Caterham to enter Chinese market

British sportscar maker Caterham Cars is expanding its presence globally – it’s now set to enter into the Chinese market, with the entire range of Sevens making their way in.

The company has signed an exclusive deal with a new importer, Courtenay Trading International; the latter is looking to appoint six retailers in key provinces of China over the next year and is targeting initial sales of between 30 and 50 Sevens in its first year of operation.

All of Caterham’s current EU5-compliant cars will be sold – the Roadsport 120, Superlight 120, Roadsport 175, Superlight R300 and CSR 175 – with the first Sevens scheduled to arrive in China in January 2012.

Although Caterham has had a long-standing presence in the Far East, notably in Japan, the move into China represents the next big step into new growth markets. Looks like the purchase by Team Lotus Enterprise in April is taking the brand places!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mnazri.tan on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:20 am

even before TF bought the company, given i have the money…i would go into KTM X-Bow or Ariel Atom for this kind of car instead of caterham….and i am not sure that this caterham could be attractive to the chinese …knowing some of them during my short business trip…i would say even original lotus like elise and evora is not something they could be attracted at……

but perhaps i am wrong….Good Luck TF….

• mnazri.tan on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:22 am

and i guess this give more reason for TF to drop lotus name and focus on caterham…should be good for him, fan and even the enemy of his….win win…

• VoidDance on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:09 pm

He legally owned the name Team Lotus now. So we can drop “TF should drop Team Lotus name” argument once and for all.

Oh, by the way, Ariel Atom and KTM X-Bow is WAY EXPANSIVE comparing to a Caterham. But I guess you’re right. I don’t see the Chinese people liking Caterham that much. They prefer cars with ‘expansive’ brand names like Buick which sold badly in the US but well acceptable in China.

• mnazri.tan on Jul 21, 2011 at 3:59 pm

exactly my point….the chinese dont really favor this kind of car…its the mentality….

Sorry, i dont really know the price of arie or ktm or caterham…i guess i am wrong to compare.

whether TF own it legally or not, is not what i am discussing here….He has great brand with him..Caterham, and he has the best marketing tool to promote car…F1 car…my math is simple…but i guess perhaps which is why i am not as rich as him….hahaha

• Eyesore on Jul 21, 2011 at 4:56 pm

If i’m not mistaken, he only has the right to use the Team Lotus name in F1… not as a brand for road cars… because the ‘Lotus’ name already belong to Group Lotus… If the dare to do it.. i expect they will be hit hard by big lawsuit for Group Lotus..

I think this is why u never saw other car manufacturer with name let say Team Toyota or Cheap Ferrari or Super Porsche…. cuz you know what will happen to the manufacturer if the dare market this kind of brand name…. Even model number also have created quite an issue (remember the Ferrari F1 car with Ford truck name dispute?) let alone brands name..

But then again…with TF.. who knows, he might just do it… and end up burying Caterham deep into the ground…

• I think Chinese people doesn’t like convertibles.

• Unforgiven on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:50 am

Are we allowed to drive this on the road? In M’sia?

• Sunny Jaafar on Jul 21, 2011 at 2:28 pm

definitely… i saw it around subang before.
      there is a official dealer in malaysia – Gary Murrell
      which located in damansara heights

• If Caterham puts ABS and windsheild on this car, we can drive it.

• “with the Seven to lead the charge”

Correct me if I’m wrong here, but isn’t the Seven their only production model?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 21, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Ha ha, yes, it is. Was rushing to get it done before heading off to an event. Line edited.

• drMpower on Jul 21, 2011 at 3:00 pm

how much this cost anyway?