Ford Fiesta XTR Sapphire edition to debut end-July

Looks like the limited-edition Ford Fiesta XTR Sapphire is set to begin its run towards the end of the month, when the first examples will come on line. The mules were first seen in April, with the example in Aurora Blue finished in a blue interior (dashboard top, door cards and blue/grey fabric seats), and the one in white dressed up with grey leather seats, with blue and off-white vertical runner lines on the seat centre.

The final production version, an example of which quietly made a showing over the weekend at the roadshow at The Curve, will feature some revisions to the interior, essentially an amalgamation of the two early interiors – the blue dashboard top and door cards will be retained, but SDAC has decided to go with grey leather seats (with runner lines intact).

New items spotted are front door scuff plates (none for the rear) and dedicated XTR floor mats, in black – as opposed to the standard 1.6 S hatch’s grey – and with a blue runner line and XTR moniker. The planned integrated GPS system has been omitted; we hear there were some technical issues that eventually precluded it from the list. To offset this, the leather seats are on, instead of the blue/grey fabric ones.

Otherwise, the rest of the configuration remains as is – no changes to the exterior’s body kit (front lip, side skirts, rear diffuser) and Oracal 651-based decals for the top runner stripes (grey/white combination for blue exterior, blue/grey for white) and side stripes. Though it wasn’t seen here, I’ve been told that the production version will eventually feature the top runner stripes on the front bonnet – down to the bumper – as well; guess we’ll wait and see.

Not forgetting of course the main draw, which are the seven airbags (dual front, side, curtain, driver-side knee) that come with the inclusion of the Safety Pack. Aside from this, there are no specification changes elsewhere.

The anticipated run is 200 units for the variant, which is only available in Aurora Blue and Cool White exterior shades. And the pricing estimate hinted at earlier has held true – the Fiesta XTR will be priced at RM88,888, which is 6k above the standard 1.6 S hatchback.

Photos – including more shots of the interior – after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2362]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• khairulx19a on Jul 04, 2011 at 10:46 am

love the bodykit, but the seat coloring not so much,

• theanswer on Jul 04, 2011 at 10:47 am

if manual..sure gonna be a hit!
    btw, hows the 1.4 manual perform? is it good?

• johndol on Jul 04, 2011 at 12:18 pm

cannot agree more, seriously i wish it comes with manual tranny.

• Kumar san on Jul 04, 2011 at 1:33 pm

I test drove my buddy’s 1.4 manual which she got recently,it’s not a firecracker to begin with.Moderate shove/kick in the pants on full throttle from 1st to 2nd gear and third gear,gas pedal planted.It loses it’s breath at near 6k rpm,but it has decent midraage.It handles much better than anything else i have tested of recent,within the same category.What is has going for it is a very chuckable and benignly balanced chassis.Sweet.

I too am a manual trans fan just like you.5 out of the 6 cars i own are manuals.What this 1.6 engine needs is a stickshift(5 or 6 speed manual) and with complete Montune engine tuning kit for say 140bhp,lowerings springs,larger wheels and a raspy Montune.They will sell as fast as Ford can build them.The standard kit&equipment list is already spot on for the money,including the bodykit and paint graphics.Ace job.

Cheers.

• drollercoaster on Jul 04, 2011 at 10:55 pm

i agree. since this is a limited edition, they should consider the manual option for a small number of units.

• francis on Jul 04, 2011 at 1:49 pm

a fren bought the 1.4M …I never had the chance to drive a beemer or merc or even Camry or accord, so i would say this 1.4 perform quite responsive.. how good is it the 1.6 offer manual too..

• lowprofile on Jul 05, 2011 at 8:30 am

if you guys have access to the maa report, the 1.4 manual sells in a pittance compared to even the slow selling fiesta sedan auto. so much for those asking for a manual. it is just not financially feasible to provide that option when not even 20% buy it.

• theanswer on Jul 04, 2011 at 10:50 am

if manual..sure gonna be a hit!

• lowprofile on Jul 05, 2011 at 8:28 am

nope. i will not be a hit. ford knows this and so do many other car companies. historical records and research also prove this. the manual option is just there to show and prove to everyone that nobody will buy it. many of you say will buy a manual but when it comes to putting down the money, you will almost all go for the auto.

• Far more better than Yaris and Jazz..
    The T&H are ripping of us endlessly.

• Nice car in picture but in actual not so nice. Mazda 2 looks better.

• exals on Jul 04, 2011 at 11:25 am

how i wish this spec is manual available.. =(

• azhar on Jul 04, 2011 at 11:27 am

so apart from leather & blue theme interior..there is no other changes..and the price will be up 6k..wow!!!!

• Paul Tan on Jul 04, 2011 at 11:35 am

You didn't notice the mention of 7 airbags?

• tiadaid on Jul 04, 2011 at 12:47 pm

Don't forget, in addition to the leather (real leather I guess, cost more too), interior trims & additional 5 airbags, you're also paying for exclusivity, since it's limited to 200 models. Not like Myvi Limited Edition that's "limited" to thousands.

BTW I really like the new comment interface. An improvement over the last one!

• all that and no manual option? the added stuff looks like its targeted at petrol heads but forgot the main criteria for petrol head- manual trans.

• bobdbilder on Jul 04, 2011 at 12:43 pm

Its for poseurs and wannabe petrol heads dude. Manuals are only prevalent in economies which are more practical than us. Its not only in Malaysia, but around the region. And we complain that petrol is expensive. So we want a comfortable easy to live with car.

