Refreshed BMW 1-Series duo now in Malaysia – RM423,800 for 135i Coupe, RM319,800 for 120i Convertible

BMW Group Malaysia today introduced the refreshed 1-Series Coupe and Convertible. The Coupe will be available in 135i form and the soft top as a 120i, just like before. The company says that limited numbers of each model will be brought in to “ensure its exclusivity”.

“We only delivered over 30 units of the previous edition of the BMW 135i Coupe and BMW 120i Convertible here in Malaysia and our strategy for these cars would remain the same to ensure its distinctiveness in the premium segment. For a long time now, we at BMW Group Malaysia have promised to make available every single BMW introduced worldwide here in Malaysia and the introduction of these two cars is a testament to this promise.” said Geoffrey Briscoe, MD of BMW Group Malaysia.

Looks wise, the duo feature larger air inlets, new headlights (with milk glass ‘eyebrows’) and taillights (double L-shaped light banks with chrome surround) as well as redesigned air dams. Additionally, two new exterior colours – Vermilion Red and Marrakesh Brown – have been added.

Inside, lighting and air con controls now come with chrome trim. Boston leather is now available in Savannah Beige. The 120i Convertible’s leather has SunReflective Technology which reflects long-wave light and prevents surfaces from heating up in the sun. The 135i Coupe doesn’t get this, but will come with BMW ConnectedDrive.

Under the hood of the potent 135i Coupe is a turbocharged 3.0L in-line six with 306 hp and 400 Nm from 1,200 to 5,000 rpm, sending the small coupe from 0-100 km/h in just 5.2 seconds. That’s still great performance, even if the 1-Series M Coupe is the new range topper. In contrast, the 120i Convertible is no bruiser, but a gentle cruiser – its 156 hp four-pot pulling the car to 100 km/h in 10 seconds.

By the way, the topless one has 260 litres of boot space with the top down and 305 litres with the top up. The transformation process takes 22 seconds.

For the abovementioned exclusivity, you’ll need RM423,800 for the 135i Coupe and RM319,800 for the 120i Convertible. Prices are on the road, without insurance, but with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ultimate Car on Jul 05, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Since you have mentioned about your promise about bringing every new car introduced worldwide, when are we going to get the new 2.0L 5 series? And how much would these cars be? Since globally, the 520i is cheaper than the 520d, will it be the at a cheaper price than the 520d? Below RM333,333?

When exactly will it arrive in Malaysia?

• boh make sense on Jul 05, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Rediculous pricing for a 1-series

• 135i is yummy! Wish it is cheaper.

• Izzat on Jul 05, 2011 at 7:06 pm

if the "normal" range is around RM400k..how about the 1M version??..RM1m??..haha =D

• whadup on Jul 05, 2011 at 7:12 pm

This car got lots of praises from Mr. Jeremy Clarkson in the 17th season Top Gear series, however for me the price is just ridiculous.

• ray_jay on Jul 05, 2011 at 7:23 pm

Whoever bought this at THAT PRICE i must ask… how much do you spend for breakfast everyday?

• Norman on Jul 05, 2011 at 9:59 pm

They don't do breakfast, kiddo.

People with that much cash to spend on toys like this do not need to work, thus they wake up late and have blunch instead.

• kimma republica on Jul 05, 2011 at 7:53 pm

O V E R P R I C E D !
    euro’s is weak against ringgit…

• RedBeanBun on Jul 05, 2011 at 8:37 pm

how pathetic is this 1series as "premium" position…Malaysia Boleh!

• civicEK on Jul 05, 2011 at 8:37 pm

nice! so cheap!

• TOO EXPENSIVE

• Is it possible to even buy the BMW 1 M Coupe here? I wonder how much will it cost.

• Johndeep on Jul 05, 2011 at 9:24 pm

120i is a laughing stock with 156bhp, 10s sprint to 100kmh, 300k

• boh make sense on Jul 05, 2011 at 10:28 pm

Peugeot 308THP also has 156bhp, <10s sprint to 100km/h and just 118k :-)

• tiadaid on Jul 06, 2011 at 12:48 am

Extra 200K for the badge?

• theanswer on Jul 06, 2011 at 1:22 am

i dont want to usepug as a comparo since different class of brand..but i guess golf gti is lot more powerfull and cheaper and the brand is not so different in term of class.

• MsianXpat on Jul 07, 2011 at 1:58 am

Kidding ar? Here in Europe VW competes in the same market segment as Peugeot Ford and Toyota. Go to car park see Golf like see Waja back home, they are everywhere. Only in bodohland got people think its some high class brand.

• OMG……the size of Audi A1 or A3 but the asking price is so ridiculous & crazy. Anyways good luck BMW Malaysia with that kind of pricing, but there is a lot of rich people/kids in Malaysia who will buy this. Noticed that there are a lot of super car in KL lately.

• Vincent on Jul 05, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Look not impress, price is too much! Anytime rake 325 coupe.

• potato on Jul 05, 2011 at 10:51 pm

BMW’s out of their mind trying to sell a 120i convertible for over rm300k, previous 1 series i believe was sold under rm200k?

• Naji$ Bin Tut Lazat on Jul 06, 2011 at 12:59 am

Boleh Land punya kereta memang mahal lah.

under 30 ribu like USA lah, boleh terima.

• disgusted on Jul 07, 2011 at 6:12 pm

fugly

• Alexandergan49 on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:29 pm

how true what you say Anand. BMW is losing customers big time because of their pricing snob attitude. People got so pissed off with the introduction of the 323i which was priced as the 325i. Same engine but screw the Malaysians for more money and reduce BHP. They said if you want 218BHp, you have to buy the 325i at RM300,000 plus.

Then came the F10 CBU. Loyal BMW buyers waited for the CKD hoping cheaper prices, but they screwed all the loyal fans by selling the CKD RM15,000 less and justifying it by giving stupid options. Stupid options like back vent aircons etc.

They lie a lot too saying F10 price got to be high because it is a 2.5. They said if 2.0, prices can be like the old E60 at RM343,000.

Now we wait and see. The new 5 series will have the new 2.0L engines. The 520d is priced at RM333,800. Globally, the 520d is more expensive than the 520i. Now with the F10 2.0L Twin Scroll Turbo in the 5 series, lets see whether they actually reduce prices as this will be a 2.0 litre engine thus lower taxes.

• The F******G goverment is making soo much money by tax, not jus BMW but all brand. CKD is just a joke, most of the times its from 10 to 15K difference only. I travel alot to overseas and I find it hard to swallow the BS of car prices here. In vietnam, they import almost all of thier cars, prived between 1/2 to 2/3 of our prices here (CBU).

• O.O
    we can get fully specced m-sport e90s with that price….to hell with taxes!!!

• Well. U guys can check Top Gear S17Ep01. J.Clarkson tested 1 Coupe. According to the host, the car was made from left over : Straight six engine from Z4 with 2 turbocharged equipment, side mirror from M3 etc. There is a drag race between the car vs Porsche Cayman R vs Evora S. BMW 1 Coupe win. In the corner, it is very stable (like other BMW). The only drawback, according to the host, the suspension is bit stiff. But u will hardly sense it due to the comfort seat inside the car.