New BMW X3 xDrive20i with 2.0L turbo – 184hp/270Nm

The BMW X3’s engine range gets a new addition – it will be available with BMW’s new 2.0 litre turbocharged inline-4 petrol engine from autumn 2011.

Power output will be 184 horsepower at a low engine speed of 4,800rpm, while peak torque is 270Nm from as low as 1,250rpm. The peak horsepower numbers match the 20d engine, and peak torque kicks in at a very low RPM just like its diesel counterpart, though it’s a whole 110Nm less, but that’s normal in a petrol versus diesel comparison.

Because of the small engine displacement size, BMW Malaysia could use it to their advantage to price an X3 xDrive20i competitively and offer a petrol powered counterpart to their currently sole X3 offering – the xDrive20d.

BMW has also added the 35d engine option to the X3, but so far none of the 35d engines in any of the BMW models have been offered officially by BMW Malaysia, because of fuel quality issues presumably.

There are some X6 35d being brought in by the grey importers – wonder why, is diesel getting popular, or are there just not enough petrol X6 to bring in from Europe because of a shift towards more and more Europeans buying diesel cars to save on costs?

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2504]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Pleiades on Aug 07, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Most hideous looking vehicle currently available.

• At least. A quite powerful 2.0 petrol engine from BMW

• coolcar on Aug 07, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Another nail in the Audi Q5’s coffin.

• BMW Owner and Enthusiast on Aug 08, 2011 at 9:24 am

BMW Malaysia, pls give your customers exact dates. I called BMW Helpline asking when the new 2.0 twin scroll turbo petrol engines in the F10 5 series will be sold in Malaysia, they had no idea what I was talking about.

Come on lah BMW Malaysia, buck up and pull up your socks. Give your customers exact dates and facts. People paying RM400,000 don’t want to hear answers like “I don’t know”, “maybe it will be sold, maybe not”, “don’t know when lah”, “what 2.0 petrol? Is it diesel 2.0 you are talking about sir?,”

Malu lah. Globally the 2.0 will be sold in September and BMW Malaysia staff got no idea about it.

• Johndeep on Aug 08, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Why bark here, u want to show off u have 400k in yr pocket?

• Kumar on Aug 08, 2011 at 5:20 pm

This guy will come out and bark for no reason, whenever BMW’s news come out.

• Foo Sim Kim on Aug 08, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Jealous kah other people got more money?

• Kumar on Aug 08, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Jealous? do you think we believe he has 400k in the pocket? We believe more that he is a Audi salesman who drives a Myvi.

• Andrew Garth on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Tambi, are you high on todi? Talk constructive things on car issues in this forum and refrain from speculating nonsense.

• james on Aug 09, 2011 at 10:36 am

Kumar, stick to Tata and Mahindra, don’t comment in the bmw section if you are so hostile towards others

• Kumar on Aug 09, 2011 at 11:20 am

Be a man, why keep changing your name, we still can recognise you as an Audi salesman. And why I have to stick to Tata and Mahindra, BMW your bapak punya kah??

• Gajen on Aug 09, 2011 at 6:35 pm

I just phoned audi’s help line and ask do their salesman post aggressive comments on paultan’s BMW posts. And the answer they gave me is “I dont know” too……

• vw_fan on Aug 08, 2011 at 9:47 am

Why are there a coffin and a nail involved? X3 is not a new car and it hasn’t been selling well. I doubt a new petrol offering now will make any dramatic differences and it still falls short of VW/Audi’s TFSI/DSG combo.

Q5’s order are backlogged for 12 months. So even if you wanted one you can’t and grey importers are having a fine time selling the ones they managed to grab.

I would imagine that there are more exciting SUV crossovers coming our way like the Range Rover Evoque and even the Q5 TFSI Hybrid at that kind of price range.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 09, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Dont think so buddy. you can say whatever you like, but the sales figures just tells everything. Not being a total arse, but you really do sound biased. Why? Audi+VW=failure in malaysia. And still you say it is backlogged? Or do you mean that only a few of them are brought in?

