BMW Malaysia launches the F25 X3 – RM348k for xDrive20d

BMW Malaysia today introduced the F25 X3, and the second-generation SAV arrives in only a single form, this being the xDrive20d. It’s a real push for the diesel brigade, because there isn’t going to be a petrol variant of the form coming in until next year.

The replacement for the E83 rolls in as a more sizeable offering, essentially almost as large as the first-gen E53 X5. In terms of proportion, the company says it is smack midway in between the X1 and current X5 in terms of dimensions.

The X3 xDrive20d comes wearing the same pot as found on the 320d and 520d, in this case the N47D 2.0 litre four-cylinder common-rail direct injection BMW Advanced Diesel block. So you get the same output figures – 184 hp at 4,000rpm and 380 Nm at 1,750-2,750 rpm, and this one also gets the 8HP45 eight-speed auto gearbox.

Performance figures for the all-wheel drive vehicle include a 0-100kph time of 8.5 seconds and a 210 kph top speed, as well as a best-in-class fuel consumption of 5.6L/100 km.

In terms of BMW EfficientDynamics-related kit, the new X3 features optimised aerodynamics, intelligent lightweight construction, Brake Energy Regeneration, Electromechanical Steering, demand-based control of ancillary components and functions and, for the first time in any BMW vehicle in Malaysia, an Auto Start/ Stop function in combination with automatic transmission.

If the external design is an improvement over the E83, then plenty has also happened in the interior, which features Nevada leather upholstery and matt silver satin trim finishers – the increase in overall size means that cabin space is also up; at the back, this works out to 23 mm more knee room and a 20 mm increase in width over the previous X3, so the rear seat occupants get a fair bit more space.

The rear seat backrests can be split 40:20:40, where the three segments can be folded down either individually or together, and the boot volume of 550 litres goes up to 1,600 litres with the rear seats folded.

Kit includes xenon headlamps, V-spoke style 304 17-inch alloys (with 225/60 series tyres), a 6.5-inch monitor and 12 loudspeaker audio system, and BMW ConnectedDrive components include USB connectivity and Bluetooth hands free functions, as well as access to items such as BMW TeleServices and the optional BMW Telematics Platform Accessory (TPA), which includes an emergency Vehicle Recovery System as well as other BMW Assist remote services.

The X3 xDrive20d is priced at RM348,800 (on the road, without insurance, with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair). Two optional packages (Technology and Comfort) are available for the F25; the Technology package features BMW’s Dynamic Damper Control working in tandem with BMW Performance Control, BMW Navigation System Professional and extended connectivity for mobile devices.

Meanwhile, the Comfort package features the automatic operation of the tailgate, comfort access system and a panoramic glass roof. The Technology package adds RM28,000 to things, while the Comfort one goes for RM18,000. Additionally, limited units of the new X3 xDrive20d Special Edition will also be available from launch, boasting additional features such as Dynamic Damper Control, Performance Control and 18-inch light alloy wheels, and this one goes for RM368,000.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the new X3.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2062]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jason on Mar 14, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Oh hard to make a decision, 520d or F25 20d.

• pirate on Mar 14, 2011 at 7:18 pm

520d of course if u asked me!

• I Love BMWs on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:38 pm

I had decided to buy the 520d after I heard it was Rm333k. When I test drove it, I got a shock of my life. The engine sounded like a lorry. It was so loud. It sounded like a Mercedes 240D of the 80s. For a premium I am paying, I expect a pretty silent car albeit a bit noisier than a petrol engine. I don’t mind this noise if it was a Ford Focus at Rm120k but when I am spending RM333k, it surely disturbs me. I also felt the rattle on the floor board where my feet rests and also on the pedal. Anyone knows if this loud sound is because of our fuel? I have lived in Europe before and the diesels don’t sound this loud. The salesgirl also told me that most of her customers who came in to test drive the car, once they heard the car, it was “No” from them.

• Merc's boss on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Ya good boy, spread more nonsense.

• Jeremiah Tan on Mar 15, 2011 at 2:44 pm

The Troll Merc’s boss is again at it Danny. Causing problems in this blog and inciting hatred and flaming.

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:38 pm

BMW has one of the best diesel car, especially in the cabin. It sounds like a lorry in the car or outside the car?

• I’ve driven the 520d at Auto Bavaria Sungai Besi. Their black 520d with oyster/black interior. My experience was nothing like what you mentioned. The car was exceptionally quiet. There must be something wrong with the car you tested or something wrong with your “review”.

