Hyundai Elantra Coupe – two-door joins the line-up

Hyundai has introduced its new two-door Elantra Coupe at the 2012 Chicago Auto Show. Designed at Hyundai’s North American Design Center in Irvine, California, the car continues on the company’s dynamic “Fluidic Sculpture” design principles, with a signature hexagonal front fascia opening and jewelled swept-back headlights giving it a lean, aggressive demeanour.

Other design cues include a blacked-out diffuser valance, dual chrome-tipped exhaust tips and a boot lid incorporating a lip spoiler design element at the rear. On the SE version, the car rides on five-spoke 17-inch alloys.

The car is equipped with a 1.8 litre Nu D-CVVT petrol engine, offering 148 hp at 6,500 rpm and 178Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm, with a choice of six-speed manual or automatic transmissions to be had.

Standard kit includes Vehicle Stability Management, ESC, TCS, ABS with brake assist and EBD, as well as six airbags (front, front side and side curtain), and features on the Coupe include a 7-inch touchscreen navigation system with rearview camera and iPod/USB inputs, Bluetooth and push-button ignition.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kevin on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:20 pm

I believe if we cover the badge, many would have guess the new elantra to be civic, while the new civic to be elantra.. That’s how much hyundai have improved in terms of styling..

• gtrGunner on Feb 11, 2012 at 9:28 am

negative!! the civic dashboard won’t be designed to look like a urinal bowl like this one here…. and the world really sick of this Fluidic Sculpture idea…

• BeemerFreak on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:25 pm

nice…. now give it the 1.6 GDi turbo, that would be sweet….

• kienu on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:28 pm

nice

• FFFortezen on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:37 pm

try to compete with Kia Forte Koup.. hehe..

• Hyundai De Junk on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:26 pm

I would have the owner if this to be either hair dresser, fashion designer or make up artist, gayish car.

• TomCruise on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Usually the homophobic ones are flaming, closet cases. Way to come out to the whole country dude. I’m sure the closet has been stuffy (pun so intended)

• Zippy Polo on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:40 pm

178Nm at 4700rpm 1.8…. abit reserved …dun u think?

• Whynot on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:22 am

Affordable version of Hyundai coupe versions. But I like the Hyundai Genesis Coupe more. Anyway is nice and can compete with most Japanese model in term of styling done by the US designer and not to mention about the lower price it will offer.

• patron on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:52 am

when kia have identical design with honda u say they had improve. bt when proton does that u complain here, u complain there like no tomorrow. hahahaaaa tipical malaysian mentality

• BeemerFreak on Feb 11, 2012 at 8:16 am

Err since when has Proton came out with a similar design to Honda?

They are and will be still lightyears behind Honda unless they loose Mitsubishi as partner and get Honda in replacement.

• patron on Feb 11, 2012 at 2:08 pm

they say p3-21a same design as city. go read la brader….

• patron on Feb 11, 2012 at 4:14 pm

many ppl say p3-21a design look like civic/city go read la brader…

• oh, another joker face after mazda.

• SpeakUp on Feb 11, 2012 at 2:40 am

Hyundai cars look sweet now but if this car has the same quality as the Sonata then its sad. The Sonata does not have a good fit despite its great look.

• Of course anything great Hyundai or Kia design must be related to Protongkat

You see, Dr Mamak said Protongkat cannot be producing cheap car all long anymore

But what is wrong in selling cheap cars? And why cheap cars cannot be decent quality or better featured?

Ha ha ha this where Dr Mamak and Protongkat talk nonsense self-contradict themselves

It is simply because Protongkat reach dead-end on how to produce cheap cars with great design and features-pack

Look at next Hyundai i10 and new Kia Picanto – a testament of Cheap cars can be produced both Nice design and tons of Features

And just forget this fantastic Elantra lah way ahead million light years from Protongkat Tuah got it all wrong even before launching kah kah kah

And in US Euro global market Elantra, Forte actually cheap compact sedan that dragged Civic Altis Cruze etc category down to their knees not because its cheap price but smack of design paradigm shift that shows cheap cars can be stunning beauty and even better specs HA HA HA HOW TUAH GONNA BEAT THIS HUH!

Ok lah still got chance for Protongkat to survive longer not all is lost…how about sell it at Saudi Arabian price (not Malaysian price)? Ha ha ha yes it is!

“Protongkat sure laku formula – European design, Japanese tech but at Saudi Arabian price!”

• TomCruise on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:12 pm

As usual, Malaysians on internet perplex me. You go on other non-Malaysian websites like this, you read the comments, you can get the sense of collective intelligence provided for by the commenters. On Malaysian websites, dr mamak lah, protongkat lah, bolehland lah. Immature much? No wonder people don’t take us seriously.

• alldisc on Feb 11, 2012 at 8:38 am

what a beauty…a league ahead of our national cars and even some japanese.

• yippi33 on Feb 11, 2012 at 2:41 pm

its designed by Europeans..don’t you know that??

