First stage in used car parts ban on June 1 announced!

The government will be going ahead with the ban of used car parts in stages, according to MITI secretary-general Datuk Dr Rebecca Fatima Sta Maria. The first phase to be implemented on June 1, 2011 will ban the import of four components deemed to be critical items – brake linings, brake pads, batteries and tyres.

That’s right – no more tyres from Singapore; you can actually find these tyres all over classifieds sites and forums now. MITI did not reveal what would be banned in the next stage, or what the timeline of the stages are, though the word is that the complete ban on all used spare parts imports in the country will happen by 2015. So, for other parts like engine components etc, we’re safe for now.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• umm.. banned of used battery?

what’s the point? when we can reuse it and save the environment?
    i’m sorry if i’m noob.. but can u please explain to me what are the disadvantages of using used batteries in car?

• Tracks on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:55 pm

Basically used batteries are dangerous to be imported in an activated condition. Without proper protection (terminal caps) and packaging, it can easily short circuit leading to an explosion. Furthermore, the electrolyte might spill out during transportation posing environmental and safety risk.

• clutch basah on Mar 24, 2011 at 7:47 am

All above items should be banned from the beginning why only now? I don’t know any idiots who install 2nd hand brake pads and tyres on their car, but that sure leaves stupid and outrageous impressions on Malaysian drivers. No wonder Malaysian road accident stats still among the highest.

People, think about the safety your family if not your life. Their life can’t be compensate with 20-30 ringgit cheaper 2nd hand parts. Get a cheaper car if you can’t afford to maintain current ones, live within your means.

• gaman on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:02 am

true dudes..never used 2nd part when it comes to safety, especially for the brake system and tyre..

• squawk on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:05 am

If your wing mirror was damaged due to some mat rempit zooming by, would you replace it with new or used, if the price of the used unit is significantly cheaper?

• I think for the item that not give problem with safety of that car, they will not banned it like side mirror….

• chidori on Mar 23, 2011 at 6:42 pm

dislike

• Feuhhhh for stage one..seems reasonable.. hope stage two will never come huhuhuh

• ray_jay on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Brake lining, brake pad & tyres i understand… but batteries? WTF??

Don’t they know we can reuse/recharge that thing?

Who’s ‘pocket’ need to be ‘protect’ there, huh?

• Fridz on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Refer to the Prohibition of Import (Customs) and Environmental Quality Act (Alam Sekitar) and you will find why these batteries are fall under toxic waste. The importation of toxic and hazardous waste are simply turn our country being a waste dump area.

• why do we need to import used batteries? our country is bigger than singapore, if at all singapore should import our batteries instead. all i’m saying i think judging by the number of cars on the road, we do not need to import used batteries from singapore.

• clutch basah on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:52 am

why import used batteries? simple, malaysian consumers are dumbass and businessmen are robbers!!

• Van the Man on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:38 am

in another words, were Singapore’s dumping ground beside batam. Hey, dont we love anything imported as Malaysian produce is always below par?

• Nvm, let them ban the parts which people usually go new ones when old ones wear out.

Example :
    Batteries, Tyres and Brake Pads.
    I don’t see the point of buying used brake pads, because new brake pads aren’t very expensive and also used brake pads are lest safer to use then new ones.
    Batteries, they die after a long time.
    If it’s reused, I’m guessing it’s been recharged. Risk is that it might not last long, and you probably won’t get to start your car one morning to go to work.

In my own opinion, I won’t buy used tyres, brake pads, and batteries because they make my car unsafe~
    Although new tyres sometimes are expensive, at least they’re more reliable than used.

If the government continues to ban these kind of parts. So be it. (I hope they stop there too, leave the engine parts alone). (I rely heavily on those).

Cheers! =)

• Agreed. Leave the engine alone and parts related to engine transplant should not be ban also.

• squawk on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:39 am

You’d be surprised how many drive to tire shops looking for cheap used tires. I’ve even seen a 5 series (2 generations ago) owner do that. This is ‘gaya mesti ada’.