Guys, go here for REAL 520d showroom test drive reviews, don’t believe this Mercedes salesman propaganda:

http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?40403-520d-at-BMW-Malaysia-Open&p=612729&viewfull=1#post612729

• Merc's boss on Mar 15, 2011 at 2:35 pm

All these so-called prospective buyer are actually poor Mercedes salesman, you can easily recognise them by their iilogical attack on BMW. The sign of their anxiety is high.

• Jeremiah Tan on Mar 15, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Paul Tan, why do you let this low life troll, Merc’s boss give uncontructive comments in your blog? So far, all the comments in this blog is contructive. Then, as in other threads, this troll comes in and causes trouble. Danny and Paul Tan, please maintain the sanctity of this blog. We don’t want trouble makers.

• Merc's boss on Mar 15, 2011 at 5:47 pm

If it is not suit you, do not reply, everybody is entitle to their opinion, but I see (I Love BMWs) which is actually you and many other name you used are more like a troll.
            When there is a BMW post you will start to spread nonsense, I now driving a Camry and planning to buy a BMW, but your nonsense really make me sick, do you think we are so stupid and believe in your low standard propaganda.
            When you stop spreading nonsense, I will stop the reply. Don’t be so low and a thief shout to catch a thief.

• Anderson Lim on Mar 16, 2011 at 9:09 am

Administrator of this blog, you need to stop the immature behaviour of this person. This what happens when during school holidays, parents neglect their kids. Badly brought up (kurang ajar). Since you are on holiday, revise your term’s work!

How can you drive a Camry when you are doing your PMR?

• Merc's boss on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:07 pm

Mercedes salesman, don’t try to disguise in a different name, and make sure you improve your manner, personnal attack and make bad assumption on people is what you do best.

• BMW Towkey on Mar 16, 2011 at 10:42 am

Mercedes Boss, get lost! Everybody is fed up with you.

• Merc's boss on Mar 16, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Mercedes salesman, don’t try to disguise in a different name, we know who you are, all BMW prospective buyer are fed up with you, get lost.

• BMW Wannabe on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Merc Boss want to buy BMW at lower price? Don’t lah propoganda in many names hoping prices go down!

• BMW Wannabe on Mar 16, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Actually, Merc Boss is the one going about different names. Like he said above, he is hoping to upgrade his camry. So his modus operandi is bash BMW like crazy in the hope sales go down and prices go down. Sorry mate game over! We told during lunch you’d be found out. BMW wannabe trying to get his BMW the wrong way

• Merc's boss on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Mercedes sales is not meeting target, go back to work guy.

• Prospective Buyer on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:32 am

Tried it. Yup, car is very loud. Can hear sligtly from inside but from outside its has a really loud crackling sound. Very embarrassing if you are waiting for someone or your kids at school

• Jamal on Mar 15, 2011 at 9:43 am

The car very loud from outer. It sounding like a Opel Kadett diesel teksi. Inside, masa driving time, switch off the aircon and inside oso boleh dengar. Tekan minyak, boleh dengar bunyi kolok kolok kolok. Tapi 520d not as bad as X1d. X1d sound like old SriJaya bas or LenSeng bas.

• Penang kia on May 11, 2011 at 2:50 pm

Ha ha ha… So funny… Aiyah.. Must morel my ears… Make it both ears. I happened to own a F10 520d ( book 523 but took 520d) … Why? When I testdrove both…. Noise… Wat noise?… Knocking sound… Yet to detect any… 520d more agile than 523, the main reason was the price. I save 50 grand.

• Honda Civic on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Sounded like a lorry? Excuse me?
        1. Your ears really need medical attention
        2. You are just a brainless basher
        3. You are just a other car brands salesman who got scolded because you didnt sell enough cars?
        4. Get lost

BMW makes the best diesel engines I have known so far. If you wanna bash brainlessly, go somewhere else. Paultan.org is a place for educated people.

• Merc's boss on Mar 16, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Haha, could not agree with you more, but watchout, this guy will personnal attack you with different name and keeping flooding this blog with troll and low standard attack.

• BMW Diesel Rules on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:59 am

Merc’s boss and Honda Civic looks like the same person. Same level off English. Merc’s boss finds difficulty in phrasing the word “other” in a proper grammatical context in other postings too. Funnily, he also gives a reply to his own posting.

• Merc's boss on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:43 pm

As I have predicted, this mercedes salesman will come in with a different name and start to personnal attack and make bad assumption on people , please do not entertainment him.

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:39 pm

Apple and orange. Buy both if you need them

• Jeremiah Tan on Mar 15, 2011 at 2:53 pm

I hope they launch a petrol version of the X3. To me, a car is my 2nd most expensive asset after my house. I want it to depreciate gradually. We all know diesels fall in value steeply. I am better of paying for a petrol now and I can re-sell it at a better price when I upgrade. I hope they quicky launch the new twin-scroll turbocharger 2.0 pterol engine in the X3 and F10 soon. Then Mercedes will be old news.

