2011 BMW S1000RR updated with new features

After its initial launch in 2009, BMW Motorrad has updated the S1000RR supersports bike. While there are no changes to the peak power output figures of 193 horsepower, there are quite a few new features to the technical update:

• Optimised torque curve for improved ridability.
  • Expansion from two to three performance curves (one each for Rain and Sport modes and an additional one for Race and Slick modes); Rain mode now 120 kW (163 hp).
  • Reconfigured throttle for enhanced response (particularly gentle and sensitive acceleration in Rain mode, and immediately direct and spontaneous response in Sport, Race, and Slick modes).
  • Reduced twisting force and tighter twistgrip angle.
  • Smaller secondary ratio for boosted thrust.
  • Refined tuning between Race ABS and Dynamic Traction Control (DTC).
  • Enlarged cross sectional area of the intake air guide through the steering head for greater air flow efficiency.
  • Better handling, steering accuracy, and feedback.
  • Revised spring elements for an even wider range of damping forces.
  • Suspension geometry modified with new values for the steering head angle, offset, position of the swing arm pivot, fork projection, and spring strut length.
  • New mechanical steering damper adjustable over ten levels.
  • Forged and milled fork bridge in a new design and with a smaller offset.
  • Revised design with a leaner tail section, redesigned side panels, centre airbox cover with side aperture grilles, and winglets.
  • For new colour variants: plain Racing Red with Alpine white, Bluefire, Sapphire black metallic, BMW Motorrad Motorsport colours.
  • Revised RR logo.
  • New heel plates and leaner stabilisers on the passenger footrests.
  • Redesigned LCD engine speed display for better readability and with five dimming levels.
  • Instrument cluster with the new functions “Best lap in progress” and “Speedwarning”; deactivation of “Lamp” fault message when headlamp or number plate carrier removed.
  • Catalytic converters relocated, so no heat shield necessary.
  • Expansion to the optional extras and special equipment ex works.

Look after the jump for a huge photo gallery and a video of the revised S1000RR.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• seniaku.com on Oct 28, 2011 at 6:18 pm

now I can be masked rider!!!

• it should be s1000ss instead of rr…for Super Sexy!!

• Chris on Oct 28, 2011 at 7:32 pm

Might be okay over here but I doubt the Germans will be very comfortable with the word “SS”…

• dont get it, do ya? nvm… :)

• SS is the nazi secret police

• nanocannon on Oct 30, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Mel, you’re the one who doesnt understands here. Chris was saying bout the SS Pantzer. go figure

• whatev…i know ss stands for shutstaffel (or whatever the spelling is in german) which actually an elite guard that answer directly to hitler (i watched die untergang too :) )

im just tellin, the bike is super sexy, hence SS…still dun get it? go figure u dumbo…

• peyno on Oct 31, 2011 at 11:32 am

yamaha ss? :D

• SimulateMan on Oct 31, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Not relevant at all, what it have to do with that. Nobody can read your mind to get what u mean.

• damnit u guys are dumb…i told my cousin abt this too n he straight away agree (means he GOT what im tryn to say) its a bloody joke ppl!!! the bike is super sexy to me, thats all…

• awg1031 on Oct 28, 2011 at 7:28 pm

nice bike :D..will it be available locally?

• the tail light looks extreme!!…btw, bmw announce themselves will be compete in the motogp right?…since fim increase the regulations from 880cc to 1000cc….i cant wait to see s1rr close fight with m1, gp12 and rc…wowww!

• After failing in F1 in recent years, now try to show their strength in technical in MotoGP, with average rider. I guess, in todays competetion, they need both mighty technical and driver/rider.

• amirad on Oct 28, 2011 at 9:58 pm

This bike reminds me of the Rock from WWE, with that one round and one fox eyes.

• S1000RR: 0-200km/h 7.0s, 0-300km/h 19.1s

Nissan GT-R: 0-200km/h,12.2s, 0-300km/h 53.3 s

Who can control a bike which accelerates much faster than a GT-R? ‘The doctor’ Valentino Rossi?

• this beemer eat M3 for breakfast & an M5 for lunch….hehehehe

• Norman on Oct 31, 2011 at 4:35 am

The bike in SG alone cost $42K including COE,Dunno in MY will reach 115K??No doubt its a bit slow for 0-100km compared with Jap bikes with similiar cc but mid/top speed ohh la la bye2 Jap bikes.Think for 2012 BMW focus on acceleration rather than its top end.

• taboogen on Oct 31, 2011 at 8:58 am

wow a revise RR logo…