Volkswagen Passat CC – VGM says delays in deliveries due to re-evaluation exercise, possible increase in pricing

Volkswagen Group Malaysia has issued an announcement regarding a potential increase in the pricing of its Passat CC. The company says that with the Royal Malaysian Customs currently re-evaluating cars that are imported into the country, there has been a delay in deliveries to customers.

At the moment, the latest shipment of Passat CCs are at the port awaiting clearance and will be released once the re-evaluation is completed, and there could well possibly be a change in pricing after the completion of the exercise.

The VGM statement adds that for customers who have signed a sales contract with its authorised dealers for the car before April 7, 2011, the company will undertake to sell the Passat CC to these customers at the current retail price. As for customers who placed their bookings from April 8, 2011 onwards, the Passat CC will be sold at the new retail price, when that is eventually announced.

“We are currently working with all parties to reach a swift and amicable resolution to this matter,” said VGM’s MD Ricky Tay, who added that the company “hopes to resolve the matter as soon as possible.”

Currently, the two variants of the 200 hp vehicle available locally, the Comfortline and Sport, are priced at RM230,060 and RM245,060 respectively, both on-the-road with insurance. The grapevine speculates that an increase of around RM30k could be likely for the Comfortline, and an additional RM5k on top of the Comfortline’s revised price for the Sport, but that’s what it is, just speculation, so everyone will just have to wait for the revision announcement when it comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• namronc on May 28, 2011 at 1:05 am

Hope it will be soon. Can we expect in 2 weeks?

• An increase of around RM30k?

CRAZY!!!

• alldisc on May 28, 2011 at 9:05 am

yeah, thats just too bad!

• jtiongwl78 on May 28, 2011 at 9:13 am

I think they have no choice. This is something G trying to “abuse” NAP to make their live hard as stupid ( Proton ) cooperation with VW already fail. Playing politics…

• lonelyobserve on May 28, 2011 at 12:18 pm

????(Gong Bao Si Chou). This is what chinese saying. VW is going to have living hell like life.

• luckily bought it earlier !!! hahaha

• hantu on May 28, 2011 at 1:25 am

Thank to our gov for implementing high car tax in Malaysia. Be a patriotic man!
    haha. Soon Electricity going up!

• Lim Kopi on May 28, 2011 at 1:26 am

HEY RICKY TAY:

I KNOW ITS NOT VGM’S FAULT … BUT THE WAY YOU GUYS HANDLED YOUR CUSTOMERS HAVE BEEN BELOW PAR ….

ONLY AFTER 2 MONTHS OF WAITING THIS IS THE LEAST YOU COULD DO – A SHORT STATEMENT ….

ANYWAY KEEP ON GOING AND IMPROVING :)

• anthony, do you know if the review is done only on vw cars or on all cbu cars, incl. Benz, Camry etc? Tks

• alldisc on May 28, 2011 at 9:08 am

i believe this applies to all non-ASEAN CBU cars. models like camry or mazda 2 are assembled in thailand where is no tax tariff under AFTA agreement

• Malaysian on May 28, 2011 at 9:33 am

No idea if the exercise involves other brands.

• Lim Kopi on May 28, 2011 at 1:47 am

ALSO RICKY TAY:

1) CAN U PLEASE GIVE US AN INDICATIVE TIMELINE AS TO WHEN WE CAN EXPECT TO TAKE POSSESION OF OUR CAR ?? RATHER THAN SAYING “AS SOON AS POSSIBLE” ?

2) CONSIDERING THIS LONG AGONISING WAIT, HOW ARE YOU TO COMPENSATE FOR THOSE WHOM HAVE BOOKED MUCH EARLIER, EG FROM END 2010??

THANKS, AWAIT YOUR RESPONSE

• Dude, try to solve your capslock problem. It makes ppl feel that you are shouting at them, which is not nice. Thanks.

• Dynomite! on May 28, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Lim,

not easy for him to give dates. seriously. i’m sure he also want to inform you… that is, if he even knows in the first place.

for those who can’t stand the long wait, just cancel the order.

• Lim Kopi on May 29, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Indeed I was shouting at them, but not you.

Imagine if you had booked the car since end of last year, and all these months been promised delivery by Q1 2011, its quite easy to just say cancel the order when you not caught in the situation.

Bare in mind the car has already arrived at our ports since End March, its just one step away from delivery, which makes it hard to just walk away. Not to mention I should be getting it at the non increased price.