• Paul Tan on Mar 15, 2011 at 3:03 pm

The X3 xDrive28i with the 4-pot 2.0L turbo petrol engine is supposed to come later, perhaps next year.

• Will the engine suffers from our high suphur containing diesel? And it is kinda overpriced compared to 520d.

• lonelyobserve on Mar 14, 2011 at 5:59 pm

5.6L/100km for xDrive20d, is it combined cycle or just extra-urban figures?

Look at the official figures from BMW international:
    http://www.bmw.com/com/en/newvehicles/x3/x3/2006/_shared/catalogue/index2.html

• That’s the old figures. the malaysian bmw website says it is combined cycle.
      Fuel consumption
      Combine: 5.6 l/100 km
      Urban: 6.1 l/100 km
      Extra-urban: 5.3 l/100 km

Altho I have no idea what the difference is between urban and extra urban.

• lonelyobserve on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Brother, please make you research before making this comment. Fuel consumption has 3 figures, urban is the FC in city area driving, which uses the most fuel. Extra urban is highway driving FC, which has the least fuel consumption due to constant speed in driving. Combined cycle is the FC of driving in city areas and highways.

Boleh Land doesn’t have a body that governs the fuel consumption of all vehicles sold here. Basically some car dealers can bluff the figure on the cars they sell. No offensive for them, but need to mention out.

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:47 pm

I agree with you, lonelyobserve. Boleh land only have something which protect stupid and mouse. They dont care about the fuel consumption. For example, Australia has a standard for measuring fuel consumption for any motor vehicle which is being introduce to Australian Road, known as ADR81/82.

For car safety matter, they dont even have anything which is independent, quality focus to govern and to standardize. This is the weakness of the car industry in Boleh Land.

• hey lonelyobserve, i’m just saying that the link you gave is dated 2006, then I gave you the latest figures cos I thought you wanted it. Actually I dont know why you posted that link. I’m just gonna shut up from now on, very hard to be nice some people.
          Thanks for the info abt the difference by the way.

• Anderson Lim on Mar 16, 2011 at 9:16 am

the BMW 2.0d gives about 55mpg. Nobody can challenge this particularly luxury segment. So, one full tank can easily give 1200KM

• good overall, but the only problem is the headlamp which looks like its coming from last century, or there is dedicated team design only the headlamp and other team design the rest. the rear looks much more sleeker than the front bcoz of the lamp and i hope bmw will rectify this in face lift version

• Hafidz on Mar 14, 2011 at 6:52 pm

Agree..really cant have a GO! with that kind of headlamp..while Audi are getting serious bout headlamp design, BMW all of sudden going against it..Post-Bangle era…still in fusion mode maybe?

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Try a cruise ride along the highway with passenger at the back. If no complain from the back, overall good.

• Miwqa on Mar 14, 2011 at 6:49 pm

I wish i have the money to purchase one,wait, I have to buy a house with the same amount first,sigh.

• gonggok on Mar 14, 2011 at 6:52 pm

The fact that BMW, Volvo etc is bringing their latest diesel powered cars and giving them full warranty show that the diesel quality is not an issue preventing us from enjoying the latest diesel engines. After all these carmakers sell cars all over the world, and most countries don’t have the latest euro grade diesel fuel..

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:52 pm

They De-tune the engine in order to compromise lower quality diesel fuel in the country. Especially for those country who are selling lower quality diesel, they do this at your cost. For example by introducing double, or even triple layer diesel filter, and at shorter lifespan interval.

All this will only add up to your own cost!

• danny on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:38 am

jtiongwl78, care to share where did you get the info about engine de-tuning, double and triple layer diesel filter?

In my years of ownership of a turbo diesel Toyota LandCruiser and now a BMW 320D, I have never come across what you say above. This is definitely something new and truly exciting to know.. TQVM!

• sutheshkumar on Mar 14, 2011 at 7:04 pm

why cant the navigation be a standard feature? the X1 20d, 320d and the 520d gets that all standard.

• Spongebob on Mar 14, 2011 at 7:29 pm

Will consider 520d over it~

• firefox on Mar 14, 2011 at 7:29 pm

this price a bit high, for SUV, i think tiguan will be better and more eco

• Gavin on Mar 14, 2011 at 7:34 pm

I bet other car makers are going to be kicking themselves when they don’t react fast enough to start bringing in more diesel models

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm

You are right. Bring in the Kia Sorento 2.2L diesel SUV, Peugeot 5008 diesel hybrid and VW bulli diesel or Toureg diesel.

