Frankfurt: Diesel electric hybrid Peugeot 508 RXH

The Peugeot 508 range is set to grow, joined by this Audi Allroad style wagon called the 508 RXH, previewed here ahead of a Frankfurt debut. Peugeot gave the 508 saloon and wagon world debuts at last year’s Paris show, and they went on sale earlier this year. The RXH will go on sale in spring 2012.

Under the hood is a diesel electric hybrid drivetrain, or more specifically the 2.0 HDi FAP HYbrid4 drivetrain from the 3008 Hybrid4. With 200 bhp, 450 Nm and 4WD, the Peugeot 508 RXH should have enough for most conditions that its tyres and ground clearance allow for. There’s also a ZEV 100% electric mode, which helps lower the combined cycle to less than 4.2 litres per 100 km, with CO2 emissions of 109 g/km.

From the outside, the RXH can be easily identified by its signature “lion claws” triple LED bars up front. The interior gets distinctive colours and luxurious materials, and equipment includes the Open & Go system, electric front seats, head up display, 18-inch wheels, panoramic glass roof and dark-tinted acoustic laminated side windows.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wisdom on Jul 12, 2011 at 11:00 am

The triple DRLs seems overkill…

Does this car have auto engine stop mode when stationary? I know diesels engine is not favoring auto stop-start that much but they could’ve figure it out.

• tokmoh on Jul 12, 2011 at 5:15 pm

In London, they already have hybrid diesel double decker bus. It does have stop-start. I don’t see why this Peug does not have it

• wow..4.2litre per 100km..very good indeed

• drMpower on Jul 12, 2011 at 11:07 am

off topic:

has anyone seen a highly taped Lion on the road recently?
    i was at my old man’s home near Gurun the other day
    and on the way i saw a blackened Lion on the prawl
    i was on a three way junction and it just flew past
    i guess it is the new 508 or could be the replacement for 407
    but that thing is not big at all

i figure it is something smaller than our waja something like that
    it must be a Pug because Naza’s Pug factory is just nearby..

• anti-first on Jul 12, 2011 at 11:32 am

little cues from the 407 can be seen in the front grille and with those DRLs, it definitely looks more ‘garang’ than the 508 sedan!

• Superb output, making all other hybrid like redundant. Over 1000km a tank, that is fantastic.

• Just me on Jul 12, 2011 at 9:41 pm

I bet prius can’t make over 1000km per tank if cruising at high speed. that is because electric motor is off most of the time, only on occasionally during climbing hill. Hybrid work well for city drive where speed is around 60km or below.

• Carl Wong on Jul 13, 2011 at 4:02 am

Anything is possible, it’s up to the driver. You can get 1000km+ from hybrids too. If you cruise at 200km/hr, NO, if you cruise at 100km/hr, YES :)! Patient people always get more.

• Great job,,,, now if only Proton or Perodua can come up NGV hybrid!!!

• alxand@ttdi_peugeot on Jul 12, 2011 at 12:51 pm

508 is replacement for 407 n 607 hence slight bigger than 407, while 408 is sedan 308 so tat is smaller than 407 :)

• Machi on Jul 12, 2011 at 1:20 pm

I fall in love with this lion at first sight!! After Prius, I will go for it as 2nd car ! No interior pictures?

• Gavin on Jul 12, 2011 at 1:48 pm

Diesel electric, i bet it goes like a locomotive

• Sounds like you have seen one or driven one?

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 12, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Don’t need to drive one to know.

With diesel engine making all that torque low down in the rpm band and the electric motors with MAX torque just off 0 RPM…the reference to a locomotive is not uncalled for.

Sure would pull like a freight train…with that 450-500NM (why is the 3008 Hybrid listed at 500Nm of torque) of torque.

• Just me on Jul 12, 2011 at 8:33 pm

Diesel + hybrid is a perfect combo. infect for me I think diesel alone is more economy than than the normal jap petrol hybrid engine in a long run. Diesel engine has lower maintenance cost, more tahan lasak, in term of mileage + per litre cost, not too far out compare to jap hybrid. RM15k for battery replacement can buy many year of diesel. Only thing is in malaysia not many diesel car to choose from and lousy diesel quality.

• Yup, same FC wise wt petrol hybrid but twice the power!!

• anyway, conventional (non nuclear) submarine are diesel hybrid…tech been around since way back in ww2.

• skiborne on Jul 12, 2011 at 2:50 pm

hopefully when 508 arrives, it also comes with estate body style and a diesel option

• oh car dont come and bite me

• Muddy on Jul 12, 2011 at 8:55 pm

From front view, it does look like a Cayenne!!

• Now can LOL at those petrol hybrid owners. Many claimed their new hybrid cars can archive 650km on full tank. Hello, u can get more than 700km on diesel easily. Some got over 1000km with full tank. This is without hybrid technology.

• Wisdom on Jul 13, 2011 at 9:44 am

No need to LOL coz they got 650km per 30 liters of petrol, while diesel achieve 1000km per 58 liters of diesel. U do the math.

Well known facts is turbodiesel are more prone to reliability issues (egr, turbo unit, commonrail failure) compared to Japanese hybrid (Prius, Insight) which seems reliable and lasted since the last 10 years.

• Bro, do u know that a diesel can easily achieve those petrol hybrid numbers, thts why euro manufacturer need diesel hybrid to achieve numbers better than a diesel. They produce petrol hybrids for North American mkt (beemer & merc)

• Wisdom on Jul 14, 2011 at 10:34 am

So they better sort out the diesel-hybrid properly coz getting good mileage is useless if the engine is prone to reliability issue.

• kamaji on Jul 13, 2011 at 3:02 pm

It’s all the same for hybrid cars……save penny for fuel today & then spend in pound for parts replacement tomorrow.

• tikus on Jul 13, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Diesel hybrid wont be in Bolehland unless govt upgrade the diesel quality to Euro 4.

• stephen on Jul 19, 2011 at 4:21 am

last claim euro 4 will be out by 2012 when they commit to this when euro 2m was rolled out…i hope they keep their promises. there’s only 5 months left.

do hope they do roll it out for more engine option to come into the country

• racotua on Aug 02, 2011 at 5:34 pm

looks a bit too long to carry off the soft-roader look well.

• Toroto on Aug 16, 2011 at 12:29 pm

By the time Euro 4M launch in this country, is already outdated as Euro 6 has become the standard…

• slick shifts on Oct 15, 2011 at 12:19 am

so true!! looks like we will never get the top diesels that are the most efficient currently while maintaining driving performance as well.