U see, its a chicken and egg thing, if you were in my position you really would want these guys to face the music rather than give them a easy way out. If everyone were to cancel, it makes their job easier, and as a matter of principle, I feel they do owe their customers at least just to settle the problem.

• Blame it on AP Kings.

• Unforgiven on May 30, 2011 at 10:50 am

Usually for a 250k car, approx 70k is going into the AP pocket.
      We need to remove the ‘free money in the pocket’ system.

We are paying 5 to 9 years loan and the money is going into their pocket for doing nothing.

The MACC should just go and questions the guy who offer to give away the Rolls Royce.
      Is him capable of owning the car without the help of G related people?

• 30k increase must be a mistake as the Sport version only has a 5k increase, should be 3k not 39k right?

• 30k increase must be a mistake as the Sport version only has a 5k increase, should be 3k not 30k right?

• alldisc on May 28, 2011 at 9:10 am

let me quote the sentence is read ‘5K on top of that’, meaning 5+30K = 35K.

chill.

• MALAYSIA boleh... on May 28, 2011 at 9:11 am

Actually it means RM30k increase for Comfort Line. Sport Line increase could be RM35k, an additional RM5k on top of 30k.

• Malaysian on May 28, 2011 at 9:31 am

The 5k will be on top of the revised RM260k pricing for the Comfortline, if read right. In any case, it is all speculation. Nothing is firmed up.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 28, 2011 at 9:48 am

From what I understand, the speculation is that it’s more like a RM5k premium for the Sport over the RM260k, which would make it RM265k or thereabouts. The line in the story has been made clearer to reflect this. Again, it’s all speculation, so the revision could be more than this.

• Pi*sed on May 28, 2011 at 2:25 am

A-holes goverment..already the economy is so weak they want to increase taxes…increase fuel prices…how the hell are we going to survive in the next couple of years…why the hell are we being ripped off? why is it that they get more money and we have to suffer? why the hell are we paying taxes and still they’ll find more ways to take our money? why the hell do we suffer to make them richer? why the fark is it that they manage to increase the price of everything except salary? Why is there no minimum wage law?It would appear that their implementation is really killing the poor as the poor will only get poorer….come on…life is tough already as it is….30k..you’ve got to be freaking kidding me…

• bangsar on May 28, 2011 at 5:28 am

Yea the poor can’t buy the VW Passat now :(

• alldisc on May 28, 2011 at 9:11 am

what, you give A-??

i am giving them C only. poor scoring by the G.

• Peterpj on May 28, 2011 at 9:14 am

People who buy Passat CC’s are in the upper-class wealth, so this news is hardly going to affect the average joe/rakyat – so why are you ranting?

Anyway, the re-evaluation is most likely because VGM has been under-declaring the value of the vehicles. If so,be glad that you’re not the one who has to the penalties too.

• shiau on May 30, 2011 at 12:19 am

In my opinion this affects everyone on a negative side as a whole except the individuals who gain from the increments. As it is the car prices in Malaysia is already one of the highest in the world and now their increasing the prices further more. It’s completely illogical and unnecessary regardless of which cars they increase, let it be the Japanese and so forth. At the current state, half of Malaysians can’t afford to buy a decent new car,even domestically produced ones. I just don’t think the poor has to suffer, example is when the price of a Viva is literally double of the original car made in Japan. Merely a discussion. Don’t take this on an offensive note. :)

• jtiongwl78 on May 28, 2011 at 9:14 am

If not doing this, they don’t have income to continue their propaganda. Almost broke already.

• old car on May 30, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Every day we keep on hearing..we the G, spent so much billions for fuel subsidies. Actually how much they earned out of the exhorbitant duties imposed on cars?

• shiau on May 28, 2011 at 2:26 am

30k…sigh

• alfie60 on May 28, 2011 at 3:18 am

It is part of government assistance for Proton to ensure that all car assemblers are charged MAXIMUM TAXES and push up the prices during DR M era.

The AP scheme is a failure. It enrich the small handfull of people who in turn cheated the government by under declaring the tax and price and yet sell the cars at the government indicative price.

• VW_fans on May 28, 2011 at 4:04 am

After I read it, I feel bad/sad for those Passat cc owners, ONCE add in RM30K I am sure the customers are not in “comfort Line” anymore!!! rather call it “Dissapointment Line” instead.

