value is more higher on that terminal relative to other one.

• makoi on Jan 29, 2011 at 3:28 pm

u from bus company right? come here to spread rumors? who should bear the parking rent?? all from public.

need tongkat?

• they have agree to relocate rite..that mean if not all most of their disagreement r settle…from wat i can understand fr the article

• I am really unsure with the move of moving the buses to bandar tasik selatan.. As from the news, the Puduraya will be “siap” within this 2-3 months time..

why there is a need to shift to here when puduraya will be siap? why want make us. the passengers confused and suffer traffic jam ?

weird strategy

• I think gvt want to divert buses going to southern region to TBS to ease the traffic at Puduraya. Buses at Puduraya is way too much…

• TianCi on Jan 29, 2011 at 10:09 am

Pudu is too congested la, the roads cannot be widened. Tasik Selatan looks like a good choice. Hope it will not be filthy and that the touts are all reigned in! At the moment Bk Jalil is filthy and it’s a real madhouse.

• puduraya will be make as a city bus terminal

• goBetong on Jan 29, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Haizzz…. you gotta “check-in” before you can board the bus !!!!

I had to q for 1/2 hr just to check-in. All those while, damn frusco and nearly missed my bus.

Whoever thought of this must be absolutely MAD. Bus travel is meant to be cheap and convenient. You come on time, hop on the bus and get out at your destination. One can do away with the glamour of “air-port” experience.

• i tot BTS still kosong only several bus company there? r u sure? from wat see from tv news it quite empty!!

• Iskandar on Jan 31, 2011 at 9:04 am

You must have been living in Bentong for too long.

That’s how they do it in modern countries. Yes, it is a hassle for now. But once people get used to it, things will be smoother than the pathetic Puduraya.

I find it amazing that Malaysian nowadays complain a lot.

I suggest you go to India, board a bus and go cross a few states. Only then will you understand what luxury we Malaysian have taken for granted.

• Malaysia Freelancers Marketplace on Jan 29, 2011 at 11:56 pm

Pretty much expected with the way the gov handles the issue – typical. How hard is it if the gov can come down hard on the bus operators?

• chap_de_x on Jan 30, 2011 at 12:15 am

I have use the service at TBS once…for me its a wonderful experience…I came 45 min before my bus time…went to the big board…someone greet me and give me direction which platform i had to wait…went there,only ticket holder can pass thru the departure hall…at the platform the TBS staff greet me politely and ask for my ticket,..check me in using electronic monitor…i wait for a while…sharp on time..bus arrived…boarded the bus and straight away moved…no more dirty…no more ulat tiket…no more worries of pick pocket, gangster…for me its a good effort to improve the public transportation in this country…bus operators should not delayed their relocation…for me as consumer..i will choose TBS rather then bukit jalil

• Kentaros on Jan 31, 2011 at 9:02 am

Yeah, I’ve been there myself…. The place is organised, clean and felt safe from ulat ticket and pickpocket… No more dirty and foul smell from buses…

• Cookoo on Jan 31, 2011 at 8:13 pm

Should this topic even be posted here? We are talking about bus terminals now??? What’s next – brands of car wax?

• Rahim Travel Agent on Feb 01, 2011 at 12:21 am

I’d been to TBS by mistake from KLIA. The building is very nice, convinient and comfortable, but only Southern Region buses available there at the moment. Thank god i had to take LRT to Bukit Jalil…best part, that time was raining all day long.

At bukit jalil, while I was walking to counter, so many “ulat” approached me…so irritating while walking in the pouring rain. Bought one ticket to Penang, but have to wait at normal chair in bloody cold wheather.

TBS meant for passanger’s convinient & comfort but TBS is the place where “ULAT” Free environment. Actually, the price for the bus to enter the TBS is not that much but bus owner want to maintain their margin, want to keep their profit high…that’s why they reluctant to enter TBS. I’d done rough calculation for buses entering the TBS and heading north, bus owner still has profit but not as what they get now.

The ULAT also hired by bus owner to keep their buses at max full to prior to departure but in TBS they cannot do it. Suppose the TBS management not to charge anything to bus owner for let say 6 months free charges for entering but get certain comission for ticket sold for them.

One more thing, in TBS buses have to depart at exact time with no delay, like in airport, but that is just a small issue.

my two cent…