My Proton Makeover: Work in Progress pictures of Madam Lee’s 1991 Proton Saga

The My Proton Makeover programme started in August last year with Fadly Hisham Roplay’s 1992 Saga, and will end with a Saga of the same vintage. The sixth and final car chosen for a rework by R3 is Madam Lee Lee Koon Gaik’s 1991 Saga, and from these work-in-progress pics, we can see that the beat up Aeroback has been thoroughly refurbished.

R3 has given the homemaker’s trusty car a new (and badly needed) paint job, changing the Saga’s colour to silver. Contrasting gun metal trim with red piping have been added, along with 16-inch R3 alloys. The wheels look identical to those on Fadly’s Saga, but are finished in silver.

The cabin is a mixture of black leather and alcantara, with red piping. It’s quite a sporty look, so perhaps Madam Lee’s sons will also approve of R3’s efforts!

Previous projects include Fadly Hisham Roplay’s 1992 Saga, Sashideran Radha Krishnan’s 1994 Wira, Norzamzarini Mohd Bajuri’s 1996 Iswara Aeroback, Hafiz Mohd Hashim’s 2001 Satria GTI and Amirul Azim’s 2001 Satria 1.3.

We will be at the final unveiling – stay tuned!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• preve on May 23, 2012 at 3:47 pm

nice

• Wish Proton can continue such “program” for the benefits of it many customers!

How to tell them arrr?

• not a proper ‘madam’ car

• So far so good. Good job for not changing the dashboard and door trim to LMST’s.

• _xXx_ on May 23, 2012 at 7:04 pm

talking bout this bloody LMST, how come JPJ can approve cars with such a loud exhaust noise? Loud pipe saves life or wat? tiew…

• dodgeviper88 on May 23, 2012 at 4:44 pm

I’m sorry but the rear lamps simply does not do it for me. I cannot imagine an aunty driving this car

• noname on May 24, 2012 at 1:43 am

agree… they should maintain the old saga tail light instead of using this iswara LMSS tail light.. the shape doesnt match the saga flat body because there is no rear reflector..

• madam pls ask ptoton to change ur engine to CPS la…! haha.

• Azlan Baha on May 23, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Great job but I think should have used 15″ wheels instead. 16″ rollers are not very cost effective in the long run for a normal person’s daily drive.

• Ye la, for this Madam, they decided to put 16″ wheels, but the previous makeover of a Satria, they only put 15″ wheels. R3 wants this Madam to race ke?

• _xXx_ on May 23, 2012 at 6:34 pm

alamak 1991 Saga??? chuck it into the sea for land reclaimation should ba a good idea…

• Hmmm ….. wonder how much does it cost for such a makeover ?

• i think auntie son will drive it.

• Moshi Moshi on May 23, 2012 at 10:52 pm

I personally think that madam’s car is the best makeover. Especially the dashboard, i love that kind of leather..jealous !!!!

• sarawakian and sabahan…is time to boycott proton…..

• OMG! jealous WHEN IS MY TURN!!!

• Mustafa halid on May 28, 2012 at 11:24 am

mcmm nak daftar protonmake over

• Jasni Bin Hassan on Nov 27, 2012 at 10:45 am

Good move by Proton to have the Makeover Project, because some of the owners of the Proton Saga were heavy heart to sell their 1st Made in Malaysia car. I suggest Proton should open the contest for only the owner of the Proton Saga owners which is the 1st production of made in Malaysia car.