• Gavin on Mar 15, 2011 at 12:26 am

The Kia sorento 2.2 diesel is absolutely sweet car, australia has a 6 month waiting only for the diesel model

• Anderson Lim on Mar 16, 2011 at 9:18 am

Diesel is the way. Hybrid is all waste of money for now. The the 520d and you will see the torque. You feel as if it is the 528i.

• Kevin Lee on Mar 14, 2011 at 8:01 pm

why is the launch of this car a bit unexciting. there is the audi q5, mazda cx-7 and volvo xc60 that does the same for a cheaper price. really!

• nabworld on Mar 14, 2011 at 8:17 pm

comparing the segment , i will take the cx7 any time…looks awesome and with a turbo engine/….

bt at dis price id rather go for the 520d……more grand…bigger…

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:51 pm

No a wise decision to put a petrol engine in a truck or SUV, vice versa not a turbo diesel in a sport hatch, except the high performance Audi R8.

• Wow, that’s picture overload…

• redboy on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:31 pm

BM never a fans favorite in SUV…I sit in the Harrier RX370 before. That is one of the coolest…

• so overpriced, CBU is it?

• better buy import from german….. all interior acc and quality has been changed from malaysian retailer… pls check BMW euro to review this model….totaly diferent from original

• i think BMW designs are getting uglier , dont you guys think so?

• jengga on Mar 14, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Apart from X6, the rest are ugly as hell. Especially X1, whoever bought this, please note that you don’t have any taste. Go for X6!

• Jason on Mar 15, 2011 at 10:43 am

What type of stupid statement is this, if I have money to buy X6 do you think I will still consider X1 and X3.

• Lim Kopi on Mar 15, 2011 at 12:01 am

ok well done BMW Malaysia, another good product …. HOWEVER:

1) We still don’t know how reliable your diesel engines are when it has the malaysian Euro 2 fuel flowing through day in day out …

2) now who the hell would want to buy an X1 ??? kinda stupid pricing you have isn’t it ?

• Gavin on Mar 15, 2011 at 12:29 am

They back their cars with the warranty which means they are confident lo, would you back something without knowing whether it works or not?

secondly BMW has had the time and money to test their cars on our Euro2 fuel

thirdly Paul has an entry where they dynoed the 320ds and actually produced MORE power than advertised by BMW themselves

Lastly you can always pump RON97 for your 320i and spend 5x times more money for less power and fun

• danny on Mar 16, 2011 at 1:54 am

Gavin, you do know a thing or two about diesel. Hope you will get one soon if you didn’t already.

Digressing a bit from the topic, the F10 530D will get you to 100kph in 6.3 seconds, about the same acceleration of a Porsche Cayman S with a 290+ hp 3.4L flat six petrol engine with Tiptronic transmission.

Cheers..

• Land Rover look much better than this!

• shamsul on Mar 15, 2011 at 10:06 am

Bila lah Msian Govt gonna introduce Euro4 diesel.?
    Only then will we see more manufacturers bringing
    in diesel their models.

• sagittarius on Mar 15, 2011 at 11:52 am

Bring More Woman @ BMW – I luv it!

• KL Stray Cat on Mar 15, 2011 at 4:41 pm

Boring Male Wimps ???

Hahahaa…just kidding !! Jangan marah !!

• ezracopters on Mar 15, 2011 at 4:15 pm

does anyone know real facts our euro 2 effect on modern diesel engine such as this one??? of coz i love to have euro 4, but still we gotta live with wut we had until the time is due.. so anybody??

• KL Stray Cat on Mar 15, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Just a quick question…if the current diesel car models are “detuned” to the Malaysian fuel standard, what would happen when the fuel is (eventually, we hope) upgraded?

Does the car need to be re-tuned / upgraded / what do you have to do? And will the car companies support these upgrades even if you warranties has expired ?

Moot issue??

• Gavin on Mar 15, 2011 at 6:23 pm

There has not been any official claims that the engines were detuned, mind you.

Just the diesel particulate filter was removed, which has no effect on performance but a pure enviromental purpose.

I said earlier local 320d’s dynoed MORE power than officially claimed in brochures.

So no retuning / upgrading required at all

• Alex Khoo on Mar 20, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Paul, I’m pretty sure the X3 comes with 18-inch rims. As the one I had a look at today had 245/50 R18 tyres. And the rims look like the ones in most of the photos above except the special edition one.

• Why does cars in Malaysia always strip out the standard features and then make them extras? For example the 2011 x3 everywhere else in world has 8.8 inch high res screen in the car and better interior finish. When it is for the local market though tegu replace it with a cheapo smaller LCD? Its like buying a car from petaling street. And then you get charged 3x as much.

Would love an x3 or x5, but guess have to import one to get a proper 2011 version.