Bertone creates ‘X-Type replacement concept’ for Jaguar

Jaguar lacks a volume seller that fights in the 3-Series/C-Class market and plans to launch one in 2013/2014 to take over from where the discontinued X-Type left off. If it looks anything like what Bertone has in mind, they could have a winner.

This sleek and unmistakably Jaguar concept is the work of Italian design house Bertone. It’s created “in agreement with Jaguar as a view to a possible X-Type replacement,” said Mike Robinson, Bertone’s chief designer. Called the B99, it will be paraded at Geneva.

Looks like a modernised old XJ in photos, but the wide, low roofed B 99 is actually about the same length as a Mercedes C-Class at 4.6 metres long, but this show car is almost 2 metres wide. It also has a clamshell door arrangement, which opens to a pillarless entry. It’s nothing like the current Jags, except for the grille.

“Our B 99 is definitely not a fastback. We think the fastback lifts the body volume too high above the rear wheels. Jags have always had the weight concentrated on the wheels,” Robinson was quoted as saying. He must really dislike the current XJ then!

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1978]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Porsche Lover on Feb 22, 2011 at 11:35 am

Danny, ever thought of creating a forum for your readers? Something like autoworld, where different makes have each their own forum. Since now you are the No1 site for auto news in Msia, your blog followers want to discuss car issues in a forum.

• i think that forum is a good suggestion.

but thinking that the fact why paultan is establish without a forum should be like that:

mainly ppl will discuss about the current car at the moment, talking how to improve their own car… crying about the problem they have with their car.

Paultan is a blog that focus on the on coming car that ppl want to see.
      but not talking about the pass..

I think that Paultan’s aim as a blog has acheived. expanding paultan blog to be a forum sounds not according to the priority of what Paultan wanna focus on.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 22, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Interesting views. That’s something for Paul to answer :)

• my garage not even only 2 meter wide, and the garage was design for 4 car inside.
    i need special garage to park this car.. haishh..

• this is what i like.. when everything is set to low profile with muscular. it’s looks so man. it’s a modern muscular car that i would really want one. the design is so pure attracting to deep im my soul.

• SoMeOnE on Feb 22, 2011 at 11:53 am

errm…IMO its one of those designs that can only be judged once the production version is out….and it doesnt seem to have much connection with the current range so this could be a new design language or maybe they just wanna make it look real different as the last one really floped due to its looks and they wanted this to look like a million bucks or somethin

i dunno about u guys.but i feel its one of those designs that looks overdone and yet underdone at the same time….yea i know its a concept and everything..but it just does not feel Jaguarish….it truly feels like it really is..a flamboyant italian design house’s idea of a jaguar…. it feels special and oddball at the same time…but thats just my opinion….

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 22, 2011 at 12:51 pm

I think this would work very well for Jag.

At the moment, they are not very cohesive when it comes to a “Jaguar design language”.

• VoidDance on Feb 22, 2011 at 12:51 pm

While I love this design as it is really a retro look of old Jags, I don’t think this is the way Jaguar should go. Jaguar has just recently create a new design style for their cars and to change it midway would not be a good decision.

• AhBeng on Feb 22, 2011 at 1:21 pm

This is how jag supposed to be! is finally back! we can definitely see the jaguar elements at first glance this time… : )

• Sadden MYS on Feb 22, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Unmistakably Jaguar!

Pls finalize the product with this design language. By the time it’s in production and the Brits or the Japs have had a few years of fun, ship them over as recon units so we poor citizen of Bolehland could have it for RM300K.. . . if BN still in power and the NAP remains unchanged.

• i like the design…but what i probably if its toned down then i’m afraid it just looks like the old jag, anyway love the rear lights

• Jaybond on Feb 22, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Probably some tweaking to make it less retro looking. But one thing for sure, it must retain the sleek-look of its bigger siblings. That is afterall the design heritage of Jaguar that must be maintained.

• Gajen on Feb 22, 2011 at 2:49 pm

this is such a nice design! this is what i call a jag

• Tiadaid on Feb 22, 2011 at 3:08 pm

The old XJ wasn’t exactly a beauty queen. Why can’t they maintain some design cues from the XF, probably one of the most beautiful Jags ever made.

• Jaybond on Feb 22, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Probably because the designer was not really a fan of the slightly bloated look of the current XF. He’s obviously a fan of the low slung Jaguar XJS!

• chowh on Feb 22, 2011 at 3:51 pm

I disagee. take any XJ of the 60′ and 70’s – they were and still are objects of beauty. Whilst the XF is a very good looker in it’s own right, it doesn’t possess in essence Jaguar’s DNA. Ditto with the current XJ.
    No other luxury manufacturer produced such emotive low slung and elegant profiles for their flagship cars. They had expansive stretches of glass and superbly slim pillars that afforded great visibility.
    That said, the XJ’s of the 90’s were a great dissapointment – very clunky in it’s detailing despite keeping the XJ silhouette.

• shinde on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:29 pm

english breakfast is back.. well, it’s too retro..

• Jimmy on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:43 pm

The coolest Jaguar of all time

• junaidi on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:21 am

GOOD LORD!
    I’m too young to remember the sexy E-type buy this could be it!