• drollercoaster on Jul 04, 2011 at 10:54 pm

what do you mean by "economies which are more practical than us"? got such thing as practical and not so practical economy meh?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 04, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Good car at good price

• yea. the price is a bit steep for additional airbags and body kit.
    if they give power increment, say from 120hp to 145hp.. then i will book it now!

• yippi33 on Jul 04, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Nice exterior..not fond of the interior though..to blue-ish..the dash especially..

• clutch basah on Jul 04, 2011 at 2:16 pm

man.. that is a good lookin ride

• Salted on Jul 04, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Fiesta tries to challenge Forte but fail miserably, overprice, limited choice of colour I mean only blue colour, 7 airbags is a fashion gimmick.

Thou I hate Japanese car, for me Mazda 2 more realistic car, solid exterior and

last but not least I must say this Blue Fiesta exterior looks good when we compare with Fiesta Sport standard (so sorry for Fiesta S owner been cheated by Ford ie Airbags). It seem Fiesta imitates Vios by changing exterior and interior decorations only and no performance upgrade at all.

• Franc on Jul 04, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Agree with Salted, not worth to upgrade and overpriced. Forte the best choice for family or single. Big space and beauty shape.

• Jujiro Matsuda on Jul 04, 2011 at 7:57 pm

You forget there’s Fiesta sedan? Spacious n Beautiful than Forte.

• drollercoaster on Jul 04, 2011 at 10:53 pm

that means space is more important to you. then go ahead and get the Forte. each car has its own target market lah. as ugly as the dugong is (i hate it), people still buy it in droves…….

• Ash Menon on Jul 04, 2011 at 7:59 pm

"7 airbags is a fashion gimmick".

This statement is so ridiculous that I can't find anything to reply to it. Congratulations, sir, you have dumbfounded me.

• dir3wolf on Jul 04, 2011 at 3:04 pm

I'd take this over the Dugong G Limited any day!

• lchan on Jul 04, 2011 at 3:16 pm

how many freaking variant does ford wanna come out with on this fiesta model??????…

• almost 90k for a super small car. Malaysians have already doubled their income is it?

• lkf0512 on Jul 04, 2011 at 4:53 pm

Better than dugong G Limited with thick lipstick and…and…has pretty nothing much in it…

• Naz@AE111 on Jul 04, 2011 at 4:09 pm

man… i love this FoFi… but a bit pricey owww..

• Sam Chang on Jul 04, 2011 at 5:32 pm

a nice piece of gem and sexy little car, Fiesta I Want!

• Leonardo on Jul 04, 2011 at 5:57 pm

The exterior color and graphics look good but the interior color scheme is a bit…err..unmatching..to put it politely..

But my real concern is the refelection of the blue colored instrument panel on the windscreen in the bright sunlight, as it could create a safety issue. Have anyone seen this car in natural sunlight and see the relection of the instrument panel?

• drollercoaster on Jul 04, 2011 at 10:52 pm

i have a feeling it won't be any different from a car with a black interior – i don't really see / notice any reflection in the windscreen of most cars.

• intermilan on Jul 04, 2011 at 8:26 pm

i love that many are opening up to non-Japanese offerings.
    our market need to furthwer reduce the percentage of japanese (and all local) car to make the competition much much healthier.
    ford passenger car (ranger isn't a passenger car, okay?) number is swelling and so does a few other european marques. hopefully, this momentum is going to get stronger and stronger.

This particular fiesta is a lovely car, except for certain default design cues which i dislike.

All that stripes and its an auto with 118bhp and 152Nm of torque?
    How much does the fiesta weight? must be between 1150- 1200kg?
    well then, like bobdbilder said, this car unfortunately, is for poseurs.
    but still a very nice car nonetheless.

• rashdar on Jul 04, 2011 at 10:05 pm

can anyone tell me why should i buy this car? based from the review i've read this one is easily kicking off all the class B japs

• SYing on Jul 04, 2011 at 11:00 pm

test drive it, the kick off the writer of the review which u've read.

• Start this baby up every morning and you'll know why. I get a real kick every morning when my wife starts her Fiesta S up as I see her off to work.
    A very pleasant brrrrrrrrrr…!

I really don't understand some comments here. Why the dickens would you compare this with a Forte? That's a family car, for crying out loud!If you must, then it should more or less be in the same category as Mazda2, Jazz, i30, Yaris, etc…

Anyway, for the price you pay, it's a fine little thing. Sure you know you're being ripped off (to a certain extent), but at least, you're being ripped off in a good way and you don't feel so bad about it…

• bReaL on Jul 05, 2011 at 9:38 am

slap a GPS sat nav and this thing will be perfect

• i 300% prefer this than the so-called "NEW" myvi…hahaha

• torrent on Jul 14, 2011 at 6:01 pm

i totally agree with you hex,come on,spend 5xk on a so call lagi best MYVI,doesnt seem to have any improvements at all,why dont spend a little more and get a better car with better engine,better fuel economy,better safety,better driving performance,haiz,what can i say,,,,

• Cyborgtron Unix on Jul 05, 2011 at 12:50 pm

The best in it segment then limited, will drive it exclusively next month

• Shannon on Jul 05, 2011 at 8:17 pm

Cant wait for it to arrive and drive it! I hope i'll be the first few to get it. Been waiting since April!

• Nice variant from Ford though pricing is always out of sync with the market when it is under Sime Darby …… though it sells better but never the main stream car ….. too much profit to Sime, none for us the consumer !

I wonder how is their after sales & servicing like ? Better than NAZA i hope ….

• sepul on Jul 06, 2011 at 9:05 pm

at least give it a manual mode for the powershift.. that should be a bit of fun to drive around

btw, it says limited, when the 200 units sold out, no more already? or is it a limited run like proton's satria neo r3?