• VW_fans on May 28, 2011 at 4:11 am

Bila VW masuk, the Goverment think kenot sell so tax normal……..NOW u see those “brand chart” from Motor Trader http://www.motortrader.com.my/Cars/NewsHeader/Highlights/April-Market-Report-%28Models%29.aspx

VW sales kept increasing, so Goverment tax kaw kaw llooorrr……… simple theory from Goverment – – – – Good Sales = TAX max while Poor Sales = Incentives. Look at Saga 1.6 CHEAPER than MyVi SE 1.3 ZHS bigger cc but cheaper.

• b00000n on May 28, 2011 at 4:13 am

government is punishing volkswagen for refusing to tie-up with proton. kill all their cbu model and force them to do ckd on jetta, passat sedan, etc

• MALAYSIA boleh... on May 28, 2011 at 9:15 am

Ya, could be dirty politic where VW refused to get dirty with Protong Sucka, that’s why the suckas want a revenge.

PLEASE VOTE WISELY TO GET RID OF THOSE SUCKAS.

• Open your eyes on May 28, 2011 at 4:09 pm

This is why foreign companies won’t invest here. This is the exact crap that will happen to them the moment they get a little too successful for the Bumi importer tastes.

• jtiongwl78 on May 28, 2011 at 9:16 am

You’re very true. Done this by abusing NAP.

• lonelyobserve on May 28, 2011 at 12:20 pm

Later the CKD units become over-rated, over-priced due to the NAP’s duty structures.

• japanese CKD already overpriced
          even BMW n merc CKD also overpriced

• jtiongwl78 on May 29, 2011 at 5:20 pm

The one who benefit from its CKD is Proton. They built too many production line facilities and refuse to convert them to storage space. Thus trying their best to force foreign car manufacturer such as VW to CKD their model, so that can rent out their production space and pay them rent.

• aprilcoco on May 28, 2011 at 7:24 am

Great customer service in malaysia. Can book car and then suddenly have to pay more when car is delivered. Anyway government is the one that approve the original selling price, right?

• Out of topic, ..wow, paul….maxis is using yr website for its htc flyer advert…gd publicity to paultan

• rulered on May 28, 2011 at 8:02 am

The word ‘price increase’ is increasingly popular these days, and increasingly irritating too.

• Sick!

• jalan54 on May 28, 2011 at 9:02 am

I can’t imagine what Malaysia will become is BN still win in the next election… :(

• hantu on May 28, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Malaysia will become Egypt.
      Non-stop demonstration from all Malaysian nationwide until BN is step down.

Haha..
      Use our power to fight the corrupted gov!

• Thank you on May 28, 2011 at 9:34 am

I dreamed to own a passat cc, thanks to the G, now that dream is officially killed! It’s sad for VW lovers and I believe it will badly affect the sales for VW. Now who in the right mind would want to pay so much more for the same $hit?

• sdkguy on May 29, 2011 at 2:57 pm

Don’t worry dude, 2011 VW Passat is coming in, I bet it will be priced below the CC…

• alldisc on May 28, 2011 at 9:56 am

IMHO, VW will prefer for this price adjustment.

the reason is – when new car price increase, this will give slack to used values. meaning, instead of losing 10-15% for the following year, the value will remain. owners will be happier. this will polish VW image to be more shiny.

example what happened to japanese brands T & H from 1985 when corolla and civic were priced around 20K. in ’88 they were sold at around 50K. the second hand values of old models were lease affected at all.

in 91 civic and corolla were sold around 70K. in 96 around 110K. in new millenium the price fetch 110-120K already.

this is reason why many ppl say T & H has good resale values, in reality they didnt. it was the govt who kept adjusting taxes and duties as well as the greedy corporates who wanted to profit more and more.

• TIGER on May 28, 2011 at 10:10 am

We are paying average 4-5 times higher then its original car price.
    So now its reality that they are VIRTUALLY CUTTING OUR THROAT and physically DRILLING BIG HOLES IN OUR POCKET.
    The Concerned authorities make sure us that we Have to use LOCAL P & P and if have bit money STICK TO H & T.

So in my view buy PROPERTY AND GOLD RATHER THEN CARS Unless have extra money
    CHILL OUT

• Sonata on May 28, 2011 at 10:32 am

Hyundai Sonata is better.