But used tires are also a cheap alternative for weekend grassroot racing and drifting. Provided there’s enough rubber left.

• You make a point there. Some people spent a fortune for a car without learning the maintenance cost first. Some car actually cost more to keep than buy.

• donno on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:03 am

There are ways to import used tyres and bypass this rule… Import rim+tyres attached and declare it as a wheel assembly…

• Alpha on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:14 pm

GAHHHHH!!!Don’t ban the engines,please!!!!I’m saving to buy a new engine!!

Does this means half-cut condition Brembos safe from the ban??

• iamisiamwhatiam on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:06 pm

Have to save more money before June then. Nope, not even Brembos are safe from the ban.
      Still, where are you going to get spare parts after the engine transplant? There won’t be any after this.

• Tekno on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:14 pm

Maybe they didnt want people get cheat by some importers that recharge the batteries & ‘recond’ it. Maybe there is some cases where they refurbish the old imported battery. Who knows? Just my 2 cents.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Okay, makes sense. These things directly affect the safety and reliability of cars. Hope they don’t ban things such as engines and gearboxes, that can be easily rebuilt to factory specs and cost cheaper than brand-new units!

• rally_fan00 on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:25 pm

i believe the proper reconditioning of parts is an industry in itself.. items like alternators, steering racks, gearboxes etc, do have people who rebuild them properly and even provide a limited warranty. People in that industry should not be hampered by MITI as they are running a legitimate and proper business.

the problem is, people like MITI or even JPJ, usually show little common sense and lack of knowledge when implementing many things, thats the part that gets me worried. luckily so far, it seems that common sense has prevailed.. but where are we gonna get our cheap drift tyres now? lol ;)

• gaman on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:46 am

so agreed with you dude..they are killing the used car parts industry..

• MCdog on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Haha I like election! We are safe now! haha kesian those just sold their nice ride :-))

• SKYTECH on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Ban ? Yes i agree ! But ban when our car price including proton, toyota , nissan , bmw all below 80k and salary all over 5k 1st . Petrol price remain under RM2.

Ban all kroni 1st .

• wayang kulit politik on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:11 pm

how many items that are banned in Malaysia can still be sourced easily?
    corruption or lack of enforcement perhaps?

dilarang buang sampah disini, denda: RM300 but that place piled up with rubbish and stinks?

saman ekor rm300, you pay earlier no advantage but if you procrastinate and pay later, they give you 50% discount for not paying on time

my money is on all talk but no action similar with the examples above for this.

dont worry Malaysians will still be able to sourced those banned parts easily.
    just sit back, watch the wayang kulit and enjoy your popcorn.

• Hah! Soon there will be lots of smuggling activities for batteries and brakes. Where there is demand, there will be supply. I don’t think Kastam or JPJ can enforce the new laws at all. After all, some ‘kopi’ money here and there usually solve everything.

• EasyRider on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Yay, now I can buy used imported wheels without being forced to buy the old rubber that comes with the wheels.

• think on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:03 pm

it seems that the first stage is quiet reasonable..but they mention about the tires ,,hw bout tires imported from korea and other countries for retreading ….if the goverment really wants to abolish all the imported parts ,,than they should also start reducing taxes on vehicles and vehicle’s parts from jun 2011 in stages

• So,

Which means, by 2015, the government expect people to buy only the fuel guzzling Campro engine as replacement for their old ones?

I can’t see how this new Policy gonna to help our already bedridden local car industry. Meanwhile, that particular “Datuk” can carry on driving his AP-less Porsche and the rest of us are imposed with the hefty NAP and AP till kingdom comes.

To our dear East Malaysian (Sarawak), please do us the favour to reform this arrogant, money sucking “Barang Naik” government. Don’t let that “gula-gula” RM100 (once every 5 years) fooled you. Think future, think the fate of our children. I say 50 years is more than enough.

