Frankfurt: New Hyundai i30 is now Fluidicly Sculptured

Click to enlarge image

We’re a month away from the 2011 Frankfurt International Motor Show, and carmakers are starting to roll out their previews. Subaru will debut the production XV, Audi will be bringing a unique concept, and Hyundai will unwrap its new i30. This is the first official sketch released of the C-segment hatchback.

Launched in 2007, the i30 has done well for Hyundai in Europe, where VW Golf class hatchbacks and superminis are the staple car. But it’s beginning to look slightly old next to Hyundai’s latest breed of cars, so this new one wears the brand’s Fluidic Sculpture styling and hexagonal shaped front grille. The car was designed and engineered at Hyundai’s technical centre in Rüsselsheim, Germany.

Launched in 2007, current i30 didn’t really catch on here, but is successful in Europe

“When designing the new i30, we used strong, fluid lines to sculpt a car which looks athletic while exuding a sense of constant motion, even when stationary. From the rendering, you can see how we managed to give the car a bold stance, transmitting a confident attitude through sporty characteristics and dynamic proportions,” said Thomas Bürkle, Chief Designer, Hyundai Motor Europe.

“In this way, the car is very close to the recently unveiled i40, and we want people to recognise the Hyundai design DNA on those two models,” he added.

To view the new i30’s Euro siblings, click here for the i40 and here for the sleek i40 Tourer.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Critique on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:17 am

The Sketch is good enough to be put side-by-side with the 308 !

• looking-good on Aug 12, 2011 at 5:30 pm

308 smelling age d~

but yet still much much more better than the brand new Civic!!!

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:17 am

VW pro

• vw_fan on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:25 am

looks promising

• Hyundai doing very well in europe & north america

• New Elantra hatchback? Drooling…

Keep it up Hyundai! Look at the new Elantra….Your design language seem improving so much!

• looking good! Shame on T&H

• Hyundai is just getting better and better..amazing how much a design can influence knes decision!

• Sparc on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Fugly Junk!!

• rapidshifter on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:28 pm

the current i30 no successful in Malaysia mainly the price factor too close to T& H… hopefully the new version will be priced near Forte/inspira 2.0….

• i30, Elantra/Avante, Avega, Verna, i40 all look about the same, same old same old Boring…

When Thomas Burkle say the reason why i30 look similar to i40 so that people can reconize Hyundai instantly when they see 1 (What he actually mean is that we r out of new ideas, that the best we can do, we need to cut cost to have 1 design fit all).

Similar case can be seen in Samsung Clam Shell phone where all looks so similar that consumer can no longer tell which is which model.

• what about the blackberry phones? people still buy it..the latest model or the past 2 years model all look very identical but people still buy it..

• sick&tired on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:22 pm

judging from your post, a koren guy must have raped or molested you! whats with all the hating?

• kenot on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:16 pm

wow..when look at the new i30 fluid sculpture, the current i30 like the old car. thump up for hyundai for their philosophy of design.

• Asrul hezly on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:59 pm

The bumper designs seems familiar with other new hyundai tucson and i10. Brilliant!

• kia c’eed is much better lookin
    same platform different styling

• Phillip Zak on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:38 am

Wong info … different platform the c’eed is the same as the FD i30 which was the first generation i30. They share the same platform as the HD Elantra/Avante. This new model has a new platform and is different from the C’eed which does not have a replacement model yet.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:10 pm

VW would probably not worry to much about this, but this new i30 would probable give the Astra a run for the money.

• Forte for Europe club on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:14 pm

Is Kia Forte made for Europe?

• wolfsburg on Aug 11, 2011 at 7:54 pm

Forte is not on sale in most of the Europe country… They have Cee’d…

• If this car looks anything as hot as the sketch, good times ahead. But will Hyundai introduce a pricing policy in the same range as VW (1.4 Turbo Polo is how much?), I dunno… I believe there’s a market for hot hatch in bolehland, European hatch too expensive, Myvi too lame & gay, current Hyundais too ugly.. Satria Neo is cool, I think, so is the two door Swift GTi oops, Sport.

• Phillip Zak on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:39 am

Different segment. Polo is B Segment. Golf is C segment which is the same as the i30.

• very nice!! hyundai has already thrashed the japos, and are now aimed at the contis. i.e vw and peugeot…

well done!! however, sime darby better bring in the new models on time n price it right!! where on earth is the i20?

• Looks as CHEAPO as ever.

• van hohenheim on Aug 11, 2011 at 7:26 pm

nice car but the side profile look like mazda 2

• bb,
    Blackberry launch their phone in Slow..zzZ motion, maybe 1-2 model in a year, that why u see the difference slow..zz ly
    Unlike Samsung clamshell new model every quater but almost identical.
    Hyundai is practising the same philosophy, Avega (S),Verna (SM), i30(M), Avante(ML), i40(L) just like underwear in different size, how dead boring..zzZZ
    Finally i understand why Hyundai/Kia salable in US (Standard & Poor downgrade US financial from AAA to AA) not supprise in another decade Greatwall, Geely, Changan & Tata will be US top selling car.

• papa(not)rich on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:29 pm

u claim us financial from AAA to AA ,they still able to afford jap car as the price range is near, range usd 18k-28k, but hyundai claim to top seller not U.S(Top 10 GDP-PPP country) unable to afford ,is hyundai really take the score all site, bty where source prove Greatwall, Geely, Changan & Tata will be US top selling car? bull shit

• eddiekee on Aug 12, 2011 at 9:13 am

Another example is Vios=Yaris and Jazz=Freed , which is similar but in different size as well. This is even more boring….

• Hate that logo – Macam kaki lembek.

• Roffle on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Two F words. FORD FIESTA!

This one ugly as hell.