• LionTua on May 28, 2011 at 1:43 pm

Chooyy!!!..We are discussing VW price increase…tarak baca topik punya olang..

• Sonata on May 28, 2011 at 8:50 pm

Which makes my point even more correct brather.Why do you want to consider a VW when a Hyundai Sonata is so much cheaper and better value?

• Actually the korean makes are pretty good nowadays, honestly sometimes we are just too brand concious to know that were being fooled..market for premium branding are growing in asia and quite stagnant in the west..people are smarter in developed countries..

• We pay high car price, income tax, roadtax and the G tell us they subsidy our petrol.Come on!! We are the one who paying it, why tax more now….haizzz…..

• hantu on May 28, 2011 at 12:45 pm

We subsidize the gov.
      Thats all.
      Gov always think the taxpayer money is their money not us.

• What is 30K if you are buying overpriced above 200k monster?

• I would cancel my booking if it increased 35k… not because i cannot afford to pay slightly more, but i’m pissed !!! I’m sure alot would do so too….

• MALAYSIA boleh... on May 28, 2011 at 3:19 pm

RM30k is many Rakyat one year income. Think before you say it.

• ray_jay on May 28, 2011 at 11:35 am

If i’m in the market something above RM250K,
    i’ll defo go for BMW 3series or an Audi A4…
    if this is true, a RM30K+ mark-up is totally a rip-off.

• redboy on May 28, 2011 at 11:37 am

they only allow the AP KING PUG to success. Period.

• Dynomite! on May 28, 2011 at 4:33 pm

you angry with the gov, don’t take it out on peugeot!

• Kastam must also investigate the import price of RCZ by AP King.

• Espresso! Quick! on May 30, 2011 at 12:19 am

pissed that you can’t afford that as well huh? i think you should ask for investigation on every car you can’t afford.

• civicEK on May 28, 2011 at 11:42 am

i still cant afford passat even they didnt increase either huhu..

• this is why many hate proton…US80k for a damn passat in M’sia…

• Liverpool on May 28, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Seriously guys, it doesn’t matter if you’re rich or poor. Just because somebody is richer and can afford better cars doesn’t mean they deserve to be ripped off. Sometimes, people work their socks off to be able to afford a car they like. Rich people have to pay more taxes also if you think of it.

I’m NOT one of the rich guys and I definately cannot afford a Passat CC but I do feel for them. At the end of the day, we as the Rakyat are the real victims here, regardless if you’re rich or poor.

• CCster on May 30, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Liverpool, well-said! i reckon that most Passat CC owners are working professionals who have worked very hard to be able to afford the car, and coindentally because they work for others, they also kena a very high income tax bracket. This is a very different group than those who can afford a 5 series or E class because most likely those are business owners who actually don’t pay much individual income tax because they have so many ways to avoid paying tax.So just because one works hard enough to be able to afford a car like Passat CC, it doesn’t mean that it is okay for the government to milk them even more in taxes! I read some of the comments that put Passat CC as the same category as 5 Series, wow that’s flattering, but I don’t think so.

• Actually it is better than a 5 Series. Try driving both of them and then you will see

• goodyboy on May 28, 2011 at 2:01 pm

buying a car based on individual needs n expectation.for those who hav drove conti.car for years,would still prefer to go for the class of choice.For present generation,VW is GTi- fast n furious but for those ages-fourties to fifties,VW is a buggy.Build for people to last a lifetime.It’s a people car=Volks=folks.Therefore it must be cheap n effortable but here in Malaysia…..NAP….tax……=very high pricing.maybe we need to wait for locally assm’ Passat which is still using old audi engine 1.8 turbo….sign…..

• wohoo on May 28, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Kalau Ada Suap Tak Ada Mintak

• BeemerFreak on May 28, 2011 at 2:55 pm

All around the world the Passat CC’s tax structure and selling price is about the same as the Mercedes Benz C class, Audi A4 and BMW 3 series. However Sime Darby and DRB-HICOM are filling a complaint the the Customs as they feel that the Passat is a 5 series and A6 category car.

Come on VW, dont do the foolish thing by allowing the customs to threaten you. Use authority and reasoning.

Rakyat Didahulukan, Pencapaian diutamakan. NOT Pendapatan Diutamakan, Rakyat Dikecualikan.

• squawk on May 30, 2011 at 9:49 am

I suspect SD and DRB want to keep a very comfortable profit margin to cover their own inefficiencies, so they file complaint.