• sukasuki on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:55 pm

mana ada rm100, rm300 la. banyak woo
      undi BN dpt baju free + payung + topi + beras 10kg + bendera + duit
      kalau undi PR, payung pun xbagi, wakil rakyat sombong belagak nak mamposs
      hahahaha

• littlefire on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:01 am

This is call bribe…

• Duit RM300 – with the current standard of living and pricey items, assuming the receiver is a family man, that RM300 will only last him for less than a week (2 days actually). Not including the “tuak” and cigarettes you’re gonna to buy.

Baju free? Macamlah kita ni miskin sangat sampai nak beli baju pun tak boleh.

Payung free? Yeah right, special edition ‘payung’ konon, heck, pasar malam sell it like RM15 per payung.

Topi free? Why need topi when you have your ‘special edition’ payung?

Bendera free? Seriously, you want to to put that flag on your car and show it off around your place, after election day, usually you will see those flags and banner scattered, thrown out here and there, buat sampah!

Beras 10kg sahaja? Less than 1 week habis.

So after that particular 1 week (when you’re RM300 richer, what will happen for the next 239 weeks (which is 4 years 11 months and 3 weeks)?

This will happen in the next 5 years, you still drive your lousy fuel guzzling national car, and that particular Datuk that gave you “gula-gula” RM300 with that “special edition payung” is RM300 Million richer than you.

Itulah kita panggil “election investment”!

Disebabkan mentaliti “gula-gula” sedemikian, orang Malaysia masih “dijajah” selama 50 tahun.

HAHAHA.

• xavier lert on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:32 pm

why would someone buy used batteries??

• dangerous_boy on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:26 pm

there are someone who buy 2nd hand battery because of life of the battery is better than battery Made in Malaysia..

• Yup,

It’s true indeed. The imported battery rods (used in the car battery, vehicles, machinery) has a better lead quality.

That’s why skidder’s or heavy duty vehicles such as that Caterpillar, the battery can last for up to 10 years if not more due to better quality of lead.

Local battery supplier/manufacturers knows this fact, they can’t make money if the thing last for too long. Hence, the low quality version is sold to the public.

• Actually not only that last longer…many other parts…even wiper blade!

• ezracopters on Mar 24, 2011 at 2:52 am

what??? u must be someone whose over-feed by the “Dasar Pandang Ke Timur”.. my car is using Made in Malaysia battery, and already 3 years and still going strong.. the 14 point on my voltage stabilizer still there..

see, this kind of mentality need to be change. all we need is more education on consumer right and our belonging behavior (car). those stage 1 items r the most risky parts if compromised. brake linings, brake pads, batteries and tyres..i think they should also put suspension part on the list as well.

whist the engine part, body parts and accessories parts still can be considered. most of us auto users @ drivers knew too little to assess ingenuity & durability of those 2nd hand parts.. for generations, we paint a picture in our head that Nippon used parts were cheap and higher quality..which is not that thru in reality!!. if u send mechanic & lay man to bought same items from chop shop sure you both gonna get it with different price. no one regulated em’, they bought semi-junk parts in bundles for cheap, and sell it to us and tag it as they please. what if we do had the parts with cheaper price, but the truth is we knew not where and what the parts had been thru to get here..who knows, it might even be from flood and tsunami aftermath debris.. it looks good but rotting inside..

i hope gov wont be too strict by implemented 100% ban on 2nd parts. instead, gov thru MITI & KPNKK should seated and tabled a paper work which set up certain 2nd hand parts that still can be imported and put an obvious guidelines, such as No Rusty Part, No more than 10 years old part, etc.as well as put a ceiling price for the items base on its category, make it special control items..

but, if u love ur car.. dont put 2nd hand parts on it and make sure u strictly maintain ur services. on modern car, wear and tear doesnt cost u replacement unit of engine or transmission before 10 years etc unless u act like ur The Senna @ Tengku Djan on inappropriate course. plus always consider and inclusive maintenance cost (dailly, weekly, monthly, yearly) when u considering buying new / used car!!! jangan biar papa asal bergaya sudah!!!

