VIDEO: BMW Laser Light: headlamps of the future?

Forget LED headlamps – according the BMW, the next logical step in car lighting development is laser lights. Laser lighting is radically different from sunlight or any different kind of artificial lighting used today, including the different types of light sources we use in vehicle headlamps.

Laser lighting is monochromatic, which means that all the light waves have the same length. It is also a “coherent” light source, which means its waves have a constant phase difference. As a result, laser lighting can produce a near-parallel beam with an intensity a thousand times greater than that of conventional LEDs, while having less than half the energy consumption of LED headlamps.

The intensity of laser light poses no possible risks to humans, animals or wildlife when used in car lighting. Amongst other things, this is because the light is not emitted directly, but is first converted into a form that is suitable for use in road traffic. The resulting light is very bright and white.

Check out the videos in this post for some demos that I managed to record while attending the BMW Innovation Days in Munich. You can see how the thin blue laser beam is converted into a bright white light.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lance on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Current HID already got the JPJ salivating for duit kopi … this will make it worse

• MoFaz on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:26 pm

install laser gun and shoot those corrupt officers :)

• Unforgiven on Oct 14, 2011 at 3:57 pm

The fresh grad or young jpj guys are practising actively to be a real jpj man.
      One famous area is at bukit jalil. Not just Hid but white bulbs as well.

• awg1031 on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:13 pm

i’m wondering when will proton RnD arrive to this stage..

• izzat on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:42 pm

when?..100years from now =)

• Simon Chee on Oct 14, 2011 at 3:14 pm

I wonder when will Proton even be competitive enough to produce a decent domestic road car, let alone all the fancy technologies other countries are offering.

• Simon Chee on Oct 14, 2011 at 3:28 pm

I wonder when will Proton be able to produce decent domestic cars, let alone catching up with the fast growing technologies of other car manufacturers. For the least, create something of highest safety standard and practicality for local environment and requirements.

• next year, next month, next week, tomorrow.. who knows?

• BWM RnD is always far ahead from others, no wonder their 90′ E36 was equip like current H and T technologies.

• sfssd on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:45 pm

Wow, this is mind blowing…..! must get you thinking, “Now why didn’t I think of this before?” LASER light, it’s obvious.! much sharper than the overrated LEDs from AUDIs, man I love how those LASER lamps looks on the i8 seriously looks wicked awesome…..! try and copy that China…!

• RadzLee on Oct 14, 2011 at 4:24 pm

u’ll be suprised that THEY WILL!!!

• blue-traveler on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Most likely in a month after the “car” hit the market. They, china chop shop factory, will take the car apart, see how it is done, then mod it. After that, you will more likely than not see a many diff power setting option, Deadly laser version too. Hahahaha. Maybe even a disco light version. MAKE IN CHINA. – anything goes.

• putra_rider on Oct 14, 2011 at 3:22 pm

i hate when cars at the back using HID head lamp.
    Hope this not worse for the front car driver.

• Poker on Oct 14, 2011 at 3:44 pm

looking at the last photo, i would be cursing the car towards me if it is equipped with beams like that at night…

• Factsguy on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Laser…is it radioactive? XD

• Jimmy on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:00 pm

China-made laser light, dare you use?
    Low-tech things like sweets etc they also can’t handle well, their enforcement is buta or mata-duitan I guess.
    Do you trust the printed word ‘non-toxic’ in China-made colour pencils or toys?

• fahmiyafeii on Oct 15, 2011 at 1:33 am

i hate proton

• I am wondering how much to replace the laser diode…….laser is not new tech n we all know laser is very bright when hit some object….until China is involved this will remain expensive ..

• tokmoh on Oct 15, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Dam, this would be awesome if everytime it’s turned on, the car goes:

IMMA FIRIN MAH LAZER!!11!1ONEONE1!1!

Ok, but seriously, I reckon it must’ve cost a bomb to produce this tech at it’s current state. LED is already friggin expensive, I can’t quite imagine how much this would cost, at least that’s how it is for household lamp.

A Philips LED bulb at Carrefour is sold at RM100. That can buy at least 4 compact fluorescent bulb, just isn’t cost effective enough at the moment.