• BeemerFreak on May 30, 2011 at 8:36 pm

So true. Well Hope VW will supplement the price increase with additional accesories like RNS 510 Hard disk Navigation System and Addaptive Cruise Control. This will make the price increase seems justifiable.

• Passat share same components as A4….not A6

• Paul Tan on May 31, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Er, no. Platform different. Passer is transverse engine installation, audi a4 and above are longitudinal.

• Heard the GTi’s prices are going to shoot up as well. Federal Auto has already raised the Passat CC’s prices by RM20,000-00, or so I was informed last month.

• I heard GTI’s price going up as well. But with some accessories changes. Anybody can confirm?

• Yes. Facelift MK6 with 18′ wheels and sunroof. Min 10k increase but no one knows the actual increase yet.

• robert88 on May 30, 2011 at 1:55 pm

5 Changes

– 18″ rims
          – Auto Cruise
          – Sunroof
          – RCD 510
          – Media In

price remained the same

• Paul Tan on May 30, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Given the GTI is selling well in its current form, that’s quite generous if there’s no price increase.

• kevin zahri on Jun 02, 2011 at 11:52 am

ordered my gti in nov ….. was asked if i wanted to wait for the special edition GTI which will launch in june …

they said no price increase for me since i ordered since nov 2010 BUT i heard price increase for new or recent bookings….

new specs as above ….. getting mine by mid june! cant wait

• alldisc on May 30, 2011 at 8:46 pm

owh, that is the special edition spec, already available in singapore. the first one came to malaysia last year, specially ordered by one of the DRB bosses.

• tan e l on May 28, 2011 at 3:50 pm

how sure are u that VGM is not the one who try to ripp off people and blame it on others……..

• Gonggong Lee on May 28, 2011 at 3:51 pm

What you guys forgot is that VW is GUILTY for UNDERDECLARING their cars!
    It is an offense and that’s why its being investigated, which also means they’ve been playing dirty and hurting other companies’ sales efforts…

• MALAYSIA boleh... on May 28, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Is it really under declare or a dirty setup?
      PCC price is just standard, look around the world dude.

• Lim Kopi on May 30, 2011 at 11:40 am

Guilty?? Offence For underdeclaring ??

If thats the case, the Naza Boys should already be locked up!

• Tuesday on May 31, 2011 at 1:57 pm

what do you know? nothing but speculation. if you have no proof, don’t talk.

• malaysian on May 28, 2011 at 4:00 pm

welcome to malaysia….
    the land where anything and everything is possible :-)
    germans are proud of VW, Benz, BMW Audi, etc
    the swedish have their pride in Volvo
    the spaniards have Seat to be proud of
    japan has got more than all those put together
    but here, just to help certain carmakers to survive, we have to pay sky high taxes…
    woo hooo…. sooo happy to live here

• Express your anger and disappointment in the coming general election:)

• Ah Fook on May 28, 2011 at 7:05 pm

“VW Passat CC Wins Australia’s 2010 Best Luxury Car Under $60K…

too bad we have to live with the high tax of imported cars.

Only the rich can afford a decent car these days in Malaysia.

Thanks to the gomen lah!

• Simon Ng on May 29, 2011 at 9:54 am

Through Australia Car are cheap. Did you know the interest rates for Car loans? I heard it is a whopping 10%! Unless you pay by cash, else the car can be expensive too.

• Alphard966 on May 29, 2011 at 2:28 pm

10% interest? I have no problem at all if the passat cc selling at rm60k in bolehland

• Failed to hike price of RON95, Barang Naik regime seemed desperate for cash liao. I guess VW is suffering from bad blood for snubbing Dr Mamak and Potong before. Now it’s payback time.

Enuf is enuf. Jom UBAH next GE13!

• Pooky on May 28, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Bn = barang naik

• seancorr on May 28, 2011 at 9:30 pm

Crazy price…like this no one will be buying the Passat CC anymore. BMW 3 series or the Merc C class would be a better option but I heard the facelift C class price will be shooting RM20-30k too. I hope that’s not the case for the upcoming F30 3 series….and the B9 A4…

• …no laaa.these are all strategies and marketing.
    just to let people nervous and regret not to buy quickly. If property wise i can swallow these kinds of nonsense but for cars.pls. not at all

i think d marketing ppl juz doing their job

…even if it is true…just buy somthing else….done
    (that is how to teach them)

• Lawrence Chong on May 28, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Goverment should have one mechanisme in win win situation to handle such tax issue. No matter in imported car or local made car. Don’t let rakyat feel a negative preseption against goverment. Nowaday people are talking increasing price of goods…no dare to think how will become one day our Malaysia will stand !!!
    Think about it ! PM ….It good sake for everybody…..

