Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG powerslides for 2,308 metres – Mauro Calo sets new world record for longest car drift

Driving a stock Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG, Mauro Calo has set a new world record for the longest car drift at the Mercedes-Benz World in Surrey, UK. Calo smashed the existing world record by 394 metres, drifting a total distance of 2,308 metres to add his name to the record books.

To achieve the record breaking distance, Calo chose part of the Handling Circuit at Mercedes-Benz World – the circuit provided a complete 360 degree circle of tarmac which saw him complete almost eight laps.

Calo, a precision stunt driver and senior driving specialist for Mercedes-Benz and McLaren SLR, broke the record set in 2009 by 2010 Formula Drift champion Vaughan Gittin Jr.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• rapidshifter on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:31 am

nice slide n burnout… yeah burn that rubber…

• Kumar san on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:37 am

Brilliant work Mr.Calo!Awesome!Hats off to you man!

Cheers.

• Child’s play.

• Anti Mat Rempit on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:52 am

Anthony, you should not report this kind of things lah. The Mat Rempits read this, they all will try it. You know they are just itching to do something like this besides wasting their lives and hoping to get some contracts.

• junaidi on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:53 am

nice! the only thing that goes sideways better than that is my stomach.

• Seriously on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:33 pm

orgasmic.

• RideHandling on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Crazy!

• nabill on Jun 21, 2011 at 1:06 pm

doesnt mean anything….the track has clearly been watered to make this stunt easier…or it was deliberatly done during rain…..

• VoidDance on Jun 21, 2011 at 1:30 pm

If this was done with a Slyvia or GTR or whatever drifting favourite cars, I think it would be fine.

But doing record breaking drifting in a Merc, that is just plain dull and weird.

• Ipman on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:47 pm

We should be greatful that it is not done by 4 condom rings.

• VoidDance on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Hah, good one! Or.. for the sake of irritating more people, not done using Proton!

• 4 X 4 on Jun 21, 2011 at 2:10 pm

bravo to the driver…
    aku pun pening tgk video tu…

• I think the tires should be given the credits for lasting that long !

• insperut on Jun 21, 2011 at 4:07 pm

i bet Tengku Djan can do longer if he want to… not mentioning those japo ;)

• Renault Megane RS on Jun 21, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Mercedez Boleh !!!

• dun care abt how long it drifted… i just freaking love that car!!!

• jay8393 on Jun 21, 2011 at 6:47 pm

I can drift for 15km in “Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit”! Haha! Joking joking. Anyway, that is a really great record. Congrats to Mauro Calo.

• i am curious on how the tires look like after 2km of drift

• Lightning McQueen on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:26 pm

That kind of drifting is not really amusing for those japs… try zigzaging circuit… thats is what they call drift…

• audi rs8 price on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:04 pm

Audi’s sports are an icon in the car industry. They have some unique features which are unmatched by its competitors