If what you say is true, why do I see more X3s and X5s on the road rather than touregs and Qs?

• At last. A quite powerful 2.0 petrol engine from BMW

• LionelStep on Aug 07, 2011 at 10:37 pm

For petrol turbocharged, this X3 enging has some more room for improvement actually :

Horsepower : A turbocharged 2L displacement could reach ~200 brakes horsepower for other makes,

Torque : A turbocharged 2L displacement of other makes could reach 310mN of torque, also from low RPM, albeit slightly higher maybe 1800 RPM.

• Paul Tan on Aug 08, 2011 at 10:30 am

This tuning is intentionally low. Same 2.0l makes 245hp at 5000rpm and 350nm at 1250rpm as a “28i”

• LionelStep on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Thanks Paul ~~ Then this engine max bhp and torque at low RPM really put much smile to the users :)

How’s the FC in either L/100km, or km/L for both tunings ?

• Doesn’t really matter if they didn’t bring in the more efficient model as the only people that gonna buy it are BMW hardcore fans..

It looks, cacat.

• Our diesel are sucks!

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 07, 2011 at 10:23 pm

I hope Theophilus Chin will do something about this…

• looking-good on Aug 07, 2011 at 11:55 pm

what is the counter part for this X3 from Benz? ?

……….dun have any yet..

• Paul Tan on Aug 08, 2011 at 12:14 am

There’s the Mercedes-Benz GLK but it’s only available in left hand drive.

• bayousam on Aug 08, 2011 at 1:39 am

Is it just me or does this thing just look butt ugly compared to the Asian alternatives? Never mind. I’m sure that badge will blind the fans. Anyway, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

BTW, if Hyundai/Kia bring in their Tucson/Sportage with the 2L Turbo (already available elsewhere, delivering 270BHP), this Bavarian would be well advised to stay out of their way. Imagine that, 100BHP more than in the “Ultimate Driving Machine”, probably at half the price. I’ll leave it to the marketing boys and gals to come up with appropriate tag lines.

• Scorpio on Aug 08, 2011 at 3:52 am

As far as I know that a BMW 2.0L twinpower turbo delivers 245hp+ ….

There’s something wrong with the info listed in this article.

No Japs or Korean can come close to the ” Ultimate Driving Machine ” …. Wake up mate

• Paul Tan on Aug 08, 2011 at 10:26 am

The 245hp version is the 28i tuning.

• bayousam on Aug 08, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Scorpio is God. He/she can predict the future. Unfortunately, being in such a lofty place, maybe just puts Scorpio a little out of touch with more worldly matters, like price/performance ratios… .

• I don’t recall any street sports variant of BMW beating the GTR.. Ultimate Driving Machine? Wake up dude.. it’s just a slogan, they do not need to be compliant to it so don’t believe what you read.

• now its ‘JOY’ is BMW…GTR eats everyone’s ass, not just BMW

• If performance is what you looking for bro, you should kerja rajin sikit and get the new lambo aventador. It beats the GTR with tangan di bawah! And the lambo banyak passion and soul juga! The GTR to me is just a makmal instrument. Ya it works marvelously, but just no soul. Opposite, the bmw doesnt really performs like the GTR, but it has more soul! And if I drive on the road, I dont think performance really matters that much, it is what you memandu! You paham?

• junaidi on Aug 08, 2011 at 9:41 am

to each his own i guess. But I agree though. If you look closely at the grill of these X units they kinda look like the pigs in Angry Birds as pointing out by….

• this one ugly car…

• ray_jay on Aug 08, 2011 at 9:03 pm

I noticed a lot of side & behind shots of the car. I can’t blame whoever select the final bunch to be publish here because no offend to whoever the designer is… the front fascia is not a worthy of X3 highly forgettable (or the opposite but for the wrong reason)