• …buy mondeo lah….or 508
    .Easy…….

• Lorrycar on May 29, 2011 at 12:55 am

I’m pretty disappointed with the increased price for lovely passat cc and upcoming conti car. Dear “G” , I suggest why don’t the G do something which can generate more income to the rakyat instead to rob them butax2 just because just for sake and effort for certain parties . rakyat work their dxxx life hard and just to have a better life be affordable to buy something in value with their hard earn.

• Wallstreet on May 29, 2011 at 1:22 am

It’s confirmed and I heard it last week already. VW under declared their cars. So they deserved it for playing dirty and it’s unfair to others.

• MALAYSIA boleh... on May 29, 2011 at 8:50 am

How do you confirm?
      Are you from custom?
      It is always “heard from somebody”, then the rumor spread…

• cilllax on May 29, 2011 at 5:08 pm

aiya this one old news already….no rumour2 no more……dont be frog under the coconut shell la…..next time dont just read paultan only la……read other website, newaspaper, watch tv…info is power………

• adiddaniel on May 29, 2011 at 8:32 am

You all want cheaper car why dont we try Other than umno bn lets say we vote for pakatan rakyat at least they will redue the taxes of all car locally or impoted cars. Are you all agree with this good ideas.

• Jolly_idiot on May 29, 2011 at 9:05 am

Hm, something fishy here. Why now custom only revise vw duty but not previous(before the custom officer incident)? Vw under declare it? How bout other brand? Same?

• Simon Ng on May 29, 2011 at 9:44 am

This is really unfortunate. Those who are behind will forever chasing their “dream” car and never realize that dream.The bar keeps getting higher!

• potato head on May 29, 2011 at 2:44 pm

we heard,he said, they told, we know.. i guess all this is a rubbish!! why practicaly the G cant just abolished the damn AP, do something and be more open ( Transparent ) to our fellow malaysian to enjoy better safety and green car. I think you all will definitely agree that we all terribly tired and fed up with all the nonsense promises that be given.. Price increased will never end, sucking from rakyat will no end road too… we dont mind that we been forced to be robbed or give but atleast we feel is a little worth while …

we already pay for the highest automotive taxes in the world but what did we enjoy…high toll fees, really bad road conditions with killer pot holes, no motor lane … sigh ,, dont know what else to write.. just feel disappointed

• Enough is enough, let show our rakyat power in coming election….

• ringoflife on May 29, 2011 at 4:27 pm

if we want cheaper car? please vote wisely….trying other than umn0/bnn we have nothing to lose….

• Kamsui on May 29, 2011 at 5:17 pm

The top management (MD andrea Prinz) of VM Mal. Has to take the blame. It’s the way they handle the customers and client. Make the order in dec 2010, wrote to Andrea asking why the delay and not even an acknowledgment was received. Is this what you call Global Quality of VW. What a pity. I am not surprise that will become a political issue (VW Mal have to solve the delivery delay immediately). It’s the comments received and the next election, this VW handling of the delayed will be the main topic of issues discussed. You screwed it up Andrea Prinz. You have to make delivery immediately and compensate all your clients for your screwed up.

• autojohndoe on May 29, 2011 at 7:08 pm

VOTE FOR PAKATAN!!!

for pakatan leaders, use this as your propaganda… “if we win, we’ll reduce the car prices”…

• sukasuki on May 29, 2011 at 7:42 pm

i will vote for ‘PR when anwar retired.

• Wisdom on May 30, 2011 at 11:16 am

Then even a first year student will buy a car using their study loan and you will complain the traffic jams is getting worst…..

• Lim Kopi on May 30, 2011 at 12:13 am

PEOPLE…

This problem that VGM is facing could possibly stem from a COMPETITOR doing some dirty work behind CUSTOMS ….

Im not sure who, but it could be BMW, Merc or Audi for all you know ….