• ss427 on Feb 12, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Ermm… actually the current Hyundai vehicles were designed in Califorinia, USA…

Only Kia designed their vehicles in Germany. But its interesting to note that for Optima, Peter Scheyer designed most the car while the said design houses in California finish/detail it up for its final presentation.

• Abidal on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:03 am

give this beast a 2.2 DieselR engine! awesome!!

• Victor Lee on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:52 am

i see the similarity on kia and hyundai coupe which is the ugly rims

• BENSON11 on Feb 11, 2012 at 11:58 am

is the 2 liter engine is not available for new elantra ?

• ss427 on Feb 11, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Nope, the new Elantra uses the Gamma 1.6 or the Nu 1.8 engines… DIfferent names but essentially the same design.

these are non-GDI versions for the export markets… even for North American markets where the Sonata and Veloster are already being sold with GDI engines as standard. Korean home market Avantes (aka Elantra) comes with Gamma GDI 1.6L that makes 140hp and 175NM of torque..

Hey Potong, your CFE makes 138hp only despite the much touted Turbocharger…. :D the Koreans can pull more power AND fuel economy (>15km/L) WITHOUT any forced induction. Ok you win in the torque o/p….you better be or else your turbo can be used as a blender instead… LOL :D

Please refer the official export market Elantra brochure here

http://worldwide.hyundai.com/e_brochure/_new/HMC%20MD%20Catalog%20GL%20_1111.pdf

• Hate Korean car.. Once you get it..you will be regret.. I get once..forever won’t trust it anymore.

• Lawrencex on Feb 11, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Pls elaborate ur experience further. Leaving ur comment like tat makes u look bias n unreliable.

• Moogen on Feb 11, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Who cares if Cron’s statement looks biased and unreliable? U aren’t going to buy a car based on his opinions, right? A typical Kimchi – Keyboard warrior. Easily aggravated. Cron came up with 19 words describing his dissatisfaction over Korean cars and you came right back with 16 words within half an hour hitting back at his comments, as if your daddy’s company produces 70% of the Korean cars and you are afraid that your doggy will starve to death if the company cant profit. There are thousands of good and bad comments all around the web regarding Korean, Japanese, Malaysian, and etc cars. Reply to each and all of the negative posts about Korean cars, if you want to. But, how many Won do the Korean car companies pay you for each comment? If you have such unparalleled confidence in Korean cars, go and face the real people and help them to sell their cars and boost their sales. The real problem with Korean cars are not the cars themselves, its their cybertroopers that make people hate the cars. Thumb me down if you are exactly the type of people described above.

• Driver10 on Feb 12, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Yo moogen.. I think ur taking it out of context here. It’s funny how u even found the time to count the number of words in the previous post.. well.. did u notice how ‘short’ urs is?! What people would like to know is what Korean car did the other have and what are the issues faced so we can weigh them up and then decide. No harm in that. Don’t have to get personal an emo.

• Moogen dude, u are embarrassing yourself and i think you are the kimchi one here

• TomCruise on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:15 pm

LOL you hentam that guy for writing 16 words to a 19 words comment. Yet you wrote an essay on that 16 words comment. Irony much?

Mind to share ur experience with ur Korea car?! someone told me that his new Sonata handling is bad…i can only trust German,Japan and Italian cars others just no to me…

• I own a Hyundai car on Feb 12, 2012 at 10:26 pm

My experience on current Hyundai car (not those 4 – 8 years ago type). Design nice but car still not refined yet. Engine generally good but also a bit noisy. There are some “minor” (Hyundai M’sia thinks it’s minor, not me) problems which may (also may not) kill you (e.g. like engine dying while driving, ESP, brake switch, etc). There are some “non issues” (again it’s Hyundai M’sia’s view, not mine) e.g. rattling noise, OK only suspension, stereo setting error and lousy GPS system which will definitely not kill you but will definitely irritate you. Plus, their Customer Service does not care and will not follow up on your issues unless you made an issue with very top mgnt. And lastly, the Warranty Dept works very hard to deny you claims. Other than that, Hyundai’s pretty OK.

• That, must be a compliment. It’s not even close, really.

• BENSON11 on Feb 11, 2012 at 7:46 pm

that mean if i want a korean compact saloon with 2liter engine, i have to go to the forte, oh noo!!

• ahmadfaris93 on Feb 12, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Proton Inspira 2.0 has 150 bhp , 197 Nm

• ss427 on Feb 13, 2012 at 11:51 am

Ermm…. is that engine Mitsubishi’s or Potong? LOL :D

Actually 150hp from a modern engine is quite modest by today’s standards…and I’m not talking about forced induction in case you guys wanna whack from there LOL :D

Hyundai/Kia’s Theta II already makes 165hp, and if you can get your hands on the GDI version of the Theta II, you get 180hp from the 2L WITHOUT any forced induction! :)

• yeah with all the figures, it end up with noisy engine when running. What a disappointed me, at least if not others. I have to thumb up the design, but on the engine sorry, below my expectation

• adiehaikal on Feb 12, 2012 at 5:52 pm

just 1 word for this 1.. wWOOoWW!!!