Ford Fiesta Sport+ 1.6 Ti-VCT upgraded to 134 PS

Ford has launched a new limited edition Ford Fiesta Sport+ in Europe, which has its 1.6 litre Ti-VCT engine pumped up to 134 PS and 160Nm, up from the stock numbers of 120 PS and 152Nm. The extra power boosts 0 to 100km/h acceleration performance to 8.7 seconds down from 9.9 seconds.

Of course if this isn’t enough for you there’s always the Mountune kit for the Fiesta, which manages to squeeze out a few more horses and Newton meters, resulting in a peak of 140 PS and 170Nm, going up to 0 to 100km/h in just 7.9 seconds. The 140 PS kit maintains your Fiesta’s warranty in the UK, but if you don’t mind your powertrain warranty being voided there’s also a more aggressive new 155 PS and 180Nm kit which shaves the century sprint time down to 7.5 seconds.

The Fiesta Sport+ is the general European name – it will be called the Fiesta S1600 in the UK and the Fiesta Sport S in Germany. There already exists a Fiesta S1600 in the UK, but it only had a bodykit and a unique paintjob. I guess this update adds extra power into the mix as well.

8.7 seconds or even 7.9 seconds can be fun but is hardly thrilling – where’s the Fiesta ST? The chassis can definitely handle some turbocharged power, and throw in a manual transmission as well!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1975]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nice one!

• Holly F on Feb 22, 2011 at 12:08 am

This is the real “limited edition”. Unlike what we can see in our country.

• rallyfan00 on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:33 am

fiesta standard power of 120ps pumped up to 134ps, people say this is a real limited edition. In our own backyard, proton r3 bumps up satria cps from 125ps to 145ps, people want to condemn or dont acknowledge.

• Haidir on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:19 am

well i’ll try not to condemn. how abt this, Normal satria neo Vs Ford fiesta sports+, which one is petrol-head.

• rallyfan00 on Feb 22, 2011 at 12:30 pm

normal neo should compete with normal fiesta, not sports+ dont you think?

and acceleration times are just that.. manufacturer claims, its common for manufacturers to not put true figures. i think someone needs to take both cars out, and test them in the same conditions, then we will know the true acceleration times. thats the best, and only way to find out for sure.

• Halor… 134ps FOFI can do 0 to 100km/h acceleration in 8.7 seconds while 145 R3 only can do in 9.2 seconds.. More power= better???

• acerman on Feb 22, 2011 at 12:24 am

Satria Neo R3 vs this car in terms of power

• jason on Feb 22, 2011 at 2:40 am

we never gonna get the good stuff..sigh~

• teelim on Feb 22, 2011 at 3:30 am

yeah… sad…

if only they also offer the manual box for the 1.6 Sport…

haiz.

• Or at least manual override for the powershift la…

• Kambing Gurun on Feb 22, 2011 at 6:55 pm

I agree. Initially got exited over the Fiesta, but later on I think the 1.4 Manual available in M’sia is not worth the price. Driver side airbag only, no sport seat, no sport rims, 12.2 sec 0-100km/h, bad looking polyurethane steering wheel. Why can’t they bring 1.6 manual Fiesta to M’sia? They think those who opt for manual are those who cannot afford to buy 80K++ car what? I like Fiesta 1.6 sport, but I dislike driving an auto car. (Don’t tell me to buy Inspira… that’s a different story)

• teelim on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:09 am

yup.. I totally agree. I just hope that Honda brings in the manual version of the CR-Z, when they do.

• superb basic ford company colors, blue and white livery

• rapidshifter on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:56 am

truly amazing ford fiesta…

• This fiesta sport only have 134ps,not hp,and 160nm torque,while satria neo rs r3 has 145hp@148ps n 168nm of torque. Malaysian said neo r3 is underpwr,cndemn it like hell,so why not cndemn this fiesta sport? It shows that nowadays,it hard to tune a car,need to appreciate what r3 had done. Eventhough the figure is not great,atleast it is better than 1.6 na so called fiesta sport

• Chris M. on Dec 30, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Chanced upon this post and must seriously commend you for your stupidity. the “souped up” Neo R3 has 148PS yet it only achieves a 0-100 time of 9.2 seconds (vs the 132PS Fiesta Sport+ which achieves sub-9 second times).

How is this an improvement for the Neo R3? The power isn’t even used efficiently down to the wheels.

• foong on Feb 22, 2011 at 9:20 am

still drum brake for the rear?

• No.1 here condemned the neo r3. both cars has its fun factor. Real petrolheads appreciates what R3 as done. Sore losers on the other hands don’t. Anyway its a good effort by Ford. It’s a decent improvement. Mind u its a fiesta sport + & not st or rs version. The right comparision is the regular neo cps 125bhp. Whether it beats the neo or not we’ll never know as we’re not getting this here.

• I think that regular neo cps never had sport name on it,so regular neo cps shud cmpete with regular fiesta or even regular swift. Neo rs r3 is the cntender with swift sport n fiesta sport since this neo rs r3 is the sport version of neo cps. Na versus na.

• armandd on Feb 22, 2011 at 4:56 pm

the 2-door version looks much better than the regular 4-door sold here.

• Normal Neo should be able to compete with normal fiesta. You can see proton is improving its products but sore losers just cant admit it…lol. Grow up~!

• Chuan on Apr 28, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Is ford fiesta 1.6 S1600 available in Malaysia?