Naza World brings in Indian Motorcycles – not from India!

There’s a new bike brand in town, and it’s Indian Motorcycles. Funny name, but think American Indian instead of India. Indian Motorcycles is an American brand focusing on easy riders and has a 110-year history of making two wheelers and was once the best selling brand with introduction of the first V-twin motorcycle in 1907. Currently, it’s more niche than mass and produces limited numbers from North Carolina, USA.

Harmony Fabulous Sdn Bhd (HFSB), a company under Naza World, launched the brand at last weekend’s Bikepalooza 2011. HFSB is the sole distributor of Indian Motorcycles for both Malaysia and Singapore markets. Dato’ Razali Ibrahim, Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports officiated the launch.

HFSB is introducing four Indians locally, and they are the Chief Blackhawk and Chief Blackhawk Dark (Special Edition), Chief Vintage, Chief Classic and Chief Dark Horse. The Indian Chiefs are powered by a 1,721 cc air cooled pushrod PowerPlus engine with electronic fuel injection, linked to a six-speed transmission.

The Indian Chief models are priced from RM225,000 to RM285,000, inclusive of three years free maintenance. A dedicated Indian Motorcycles showroom next to Naza Automall PJ is in the works and due for completion by February 2012. In the meantime, the bikes will be on display at Naza World PJ.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bryan on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:22 am

Ah- The brand just reminded me of the movie – World’s Fastest Indian

• taboogen on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:23 am

what with the lady with the child at the launching.. ermmm

• MoFaz on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:27 am

erkk.. with that price i’d rather get Harley Davidsons..

• LatukBandar on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:02 am

RM285K… not only u must be rich, u must be rich and crazy to buy this. Am not rich, but am crazy…. half way there liao…

• gilas on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:23 am

hmm.. 1st time aku dengar brand moto neh..
    indian motorcycle, ingat macam tata, made in india! :P

mahal nak mampos sey..

• yeah rite on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:45 pm

you probably lived under a coconut shell, I’m so sorry for you! btw you might perhaps not been to India as well!

• gilas on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:53 am

what wrong if i never heard indian motor? im not a easyrider bike fan though..

• sfssd on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:09 pm

Doesn’t give you excuse to broaden your perspective, key word, READ books, articles, google it up.

• RolandGoland on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:47 am

mostplay people dont know which come the indian motor brand.. lol btw LOL with the article title.. not form india , epic lol#!

• VWfan on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:39 pm

its been mentioned many times in American Pickers and Pawn Stars on History Channel 555, if you ever saw one or ever subscribe Astro with Discovery package.

• bryan on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Between 1962 and 1967, Burt Munro from New Zealand used a modified 1920s Indian Scout to set a number of land speed records

• SeriousSam on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:24 am

someone need to bring Orange County Chopper and Paul Junior Design bike into
    Malaysia

• Crazy EZrider on Oct 18, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Coming Soon but so far Red Garage (malaysian made custom builder) already bring up bike from California Motor Company (CMC) adn Exile custom in Malaysia….

• drMpower on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:40 am

financial crisis what?
    what are people on about
    this bike over 200k and still people buying it

this is christmas

• Expatriate VN on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:01 pm

This kind of superbike wouldn’t attract attention, including babe! For superbike Harley Davidson or BMW is 1st choice, and this “no choice” Indian motorcycle is a “cold storage brand”. Bought for RM 285 K, after 5 year want to sale RM 28.5 K maybe also difficult!

Some more used the “misrepresent Indian” name for over a century! Pathetic Western world, until die also want face! Why? They already embrace this name and most of legal and history records collectively used this name to refer to orang asal in North and South America!

How the “Red Indian” name come about? This is historically inaccurate description of American orang asal by European’s Euro-centric historical view. Legend mentioned that once upon a time during sea voyage by Christopher Columbus in 1492, he supposed to look for alternative route to Indian sub-continent (East Indies) to bypass Arab trader for spices trade. Upon reaching the new world (now known as North & South America), this dumb kwai lol sea farer chap who are good in sea voyage but “bad historian” mistaken the new world for India sub-continent. Upon seeing the indigenous people there, he mistakenly described them as “Red Indian”, because these indigenous tribes actual names are Apache, Achomawi, Cahuilla, etc just to mentioned a few!

• SeriousSam on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:05 pm

no lah

this bike won’t attract sore loser.. whining forever alone like you

• dirtyoldmen on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:13 pm

dont care!

• Kiwi in Malaysia on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:56 pm

you have some serious issues…

• Crazy EZrider on Oct 18, 2011 at 4:10 pm

u call urself a biker and bike enthusiast?..cehhh…”This kind of superbike wouldn’t attract attention, including babe! For superbike Harley Davidson or BMW is 1st choice”…cehhh u r so poser rather than a biker…u dunno anything about bike but talking rubbish….

somemore..this kind of bike is not a superbike la dude but an ezrider and a cruiser….

wah then talking about origin of the name Indian, Red Indian……give him applause…

• haaha..bmw and harley as first choice?..bmw famous for it touring bike and harley for their easy rider..same like this indian motor..

we buy a big bike, for a passion and enjoy riding it, not to care about the resale value lah brother..

• u buy a bike for attract babe or enjoy ride? u must be bieber fan. wow nowadays got a lot people know everything.. maybe u comment related to your model kit motorcyles.. :)

• goreng on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Klau lah tahun 1997, menteri kewangan masa itu x naikkan tax moto, maybe harga x mahal mcm tu….skrg, kereta mahal, moto pun mahal….apo nak dikato

• Tom Cruise have one..but not sure which model..

• carazy on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:31 pm

crazy price tag..

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:40 pm

not from india but why does the dude looks like he’s from india?. should have put a red indian model then.

• taboogen on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:14 pm

got what behind the sad looking wife saying..there goes my saris.. hehehe.. but the “red indian” is not red but brownish color malay.. hahaha

• RolandGoland on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:17 am

i thinking same thing too.. red indian name much more better.. everybody know red indian from america instead of india it self.. #LOL

• lchan on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:20 pm

haha..i like your title. dunno, but i just found it funny.

• Ooo BESAR KEPALA YA! (just joking folks) Look at the XXL head lamp size!

• And we wonder why Japanese bikes are selling so well over the whole world.

• saya menang moto….

• Leonardo on Oct 18, 2011 at 7:17 pm

There are actually some nice bikes from India, and at affordable prices too for Malaysians. Do some web searching and you would be surprised.

• policeman on Oct 18, 2011 at 7:38 pm

If Chinese buy, will they take out the “Indian” emblem?

• Nice! I like it

• Jack Leong on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:39 pm

paultan, in “this story makes me”, you should add an option “LOL”

• Good to see the Indian brand resurrected for the modern times. This reminds me of when the Triumph motorcycles return to the public back in the late 80s. Though I don’t know about plonking in over RM200k for just a bike. This is serious moolah and for that kind of money I rather go for a car and a BMW bike for the same money. Not a fan of cruisers but can understand the ‘easy rider’ motto as I have riden with them before. My next bike will probably be a BMW as I prefer shaft drive bikes.

• sfssd on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:07 pm

Whoever never heard of the Indian motorcycles should go jump off a cliff. Cynical jokes author, but I don’t expect bike enthusiasts not to know the Indian brand.

• indian on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:01 am

Author of this article…. Mind ur words in ur title….this is quite sensitive…
    Please pay respect to alll..!!!!!!!

• clemenza on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:12 am

come on bro..i dont see the title as a insult to anybody..its just an explanation that the motor is not from the india..

• Saliem Ahmed on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:39 pm

An INDIAN bike is in class of its own for bikers who Dare to be different !