• The first stage of the used car parts items to be banned sounds reasonable. All those components are best be replaced with new items. Afterall all of them are critical in some way or another. The notion of foreign made battery may be true as my fellow club member’s car battery can last up to 10 years. In Malaysia, the longest I ever got is 3 years.

The next items are the worrisome, engine parts, whole engines, dash etc. This as earlier piece has mentioned will spell the end of those half-cuts and those dealers. Their livelihoods will be at stake and so does those owners with grey or AP cars. Doubt your Lexus or Toyota dealer will stock items for your Lexus GS300 or ES300. Some like those big parts dealers will probably stock them but it won’t be cheap and it is new part too. Looks like the cost of running such cars will be dramatically up. The timing of the Japanese tragedy does not help matters when there is a disruption in the car parts supply.

• kokopai on Mar 24, 2011 at 8:27 am

this announcement alone will introduce price increment for used parts… grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 24, 2011 at 8:42 am

My dear , MITI Rebecca, you should consider banning ALL recon cars from Japan and UK as well ,why only used parts , Play a fair game if you want show you care for safety
    Even some emerging countries have banned recon cars and trucks older than 3 to 5 years.MY is doing this becos of cronyism and for commercialism that’s all. Tamak.

• _xXx_ on Mar 24, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Talking bout safety, what’s more dangerous than driving a turbo-charged Kancil with no airbags/ABS at 210km/h?

• pomen_gtr on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:37 am

errrr…i don’t think there was any used battery or brake pad was put on sale from oversea shipping….

brakepad if any its comes from complete halfcut brake kit….

but battery?? WTH!!

• littlefire on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:48 am

Actually most of the users here unforeseen it will raise the new battery, brake pads & trye price without the import of these second-hand parts from Japan…

Do you know most of these spare part producer are actually take these second hand parts to be re-cycle or rebuilt into new again.. Like battery, they can just take the material inside to be recycle and re-new again.. besides that brake pads can be restrip and use back the metal plate to reinstall new brake pads on it, while trye is those celup trye for those lorries & busses…

Well, for trye i may object as some celup trye quality is a bit so-so or worst and dangerous for other road users… But it does effect the spare-part producer in our country and who own these business people? You guess it! It the end, who is the losers? I foreseen that battery, brake pads & transportation fee for busses & lorries will on the raise after June… Domino effect will come…

• bongek on Mar 24, 2011 at 5:46 pm

maybe at beginning it will raise, but later,,,,after some competition… it will be reduce… the only thing is how gov control monopoly

• roslanPaul on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:29 am

Every time I service my car in Shah Alam, I see a
    couple of cars dropping by asking for used tyres.
    Its become very common now cos lots of car owners
    cannot afford to cough out $150-200 for a tyre
    instead they would rather settle for
    a set of tyres at that same amount.
    The very reason why this happens is that our cars are overpriced
    so instead of getting quality parts many would opt for so called clone
    or similar grade recond parts.
    9 years car loans bring more doom than boom to the
    auto industry and MITI should ask the man on the streets
    the reason they prefer recond parts rather than original OEM’s.
    The answers is that they cannot afford it.
    Sad but true – well on the brighter side its 8 years more before we become a high income society and this would not be an issue !! ( as promised by PM & Idris Jala )

• MCdog on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:07 am

i promise you we will have high income if those vampires that made promise is gone.

• taxi driver on Mar 24, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Every time I service my car in Shah Alam, I see a
      couple of cars dropping by asking for used tyres.
      Its become very common now cos lots of car owners
      cannot afford to cough out $150-200 for a tyre
      instead they would rather settle for
      a set of tyres at that same amount.