• I dont think its about underdeclaring its the compatitor BMW & Mercedes complaining to the govt how could a CBU car be cheaper than a CKD car….. BMW & Merc sales is down so complain la. VW Malaysia wanted to sell Scirocco 2.0 RM210K but Govt tak bagi…..so you c the world is so unfair. Car prices goes up coz shipping cost has gone up.

• Already knew this since late last year. Customs tried to increase tax and price on VW vehicles. Originally the Passat CC was supposed to be sold at a sub RM 220k price tag. That’s why delivery is so late. News is showrooms are running out of cars to sell but no car to deliver. Apparently, sales of VW might have affected the CKD cars here which cost more than a fully imported vehicle with better quality.

• fadgeek on May 30, 2011 at 12:31 pm

I think the price for 308 Turbo also is under declared…suppose 1.4TSI price similar to 308 turbo..they just wanna protect their kroni company like Naza/Nasim who owned the peugeot..think about it

• I may not be rich, but that doesn’t mean I shall be robbed a CHANCE to own a decent car? Buying a house is already a problem…I wonder what other ‘Assets’ can we afford?

So is Potong branding their product ‘Car for the poor’??

The Koreans can advance so much, dump in so many accessories at a too good to be true price, and the Potong can only celebrate with the rectification of Power Window after 20+ years?? This is the effect of Protectionism….and they dun realised that it’s also happening to the ‘People’!!!

When accidents happen, they blame on the motorist, the roads, blah blah blah…Cars are so expensive these days that our potong owners barely survived the instalments, let alone servicing their cars!!!

This also happens to ppl who can’t afford new cars and also shunting potong, so they buy used Conti cars for the price of new Potong car….and these ppl never consider the parts and servicing…the cars may be cheap, but the parts will always be a Conti price…

These are all cause & effects of unreasonable expensive cars in Bolehland…..I wouldn’t mind a potong if they can come out with something decent to reduce road accidents…at least at par with the Koreans/Chinese, but that will also be just a dream……

• Sickening on May 30, 2011 at 11:12 pm

Why has it taken VGM so long to make a simple announcement? And there is still no indication of any time frame. Unable also to understand why Customs has to take so long to do a re-evaluation. Real suspicion! Besides the coming crazy price increase, there is also the concern that the cars have been basking in the hot sun and in the rain for some time already. Tend to develop related problems! And we are going to pay more for the car? It’s sickening!

• Sickening on May 30, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Why VGM has taken such a long time to make a simple announcement? And there is no indication of any time frame. Unable also to understand why Customs has to take such a long time to do a re-evaluation. Real suspicion? Besides the coming crazy price increase, there is also the concern that the cars are basking in the hot sun and in the rain for some time already. Sure will develop related problems. And we have to pay much more for the car? It’s sickening!

• namronc on May 31, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Anyone with any indication of when will the car be release?

• Arabian Knight on Jun 04, 2011 at 12:03 am

I got a call from VW today to say that the increase is actually RM40k. VGM is appealing to lower it to RM20K only. I was told that as i booked before 1st April 2011, old price is still valid for me. Anyway, i am expecting delivery end of this month, i hope.

• Sickening on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:10 pm

Any news on the outcome of the appeal by VGM?

• Arabian Knight on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:44 pm

I still have not received my car although i was informed that the tax issue has been resolved and the new confirmed price is RM269888.00. However, as i booked before the review i still got the old price. Its certainly a very long wait…6 month is too long of a wait for car. Hope to get my car soon.

• Leeputra on May 31, 2011 at 10:09 pm

Make an enquiry on delivery date….
    The GM of the authorized vw distributor telling the custom that it will be end of the year.
    Indicating to client to cancel order so that customers who qualify for old price will cancel order and he with VW will sell at new price….make more money….profit…….
    ………Disgusting…….people./brand.

• Sickening on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:14 am

Are you sure your source is reliable? This is very serious. If true MACC should step in to drill both parties.

• Lee Wat You on Jun 28, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Not that easy Leeputra, customers are concern on the year make as well, i was offered for a low price for Passat year make 2010, i declined, if end of the year, surely the price will be reduced. by then passat 2012 with additional new features will be in the market already.

• Lee Wat You on Jun 28, 2011 at 3:20 pm

I booked for the sport version on 6th April, OTR price including 55% NCB insurance is rm251668, this is the final price. due to the delay, i was offered 2 free service. Can someone confirm on the price, please?