Kia Soul gets facelift, but when is it coming to Malaysia?

The Kia Soul is long overdue here in Malaysia, so long that the funky box has received a mid life facelift, as revealed in New York. The usual facelift rules apply here, but the Soul also gets new powertrains.

A new 1.6-litre gasoline direct injection (GDI) engine mated to a six-speed manual produces 140 PS – an 11% increase over the previous engine – and 164 Nm. Some markets such as the US get a new 2.0-litre unit available with six-speed transmissions, manual and auto. The 2.0 produces 162 PS and 194 Nm.

On the outside, Soul is freshened with new projector headlamps with LED daytime running lights (a must have these days), a redesigned hood and new front and rear bumpers. The rear lights are also LEDs. Kia says that the overall shape of the vehicle has been “finessed” for a smoother and more streamlined silhouette.

New creature comforts include an Infinity premium audio system for the higher trim levels. Also new is the UVO powered by Microsoft in-car hands-free communication/infotainment system. A Premium Package is also available with heated front seats, leather seat trim, automatic climate control, and navigation system. The car you see here is fully loaded with all these features.

A MINI Countryman for a fraction of the price? This could be it. But when it’s coming is anyone’s guess. Full gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2202]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AhBeng on Apr 22, 2011 at 12:15 pm

when stick it with naza batch, it has no more soul already : (

• narakka on Apr 22, 2011 at 2:51 pm

this is what we call KOTAK.yeah.

• Mozilla Chrome on Apr 22, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Yes KOTAK..when it comes to Msia..you’ll the one who first to start saving your salary to buy one..

• Motorhead on Apr 22, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Dun be so cruel la..forte doin well and u see their driver proudly driving them..just wondering since the say its a big year for naza kia this year….when is the sportage, soul and optima coming out?

• Doraemon's father on Apr 22, 2011 at 4:22 pm

IMHO, the nissan Cube is a better boxy design..

• sick&tired on Apr 22, 2011 at 7:44 pm

the naza badge gives us a saving of around RM10k-RM15k. once you get the car you only need to spend RM200 to change the badge. some people can really be dumb beyond imagination!

• Oh well this is one car that i’m interested to buy! :D

Went to Korea last year and was so lucky to see the car on the street :D
      Like, really awesome!

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 22, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Wow! The shape is kind of weird. But I like it, especially the rear profile. So kotak.

• PakAbu on Apr 22, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Yeah. Like Kangoo but better. Much better. Way much better. :-)

• Toyolta on Apr 22, 2011 at 1:32 pm

Like the kotak shape also..

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Apr 22, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Best car in USA…

• wolfsburg on Apr 22, 2011 at 3:08 pm

No update on the US Rio sedan yet?

• An Ugly piece of Korean Junk. :-(

• David on Apr 22, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Junk? Let’s compare those Scions which look even more ungainly. I can say the Matrix which i have just bought looks more attractive, despite looking dated for a very good reason. It doesn’t look overly shouty, which means the design doesn’t turn real stale even after a few years.

By the way, go drive a Korean car, and you’ll realise how much they’ve jumped from nobodies to winning competitors.

• yeah rite! on Apr 22, 2011 at 3:38 pm

No thanks, please just don’t come!
    In TG words, EXPORT IT!

• lalallaala~~~ on Apr 22, 2011 at 3:53 pm

ugly

• i have seen this car in naza kia gurun kedah nice looking indeed

• seen the car in Korea, it is very nice.
    if you hate this, then I think you hate matrix, B-class, Edix and all those type of shape cars.
    nissan cube is too conceptual.
    this car is more pratical.
    mid-stance car are the trend now. (not too low like sedan and not too high like SUVs.)
    you can say it is a MYVI on steriods.

• Gavin on Apr 22, 2011 at 5:18 pm

nice car but antiquated engine what’s the point?

• Even if Kia produce Garbage Truck, those Naza Sales Exec would say it the most beautiful Garbage Truck with most exquisite taste.

• Eww…Ford Fiesta look much better!

• exentric on Apr 22, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Unfortunately, IMO Malaysian hates box-shaped cars.

• Anthony on Apr 22, 2011 at 11:44 pm

IMO some Malaysians are just too afraid to accept new things and changes, i.e Hybrid cars and cars with box shapes, etc. When hybrid cars come here, they just whine and whine about battery life and SCs being qualified enough to maintain them or not, etc. Coming to Korean cars, they just babble and babble about second hand value, bla bla bla. Malaysians just love to bla bla bla right? When they get behind the wheel all of them are the same – queue jumpers, traffic light beaters, bullies and speed demons.

Want a good second hand value? Dun drive, get a good salary, buy a bungalow, buy a row of shophouses, collect rent and go to work by public transport. You won’t loose a cent.

• Neutral on Apr 22, 2011 at 8:13 pm

it is difficult to bring this car into Malaysia because only minority have taste and able to buy this type/design of car

• 1underground on Apr 22, 2011 at 11:25 pm

This is a nice funky looking car i love it !

• Kia should consider built a extended version & market it as a Hearse, since the name “Soul” is perfect to use for a Hearse.

• David on Apr 23, 2011 at 8:14 pm

hello!!! if you hate Korean cars so much, just stay away from this posting alrite? There are better things to discuss about rather than listening to your useless thrashbag comments, you sick, vile idiot!!

• Kumar san on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:25 am

David,as i’ve replied to you in another Kia posting about the Rio,this dude is always bashing about Korean cars.

Just leave him be,it’s pointless and a waste of time commenting about an imbred imbesel when he loves to talk absolute garbage.

We and the rest on the other hand have other matured and better car related topics,opinions and constructive point of views to discuss about.

Cheers.

• aprilcoco on Apr 24, 2011 at 7:38 am

it is a tough decide which car to buy because they are spec to spec almost there with the big brands. Had a choice recently between the newly launched Kia Optima and the Camry Hybrid in Australia. Both, EXACTLY the same price. The cars were very good, and the Kia came with a LOT of extra equipment as standard but in the end, The Toyota deal was too hard to resist, hybrid engine, 1.9% rate finance. The same dealership sells two brands side by side (I bet you this would not be allowed in Malaysia)

• I heart this car ever since it came out..

• that kia picanto in the picture look so sexy