SOOKOONGG!!

aku driver taxi lagilah mana mampu guna tayar baru.. dah lah hari2 jalan. 4 bulan skali tukar tayar.. second baru rm30-40 ringgit. Boleh tau maa bunga tebal ke x..

• GTR V Spec on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:35 am

what happen if i got evo7, silvias, intergra, RX7 or kelisas YRV??? where do i get those engine parts, drive shaft, stereng rack etc…do i need sold my car after this and buy new JDM cars or national cars….i think this is what the purpose government do this….to pin down ‘rakyat’ to the wall and hope we will buy new cars…..and again just forsake of proton lancau…

• bmpower on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:35 am

no more GSR halfcut, no more Vtec besar halfcut. No more B8 halfcut, no more SR20 halfcut.. no more intercooler halfcut, come to worst… no more halfcut gearbox. buy 1 new at RM15K.

Rakyat di dahulukan.. lol.

• _xXx_ on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:42 am

refuse to admit that u r living in 3rd world doesn’t mean u r developed…

• GTR V Spec on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:06 pm

high income society duhh..nolaaa… if my salary rm5k… i cant afford new suzuki swift gearbox or even MyVi when need replacement…maybe need to take personal loan until 5 years…to buy my new gearbox…plus need to pay my car installment…maybe after this to owned a car is very expensive in malaysia…all bcoz of proton….

• blacksunday on Mar 24, 2011 at 2:21 pm

after this, smuggling brake pads n brake linings will be the same like u smuggle drugs.
    these 2 smuggling are both prohibited & illegal.
    is this it?
    ahahahha

• GTR V Spec on Mar 24, 2011 at 5:39 pm

my fren nissan navara got xcident before…luckily got warranty…nissan service center put new intercooler import from japan…cost him rm10k..like i said lucky he got warranty..that 10k intercooler not ARC, Greddy Trust or HKS..but normal OEM japan made.. what happen if ur warranty expired d and no halfcut shop to find parts??? heheehehe..

• anti monopoly on Mar 24, 2011 at 5:49 pm

i only sokong if government ban certain critical parts like Brake pad (if got ppl buy la), used Tyre, std absorber and exhaust system.. but plz dun tax any new parts we buy from online coz we dun have faith in new parts sell in our country coz got so many fake items or low quality china made. and plz reduce any tax on import cars and superbikes…coz in malaysia to owned import car or superbike will cost u abomb, ur kidney, arm and leg….pitty malaysian…

• sam.L on May 11, 2011 at 10:35 am

contoh pintu la. kita ambil contoh kereta toyota land crusier ii (1990-1995) yang masih banyak pakai di Sabah ni harga jual sekarang masih 35k-40k. kat semenanjung pun harganya lebih kurang juga. biasanya pintu sampai kereta tu tidak boleh digunakan lagi masih melekat disitu. kalau karat dikimpal dan cat semula. kalau kemek ketuk dan simen. kita bawa cermat tapi katakanlah orang terlanggar pintu belakang remuk tak boleh ketuk atau simen. adakah siapa-siapa tahu mana nak cari ‘brand new tail door’ kat Malaysia kita yang tercinta ini selain used pats dari kedai halfcut. mungkin boleh import dari australia sebab tail door HDJ79 4 door wagon ( masih dijual di sana iaitu generasi ketujuh 70 series) lebih kurang sama ngan tail door land cruiser ii kita di sini. kalau dapat pon kos tak payah cerita lah 1 AUD lebih kurang 3.3 RM cam tu. Jadi bos-bos ku di Sabah yang pakai land cruiser ii start lah jual murah-murah korang punya sebab tak boleh pelihara lagi benda tu lepas ni. jadi kalau ada bos-bosku kat Sabah offer nak lepaskan toyota land cruiser ii miliknya dalam lingkungan harga 10k aku sanggup beli sebab aku jangka dapat pakai dalam 5 tahun je lagi lepas tu jadi besi buruk la. buang-buang duit lepas gian saja ba hehe….